User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 249
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    7
    Well I'm going to be honest, this review does not start off in a positive light! World of Tanks does not make a good first impression, I get and I fully understand that this is a free-to-play game but damn, do you really need to attack me with marketing emails before the game has even begun? That's cold! Quickly getting rid of the email screen you are shown the news feed which is a littleWell I'm going to be honest, this review does not start off in a positive light! World of Tanks does not make a good first impression, I get and I fully understand that this is a free-to-play game but damn, do you really need to attack me with marketing emails before the game has even begun? That's cold! Quickly getting rid of the email screen you are shown the news feed which is a little confusing at first until you have the slow realisation that what you are looking at is a clever distraction from the fact that the game is downloading in the background. It seemed too good to be true that the game was only 70MB when it was downloaded from the marketplace (after a quick peruse of their Twitter feed it turns out the whole game is 2.7 GB, sigh...) On a personal night let me tell you that this is a terrible and disgustingly frustrating way to start a review, I think I'll just wander away from the keyboard until it's finished. I don’t know, just enjoy the advert below or something in the meantime...

    You still with me? Good! 35 minutes later and we're ready to get our review on! Let's kick things off with some training. There is a big ol' list of training videos you can watch that run through the different parts of the game and tell you everything you would ever need to know but quite frankly I am **** out of patience at this point and just want to blow things up, I was always better at on-the-job training anyway! The tutorial covers everything you would expect it to; how to move the turret and how to manoeuvre the tank etc. The little beauty starts shining through when you are confronted with your first obstacle and the very helpful guide says “Tanks don't drive around obstacles, they drive through them”. Environmental destruction is always appreciated and welcomed with open arms. From here you move on to the combat side of things and you are introduced to the general shooting procedures as well as given some tips on flanking your rivals. Finally you are shown how to snipe with your Tank. Yep, you read that right, even in a game that is designed solely around big metal things blowing up other big metal things you are still not safe from the campers of the world. To be fair though it wouldn't really be online gaming without them, we've really only got ourselves to blame. Fully trained and feeling ready for action I figured there was no time like the present to roll out into battle! It's amazing what training can do for your morale, you leave it feeling like the big dog ready to take on the world but as soon as you head blindly in to battle you realise you know absolutely nothing, certainly not enough to keep you alive. I learnt this lesson the hard way, repeatedly! On the bright side I at least managed to take a few Tanks down with me.

    The shining example that Wargaming know what their games want is the fact that there is technically no wait times between battles. Once you have been blown up you are not forced to sit there all useless and defeated; you are given 2 options. You can either stick around and watch your remaining team members carry on the battle or you can declare a polite 'screw this crap' to that match and head back to the garage to select a new Tank to charge in to battle with. The only downside of the second option is that you have to wait for the original match to finish before you can select that particular Tank again. This is a very very small price to pay for the ability to jump straight back in to the action whenever you're ready.

    When you're not out to war blowing up strangers from across the globe you will be spending the majority of your time in your garage; this is your central hub for everything warfare. Here you can spend all of your hard earned cash and XP on brand new Tanks, new types of ammo & new equipment as well as having the ability to customise any Tanks you currently own. This brings me neatly onto my single biggest problem with, not just this game, but these types of games in general; the microtransactions, I **** hate microtransactions!! There are a few particular upgrades and pieces of equipment that give you the power to dominate everyone else and, as you would expect, they are super expensive! The hardcore gamer in me loves **** like this because it gives you good incentive to play more so you can save up and buy them and have a smug satisfaction whenever you rise victorious. What pisses me off is the fact that someone can come along, use real money to buy virtual money and then use that virtual money to buy their way to victory! I think I just need to accept that microtransactions are now a widely used thing and move on with my life (as much as I may not want to!)

    See the full review here: http://idiotbox.co.uk/world-of-tanks-review/
    Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    2
    NOT IMPRESSED, fun concept if it was a semi even playing field, but pairing in matches is ridiculous, too difficult to get points when constantly battling opponents with jacked up tanks that are 3-4 tiers higher. premium account waste of money for the benefits. takes too much xp to level up and upgrade...Deleting Game before I throw controller through TV
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    6
    This game is awesome and terrible at the same time.

