Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's compound fails, the Allies’ greatest hope falls with it. 1960: Europe. The war is over. And the Nazis are triumphant victors. Using unrelenting force and brutal intimidation, the Nazis have brought even the most powerful nations to their knees. The Nazi regime now rules the globe with an iron fist. You are Captain B.J. Blazkowicz, the American War Hero. After delving into this world of darkness, you must launch an impossible counter-offensive against the monstrous Nazi regime. Only you dare stand up against an unstoppable army of Nazi robots and hulking Super Soldiers. Only you can stop Deathshead. Only you can rewrite history. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 24, 2014
    70
    OK, the stealth gameplay is not working and seems forced. But try Wolfenstein: The New Order as an old-school FPS and you'll have the best, gory, mindless time you've had with a game of this kind for a long time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. May 20, 2014
    10
    Wolfenstein is back and better than ever. Combining the cheesiness and fun of past titles with a more serious approach to narrative, The NewWolfenstein is back and better than ever. Combining the cheesiness and fun of past titles with a more serious approach to narrative, The New Order succeeds at what it set out to do, create something with a little more depth while remaining true to what makes Wolfenstein the enjoyable game series it is. A lengthy single player campaign, focused narrative cast cast of characters, fun and accessible combat, stealth, fantastic set pieces, etc., make this a game you cannot miss. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    When was the last time you played a good Wolfenstein game? If you are like me its been a loooong time... so I went into this not expectingWhen was the last time you played a good Wolfenstein game? If you are like me its been a loooong time... so I went into this not expecting much... and WOW was I in for a surprise... because the New Wolfenstein is not just good... its extraordinary!

    The first thing to strike me was the amazing visuals, which are amongst the best graphics that I have seen the aging XBOX 360 to date. The next thing that struck me was the surprisingly well done narrative. The story is well above what we are use to in FPS games as is the character development. Level design is also very well done as each chapter in the game feels completely different from the others, and the range of environments... well I don't want to spoil anything but the places you get to go are pretty cool!

    The only nitpicks I have are few and minor such as textures sometimes take a few seconds to load, some slow downs, and the occasional glitch like killing one natzi gave no death animation so I kept shooting him for a few secs until I realized he was bugged. Other than that I have no gripes.

    I am going to say something that is a bit of a surprise to me as I really had low expectation of this game going into it... but this Wolfenstein is not only the best in the series... it is now on my short list for best FPS I have ever played! I put it right up there with Half-Life 2 and Metro: Last Light.

    Here I am at the end of the review and I have not even talked of the shooting... not to worry as the weapons have weight, pack a punch and are a blast to play with. No game is flawless but this game comes very close to it and for this reason I give it a 10. Not bad for a rental that I thought was going to suck. Probably going to end up buying it as it does have some replay value based on early choices that you make in the game.
    Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    What a fantastic game. Downloaded it from the marketplace, as i wanted a good single player game. Thats exactly what i got, but not good-What a fantastic game. Downloaded it from the marketplace, as i wanted a good single player game. Thats exactly what i got, but not good- extreamly good! What a truly fantastic story, with great voice acting. Not only that, but coupled with lots of collectibles, secret rooms, crazy weapons, and a crazy but effective twist on the ww2 setting- makes for an excellent game everybody should play. This game is one of the best story games iv'e ever played infact. Also, you can go guns blazing or stealthy on most levels! Highly reccomend this game for anyone who wants a truly thrilling experience Collapse
  4. May 31, 2014
    8
    The Good: The game has fantastic gun play, a great story, well developed characters, a wide variety of ways to play, powerful guns, awesomeThe Good: The game has fantastic gun play, a great story, well developed characters, a wide variety of ways to play, powerful guns, awesome looking enemies, an ending that both is depressing yet satisfying, and just the overall fun of shoving a fistful of bullets into a Nazi mecha death droid's face.

    The Bad: The game is a bit buggy, I had one crash during the first cut scene (and that was the only one) and the rest of it got a bit laggy at few and far between intervals. The game also has a habit of not telling you where your objective is, so sometimes I get lost.

    The Ugly: I don't know if it's just me, but the graphics are bad. The pop in is horrible and sometimes takes over 5 whole seconds to load. Yet the textures and are still outdated. To me, they look a TINY better than something that would come out of 2011.

    Verdict: A few issues aside, Wolfenstein The New Order is a great game that really stands out in a genre full of paranoid, xenophobic, drag-you-by-the-nose "realistic military shooters".

    7.5/10 (+.5 for an Easter egg that made my day when I found it.)

    8/10-GREAT
    Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2014
    8
    This game is near great,just slightly more thing and it will be great
    This game gives you all, the anger,the joy,the fun,and the sadness
    I
    This game is near great,just slightly more thing and it will be great
    This game gives you all, the anger,the joy,the fun,and the sadness
    I get mad soo many times while playing this game because it's hard and very challenging
    so you can''t really go all brute and shoot everything up rambo style even in the normal difficulty
    It's a good game and i recommend you to play this
    Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    I have a soft spot for Wolfenstein, ever since playing the original first person all those years ago so I was always going try out this game.I have a soft spot for Wolfenstein, ever since playing the original first person all those years ago so I was always going try out this game. What struck me was that the story begins so well and continues this way until it becomes slightly wayward and loses track which is a shame. There are some fantastic moments in the game and a hell of a lot of action so if it's an old school shooter you are looking for then you will really enjoy this. If I could score it in two halves it would be a 9 for the first half followed by a 5 for the second (5 may seem harsh but I thought the ending was incredibly disappointing) Definitely worth a go but after a good start I really feel the makers of this game ever so slightly lost their way, perhaps some future DLC will rectify this feeling. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2014
    0
    Just back from trading this in. I have to say this game is average at best. The fact it's over 4 discs is a joke. Graphics are crap withJust back from trading this in. I have to say this game is average at best. The fact it's over 4 discs is a joke. Graphics are crap with massive pop ins. Loading times are ridiculous. Story is average just felt half baked and childish. Hardly any descent guns. Poor show. Definitely prefer the last wolfenstein. Way better. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews