Wolfenstein Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 128
  2. Negative: 14 out of 128
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 14, 2016
    8
    Wolfenstein is a good shooter . Wolfenstein much better than Wolfenstein The New Order . Normal Graphics for 2009 and amazing , awesome and interesting storyline and nice gameplay . This is best game of the 2009 in my opinion . Good shooter and action . 8/10 .
  2. Dec 22, 2015
    8
    A very underrated game in my opinion. Wolfenstein is one of the last games developed by Raven software and they managed to do a fresh take on the series while preserving the spirit of the franchise. Sure, there is a nonsensical science fiction twist added to the story, but the game's lore works in favor of the gameplay as you are given cool powers and weapons to play around with in theA very underrated game in my opinion. Wolfenstein is one of the last games developed by Raven software and they managed to do a fresh take on the series while preserving the spirit of the franchise. Sure, there is a nonsensical science fiction twist added to the story, but the game's lore works in favor of the gameplay as you are given cool powers and weapons to play around with in the game. The weapon selection is somewhat limited, but there is no denying that Raven software is pro at making shooting feel satisfying. The graphics run on the Doom 3 engine, but the game looks very nice and even surpasses the newer ID tech games in texture quality. I think you should give this game a chance. RIP Raven and thanks for the memorable FPS gems. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    This totally underrated game was the most fun I've had with the Xbox 360 since Halo 3 launched. The upgradable weapons added an extremely fun gameplay element. The boss bad guys were fun to take down. The story might not have been unique or new but it moved the game along nicely and I enjoyed myself. Haven't found a game quite as good as this in the shooter genre until the new Tomb RaiderThis totally underrated game was the most fun I've had with the Xbox 360 since Halo 3 launched. The upgradable weapons added an extremely fun gameplay element. The boss bad guys were fun to take down. The story might not have been unique or new but it moved the game along nicely and I enjoyed myself. Haven't found a game quite as good as this in the shooter genre until the new Tomb Raider (for similar reasons!). p.s. I don't hand out 10-star reviews often. Expand
  4. May 14, 2014
    8
    This game was far from perfect, but it still was a lot of fun. I liked a lot about it. The only real issues I had with it was the fact that 1) you couldn't EVER even have a CHANCE to get all the upgrades in the game, and 2) When you sell an upgrade, you don't get all the money back.

    Raven didn't completely disappoint us on this one, but they could have done a better job.
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Entertaining and off the beaten road. The controls are sharp, the graphics are very nice, and the audio is top notch. My only complaint was that the campaign was a little too linear, but it was to be expected. Overall, it was fun to play. The multiplayer was filled with lag to the point it was unplayable.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    An underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of aAn underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of a Nazi-occupied town during WWII. The weapon models, especially the sci-fi guns, are very well done and offer tons of cool details to make them feel like they would actually work in the real world and it's cool how they incorporated parts form real german guns into the sci-fi weapons. I've had tons of fun playing this underrated game and would suggest it highly for anyone looking for a great wwii fps with a scifi twist! Collapse
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    I really wanted to love this game. It's predecessor was amazing. Unfortunately, I could not get into the story line like the prior game. Some interesting additions of modifying weapons on the black market and the veil powers are nice, but I just did not feel the game was as fun as it should have been. The multiplayer was attrocious. A lot of the achievement points are geared towardsI really wanted to love this game. It's predecessor was amazing. Unfortunately, I could not get into the story line like the prior game. Some interesting additions of modifying weapons on the black market and the veil powers are nice, but I just did not feel the game was as fun as it should have been. The multiplayer was attrocious. A lot of the achievement points are geared towards multiplayer which is now pretty much empty. It would be next to impossible to get those achievement points today. The game is worthy of a 1 day rental, but I wouldn't recommend purchasing it. Expand
