User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 85
  2. Negative: 16 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 20, 2014
    10
    Wolfenstein is back and better than ever. Combining the cheesiness and fun of past titles with a more serious approach to narrative, The New Order succeeds at what it set out to do, create something with a little more depth while remaining true to what makes Wolfenstein the enjoyable game series it is. A lengthy single player campaign, focused narrative cast cast of characters, fun andWolfenstein is back and better than ever. Combining the cheesiness and fun of past titles with a more serious approach to narrative, The New Order succeeds at what it set out to do, create something with a little more depth while remaining true to what makes Wolfenstein the enjoyable game series it is. A lengthy single player campaign, focused narrative cast cast of characters, fun and accessible combat, stealth, fantastic set pieces, etc., make this a game you cannot miss. Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    This game is absolute fun in this era of the next gen hype. Classic shooter good story with old school graphics. The story is simple well caughtable. The game mechanisms old school. Only negative is few bugs on some levels.
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    What a fantastic game. Downloaded it from the marketplace, as i wanted a good single player game. Thats exactly what i got, but not good- extreamly good! What a truly fantastic story, with great voice acting. Not only that, but coupled with lots of collectibles, secret rooms, crazy weapons, and a crazy but effective twist on the ww2 setting- makes for an excellent game everybody shouldWhat a fantastic game. Downloaded it from the marketplace, as i wanted a good single player game. Thats exactly what i got, but not good- extreamly good! What a truly fantastic story, with great voice acting. Not only that, but coupled with lots of collectibles, secret rooms, crazy weapons, and a crazy but effective twist on the ww2 setting- makes for an excellent game everybody should play. This game is one of the best story games iv'e ever played infact. Also, you can go guns blazing or stealthy on most levels! Highly reccomend this game for anyone who wants a truly thrilling experience Expand
  4. May 21, 2014
    10
    Awesome, this game is like Tarantino's film Inglorious bastards. I think that Wolfenstein: the new order might be one of the best games of the year. It has to be GOTY!
  5. May 22, 2014
    9
    Bethesda, thank you for giving us the greatest single player shooter campaign since Adam was a boy. Not perfect, so (just) a 9 but an "EPIC" adventure with a great story, huge environments & excellent old school shooting & stealth sequences. The controls are bang on, I loved the fact I could lean from cover, look down the sights and take out numerous enemies all at once, Brilliant !!!Bethesda, thank you for giving us the greatest single player shooter campaign since Adam was a boy. Not perfect, so (just) a 9 but an "EPIC" adventure with a great story, huge environments & excellent old school shooting & stealth sequences. The controls are bang on, I loved the fact I could lean from cover, look down the sights and take out numerous enemies all at once, Brilliant !!!
    Negatives…… platform jumping in to, and out of helicopters was annoying (especially on the bridge sequence…. awful save point) ….. Aaaargghh !!! And enemy A.I. on stealth is a little on the easy side.

    Developers take note, not everyone wants a multiplayer/online experience. Short, uninspired single player campaigns don't cut it for me and I refuse to part with my hard earned cash for a 5 to 8 hour yawn-fest.

    Finally, I have just loaded the fourth disc and I already want to play through this campaign again…….. and again…….. and again.
    LOVE IT !!!!
    Expand
  6. May 27, 2014
    7
    Wolfenstien: The New Order, the game is great. It complements the original Wolfenstien games good, the story is very original for this game. The gameplay is good, when you want to go guns a blazing but now there is a stealth option you could take to do things. There are "skill trees" that are built up that experience is gained by completing challenges, for example: want to get betterWolfenstien: The New Order, the game is great. It complements the original Wolfenstien games good, the story is very original for this game. The gameplay is good, when you want to go guns a blazing but now there is a stealth option you could take to do things. There are "skill trees" that are built up that experience is gained by completing challenges, for example: want to get better accuracy when throwing a knife? 50 knife throwing kills would give you a 25% boost reward.
    The only thing I find a bummer, expected anyways, is the price of the game. Wolfenstein: The New Order has a price of $59.99 in the US, which like I said expected, but I find it a bit of a downer since the game only has a single player campaign.
    Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    When was the last time you played a good Wolfenstein game? If you are like me its been a loooong time... so I went into this not expecting much... and WOW was I in for a surprise... because the New Wolfenstein is not just good... its extraordinary!