    It is cool by the way the tanks look and how this game is played, which is easy to learn. Gameplay is really fun and can addicting at times. The tutorial teaches you how to play, which leaves open how you play, which is nice in my opinion. The bad thing is, if you don't spend money on this game buying loads of gold, you will fall
    This game is awesome and terrible at the same time.

    It is cool by the way the tanks look and how this game is played, which is easy to learn. Gameplay is really fun and can addicting at times. The tutorial teaches you how to play, which leaves open how you play, which is nice in my opinion.

    The bad thing is, if you don't spend money on this game buying loads of gold, you will fall behind real fast. Even if you played this game 24/7 it would still take you the better part of a year to get a tier X tank without gold. You are also at a disadvantage, because wargaming tends to screw people who don't pay money for gold on this game.

    But then again if you are willing to buy the gold then you will be much happier. I did not have gold for a long time and my friends would just shoot ahead of me. I finally broke down and bought some gold. I am glad I made this decision because I can research and buy things a lot quicker, but when my premium account runs out I feel like I would have to go buy some more.

    Overall this game is fun, and if you are a tank person or a fan of history (like me) you can get a lot of great things out of this game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2014
    7
    If you're a PC fanboy who's playing World of Tanks on PC and saying how **** this game is, here's some news for you: This game wasn't meant for you. It is meant to attract new fans to the franchise and get them interested. As a result this game is a partial-port. While it may seem that the games are same at first glance there are numerous subtle changes made to the game to make it moreIf you're a PC fanboy who's playing World of Tanks on PC and saying how **** this game is, here's some news for you: This game wasn't meant for you. It is meant to attract new fans to the franchise and get them interested. As a result this game is a partial-port. While it may seem that the games are same at first glance there are numerous subtle changes made to the game to make it more accessible to console players and first-time recruits. This is why the game is slightly more "arcadey" and slightly DE-emphasizes accuracy and realism. (It's still tactical and team-oriented however.) The game has less content to probably make the game seem less overwhelming. (Which can be the case every now and then.) As a result this game when played by the intended audience (Once again, this game isn't for everyone.) is a hit. Ideally, once you've gotten good at the game you'll move onto the pc version with more tanks, content and difficulty and realism. The only real issue aside from a few bugs is the fact that it has a price tag. I feel like this game would've attracted more people had it been free (one reason why many PC people played the original was that it was F2P.) It's not terrible but a slight bummer. Overall, this "port" is meant to attract new followers and somewhat satisfy PC gamer's desires. It's a nice attempt at compromise. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2015
    1
    Thought this game was good. This game is do money sucking but like putting money in a poker machine the minute you get detected behind s rock somehow you move half a metre ahead and get shot at even went to a mates place and seen the same thing they con you in and suck the life outta yar pfffft 120 dollars for 24xxx gold get f......d rather pay 99.95 at Eb for a game and enjoy it insteadThought this game was good. This game is do money sucking but like putting money in a poker machine the minute you get detected behind s rock somehow you move half a metre ahead and get shot at even went to a mates place and seen the same thing they con you in and suck the life outta yar pfffft 120 dollars for 24xxx gold get f......d rather pay 99.95 at Eb for a game and enjoy it instead of grinding a tier 8 in a tier 10 match ahhhh yeah track him and get behind him what in a t32/34 that goes 37 kmh get real yeah you help your team but what fun is that really premium tanks such as the t34 with a. 120mm maybe good but the hull armor is like play doe be able to penetrate it with an orange fffs turret armor is good but somehow it doesn't make a difference from the fraudulent lag that they make themselves I hade my tank to the side I full on had someone hit me from the right hand side indication came up that it was from there had no one else hit me next minute I turned my tank to see that I had pentetration at the front wtf next is the **** invisible crap what's that f...... Magic that's pathetic lol get shot at from invisible enemies Ive had it with this game the grinding t29 105 mm t32 back to the 90 mm that's **** atleast make it a 110 mm my facebook name is jake Morrison if yous wanna make complaints inbox me because this fraudulent stuff is not what games are about only money premium is too much money you spend your hard earned money on a game that keeps expecting more outta yar I'm out had enough Expand
  6. May 14, 2015
    0
    I game a lot, and this could be a fun game but it is pure aggravation and a scam attempting to get you to pay daily. The rewards are too much of a grind trying to force you to pay for premium by the day (which I tried and is a scam, you still cannot upgrade very fast). I played on the xbox live gold version and in approximately 40 battles, my total silver (required to upgrade and buyI game a lot, and this could be a fun game but it is pure aggravation and a scam attempting to get you to pay daily. The rewards are too much of a grind trying to force you to pay for premium by the day (which I tried and is a scam, you still cannot upgrade very fast). I played on the xbox live gold version and in approximately 40 battles, my total silver (required to upgrade and buy higher tier tanks) declined, not increased. I would encourage everyone you know to boycott this game and any by these guys. You should not win battles, still be alive and in the mix with kills and spots and still lose thousands in silver. A$$h@les! fix the game!! Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    6
    If I could describe this game in one word... it would be meh. Unfortunately this site requires a small paragraph so I must digress. The graphics are well...ok, the gameplay is well... good, the controls are bad, and the community is not good either. All of that balances this game out to a 5, taking the community out would justify my rating of a 6 (because let's face it, I can't knock theIf I could describe this game in one word... it would be meh. Unfortunately this site requires a small paragraph so I must digress. The graphics are well...ok, the gameplay is well... good, the controls are bad, and the community is not good either. All of that balances this game out to a 5, taking the community out would justify my rating of a 6 (because let's face it, I can't knock the developers for a bad fan base). So yeah, an overall meh! Expand
  8. Feb 27, 2014
    7
    The game is decently fun. At first I thought the balance was decent. Even with spending real money the advantages didn't seem overpowering. But recently I have seen more and more unbalanced matches. When im in my tier 1 and 2 tanks and then thrown in with tier 5 and 6 tanks that's a bad balance. Ive had enemy tanks with a sliver of health left and shot with good penetration indication andThe game is decently fun. At first I thought the balance was decent. Even with spending real money the advantages didn't seem overpowering. But recently I have seen more and more unbalanced matches. When im in my tier 1 and 2 tanks and then thrown in with tier 5 and 6 tanks that's a bad balance. Ive had enemy tanks with a sliver of health left and shot with good penetration indication and nothing happens at all even after 2 to 3 shells, they shoot me once and im at full health boom!!! im destroyed in one shot. Have this happen a few times and the game becomes pretty much more irritating than fun, even for a free game. I'd rather pay for a fun game than play an annoyingly unbalanced free game. Overall the game has redeeming qualities for quick fun here and there, but unless the balance is tweaked more, would be newbies or casual stop in and play for a bit tank commanders will go elsewhere after they run into a Tier VII tank and get one shot killed within each of their first few matches Expand
  9. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    After plenty of hands on time with WOT360 I am delighted to admit that it is one of the most fun F2P games I have ever played. It's simple and entertaining which is exactly what these games should be. I don't feel pestered to spend real money or do I feel the nagging need too, it's simply an option that is there should I want to use it and that's the best part F2P should be an option andAfter plenty of hands on time with WOT360 I am delighted to admit that it is one of the most fun F2P games I have ever played. It's simple and entertaining which is exactly what these games should be. I don't feel pestered to spend real money or do I feel the nagging need too, it's simply an option that is there should I want to use it and that's the best part F2P should be an option and not rammed down your throat. Good old fashioned fun game that anyone can pick up and play. Expand
  10. Apr 19, 2014
    4
    You have to take into account that the Xbox 360 edition was developed by Microsoft Game Studios, not Wargaming.net. The way they shamelessly false advertise by saying this is a 'free to play' game is an atrocity. (Coming from an Xbox Live Gold Member of three years.) You have to pay for a Gold Membership before you can even get your hands on the game. Many of my friends are Silver MembersYou have to take into account that the Xbox 360 edition was developed by Microsoft Game Studios, not Wargaming.net. The way they shamelessly false advertise by saying this is a 'free to play' game is an atrocity. (Coming from an Xbox Live Gold Member of three years.) You have to pay for a Gold Membership before you can even get your hands on the game. Many of my friends are Silver Members and really want to play with me but just can't afford Gold right now. I don't even want to talk about how unbalanced the game is... If you're playing a tier III scout tank, you'll be thrown into a battle with tier Vs. and VIs. Same for artillery... My shells don't do jack against tier VIII armor when I'm in a tier VI.

    The physics are extremely unrealistic and it seems as if you crew is completely invisible. Where's my loader when a new shell is being loaded? Where's the commander? Shouldn't he be peeking out the hatch, looking through his binoculars for enemy targets? Your tank can become completely unresponsive sometimes, rendering you a several ton hulk of cannon fodder, easily picked off by tank destroyers. This occurred many times, mostly when driving over a hill or something. It seems as if my tank gets stuck in the terrain, another case of lousy programming. Don't even get me started on how many 'gung-ho' Call of Duty kids play this game. They rush out into battle thinking they're invincible, only to be picked off by a goddamn scout tank or something. Then they yell and scream at you through their five dollar microphones, trying to blame their own misfortunes on someone else. Well, mostly just insulting you and saying how you're 'gay' or something... I just sit there and wonder to myself, "where are the parents?" But I digress...

    The tank detection system is a complete joke... Many times I have gotten killed by it. I'll get detected, take cover, become undetected, and leave the cover only to be blasted to smithereens because the enemy can still see me, even though it said I was not detected. Don't sit there and tell me that this is because you can still be hit when your undetected, because I already know this... It's called trace-firing. But I'm talking about when I haven't fired any shots whatsoever so it can only be the shoddy detection system.

    By the way, if you want any chance of getting to the higher tiers in a reasonable time period, you're going to have to buy premium time. Getting premium time is achieved by buying gold, the premium currency, and then buying premium time with the gold. Doesn't anyone else smell greediness or is it just me? Premium time greatly increases your experience and silver accumulation after every battle. Without premium, you'll be grinding like crazy. That's all this game is, a grind. Don't let others fool you into thinking this is a good way to spend your money. You might as well be wiping your ass with those dollar bills if you plan on spending them on this game.