  8. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Being a huge fan of the Wolfenstein franchise, and an often returning player to RTCW, I was hugely let down by this game. I'm not going to say that this game is bad, because it's not. It's actually a fairly respectable FPS with some good ideas and pretty good gameplay. My biggest problem pretty much boils down to it's detachment from it's predecessors. There also seems to be a lack ofBeing a huge fan of the Wolfenstein franchise, and an often returning player to RTCW, I was hugely let down by this game. I'm not going to say that this game is bad, because it's not. It's actually a fairly respectable FPS with some good ideas and pretty good gameplay. My biggest problem pretty much boils down to it's detachment from it's predecessors. There also seems to be a lack of usable weapons in this as I couldn't help but lament about not having access to the Thompson and Colt .45 seen in the boxart and cutscenes respectively. They also take away your near-iconic knife for a couple of melee weapons you can find lying around maps but not keep in your inventory. Also, I'm not so big on the Thule medallion and Veil parts of the game as it feels like a stranger angle on the occult themes than what Wolfenstein is usually known for. Also, I don't like B.J.'s redesign, man belongs in a Rangers uniform. Then again, that's probably just me, and I'm not going to let that effect my rating. At the very least, the weapons here are cool and VERY fun to shoot. My favorite among them is the Particle Cannon, which gleefully reminds me of Ghostbusters every time I dematerialize Nazis with it. The gun is simply a joy to shoot and flat-out destroys any enemy you come across. Similarly, the Thule Medallion gives you access to a few powers to aid you in combat. You get the ability to slow time to make precision shooting a breeze, create a bubble shield to deflect bullets, and empower your guns to shoot through armor and do extra damage. However, there comes a drawback as power weapons aren't as restricted by ammo consumption as you would assume them to be. You can easily purchase ammo for them at the nearest black market shop, which means you'd have no shortage of overpowering weapons. To add to this, your health now regenerates whenever you're not taking damage. Many might not see that as a bad thing, but to fans of the series, this may feel like a slap to the face when they were expecting more of that old-school FPS gameplay. The combination of overpowered weapons and regenerating health severely drop the campaign difficulty. Which brings me to the story. To be perfectly honest, I have trouble remembering much of the games plot other than the Nazis trying to harvest the veil energy for their war efforts and Deathshead making his return from the previous game. I honestly think that Return to Castle Wolfenstein had a stronger plot than this one did, which is rather worrisome. At the end of the day, this is a good FPS game that can be very fun for it's action, but may alienize many fans of the older games. If you can find it for a good price, pick it up, or simply rent it to see if you like it or not. Expand
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    0
    This game is a big big big FAILURE---A major DISAPPOINTMENT...in other words---it a piece of TRASH !!!

    The AI SUX BALLS, the enemy just keep respawning ---endless respawning !!!, the gameplay is **** and the camera just keep shaking so intensely---this is a piece of **** that you will regret buying it---or you just like puking at your screen playing with this **** !!!
  10. Sep 21, 2012
    4
    Wolfenstein 3D is the game that started all shooter games. So is this a great shooter? No its not! Bad story line, boring missions, too short, decent gameplay. Upgrades were good but still does not change the fact that this is a bad game. Wolfenstein 4.4/10
  11. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    Decent controls, annoying voice acting that will make your head burst into flames, The story isn't motivated, unique but sure is repetitive(fighting waves of endless enemies). Disintegrating Nazi's never gets old, but the graphics sure do, just remember those lovely PS2 days. But with all honesty, fighting the bosses are worth the play-through alone, since the controls feel fine and someDecent controls, annoying voice acting that will make your head burst into flames, The story isn't motivated, unique but sure is repetitive(fighting waves of endless enemies). Disintegrating Nazi's never gets old, but the graphics sure do, just remember those lovely PS2 days. But with all honesty, fighting the bosses are worth the play-through alone, since the controls feel fine and some of the weapon's are blast too use. Expand
  12. May 7, 2012
    9
    I purchased this game long after it's release date after playing the demo and I must say it is one of my favorite games! There have been a great many WWII FPS games in the past few years and Wolfenstein adds to the genre with a slight scifi/fantastical twist that adds a fresh take to the genre. I consider myself to be a connoisseur of games and can appreciate certain aspects of a gameI purchased this game long after it's release date after playing the demo and I must say it is one of my favorite games! There have been a great many WWII FPS games in the past few years and Wolfenstein adds to the genre with a slight scifi/fantastical twist that adds a fresh take to the genre. I consider myself to be a connoisseur of games and can appreciate certain aspects of a game that are done well even if other parts are lacking. Wolfenstein is one such game and the thing it does well is DETAIL. I don't mean graphically superior skin detail but rather details that add to the level of immersion in the game. The thing that really makes this game stand out to me is that almost every single item in the game world is fully movable and often breakable. It's very satisfying to enter any number of indoor environments (office, kitchen, etc) engage in a close-quarters gunfight and be left with a room full of splintered furniture bits, overturned tables, and scattered debris of all kinds. It really adds a level of immersion lacking in many games. Another level of detail I really appreciate it is in the game's more fantastic weapons. One of my favorite weapons, the Tesla gun, has a great level of detail in the specific parts that make up the gun including a small gauge that actually moves as the gun "spins up" for discharge. The game has a couple "hub" areas of the city that are somewhat open world and after learning the sewer shortcuts and rooftop paths one really starts to get the feeling of being a resistance fighter in a Nazi-occupied city. The overall story could definitely be better written and more engaging but overall it's quite a fun right and not as mindless as some would lead you to believe. It is definitely worth the price you'd pay for it at this point in time! Expand
  13. Robbyd
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    Maybe I am being more forgiving since I got it for $15.00 but Wolfenstein was an enjoyable experience most shooter or sci-fi fans should try.
  14. MrFlibble
    Nov 18, 2009
    5
    I've played all of the Wolfenstein games on the PC and RTCW is one of my all time favourite games, so it was only natural that I would buy this new version of Wolfenstein, although in this case, on the 360. First let me say that I really enjoyed the demo, sure it was oldschool but it was good fun and there's always place in my 360 collection for some oldschool shooters. The I've played all of the Wolfenstein games on the PC and RTCW is one of my all time favourite games, so it was only natural that I would buy this new version of Wolfenstein, although in this case, on the 360. First let me say that I really enjoyed the demo, sure it was oldschool but it was good fun and there's always place in my 360 collection for some oldschool shooters. The complete game on the other hand? Dear or deary me... Where to begin? Well, I can sum the game up in three words: "bland and boring". The level design is horribly uninspired, the gameplay borders on tedious and unlike RTCW which feels very slick this version feels clunky. The veil powers add nothing of real interest and feel gimmicky. The RPG, yes RPG, elements are completely out of place in a game like this and just don't work imo. But the absolute worst thing is the whole game feels unfinished. It's very rough around the edges and lacks even the most rudimentary of polish we expect on the 360. I wasn't expecting MW2 with this release but I was at the very least expecting a fun oldschool FPS and Wolfenstein couldn't even manage that. :( Expand
  15. GregM
    Nov 4, 2009
    7
    I had fun with Wolfenstein, good fun, up to a point. The controls and graphics are very good, the enemy and friend AI is very good, the weapons are interesting, and I really enjoyed the use of magic powers. The game is creepy and challenging. I didn't think the story was anything but a bore that took away from the action. The cutscenes were really weak, as was the drawing of the main I had fun with Wolfenstein, good fun, up to a point. The controls and graphics are very good, the enemy and friend AI is very good, the weapons are interesting, and I really enjoyed the use of magic powers. The game is creepy and challenging. I didn't think the story was anything but a bore that took away from the action. The cutscenes were really weak, as was the drawing of the main character. And for me, when I started to encounter one kind of enemy (Veil Assassins), the game was ruined and I traded it in. I could get past them, but it was a pain in the butt and not fun in any way, shape or form. It's too bad, I would've enjoyed the game a great deal more without them. So as with most things that go this way, most reviews are incorrect. This is neither the greatest game ever made nor the worst. It's allright. Expand
