User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 112
  2. Negative: 13 out of 112

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2014
    8
    This game was far from perfect, but it still was a lot of fun. I liked a lot about it. The only real issues I had with it was the fact that 1) you couldn't EVER even have a CHANCE to get all the upgrades in the game, and 2) When you sell an upgrade, you don't get all the money back.

    Raven didn't completely disappoint us on this one, but they could have done a better job.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Entertaining and off the beaten road. The controls are sharp, the graphics are very nice, and the audio is top notch. My only complaint was that the campaign was a little too linear, but it was to be expected. Overall, it was fun to play. The multiplayer was filled with lag to the point it was unplayable.
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    An underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of a Nazi-occupied town during WWII. The weapon models, especially the sci-fi guns, are very well done and offer tons of cool details to make them feel like they would actually work in the real world and it's cool how they incorporated parts form real german guns into the sci-fi weapons. I've had tons of fun playing this underrated game and would suggest it highly for anyone looking for a great wwii fps with a scifi twist! Collapse
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    I really wanted to love this game. It's predecessor was amazing. Unfortunately, I could not get into the story line like the prior game. Some interesting additions of modifying weapons on the black market and the veil powers are nice, but I just did not feel the game was as fun as it should have been. The multiplayer was attrocious. A lot of the achievement points are geared towards multiplayer which is now pretty much empty. It would be next to impossible to get those achievement points today. The game is worthy of a 1 day rental, but I wouldn't recommend purchasing it. Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Being a huge fan of the Wolfenstein franchise, and an often returning player to RTCW, I was hugely let down by this game. I'm not going to say that this game is bad, because it's not. It's actually a fairly respectable FPS with some good ideas and pretty good gameplay. My biggest problem pretty much boils down to it's detachment from it's predecessors. There also seems to be a lack of usable weapons in this as I couldn't help but lament about not having access to the Thompson and Colt .45 seen in the boxart and cutscenes respectively. They also take away your near-iconic knife for a couple of melee weapons you can find lying around maps but not keep in your inventory. Also, I'm not so big on the Thule medallion and Veil parts of the game as it feels like a stranger angle on the occult themes than what Wolfenstein is usually known for. Also, I don't like B.J.'s redesign, man belongs in a Rangers uniform. Then again, that's probably just me, and I'm not going to let that effect my rating. At the very least, the weapons here are cool and VERY fun to shoot. My favorite among them is the Particle Cannon, which gleefully reminds me of Ghostbusters every time I dematerialize Nazis with it. The gun is simply a joy to shoot and flat-out destroys any enemy you come across. Similarly, the Thule Medallion gives you access to a few powers to aid you in combat. You get the ability to slow time to make precision shooting a breeze, create a bubble shield to deflect bullets, and empower your guns to shoot through armor and do extra damage. However, there comes a drawback as power weapons aren't as restricted by ammo consumption as you would assume them to be. You can easily purchase ammo for them at the nearest black market shop, which means you'd have no shortage of overpowering weapons. To add to this, your health now regenerates whenever you're not taking damage. Many might not see that as a bad thing, but to fans of the series, this may feel like a slap to the face when they were expecting more of that old-school FPS gameplay. The combination of overpowered weapons and regenerating health severely drop the campaign difficulty. Which brings me to the story. To be perfectly honest, I have trouble remembering much of the games plot other than the Nazis trying to harvest the veil energy for their war efforts and Deathshead making his return from the previous game. I honestly think that Return to Castle Wolfenstein had a stronger plot than this one did, which is rather worrisome. At the end of the day, this is a good FPS game that can be very fun for it's action, but may alienize many fans of the older games. If you can find it for a good price, pick it up, or simply rent it to see if you like it or not. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    0
    This game is a big big big FAILURE---A major DISAPPOINTMENT...in other words---it a piece of TRASH !!!

    The AI SUX BALLS, the enemy just keep respawning ---endless respawning !!!, the gameplay is **** and the camera just keep shaking so intensely---this is a piece of **** that you will regret buying it---or you just like puking at your screen playing with this **** !!!
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    4
    Wolfenstein 3D is the game that started all shooter games. So is this a great shooter? No its not! Bad story line, boring missions, too short, decent gameplay. Upgrades were good but still does not change the fact that this is a bad game. Wolfenstein 4.4/10
  8. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    Decent controls, annoying voice acting that will make your head burst into flames, The story isn't motivated, unique but sure is repetitive(fighting waves of endless enemies). Disintegrating Nazi's never gets old, but the graphics sure do, just remember those lovely PS2 days. But with all honesty, fighting the bosses are worth the play-through alone, since the controls feel fine and some of the weapon's are blast too use. Expand
  9. May 7, 2012
    9
    I purchased this game long after it's release date after playing the demo and I must say it is one of my favorite games! There have been a great many WWII FPS games in the past few years and Wolfenstein adds to the genre with a slight scifi/fantastical twist that adds a fresh take to the genre. I consider myself to be a connoisseur of games and can appreciate certain aspects of a game that are done well even if other parts are lacking. Wolfenstein is one such game and the thing it does well is DETAIL. I don't mean graphically superior skin detail but rather details that add to the level of immersion in the game. The thing that really makes this game stand out to me is that almost every single item in the game world is fully movable and often breakable. It's very satisfying to enter any number of indoor environments (office, kitchen, etc) engage in a close-quarters gunfight and be left with a room full of splintered furniture bits, overturned tables, and scattered debris of all kinds. It really adds a level of immersion lacking in many games. Another level of detail I really appreciate it is in the game's more fantastic weapons. One of my favorite weapons, the Tesla gun, has a great level of detail in the specific parts that make up the gun including a small gauge that actually moves as the gun "spins up" for discharge. The game has a couple "hub" areas of the city that are somewhat open world and after learning the sewer shortcuts and rooftop paths one really starts to get the feeling of being a resistance fighter in a Nazi-occupied city. The overall story could definitely be better written and more engaging but overall it's quite a fun right and not as mindless as some would lead you to believe. It is definitely worth the price you'd pay for it at this point in time! Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2013
    0
    An underrated gem. This game is like a WWII Call of Duty with a sci fi twist! The mechanics are great and the game has many destructible objects in the environment, leading to half-destroyed rooms after a big firefight which really pulls you into the game environment. The hub areas of the city are cool and really make you feel like you are sneaking around the back alleyways of a Nazi-occupied town during WWII. The weapon models, especially the sci-fi guns, are very well done and offer tons of cool details to make them feel like they would actually work in the real world and it's cool how they incorporated parts form real german guns into the sci-fi weapons. I've had tons of fun playing this underrated game and would suggest it highly for anyone looking for a great wwii fps with a scifi twist! Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 66
  2. Negative: 1 out of 66
  1. 73
    You can't help but wish that they developed the kernel of the ideas in this game into something more. As it is, this new Wolfenstein comes off as an engaging, though otherwise forgettable, shooter.
  2. 80
    If you're into WWII shooters -- and judging by the sales of every single Call of Duty title ever, you are -- but you're looking for something with a little twist to it -- which, judging by the sales of twisty straws, you are -- and you don't mind the color green -- and judging by the number of Irish people in the world, you don't -- you should get yourself a copy of Wolfenstein.
  3. Compelling single player with a fresh take on things doesn’t happen every day. It’s just that much better when it comes bundled with a fantastic multiplayer experience to boot.