    In conclusion, this is one of the worst shameless cash grabs I have ever seen. Don't let mindless Microsoft drones con you into playing this. Avoid it like the plague.
    Expand
  11. May 1, 2014
    3
    Probably a good game if I get into it, but I can't. The sheer hours of first-time-setups, and for what? A game about tanks that doesn't live up to the shooter genre.
  12. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    as someone who has never tried the pc version, i have a positive light to shine. First things first. i saw the game free to download, thought why not. I have space on my hard drive, but i never expect much from FREE, much less the sticky web of free to play. Now im not a big computer person, dont really know a bit from a byte, but i do know that comparing a pc game to a revamped x boxas someone who has never tried the pc version, i have a positive light to shine. First things first. i saw the game free to download, thought why not. I have space on my hard drive, but i never expect much from FREE, much less the sticky web of free to play. Now im not a big computer person, dont really know a bit from a byte, but i do know that comparing a pc game to a revamped x box version, seems silly and hateful, just like some of these other reviews. As just a "sometimes" gamer i dont know the terms you use to describe people who are pro gamers, but isnt a pc game the best.... and console more arcade? anywayz this is my first experience, maybe it will help some new people thinking about getting a free game.....The game finally downloaded, says its one file but then its another one, dont understand that but hey.... the tutorial was easy, i was sad i dont get to keep the tank u do the tutorial with, once done learning how to drive and shoot, the cover and sniping seemed basic and easy, i am ready to hit the war zones.....NOT.....man what is this tiny tank they give you, 3 to be exact. my first battle is as follows. Me and my little german tank, along with 5 others start out on mines map left side, we all gun it forward, i think there were 4 lights and 2 mediums. I go right down thru the water, halfway across i hear a beep beep, and a red dot in front of me and on my mini map, boom, fire...miss(didnt wait to aim) he hasnt seen me, aim Boom hit 43dmg, wait. aim, fire. boom, hit. someone else kills, beep beep, targets at 2 o clock and 11 o clock, aim fire hit boom. fire boom hit.......three more tanks there and one at their base, six them down 4 us alive. WOW! i gotta try that again. next tank run got killed right away. played 10 more games in about 15 min, because you can get into a different tank right away. Also i climbed the tech tree fast. i was at a teir 5 tank in no time. And i didnt spend a dime of real money. of all the free to play games this has to be one of the smoothest, easiest, funnest games to come out, maybe im easy to please or maybe i dont expect much from free things thats why im pleased with this game. All i know is that having nothing to compare it to i found this game a truly enjoyable Free experience. as far as comparing it to a different tank game, never heard of it, is it even out yet..whats the point, none of the reviews ive read here helped me so i hope mine helps someone else. the game is really fun, easy to learn, addictive and free. the tanks look like tanks the trees look like trees and break when you run them over theres little huts and houses you can smash thru too. the fight system is easy to pick up, if you want a platoon you can have one up to three people, that follow you to games if your in a party together. if your team doest work together your not going to win so you have to talk to teammates, which is where i found the only thing i didnt like about this game. What is up with the male shovenistic attitude? is it because it was made in russia? and the players that have been playing are rude and act like your supposed to know how to play already. no one person i interacted with had patients with noobs, untill they knew i was a girl. and the racism , i had to unplug the mic and forget about talking.....well hope this helps anyone thinking of giving it a try, oh from what i can tell the premium tanks are only as good as the drivers, i blow them up as easy as any....See you on the battlefield and dont get mad when you get killed by a girl Expand
  13. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    I believe future is for consoles as it is not always convenient to play on PC. Currently console games support service is developing rapidly and all new games are being released for consoles. So console version for the game was a great idea.
  14. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    World of Tanks. It conjures images of epic tank on tank warfare, driving a twenty ton death machine through buildings to blow your enemies to kingdom-come, exulting in a well-placed shot that renders your opponents nothing more than smoldering wreckage. *sniff* It is enough to bring a tear to one's eye. Unfortunately, there are several things that keep this game from being as awesome as itWorld of Tanks. It conjures images of epic tank on tank warfare, driving a twenty ton death machine through buildings to blow your enemies to kingdom-come, exulting in a well-placed shot that renders your opponents nothing more than smoldering wreckage. *sniff* It is enough to bring a tear to one's eye. Unfortunately, there are several things that keep this game from being as awesome as it could be.

    First and foremost, the training videos, while full of fun facts and "helpful" advice, don't actually prepare you for the game in any way, shape or form. While it is important to know that your medium tank is designed as a support unit used to flank the enemy, this has no actual bearing on the way the game plays out. What I've noticed is that medium and light tanks are the first ones to die. You'd think being a tracked steel titan would make you nearly invulnerable. But, as is often the case, if you are detected first, it's pretty much game over. Oddly enough, the few times you actually do make contact with the enemy and begin slugging it out, it's simply a matter of who reloads faster. And then, since you just got spotted, you can know, with no small amount of certainty, that you will soon be overwhelmed and destroyed by his allies. This, of course, is the exception. Much more often, you will be detected and killed in a matter of four or five shots from a tank that you never see.

    The game does a fantastic job of balancing out the different classes of tanks, but with the option to simply load up your account from your debit card, the "roles" these different tanks play gets lost in the wash of people "twinking". Honestly, playing for free is pretty cool, but the fact of the matter is that someone who has never played a video game in their life with a paltry $200 of disposable income can get leagues ahead of someone who has been slogging through MMOs since the days of Halo. In the end, skill, knowledge and experience are invalidated by someone with money to burn. I don't know if you can tell, but I'm just slightly bitter about all this.