    The first thing to strike me was the amazing visuals, which are amongst the best graphics that I have seen the aging XBOX 360 to date. The
    When was the last time you played a good Wolfenstein game? If you are like me its been a loooong time... so I went into this not expecting much... and WOW was I in for a surprise... because the New Wolfenstein is not just good... its extraordinary!

    The first thing to strike me was the amazing visuals, which are amongst the best graphics that I have seen the aging XBOX 360 to date. The next thing that struck me was the surprisingly well done narrative. The story is well above what we are use to in FPS games as is the character development. Level design is also very well done as each chapter in the game feels completely different from the others, and the range of environments... well I don't want to spoil anything but the places you get to go are pretty cool!

    The only nitpicks I have are few and minor such as textures sometimes take a few seconds to load, some slow downs, and the occasional glitch like killing one natzi gave no death animation so I kept shooting him for a few secs until I realized he was bugged. Other than that I have no gripes.

    I am going to say something that is a bit of a surprise to me as I really had low expectation of this game going into it... but this Wolfenstein is not only the best in the series... it is now on my short list for best FPS I have ever played! I put it right up there with Half-Life 2 and Metro: Last Light.

    Here I am at the end of the review and I have not even talked of the shooting... not to worry as the weapons have weight, pack a punch and are a blast to play with. No game is flawless but this game comes very close to it and for this reason I give it a 10. Not bad for a rental that I thought was going to suck. Probably going to end up buying it as it does have some replay value based on early choices that you make in the game.
    Expand
  8. Jul 21, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the gameplay, graphics (even on the X360), and overall story of Wolfenstein: The New Order are very good -- provided you accept the premise that a man in his late 40s could emerge from a 14-year coma with the physique of a Navy SEAL -- I was extremely put off by several of the main characters, who looked, talked, and acted like they had dropped straight out of the present day into 1960. Take Caroline Becker: it simply is not believable that a middle-aged German woman of that era, even in an alternate timeline in which Hitler won the Second World War, would have been covered with tattoos. And the Jimi Hendrix standin is just ridiculous. The characters in the previous Wolfenstein game, including the main character BJ Blaskowicz, felt far more authentic to the setting and time period.