  16. GrantA
    Oct 15, 2009
    4
    I actually really liked this game, old school yes but it was FUN to play. Until........ I got to the hospital. It was late so, after failing miserably to complete the mission, I shut down for the night. Next time I cranked it up, bugger me I was back at the start of the hospital. Thinking I had stuffed up, I played through and came out the other side and played through the SS Headquarters I actually really liked this game, old school yes but it was FUN to play. Until........ I got to the hospital. It was late so, after failing miserably to complete the mission, I shut down for the night. Next time I cranked it up, bugger me I was back at the start of the hospital. Thinking I had stuffed up, I played through and came out the other side and played through the SS Headquarters mission before shutting down. Today I fired up only to find I was heading into the Hospital mission yet again, anger & rage seething through every pore !!!!!!!!! So a score of 4 for the short campaign that was building nicely and 6 off for sending this out with all the bugs that I and others have blown our hard earned dollars on. SHAME ON YOU id and Raven, I have bought my last game from you Expand
  17. yahtzee
    Oct 14, 2009
    2
    I am rating this on the single player only. i cannot see what is fun in trekking down copy pasted alleyways endlessly. also why does it have to have a fucking RPG element?! what was wrong with just picking up guns? why do all my guns have to be shit when i by them? even the fucking lightning BFGs!? a wasted $120 nz dollars.
  18. BrendonR.
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    This game gets a bad rap from reviewers. I wonder if they played through the whole thing. Good Indianna Jones type story and a competent FPS. Decent length and a whole lot of fun.
  19. Daniel
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    Wow! This game is SERIOUSLY UNDERATED. All of you low scorers are too prissy and high maintanence. You have forgotten all about what makes gaming so much fun. This game delivers everything you could want in a FPS. Oh and in regards to an earlier comment..maybe the graphics would look better if you got an HDTV. This game is gorgeous! It's more than obvious how much work was put into Wow! This game is SERIOUSLY UNDERATED. All of you low scorers are too prissy and high maintanence. You have forgotten all about what makes gaming so much fun. This game delivers everything you could want in a FPS. Oh and in regards to an earlier comment..maybe the graphics would look better if you got an HDTV. This game is gorgeous! It's more than obvious how much work was put into it. If you like gorey blood drenched gun fights and epic old-school boss fights play this game! Otherwise, just stick to world of warcraft and spare this game of your FALSE reviews! Expand
  20. ChrisI
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    If you want a story, read a book. If you want suspense, watch a movie. If you want fun, play a video game. I'm glad that Wolfenstein has adhered to this way of game play. There's a reason the game has a throwaway plot; Because the game is FUN. And that is what matters most in a video game. It's a shame that few others follow the same ideology. Not only that, but the game If you want a story, read a book. If you want suspense, watch a movie. If you want fun, play a video game. I'm glad that Wolfenstein has adhered to this way of game play. There's a reason the game has a throwaway plot; Because the game is FUN. And that is what matters most in a video game. It's a shame that few others follow the same ideology. Not only that, but the game looks impressive all around. From the beautiful lighting and shadows, to the detailed textures, and the blood-soaked Nazis that gag for air when you plug them in the throat, this is FPS at its core. The way it should be. Expand
  21. PatS
    Sep 7, 2009
    2
    Loved it until I hit a fatal error in the castle that won't allow me to load save files and freezes each time. Researched and found it was a known issue and still no patch. If you don't mind rolling the dice and having your game end at some unknown point, it's probably an "8" or so.
  22. Arkanoid
    Sep 6, 2009
    8
    I have gotten tired of the whole strategy/fps. Why is it we can't just sit back and shoot things? I am really enjoying Wolfenstein for this fact. Sure the maps are nothing more than alleyways with various blocks to provide cover, and yes, the AI amounts to nothing more than, "find target, shoot in direction of target," but would it be Wolfenstein if it were any other way?
