Wolfenstein Xbox 360

Wolfenstein Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set within a near-fictional, historical WWII setting, players take on the role of the heroic OSA agent BJ Blazkowicz as they are thrust into the unknown and unexpected to battle against combat troops, otherworldly forces, and the dark science created by a supernatural Nazi force hell-bent onSet within a near-fictional, historical WWII setting, players take on the role of the heroic OSA agent BJ Blazkowicz as they are thrust into the unknown and unexpected to battle against combat troops, otherworldly forces, and the dark science created by a supernatural Nazi force hell-bent on world domination. Wolfenstein offers players an action-packed experience as they investigate the powers of a dark parallel dimension, join with resistance forces, and employ an arsenal of conventional and otherworldly weapons in attempts to annihilate the Nazi war machine. Ensuring a deep variety of action, Wolfenstein provides gamers with an assortment of interlinked missions that drive an intense, story-driven combat experience; while the Wolfenstein multiplayer experience continues the world-renowned tradition of class-based team objective gameplay with a full arsenal of conventional and supernatural weapons for addictive online warfare. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 66
  2. Negative: 1 out of 66
  1. Compelling single player with a fresh take on things doesn’t happen every day. It’s just that much better when it comes bundled with a fantastic multiplayer experience to boot.
  2. 80
    If you're into WWII shooters -- and judging by the sales of every single Call of Duty title ever, you are -- but you're looking for something with a little twist to it -- which, judging by the sales of twisty straws, you are -- and you don't mind the color green -- and judging by the number of Irish people in the world, you don't -- you should get yourself a copy of Wolfenstein.
  3. Not only does Wolfenstein recreate a little dab of this magic, its embraces the world of magic and the supernatural to give this old standard a fresh perspective.
  4. Official Xbox Magazine
    75
    A decidedly old-school FPS that modernizes itself just enough to make it fun today. [Nov 2009, p.68]
  5. My recommendation: let Wolfenstein stay in the other dimension and away from your Xbox 360 or PS3. There are other shooters this fall that can scratch your FPS itch a heck of a lot better.
  6. Wolfenstein is a mediocre title from a franchise known to be innovative and exceptional in their offerings.
  7. All of the parties responsible for this deserve to be called into question, and all gamers should question whether or not this subpar and frankly embarrassing title justifies further purchases from any of the three companies involved.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 39
  2. Negative: 8 out of 39
  1. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    This totally underrated game was the most fun I've had with the Xbox 360 since Halo 3 launched. The upgradable weapons added an extremely funThis totally underrated game was the most fun I've had with the Xbox 360 since Halo 3 launched. The upgradable weapons added an extremely fun gameplay element. The boss bad guys were fun to take down. The story might not have been unique or new but it moved the game along nicely and I enjoyed myself. Haven't found a game quite as good as this in the shooter genre until the new Tomb Raider (for similar reasons!). p.s. I don't hand out 10-star reviews often. Expand
  2. SaintRoam
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    I was a bit scared when I saw the reviews for this game as they are very mixed, but I can safely say it is WELL worth the purchase!!! The gunsI was a bit scared when I saw the reviews for this game as they are very mixed, but I can safely say it is WELL worth the purchase!!! The guns sound sooo unreal! I've only just started it the first few levels but can't wait to get back and smash some more floating nazi scum. Kudos to ID again!! Its been to long..... Expand
  3. Daniel
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    Wow! This game is SERIOUSLY UNDERATED. All of you low scorers are too prissy and high maintanence. You have forgotten all about what makes Wow! This game is SERIOUSLY UNDERATED. All of you low scorers are too prissy and high maintanence. You have forgotten all about what makes gaming so much fun. This game delivers everything you could want in a FPS. Oh and in regards to an earlier comment..maybe the graphics would look better if you got an HDTV. This game is gorgeous! It's more than obvious how much work was put into it. If you like gorey blood drenched gun fights and epic old-school boss fights play this game! Otherwise, just stick to world of warcraft and spare this game of your FALSE reviews! Expand
  4. RickyBurak
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    The single player component is great fun, but can feel repetitive with when going through the same areas several times. The multiplayer is aThe single player component is great fun, but can feel repetitive with when going through the same areas several times. The multiplayer is a great DISAPPOINTMENT. It is unbearable. There are too many problems to type.
    8/10
    I was looking forward to the MP, but i guess I'll have to stick with CoD 4
    Expand
  5. BrendonR.
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    This game gets a bad rap from reviewers. I wonder if they played through the whole thing. Good Indianna Jones type story and a competent FPS. This game gets a bad rap from reviewers. I wonder if they played through the whole thing. Good Indianna Jones type story and a competent FPS. Decent length and a whole lot of fun. Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    I really wanted to love this game. It's predecessor was amazing. Unfortunately, I could not get into the story line like the prior game.I really wanted to love this game. It's predecessor was amazing. Unfortunately, I could not get into the story line like the prior game. Some interesting additions of modifying weapons on the black market and the veil powers are nice, but I just did not feel the game was as fun as it should have been. The multiplayer was attrocious. A lot of the achievement points are geared towards multiplayer which is now pretty much empty. It would be next to impossible to get those achievement points today. The game is worthy of a 1 day rental, but I wouldn't recommend purchasing it. Expand
  7. Ryencoke
    Aug 19, 2009
    0
    I was the first person to buy this game, and I will probably be the first one to take it back. What absolute garbage. The main reason I boughtI was the first person to buy this game, and I will probably be the first one to take it back. What absolute garbage. The main reason I bought it was for the Online. And let me tell you gladly, what a piece of crap the online is. I didn't even want to try the single player because of how bad the online gameplay way. What a huge huge huge letdown. RTCW has better online than this. Collapse

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.