    The other major thing I disliked was the soft-core porn cutscenes with Blaskowica and Anya. It would be one thing if these actually added something to the story, but they're just gratuitous and tacked-on, a lazy ploy to make the game feel more "edgy."
    Expand
  9. Oct 7, 2014
    0
    Just back from trading this in. I have to say this game is average at best. The fact it's over 4 discs is a joke. Graphics are crap with massive pop ins. Loading times are ridiculous. Story is average just felt half baked and childish. Hardly any descent guns. Poor show. Definitely prefer the last wolfenstein. Way better.
  10. Oct 15, 2014
    6
    So here is my initial review of this game which I purchased for $40 and comparing it to Bioshock 1 & 2 (which I've played n the PC and xbox 360 2 to 3 times already). I bought Bioshock 1 & 2 for $5 at the same time.
    If you played the old Wolfenstein games, you will probably really like this game. The reason I'm comparing this to Bioshock though is because the price difference I payed
    So here is my initial review of this game which I purchased for $40 and comparing it to Bioshock 1 & 2 (which I've played n the PC and xbox 360 2 to 3 times already). I bought Bioshock 1 & 2 for $5 at the same time.
    If you played the old Wolfenstein games, you will probably really like this game. The reason I'm comparing this to Bioshock though is because the price difference I payed for the 2 games is $35 and Bioshock has always been one of my favorite games. Wolfenstein is probably a lot better looking on the Xone versus the 360 but I haven't purchased an Xone yet because I haven't decided yet if I want to get this or the new Playstation. Note also that I've only just begun playing Wolfenstein new order and this is my initial opinion after playing the first few chapters.
    I expected a little bit better graphics from Wolfenstein since it is a new release compared to the older Bioshock games. I found myself going back to Bioshock since, well, The Rapture in Bioshock is something you have to experience if you haven't done so yet. Both games compare on par with each other on the graphics (360) which was a bit disappointing for Wolfenstein. I would even go so far as saying I think the graphics in Bioshock used the polygons that you still see on the edges better than Wolfenstein. playing Bioshock with the plasmids in one hand and the guns in the other was a lot more fun than the guns I've seen so far in Wolfenstein. Wolfenstein was also a lot more confusing getting started than Bioshock but hey, who doesn't love killing Nazis. I'm really trying to give Wolfenstein a chance but there are a lot of little things that have bugged me so far such as not being able to open lockers and everything you pick up is either a shield or guns/ammo which doesn't seem as fun as all the different plasmids/weapons in Bioshock. If you never played Bioshock, I recommend you play that first and then Wolfenstein to see what I mean. And I really hate when you can't do other things like pause the cutscenes in Wolfenstein. As a $40 game, that is a shame and it almost seems like Wolfenstein was trying to be better than Bioshock and other like games but I don't think they succeeded but again, I just started Wolfenstein where as I've played Bioshock several times. Wolfenstein will also take up to 7 gigs on your hard drive space which is precious to me since I have all of my 500 gigs filled up with a ton of other games.
    I'm really hoping to find new surprises in Wolfenstein but so far all I have to do is backup around the corner and the nazis lose track of you and don't seem to strategically follow like Bioshock does. All I've been doing so far is just run and gun, backup, run and gun, backup, run and gun, etc..etc... The big robotic dog is cool but all it does is just kill me and I can't seem to kill it.
    I would again recommend you buy Bioshock 1 & 2 (not infinite) before you buy Wolfenstein. For $5 you can't go wrong and you will not regret buying it. The Rapture city is something you need to simply experience and will never forget ( kind of like Half-life 1 & 2 which is also a must buy/play.)
    So I gave Wolfenstein a 6 simply because of the things I thought should be better than older 5 to 10 year games like Bioshock, Half-life and other classics which you must play before you die. But killing nazis is always fun regardless. I'm just hoping I'll want to play Wolfenstein new order again like I did with the older Wolfenstein game.. So far though, I don't see any fun in replaying this game again. But I'll finish the game so I can be fair and say I did so.
    Expand
  11. Sep 11, 2014
    8
    I would've given this game a 7.5 but I decided to round up to 8 to satisfy Metacritic. Finally, after completing both story lines in the game, I feel I'm ready to write my review.

    Don't let anyone fool you: this game is not an old school shooter. Return to Castle Wolfenstein was the last Wolfenstein title that could ever claim go be old school. This game tries it's hardest to blend the
    I would've given this game a 7.5 but I decided to round up to 8 to satisfy Metacritic. Finally, after completing both story lines in the game, I feel I'm ready to write my review.

    Don't let anyone fool you: this game is not an old school shooter. Return to Castle Wolfenstein was the last Wolfenstein title that could ever claim go be old school. This game tries it's hardest to blend the old school mechanics with new school mechanics to satisfy a ever-diversifying gaming audience. Does this make it a bad game, or does it detract from the experience? Not at all. However, it does show that it isn't what it was touted to be.

    I won't waste time writing down the story or game plot premise here, only that it really does take second fiddle to the gameplay itself, as previous Wolfenstein titles have (among most other id franchises). And as far as gameplay goes, it is generally linear in terms of how you have to go through a level on a certain path. However, at many times, it gives you the option to take a stealth approach or a combat heavy approach. The stealth mechanics are fairly monotonous, as it comes down to just finding and killing an officer who is able to call in reinforcements, and then performing assassinations on all the other soldiers in the area. If you do find yourself in a stealth section, you do have the option to go in guns blazing and killing everyone with dual wielded weapons (all weapons can be dual wielded with an identical one), but you do get the impression that these sections were designed around stealth, and are thus heavily encouraged to approach it as such.
    The enemy types aren't all that varied, as they really only fall under a few main types: hounds, soldiers, officers, and giant robots (there are also these REALLY annoying drone things that show up sometimes, but they are fairly rare; there also a few challenging bosses you have to face). However, their AI is fairly well programmed, and they do what they are supposed to do and present some challenge, so there's not much to complain about here.