  23. MikeS
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    Very solid and entertaining game, I was hesitant to buy it based on people on sites like this giving it scores of 0 or otherwise very poor reviews, but i'm glad I did. I haven't tried the multiplayer yet but thats because i've been so caught up in the single player mode. Whats here is an engaging and action packed shooter. Very fun and spooky at times too which I love. Very solid and entertaining game, I was hesitant to buy it based on people on sites like this giving it scores of 0 or otherwise very poor reviews, but i'm glad I did. I haven't tried the multiplayer yet but thats because i've been so caught up in the single player mode. Whats here is an engaging and action packed shooter. Very fun and spooky at times too which I love. Graphics and sound are great, weapons and enemies are awesome! Highly recommended! Expand
  24. TJDoc
    Aug 27, 2009
    8
    In many ways, this feels like the long-awaited conclusion to the "Old-school and Proud of it" trilogy, that began with Doom 3 and Quake 4. It's a simplistic, gore drenched, undeniably fun FPS experience; filled with grotesque and varied enemies, as well as a satisfying selection of weapons to shoot, burn,zap, and desintegrate the Nazis with. The very definition of an 8/10 game.
  25. ChrisB
    Aug 27, 2009
    5
    I'm rating this independently of previous Wolfenstein games. It's important to say that as so many people are caught up in comparing it with RTCW etc. On its own merits it's distinctly average. The missions are reasonably fun and the shooting feels 'right'. However, DO NOT bother with multiplayer - it's quite possibly the worst FPS multiplayer I've ever I'm rating this independently of previous Wolfenstein games. It's important to say that as so many people are caught up in comparing it with RTCW etc. On its own merits it's distinctly average. The missions are reasonably fun and the shooting feels 'right'. However, DO NOT bother with multiplayer - it's quite possibly the worst FPS multiplayer I've ever played on the 360. Fuzzy graphics and animations that look like they're running through strobe lighting. Shockingly bad. Couple that with annoying between missions running to meet contacts (a la Far Cry 2 ....'didn't I kill the guys at this checkpoint 5 minutes ago?') and annoyingly unfair deaths (I'm talking to you, Veil Assassins) and the result is rental only. Expand
  26. Davec
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Right on Tom J, I concur on every point I think game reviewers have got a wee bit pretentious of late, it doesn't have to be the next Modern Warfare or Bioshock to be a good game. This is fun I loved every minute of it - It is shamelessly daft and sometimes a little bit scary - sit back, relax and enjoy the darn thing 'Why so serious?'.
  27. GeorgeL
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    This is quite possibly the best WW2 game I have ever played. I have always been a fan of the Wolfenstein series. I have played Wolf3d, Spear of Destiny, RTCW, and even Enemy Territory (though I really sucked at it). After finding out about this game on GametrailersTV, I promptly preordered it. When it came it, it just blew me away. At first, it seems like a typical WW2 shooter, with you This is quite possibly the best WW2 game I have ever played. I have always been a fan of the Wolfenstein series. I have played Wolf3d, Spear of Destiny, RTCW, and even Enemy Territory (though I really sucked at it). After finding out about this game on GametrailersTV, I promptly preordered it. When it came it, it just blew me away. At first, it seems like a typical WW2 shooter, with you killing Nazis with a bunch of resistance members with your typical MP40 or Kar98. Later in the game, you get your taste of the Veil, which is this supernatural environment that also gives you extra abilities, from being able to walk through certain walls to being able to put up a shield to block enemy fire. You also get supernatural weapons as well, like the Tesla Cannon (which electrocutes people) and the uber fun Particle Cannon (which just flat out vaporizes the nazis). That's why I like this series, its supernatural element. Being that WW2 games have been done to death, it was a nice change in pace for me with the Wolfenstein series. Singleplayer is just amazing. You have a little town where you can actually freeroam. You can visit the resistance safe houses, or go to the black market to upgrade your weapons with gold that you find lying around the game. It has a great story, fun enemies, fun guns, and fun powers for you to use. Multiplayer was also quite fun. It is very heavily based on teamwork, so you need to coordinate with your teammates if you wanna outplay your enemies. Multiplayer isn't as good as the single player, though. For one thing, there isn't really that many physics in the game. The bodies pretty much fall rigidly on the ground, which gets especially ugly should you die on some stairs. Even then, multiplayer was uber fun after I got over the graphical problems and started focusing on the gameplay, which helped retain that RTCW feeling of multiplayer, but with some added things to make it better. Wolfenstein is probably the first WW2 shooter in a while that I actually had fun with (Call of Duty World at War wasn't that great, except for Nazi Zombies). I recommend getting this game, because it is DEFINATELY worth it. Expand
  28. geneporfido
    Aug 26, 2009
    8
    SP is pretty good- the guns are powerful and the aiming/character control is smooth and near perfect. Lots of surprises and some crazy nazi abominations make most of the story entertaining and enjoyable.