    Now, that is not say that this game is without its merits. The controls are easy to learn and surprisingly intuitive. All the tanks handle like tanks. While clunky, it's a multi-ton tracked vehicle. How much responsiveness do you really expect? I love the realism of the sound effects. Very nice. I don't really have a problem with the way the game looks. Graphics don't make the game. The SNES proves that (Super Mario RPG anybody?). It never takes very long to get a game and though the individual games have a 15-minute timer, I've never seen it run lower than nine and a half minutes. The upgrade system, while somewhat intimidating in its scope and scale, is not that difficult to learn. Anybody familiar with tech trees of any kind can figure it out pretty easily.

    In conclusion, this game is more or less solid as far as games go: it's easy to learn, relatively fun to play and doesn't eat up a lot of my time. That said, the inability to make any headway without shelling out my life's blood for **** that doesn't really exist is the height, the very pinnacle, of the industry's disrespect for the people who provide them their bread and butter. World of Tanks is not art. World of Tanks is a pyramid scam dressed up like a video game. But don't take my word for it. Download it for free. See if you enjoy it enough to spend your rent money on it. I can't say I enjoy playing it enough to be homeless.
    Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2014
    3
    Pay to win at the finest! They try and destroy your wallet to make you pay for 'Gold'. I put a good 3 hours into this game, made no progress. I wondered why, then actually looked at the 'store'. "Must have gold" "Convert gold into research points". Well how do I get gold I wondered. Well you buy it using real world money... Wait.. What? Real world money? On a game? Ok I'd understand ifPay to win at the finest! They try and destroy your wallet to make you pay for 'Gold'. I put a good 3 hours into this game, made no progress. I wondered why, then actually looked at the 'store'. "Must have gold" "Convert gold into research points". Well how do I get gold I wondered. Well you buy it using real world money... Wait.. What? Real world money? On a game? Ok I'd understand if they were booster packs. But no. The only freaking way to get 'gold' is to buy it.

    I read about people saying it looks pretty good, I read people saying that it's better than the PC version. How can a horrible game be better than itself? It's a wallet killing excuse that pushes this new "Pay to play" model thats ruining gaming. Games like World of Tanks are what make games these days unbearable, and anyone who supports it should be restricted to just this game for the rest of their lives. Then we will see how great of a game it really is.
    Expand
  16. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I laughed when I read the review starting "Well I'm going to be completely honest" then a rating of 1 out of 10.
    One word. .PC fanboy, or a Sony fanboy pretending to be a PC fanboy in order to down-rate an Xboxe 360 game.
    Is this game the best looking game on the 360?. . .No! Does it look pretty good? for a large area battlefield. . yes it actually does look pretty good for a machine
    I laughed when I read the review starting "Well I'm going to be completely honest" then a rating of 1 out of 10.
    One word. .PC fanboy, or a Sony fanboy pretending to be a PC fanboy in order to down-rate an Xboxe 360 game.
    Is this game the best looking game on the 360?. . .No!

    Does it look pretty good? for a large area battlefield. . yes it actually does look pretty good for a machine with 512megs of ram. Lets see what the PC snobs machine can do with 512 megs of ram.
    The game looks fine, and has a pretty impressive draw distance for a console game. The texture actually look ok, when all things are considered.
    The game handling can take a minute or two to get into but it is intuitive, and about as easy, as it could be to have tank steering, without using up all the triggers and shoulder buttons for something that can be accomplished on the left analogue. There is the oddl moment of frustration as you spin about helplessly while trying to beat a hasty retreat (i use the word "hasty" in context here, as it's more of a leisurely walking pace if your reversing, but these moments are rare, and don't ruin the game at all, even if someone else does occasionally get an easy kill, as you pirouette helplessly in front of them doing your best to try and get a luck shot off at them.
    I found the game to be addictive, and fun. Team-play was surprisingly good, and i only game across a couple of players who were not really playing as part of a team. though I did switch off my mic & headset a couple of times, so as not to have to listen to an overly vocal child or someones background music, but you get these "People" in any game.
    I'd highly recommend this to anyone, especially if you like shooters, but like me, are just to slow for COD and the other fast paced FPS games out there. If your playing with some buddies it's fantastic.
    This game also has the potential to be added to in a big way, new maps, new tanks, new weapons and perks. I see a rosie future for it improving all the time, in the same way mine-craft has been transformed.

