Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    70
    The transition from the PC to the Xbox 360 left a lot of content behind, but World of Tanks remains a decent and fun online game with a casual approach that anyone can enjoy.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 24, 2014
    70
    The exact antithesis of Titanfall. [June 2014, p.84]
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    70
    If you’re looking for a no-frills multiplayer experience without the overblown pomp of something like Call of Duty or Battlefield, World of Tanks offers a drop-in, instant access alternative that may not be revolutionary, but is purposefully angled towards a very particular market.
  4. 70
    This isn't my kind of genre at the best of times, and I don't think it's the finest example of the genre, not as long as its core potential - to offer strategic combat - is ruined by obnoxious players. But I do think this is a well-crafted game and it's a fair call to say it's the finest attempt at a serious, "hardcore", free-to-play experience out there is probably justified.
  5. 70
    This is a solid version that's well worth the download for Xbox live gold members. Compared to the PC game it lacks too many features, though, and technologically it is far behind as well.
  6. Mar 5, 2014
    70
    It needs work in terms of visuals and could do with some more maps and game types, but World Of Tanks: Xbox 360 Edition ticks all the boxes that it needs to. Add in the free-to-play aspect and you’re left with a game that’s more than worth a spin – just don’t expect to use your brain too much.
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    70
    As far as free-to-play games with premium add-ons go, World of Tanks: Xbox 360 Edition does very little wrong.
  8. Feb 14, 2014
    70
    World of Tanks: Xbox 360 Edition is limited in features right now, but is rich in potential. It's not a well-oiled machine yet, but it's still fun to take for a spin. Given that it costs absolutely nothing to climb aboard, it's hard not to recommend.
  9. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 30, 2014
    60
    A solid multiplayer free-to-play shooter that, despite suffering from a lack of variety, is distinct enough to warrant giving it a try. [Issue#109, p.70]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 50
  2. Negative: 17 out of 50
  1. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I laughed when I read the review starting "Well I'm going to be completely honest" then a rating of 1 out of 10.
    One word. .PC fanboy, or a
    I laughed when I read the review starting "Well I'm going to be completely honest" then a rating of 1 out of 10.
    One word. .PC fanboy, or a Sony fanboy pretending to be a PC fanboy in order to down-rate an Xboxe 360 game.
    Is this game the best looking game on the 360?. . .No!

    Does it look pretty good? for a large area battlefield. . yes it actually does look pretty good for a machine with 512megs of ram. Lets see what the PC snobs machine can do with 512 megs of ram.
    The game looks fine, and has a pretty impressive draw distance for a console game. The texture actually look ok, when all things are considered.
    The game handling can take a minute or two to get into but it is intuitive, and about as easy, as it could be to have tank steering, without using up all the triggers and shoulder buttons for something that can be accomplished on the left analogue. There is the oddl moment of frustration as you spin about helplessly while trying to beat a hasty retreat (i use the word "hasty" in context here, as it's more of a leisurely walking pace if your reversing, but these moments are rare, and don't ruin the game at all, even if someone else does occasionally get an easy kill, as you pirouette helplessly in front of them doing your best to try and get a luck shot off at them.
    I found the game to be addictive, and fun. Team-play was surprisingly good, and i only game across a couple of players who were not really playing as part of a team. though I did switch off my mic & headset a couple of times, so as not to have to listen to an overly vocal child or someones background music, but you get these "People" in any game.
    I'd highly recommend this to anyone, especially if you like shooters, but like me, are just to slow for COD and the other fast paced FPS games out there. If your playing with some buddies it's fantastic.
    This game also has the potential to be added to in a big way, new maps, new tanks, new weapons and perks. I see a rosie future for it improving all the time, in the same way mine-craft has been transformed.

    I'd give this an genuine 8 or 9 just because it is so much fun, up to 10 to counter the trolls who rated it 1.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    1
    Okay I am going to be completely honest in this review. I played the PC version as well and absolutely hated it so maybe I was expectingOkay I am going to be completely honest in this review. I played the PC version as well and absolutely hated it so maybe I was expecting something better but I was completely wrong. This game is downright horrible in every aspect. Let's start with the UI, well it sucks, plain and simple, it is somewhat confusing to use and it is ugly. Next the game play, whelp it is bad but let me go into detail on why. When you start off the tanks are absolutely **** they do nothing and the game felt unbalanced towards new players. The actual tank warfare is not that great at all, it's just fire back and forth at each other and see which tanks get blown up first. The frames per second are disgusting to look at and so are most of the textures. The tanks look meh, while everything else looks somewhat mushy and low res. I can't believe actually tried this, I think that War Thunder's tank battles will be much better, I've seen beta gameplay and it already looks better than this World of Garbage. Don't worry about playing it, downloading it or whatever, it is better if you just completely avoid it. I know it's a console thing but it horribly sucks. There is no music, or at least I didn't hear much and the sound is near okay. Even the loading screen suffers from frame rate drops and when you get back into your garage it also lags a bit which is fantastic! Getting into actual matches are ridiculous, you have to wait like a couple minutes to get into an unbalanced match with supremely overpowered players with ridiculous cannons, the beginning tanks you won't get anywhere with. Oh wait there is more, they have training videos, but do you really think that someone won't see a giant metal thing "hiding" in bush, of course they will! That is just one of the many faults of World of **** so in conclusion this game sucks on EVERY platform and don't pay any attention to it, don't even think about buying premium tanks, waste of money. I am done playing the World of Bull****! Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    7
    The game is decently fun. At first I thought the balance was decent. Even with spending real money the advantages didn't seem overpowering.The game is decently fun. At first I thought the balance was decent. Even with spending real money the advantages didn't seem overpowering. But recently I have seen more and more unbalanced matches. When im in my tier 1 and 2 tanks and then thrown in with tier 5 and 6 tanks that's a bad balance. Ive had enemy tanks with a sliver of health left and shot with good penetration indication and nothing happens at all even after 2 to 3 shells, they shoot me once and im at full health boom!!! im destroyed in one shot. Have this happen a few times and the game becomes pretty much more irritating than fun, even for a free game. I'd rather pay for a fun game than play an annoyingly unbalanced free game. Overall the game has redeeming qualities for quick fun here and there, but unless the balance is tweaked more, would be newbies or casual stop in and play for a bit tank commanders will go elsewhere after they run into a Tier VII tank and get one shot killed within each of their first few matches Full Review »