    MP however is a major letdown. The maps and premise are there and should have been a great addition to the Wolfenstein legacy. However there is so much lag that it is absolutely
    SP is pretty good- the guns are powerful and the aiming/character control is smooth and near perfect. Lots of surprises and some crazy nazi abominations make most of the story entertaining and enjoyable.
    MP however is a major letdown. The maps and premise are there and should have been a great addition to the Wolfenstein legacy. However there is so much lag that it is absolutely unplayable. If they fixed this it would be a blast.
    Expand
  29. RickyBurak
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    The single player component is great fun, but can feel repetitive with when going through the same areas several times. The multiplayer is a great DISAPPOINTMENT. It is unbearable. There are too many problems to type.
    8/10
    I was looking forward to the MP, but i guess I'll have to stick with CoD 4
  30. davidconnor
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    There is an immense amount of fun to be had playing this - it may not be Call of Duty 4 or Bioshock but that doesn't mean it isn't great - I am giving it a 10 to push up the overall score but it is more like an 8.5.
  31. IippoO.
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    I was thrilled to hear about this game and i pre ordered it june. when the game arrived i was so happy and really expected lot from this game... Thats when the reality of this game slap me in face. This game is plain awful. I really tried to like this game but after one and half hour of wasting my time i just gave up. Single play mode was just stupid and this game looked like this should I was thrilled to hear about this game and i pre ordered it june. when the game arrived i was so happy and really expected lot from this game... Thats when the reality of this game slap me in face. This game is plain awful. I really tried to like this game but after one and half hour of wasting my time i just gave up. Single play mode was just stupid and this game looked like this should have come out to ps2 and old xbox like back in 2003. Normally i wouldt give a game 0 but this game is so lame, intelligence is so stupid (f.e. your bot crew can stand in the middle of narrow path and you cant get through WTF???) This game is biggest disappointment for me 2009 for sure. If youre interested in this game play this first before buying. Expand
  32. BrandonG
    Aug 21, 2009
    4
    Wolfenstein isn't a classic because it was great, it's a classic because it was first and its not like there is anything about this that is terrible remarkable. The single player is not bad but forgettable The multilplayer has more problems then I've ever seen making it frustrating to play. The Achievements badly chosen and weight to heavily on the MP side Don't bother Wolfenstein isn't a classic because it was great, it's a classic because it was first and its not like there is anything about this that is terrible remarkable. The single player is not bad but forgettable The multilplayer has more problems then I've ever seen making it frustrating to play. The Achievements badly chosen and weight to heavily on the MP side Don't bother with this dull waste of time, and why does BJ look like Adam Carolla? Expand