    The level design is fairly good, and you find yourself in a lot of varied environments, like castles, open battlefields, urban settings, and even the moon, and all are designed fairly well and open, though there is a strong sense of a path that you need to take through the level to accomplish your goal.

    The characters are well done as well, having been fleshed out significantly better than in other Wolfenstein and id franchise games, excluding Blazowicz himself and his live interest Anya. I mean, Wyatt in the later game has some kind of responsibility complex, and still acts like a kid, while Fergus later in the game (in the other storyline) tries to cover up his sadness with humor; this gives them personality. However, BJ and Anya just kind of chill out and go with whatever comes to them. This is evident when BJ and Anya begin their relationship: I mean, BJ wakes up after a 14 year coma where Anya took care of him, then they're with some old people and explaining the situation of the world to him, then BJ kills a bunch of Nazis, then goes on a train and is almost shot by Frau Engel, then him and Anya have sex for the sole reason that there is only one bed in their cabin on the train. Also, might I add: the two sex scenes are incredibly stupid, juvenile, and unnecessary.

    This brings me to another point that is probably the worst part of this game: there's just a bunch of unnecessary crap thrown into the story for absolutely no reason. Now I'm not talking about the recreation of the first level of Wolf3D that you can play; that was cool. I mean a lot of the stuff just felt over the top. First off, there's an incredible amount of blood and gore: the executions you can do are damn brutal, you see innocent people getting shot in the head, you yourself get stabbed multiple times, and you even see a guy's eyes gouged out and his brain sucked out with a drill as his back is flayed open. It was pretty disgusting. Also, adding into BJ's personality of just rolling with everything, it seemed really unnecessary and stupid to have him tripping acid (yes, this happens if you trigger it) with a guy that just compared him to a Nazi. I don't know if these unnecessary parts were put in to cater to the newer gamers with different views on the world, or what.

    Now, to end, I'll put in the Xbox 360 specific points.
    The game actually looks really good for a 360 game, with incredibly textures on weapons, enemies, and important spots in the environment. However, the rest of the textures in the ambient environment are very muddy and low res (obviously a limitation of the hardware). Also, the dynamic shadows are very pixellated, despite it being rendered from OpenGL. Also, the post processing and particle effects are toned down from PC and 8th Gen , but if it weren't for the muddy textures in the world, they would be fairly comparable.

    Overall, I recommend it to shooter/Wolfenstein fans: 8-10 hours of brutal fun.
    Expand
  12. Jul 25, 2014
    8
    This game is near great,just slightly more thing and it will be great
    This game gives you all, the anger,the joy,the fun,and the sadness
    I get mad soo many times while playing this game because it's hard and very challenging
    so you can''t really go all brute and shoot everything up rambo style even in the normal difficulty
    It's a good game and i recommend you to play this
  13. Jun 4, 2014
    5
    Honestly I have no Clue what I will say but for heck with it I thought the game is really good. Really Insanely hard and almost a nightmare than Dark soul 2. ALMOST A NIGHTMARE THAN DARK SOULS 2!
    Graphic: 9/10
    Story: 7/10
    Ending: 5/10
  14. May 31, 2014
    8
    The Good: The game has fantastic gun play, a great story, well developed characters, a wide variety of ways to play, powerful guns, awesome looking enemies, an ending that both is depressing yet satisfying, and just the overall fun of shoving a fistful of bullets into a Nazi mecha death droid's face.

    The Bad: The game is a bit buggy, I had one crash during the first cut scene (and that
    The Good: The game has fantastic gun play, a great story, well developed characters, a wide variety of ways to play, powerful guns, awesome looking enemies, an ending that both is depressing yet satisfying, and just the overall fun of shoving a fistful of bullets into a Nazi mecha death droid's face.