    I'd give this an genuine 8 or 9 just because it is so much fun, up to 10 to counter the trolls who rated it 1.
    Expand
  17. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    I was waiting for this game on console for two years since I don't use computers. And now my and many other xbox 360 players are eager to test the product. Many thanks to developers that pay attention to console's owners.
  18. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    This game is just amazing and winning for console! If there are no any game hitches I'm sure the game will be very popular on this platform. Transferring here is more issue of terminology. The core of the game is its concept and balance, tanks themselves and their statistics. All these moments were calibrated and extensively tested on PC over the years. And the more precisely it will beThis game is just amazing and winning for console! If there are no any game hitches I'm sure the game will be very popular on this platform. Transferring here is more issue of terminology. The core of the game is its concept and balance, tanks themselves and their statistics. All these moments were calibrated and extensively tested on PC over the years. And the more precisely it will be implemented and supported – the better the game will be. Expand
  19. Mar 3, 2014
    8
    Some of the PC snobbery/fanboy foolishness is laughable. OBVIOUSLY a scaled down version for the xbox 360 will be limited compared to it's PC counterpart, though I'm not a fanboy so my view of the world isn't streamlined. WOT is a fantastic game for the xbox 360, it's quite addictive as well as competitive. The upgrade system is a little confusing, though the practice range and theSome of the PC snobbery/fanboy foolishness is laughable. OBVIOUSLY a scaled down version for the xbox 360 will be limited compared to it's PC counterpart, though I'm not a fanboy so my view of the world isn't streamlined. WOT is a fantastic game for the xbox 360, it's quite addictive as well as competitive. The upgrade system is a little confusing, though the practice range and the recently added video players guide explains fighting mechanics enough to understand and implement them. It is simple enough for all to enjoy, yet it's deep enough for serious players to their teeth into. Though there are gripes, like some achievements are NOT possible without spending money on it. Crew xp's seem never to rank up, annoying children singing down the mic or wannabe generals shouting commands like we care yet there's no in-game mute option, lastly some tanks drive erratically. Overall for some enjoyable MP action, look no further than WOT, plus it's absolutely FREE! Expand
  20. Oct 28, 2014
    8
    Me myself am not a tank fan but world of tanks has really turned me around to the new Tank on Tank warfare. it was one of the best tank shooters I've played to date.
  21. Feb 13, 2014
    3
    Coming from the PC version, this has to be one of the worst console games I've played in a while. Where do I start? The horrible match making is beyond laughable, sometimes a team will get a larger number of Heavy Tanks, and the other team is completely steam rolled. The controls are absolute garbage, and very buggy. The tanks are very unresponsive, not because of the physical tank itself,Coming from the PC version, this has to be one of the worst console games I've played in a while. Where do I start? The horrible match making is beyond laughable, sometimes a team will get a larger number of Heavy Tanks, and the other team is completely steam rolled. The controls are absolute garbage, and very buggy. The tanks are very unresponsive, not because of the physical tank itself, but the **** game mechanics. The graphics are rough and ugly, even with a flat screen and an HDMI cable, the game looks bad. The game's random calculator, which determines how much damage you're going to do, and the accuracy of your shot, seems to screw you over every time, it's happened too many times to be a coincidence. The only thing positive I can say about this horribly implemented port, is how satisfying it is to kill an enemy, of course, once you get around the **** random accuracy/damage calculator. And last but not least, your teammates ARE RETARDED. This was the straw that broke the camel's back, it seems as if they all just came from play Call of Duty. Although that's what happens for playing console, not even the teammates on the PC version are this stupid. Expand
  22. Aug 15, 2014
    1
    I enjoyed this at the beginning but soon came to realise that his game is so badly flawed that you would be better off playing the PC version. Bouncing shots, copious ricochets, tanks shooting through rocks when you cannot return fire plus invisible tanks that send fire and cannot be seen on an open uncluttered battlefield coupled with dropped frames, severe lag on a 30meg fibre opticI enjoyed this at the beginning but soon came to realise that his game is so badly flawed that you would be better off playing the PC version. Bouncing shots, copious ricochets, tanks shooting through rocks when you cannot return fire plus invisible tanks that send fire and cannot be seen on an open uncluttered battlefield coupled with dropped frames, severe lag on a 30meg fibre optic connection just go to show that this game is rigged. Buy a premium tank and don't like it sell it you get half price for your gold smacks of RIPOFF to me. Then I was informed that this game has been developed by Microsoft for the Xbox 360 not Wargaming.net. well this says it all. When all is said and done this game is a cash cow. You can play for free if you have an Xbox live GOLD account so is it really free to play?