  33. TomJ.
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    I don't understand the negative reviews of this game. I feel it fits right in to the Wolfenstein franchise nicely. There are some great things here...blood soaked bullet wounds, gagging nazis gasping for air after being shot in the throat, body parts flying off. Good old classic gore, thats whats been missing in the last few WWII FPS I have played and fits in nicely with the original I don't understand the negative reviews of this game. I feel it fits right in to the Wolfenstein franchise nicely. There are some great things here...blood soaked bullet wounds, gagging nazis gasping for air after being shot in the throat, body parts flying off. Good old classic gore, thats whats been missing in the last few WWII FPS I have played and fits in nicely with the original Wolfenstein/Doom legacy. @ the AI complaints... This is a run and gun body count game, the AI doesn't need to beat me in chess, just entertain me. Does anyone play games for fun anymore or all we all supposed to be serious professional gamers now? I think it's funny all the people complaining that the MP is not like RTCW, because those same people would be complaining if it WAS just like RTCW and claiming theres no innovation and it's just a remake of RTCW blah blah blah. Go get this game sit down and relax let some steam off and kill some Nazis....remember like when we played the original back in the day...no clans, no professional gamers... we played games for fun and "gasp" entertainement. Expand
  34. Ryencoke
    Aug 19, 2009
    0
    I was the first person to buy this game, and I will probably be the first one to take it back. What absolute garbage. The main reason I bought it was for the Online. And let me tell you gladly, what a piece of crap the online is. I didn't even want to try the single player because of how bad the online gameplay way. What a huge huge huge letdown. RTCW has better online than this.
  35. SaintRoam
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    I was a bit scared when I saw the reviews for this game as they are very mixed, but I can safely say it is WELL worth the purchase!!! The guns sound sooo unreal! I've only just started it the first few levels but can't wait to get back and smash some more floating nazi scum. Kudos to ID again!! Its been to long.....
  36. AdamNelson
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    And i wasn't to sure what to expect from this game as there was hardly any media coverage of it but i'm glad to say it is an excellent and fun game. The "Home" town has a sand box style element while having a traditional linear missions. It is quite innovativein that respect, very interesting and something i'd love to see done in future first person shooters. I'd highlyAnd i wasn't to sure what to expect from this game as there was hardly any media coverage of it but i'm glad to say it is an excellent and fun game. The "Home" town has a sand box style element while having a traditional linear missions. It is quite innovativein that respect, very interesting and something i'd love to see done in future first person shooters. I'd highly recommend this game especially if you liked the last edition, "Return to Castle Wolfenstein", as this is even better. Expand
  37. ToddBrown
    Aug 18, 2009
    8
    this game hits all the points to the wolfenstine series. the gameplay is solid and ID outdid themselves. the variety of guns and upgrades really puts this game at the right place. there is one problem though. the games sory is allitle dry but that does not take away from the game. definite buy.
  38. JacobAzzam
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    This game was really good, yes the graphics are below, but you have to understand that the world is huge, the graphics resemble fallout 3 and oblivion, although the game isnt free roam, you have a bunch of houses almost all are accessable and have 1-10 floors, I can say this game is a hybrid of Bioshock, and Call of Duty: World at War. if your a fan of the original wolfenstein 3d then you
  39. MatthewShuble
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    Controls are great, the gunplay is good, and it incorporates different gameplay elements. The multiplayer is fun, and will keep this game going for some time. As of now my only complaint is that there isn't any type of notification that you are hitting someone when you shoot in the single player. They have it in multiplayer, but it is missing in the campaign.
  40. Aug 23, 2013
    0
    An underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of aAn underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of a Nazi-occupied town during WWII. The weapon models, especially the sci-fi guns, are very well done and offer tons of cool details to make them feel like they would actually work in the real world and it's cool how they incorporated parts form real german guns into the sci-fi weapons. I've had tons of fun playing this underrated game and would suggest it highly for anyone looking for a great wwii fps with a scifi twist! Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 66
  2. Negative: 1 out of 66
  1. 73
    You can't help but wish that they developed the kernel of the ideas in this game into something more. As it is, this new Wolfenstein comes off as an engaging, though otherwise forgettable, shooter.
  2. 80
    If you're into WWII shooters -- and judging by the sales of every single Call of Duty title ever, you are -- but you're looking for something with a little twist to it -- which, judging by the sales of twisty straws, you are -- and you don't mind the color green -- and judging by the number of Irish people in the world, you don't -- you should get yourself a copy of Wolfenstein.
  3. Compelling single player with a fresh take on things doesn’t happen every day. It’s just that much better when it comes bundled with a fantastic multiplayer experience to boot.