    The Bad: The game is a bit buggy, I had one crash during the first cut scene (and that was the only one) and the rest of it got a bit laggy at few and far between intervals. The game also has a habit of not telling you where your objective is, so sometimes I get lost.

    The Ugly: I don't know if it's just me, but the graphics are bad. The pop in is horrible and sometimes takes over 5 whole seconds to load. Yet the textures and are still outdated. To me, they look a TINY better than something that would come out of 2011.

    Verdict: A few issues aside, Wolfenstein The New Order is a great game that really stands out in a genre full of paranoid, xenophobic, drag-you-by-the-nose "realistic military shooters".

    7.5/10 (+.5 for an Easter egg that made my day when I found it.)

    8/10-GREAT
    Expand
  15. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    The game is great but is constanly crashing on me. I hope they release and update soon because its really annoying. I would've gave this game a higher rating but because of the constant crashes i found my experience frustating and after a few trys i gave up and started playing something else.
  16. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    I have a soft spot for Wolfenstein, ever since playing the original first person all those years ago so I was always going try out this game. What struck me was that the story begins so well and continues this way until it becomes slightly wayward and loses track which is a shame. There are some fantastic moments in the game and a hell of a lot of action so if it's an old school shooterI have a soft spot for Wolfenstein, ever since playing the original first person all those years ago so I was always going try out this game. What struck me was that the story begins so well and continues this way until it becomes slightly wayward and loses track which is a shame. There are some fantastic moments in the game and a hell of a lot of action so if it's an old school shooter you are looking for then you will really enjoy this. If I could score it in two halves it would be a 9 for the first half followed by a 5 for the second (5 may seem harsh but I thought the ending was incredibly disappointing) Definitely worth a go but after a good start I really feel the makers of this game ever so slightly lost their way, perhaps some future DLC will rectify this feeling. Expand
  17. Jul 8, 2014
    8
    Very good story, with a lot of breathtaking moments and smooth gameplay with 60 fps.
    The only problem on the 7th generation consoles are the low definition textures on some objects, even with the huge mandatory installation.
  18. Nov 12, 2014
    4
    Game seems broken to me. Im always searching for ammo. I put LOADS of bullets from dualwielded shotguns from like 20 cm distance into opponent but he still stands there and kills me. From 100 hp 100 armor. I must say - seriously? Now i died because I thought I can go rambo style when I'm armed to my teeth. Load screen for 10th time in a row. It takes 30 sec + every time. These are someGame seems broken to me. Im always searching for ammo. I put LOADS of bullets from dualwielded shotguns from like 20 cm distance into opponent but he still stands there and kills me. From 100 hp 100 armor. I must say - seriously? Now i died because I thought I can go rambo style when I'm armed to my teeth. Load screen for 10th time in a row. It takes 30 sec + every time. These are some gamebreaking errors. I dont feel the power in guns in this game. I wield BIG guns and - from full to 0 ammo i kill 1-3 opponents and i have to switch to other weapon. Next thing - there are sections filled with meds and armors, but there are no opponents, and next you get sections with opponents but without meds. And picking stuff from the flor? Also broken. Taking 10 helmets from fallen enemies? What? I try to image that but it just gets more awkward. There are lots of glitches, I stucked in the ground for way to many times. Another thing - checkpoints - broken. There are moments when You just dont know what to do next and the game doesnt help You much, like the time when Youre searching for a concrete. It takes waaay to long and is just boring. The whole game is just frustrating. Otherwise this could be good product, has quite ok story, (ok, Blazko is almost immortal in cutscenes - in the game he dies from opponents fart). Quite nice graphic, but overall its just frustrating. And end game boss? Is this a joke? I couldnt see sh*t from all the fire that was in the room.
    I cant give higher score that 4/10 for broken (unfinished?) game. And i wanted to like it so much, as i loved all ID Soft games back in the quake 1-3 era... This is probably my biggest gaming disapointment this year, after all the hype...
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 24, 2014
    70
    OK, the stealth gameplay is not working and seems forced. But try Wolfenstein: The New Order as an old-school FPS and you'll have the best, gory, mindless time you've had with a game of this kind for a long time.