User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 115
  2. Negative: 13 out of 115

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SaintRoam
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    I was a bit scared when I saw the reviews for this game as they are very mixed, but I can safely say it is WELL worth the purchase!!! The guns sound sooo unreal! I've only just started it the first few levels but can't wait to get back and smash some more floating nazi scum. Kudos to ID again!! Its been to long.....
  2. davidconnor
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    There is an immense amount of fun to be had playing this - it may not be Call of Duty 4 or Bioshock but that doesn't mean it isn't great - I am giving it a 10 to push up the overall score but it is more like an 8.5.
  3. Davec
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Right on Tom J, I concur on every point I think game reviewers have got a wee bit pretentious of late, it doesn't have to be the next Modern Warfare or Bioshock to be a good game. This is fun I loved every minute of it - It is shamelessly daft and sometimes a little bit scary - sit back, relax and enjoy the darn thing 'Why so serious?'.
  4. ChrisI
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    If you want a story, read a book. If you want suspense, watch a movie. If you want fun, play a video game. I'm glad that Wolfenstein has adhered to this way of game play. There's a reason the game has a throwaway plot; Because the game is FUN. And that is what matters most in a video game. It's a shame that few others follow the same ideology. Not only that, but the game If you want a story, read a book. If you want suspense, watch a movie. If you want fun, play a video game. I'm glad that Wolfenstein has adhered to this way of game play. There's a reason the game has a throwaway plot; Because the game is FUN. And that is what matters most in a video game. It's a shame that few others follow the same ideology. Not only that, but the game looks impressive all around. From the beautiful lighting and shadows, to the detailed textures, and the blood-soaked Nazis that gag for air when you plug them in the throat, this is FPS at its core. The way it should be. Expand
  5. TomJ.
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    I don't understand the negative reviews of this game. I feel it fits right in to the Wolfenstein franchise nicely. There are some great things here...blood soaked bullet wounds, gagging nazis gasping for air after being shot in the throat, body parts flying off. Good old classic gore, thats whats been missing in the last few WWII FPS I have played and fits in nicely with the original I don't understand the negative reviews of this game. I feel it fits right in to the Wolfenstein franchise nicely. There are some great things here...blood soaked bullet wounds, gagging nazis gasping for air after being shot in the throat, body parts flying off. Good old classic gore, thats whats been missing in the last few WWII FPS I have played and fits in nicely with the original Wolfenstein/Doom legacy. @ the AI complaints... This is a run and gun body count game, the AI doesn't need to beat me in chess, just entertain me. Does anyone play games for fun anymore or all we all supposed to be serious professional gamers now? I think it's funny all the people complaining that the MP is not like RTCW, because those same people would be complaining if it WAS just like RTCW and claiming theres no innovation and it's just a remake of RTCW blah blah blah. Go get this game sit down and relax let some steam off and kill some Nazis....remember like when we played the original back in the day...no clans, no professional gamers... we played games for fun and "gasp" entertainement. Expand
  6. Daniel
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    Wow! This game is SERIOUSLY UNDERATED. All of you low scorers are too prissy and high maintanence. You have forgotten all about what makes gaming so much fun. This game delivers everything you could want in a FPS. Oh and in regards to an earlier comment..maybe the graphics would look better if you got an HDTV. This game is gorgeous! It's more than obvious how much work was put into Wow! This game is SERIOUSLY UNDERATED. All of you low scorers are too prissy and high maintanence. You have forgotten all about what makes gaming so much fun. This game delivers everything you could want in a FPS. Oh and in regards to an earlier comment..maybe the graphics would look better if you got an HDTV. This game is gorgeous! It's more than obvious how much work was put into it. If you like gorey blood drenched gun fights and epic old-school boss fights play this game! Otherwise, just stick to world of warcraft and spare this game of your FALSE reviews! Expand
  7. MikeS
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    Very solid and entertaining game, I was hesitant to buy it based on people on sites like this giving it scores of 0 or otherwise very poor reviews, but i'm glad I did. I haven't tried the multiplayer yet but thats because i've been so caught up in the single player mode. Whats here is an engaging and action packed shooter. Very fun and spooky at times too which I love. Very solid and entertaining game, I was hesitant to buy it based on people on sites like this giving it scores of 0 or otherwise very poor reviews, but i'm glad I did. I haven't tried the multiplayer yet but thats because i've been so caught up in the single player mode. Whats here is an engaging and action packed shooter. Very fun and spooky at times too which I love. Graphics and sound are great, weapons and enemies are awesome! Highly recommended! Expand
  8. MatthewShuble
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    Controls are great, the gunplay is good, and it incorporates different gameplay elements. The multiplayer is fun, and will keep this game going for some time. As of now my only complaint is that there isn't any type of notification that you are hitting someone when you shoot in the single player. They have it in multiplayer, but it is missing in the campaign.
