Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the modern uber-connected world, Chicago has the nation's most advanced and integrated computer system – one which controls almost every facet of city technology and maintains critical information on all of the city's residents. You assume the role of Aiden Pearce, a notorious hacker and former thug, whose criminal past lead to a violent family tragedy. Now on the hunt for those people who have hurt your family, you will be able to monitor and hack all who surround you while manipulating the city's systems to stop traffic lights, download personal information, manipulate the electrical grid and more. Use the entire city of Chicago as your personal weapon and exact your signature brand of revenge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    79
    Watch Dogs does do some new things and does them very well. With few exceptions it’s a polished and fun game and well-worth a look.
  2. Jun 16, 2014
    79
    In the end Watch Dogs has plenty going for it, without quite living up to the hype. But, Aiden Pearce is a great character, and a very nice design, and the story has an engaging cyber-noir vibe going for it. Just keep your eyes down and your smartphone charged.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 55
  2. Negative: 18 out of 55
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    A superb game: the characters are well written, there are enough weapons to choose from and plenty of vehicles to drive. Hacking … you have to see it to believe it, truly great! The explosions in my opinion are excellent. This game also boasts many mission and side quests, it will definitely keep you busy for a while. For those who have waited so long, it was worth it, enjoy. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    This game is really fun! Of course it gets boring if you do criminal convoys for 15 hours straight...Look, let's be honest: The game has PERFECT phasing!
    Oh, and the graphics controversy...You are just being dumb if you think this game looks bad..It looks better then titanfall, how about that?
    Expand
  3. May 29, 2014
    9
    People entered this game expecting GTA V. Those people need to put down this game, and go play GTA V not Watch Dogs. Watch Dogs is a great open world hacking game.

    Common complaints about it are that the graphics don't look like the E3 2012 demonstration. They need to understand the game was running on a PC, and was configured to look that good. They also don't understand it was a pre rendered video, not live game play. So it will always look better.

    People also complain about the Cars being unresponsive etc. Play a proper driving game, then this game, you'll see that this is pretty good. GTA V controls like pudding.

    Overall the plot is really good, relatable for most people who have siblings, it is a fun game with a lot to do. Big open world city to explore. In the end if you go in expecting Watch Dogs, you'll get watch dogs, if you go in expecting anything else you shouldn't be playing this game.
    Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    7
    I honestly feel like people complain way too much about the graphics in this game. Graphics do not make a game, the experience you have with the game is the real factor. People seem to be focusing way too much on realistic graphics, and that worries me because that will make for a generation that will only care about graphics and nothing more. But enough of my rambling. What did Watch Dogs do well? For one, I felt as though it had very addictive gameplay. Which was odd, considering some of the side missions you do in the game get boring very fast (I found myself avoiding fixer contracts for the longest time) and they could've added a little bit more variety. The other things you could do, however, were very fun. I found myself doing the dosing mini games a lot, trying to get high scores on each. This reminded me a lot of Saints Row and it was a nice change of pace from the main storyline. Driving takes a bit getting used to, and it does feel like you can't control it sometimes. It's strange, because it is one of those games I find myself loving and hating at the same time. Much like how I was with Deadly Premonition. This has been described as a love it or hate it game, but I'm a bit on the fence. There are certain parts I like, and there are certain parts I hate. All in all, I enjoyed it, despite its repetitive nature at points. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    6
    The gameplay has a lot of potential, and it is quite fun, but lacks in some areas. For example, before combat you can manipulate objects, cameras and such to help you hide or eliminate some enemies, but it is very hard to figure out which is helpful, which does what, and most of the times you'll end up screwing up. The guns also need some fine-tuning, plus the enemies can spot you very easily.
    The cars lack variety, and they control rather awkward. If you don't steer to much in order to take a small turn, after steering the car will instantly go back to forward driving, like Aiden takes a quarter of a second to move his arms.

    The story is OK, some good characters here and there, but nothing really sensational.

    For a 360 game, Watch Dogs looks very good. Models and animations are almost exactly the same as their next-gen counterparts, textures are only slightly less high definition. The only problems I can find are the trees and plants in general having outdated models and bad (and almost creepy) animations, and some lightning issues. Other than that, great looking 360 game.

    Also, I forgot to mention, loading times are atrocious on the 360.

    Overall, an OK game, but becomes boring after a while. There is nothing to keep you interested. Just a GTA with less cars, less guns, worse story and instead of being a criminal you're somewhat of a "hero".
    Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    4
    A very disappointing offering from usually Stellar Ubisoft.

    The graphics were quite sub par, especially when Rockstar showed what could be
    accomplished in GTAV. At times I was wondering if I was looking at polygonal textures on a PS1 when I saw some trees and buildings. The sound design was good and their were a few good musical tracks but the majority were dull. The cycling through each one to find a song you liked was painful and time consuming. All these things could have been forgiven with decent gameplay and alot of variety in missions. However, the gameplay left rough and buggy and missions had you doing the same hack-shoot-escape dynamic that really took away from the fun.

    Watchdogs has a great deal of potential to be something great, but much of it is lost in the glaring flaws of the game. Comparing this to GTAV is overdone, but its only because Rockstar had polished their world to a level of masterful perfection while Watchdogs feels like a pre-alpha test run.

    A disappointing 4 out of 10
    Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2014
    0
    Wow this game is a joke ... I cant believe how **** bad this game is ... ugly and boring ... like it s not even a high end game ... it seems to be something like one of those sidegames that you expect to be **** ... wow I couldnt stand it for more then 10 minutes ... Expand

See all 55 User Reviews