  9. AdamNelson
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    And i wasn't to sure what to expect from this game as there was hardly any media coverage of it but i'm glad to say it is an excellent and fun game. The "Home" town has a sand box style element while having a traditional linear missions. It is quite innovativein that respect, very interesting and something i'd love to see done in future first person shooters. I'd highlyAnd i wasn't to sure what to expect from this game as there was hardly any media coverage of it but i'm glad to say it is an excellent and fun game. The "Home" town has a sand box style element while having a traditional linear missions. It is quite innovativein that respect, very interesting and something i'd love to see done in future first person shooters. I'd highly recommend this game especially if you liked the last edition, "Return to Castle Wolfenstein", as this is even better. Expand
  10. GeorgeL
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    This is quite possibly the best WW2 game I have ever played. I have always been a fan of the Wolfenstein series. I have played Wolf3d, Spear of Destiny, RTCW, and even Enemy Territory (though I really sucked at it). After finding out about this game on GametrailersTV, I promptly preordered it. When it came it, it just blew me away. At first, it seems like a typical WW2 shooter, with you This is quite possibly the best WW2 game I have ever played. I have always been a fan of the Wolfenstein series. I have played Wolf3d, Spear of Destiny, RTCW, and even Enemy Territory (though I really sucked at it). After finding out about this game on GametrailersTV, I promptly preordered it. When it came it, it just blew me away. At first, it seems like a typical WW2 shooter, with you killing Nazis with a bunch of resistance members with your typical MP40 or Kar98. Later in the game, you get your taste of the Veil, which is this supernatural environment that also gives you extra abilities, from being able to walk through certain walls to being able to put up a shield to block enemy fire. You also get supernatural weapons as well, like the Tesla Cannon (which electrocutes people) and the uber fun Particle Cannon (which just flat out vaporizes the nazis). That's why I like this series, its supernatural element. Being that WW2 games have been done to death, it was a nice change in pace for me with the Wolfenstein series. Singleplayer is just amazing. You have a little town where you can actually freeroam. You can visit the resistance safe houses, or go to the black market to upgrade your weapons with gold that you find lying around the game. It has a great story, fun enemies, fun guns, and fun powers for you to use. Multiplayer was also quite fun. It is very heavily based on teamwork, so you need to coordinate with your teammates if you wanna outplay your enemies. Multiplayer isn't as good as the single player, though. For one thing, there isn't really that many physics in the game. The bodies pretty much fall rigidly on the ground, which gets especially ugly should you die on some stairs. Even then, multiplayer was uber fun after I got over the graphical problems and started focusing on the gameplay, which helped retain that RTCW feeling of multiplayer, but with some added things to make it better. Wolfenstein is probably the first WW2 shooter in a while that I actually had fun with (Call of Duty World at War wasn't that great, except for Nazi Zombies). I recommend getting this game, because it is DEFINATELY worth it. Expand
  11. JacobAzzam
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    This game was really good, yes the graphics are below, but you have to understand that the world is huge, the graphics resemble fallout 3 and oblivion, although the game isnt free roam, you have a bunch of houses almost all are accessable and have 1-10 floors, I can say this game is a hybrid of Bioshock, and Call of Duty: World at War. if your a fan of the original wolfenstein 3d then you
  12. May 7, 2012
    9
    I purchased this game long after it's release date after playing the demo and I must say it is one of my favorite games! There have been a great many WWII FPS games in the past few years and Wolfenstein adds to the genre with a slight scifi/fantastical twist that adds a fresh take to the genre. I consider myself to be a connoisseur of games and can appreciate certain aspects of a gameI purchased this game long after it's release date after playing the demo and I must say it is one of my favorite games! There have been a great many WWII FPS games in the past few years and Wolfenstein adds to the genre with a slight scifi/fantastical twist that adds a fresh take to the genre. I consider myself to be a connoisseur of games and can appreciate certain aspects of a game that are done well even if other parts are lacking. Wolfenstein is one such game and the thing it does well is DETAIL. I don't mean graphically superior skin detail but rather details that add to the level of immersion in the game. The thing that really makes this game stand out to me is that almost every single item in the game world is fully movable and often breakable. It's very satisfying to enter any number of indoor environments (office, kitchen, etc) engage in a close-quarters gunfight and be left with a room full of splintered furniture bits, overturned tables, and scattered debris of all kinds. It really adds a level of immersion lacking in many games. Another level of detail I really appreciate it is in the game's more fantastic weapons. One of my favorite weapons, the Tesla gun, has a great level of detail in the specific parts that make up the gun including a small gauge that actually moves as the gun "spins up" for discharge. The game has a couple "hub" areas of the city that are somewhat open world and after learning the sewer shortcuts and rooftop paths one really starts to get the feeling of being a resistance fighter in a Nazi-occupied city. The overall story could definitely be better written and more engaging but overall it's quite a fun right and not as mindless as some would lead you to believe. It is definitely worth the price you'd pay for it at this point in time! Expand
  13. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    An underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of aAn underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of a Nazi-occupied town during WWII. The weapon models, especially the sci-fi guns, are very well done and offer tons of cool details to make them feel like they would actually work in the real world and it's cool how they incorporated parts form real german guns into the sci-fi weapons. I've had tons of fun playing this underrated game and would suggest it highly for anyone looking for a great wwii fps with a scifi twist! Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 66
  2. Negative: 1 out of 66
  1. 73
    You can't help but wish that they developed the kernel of the ideas in this game into something more. As it is, this new Wolfenstein comes off as an engaging, though otherwise forgettable, shooter.
  2. 80
    If you're into WWII shooters -- and judging by the sales of every single Call of Duty title ever, you are -- but you're looking for something with a little twist to it -- which, judging by the sales of twisty straws, you are -- and you don't mind the color green -- and judging by the number of Irish people in the world, you don't -- you should get yourself a copy of Wolfenstein.
  3. Compelling single player with a fresh take on things doesn’t happen every day. It’s just that much better when it comes bundled with a fantastic multiplayer experience to boot.