    In my opinion no! I put over 200 hours into this game before I passed comment. The grind time if you choose not to pay a penny towards the game is ridiculously long winded and unrewarding. The matchmaking despite updates is totally appalling too. However If you buy into this game you will inevitably find out that it is just a CASH COW for Microsoft, so unless you are patient or have money to burn or indeed are a stubborn optimist do yourself a favour and play the PC version if you can. It knocks spots off this tripe.

    Be warned if you join the Xbox360 forum for this game and complain about common faults within the game god help you. You have been warned, it's not a nice experience and neither are a lot of the people on it.
    Expand
  23. Feb 12, 2014
    1
    Okay I am going to be completely honest in this review. I played the PC version as well and absolutely hated it so maybe I was expecting something better but I was completely wrong. This game is downright horrible in every aspect. Let's start with the UI, well it sucks, plain and simple, it is somewhat confusing to use and it is ugly. Next the game play, whelp it is bad but let me go intoOkay I am going to be completely honest in this review. I played the PC version as well and absolutely hated it so maybe I was expecting something better but I was completely wrong. This game is downright horrible in every aspect. Let's start with the UI, well it sucks, plain and simple, it is somewhat confusing to use and it is ugly. Next the game play, whelp it is bad but let me go into detail on why. When you start off the tanks are absolutely **** they do nothing and the game felt unbalanced towards new players. The actual tank warfare is not that great at all, it's just fire back and forth at each other and see which tanks get blown up first. The frames per second are disgusting to look at and so are most of the textures. The tanks look meh, while everything else looks somewhat mushy and low res. I can't believe actually tried this, I think that War Thunder's tank battles will be much better, I've seen beta gameplay and it already looks better than this World of Garbage. Don't worry about playing it, downloading it or whatever, it is better if you just completely avoid it. I know it's a console thing but it horribly sucks. There is no music, or at least I didn't hear much and the sound is near okay. Even the loading screen suffers from frame rate drops and when you get back into your garage it also lags a bit which is fantastic! Getting into actual matches are ridiculous, you have to wait like a couple minutes to get into an unbalanced match with supremely overpowered players with ridiculous cannons, the beginning tanks you won't get anywhere with. Oh wait there is more, they have training videos, but do you really think that someone won't see a giant metal thing "hiding" in bush, of course they will! That is just one of the many faults of World of **** so in conclusion this game sucks on EVERY platform and don't pay any attention to it, don't even think about buying premium tanks, waste of money. I am done playing the World of Bull****! Expand
  24. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    A good lawyer needs to look into this one! This game is advertised as 'free to play'. It is not free to play on Xbox 360. One needs an Xbox Gold membership which costs the player $5.00 per month to play this game online and it is a game one can only play online. This I believe is called false advertising and fraud and is punishable by either jail time and/or a hefty fine. AbsolutelyA good lawyer needs to look into this one! This game is advertised as 'free to play'. It is not free to play on Xbox 360. One needs an Xbox Gold membership which costs the player $5.00 per month to play this game online and it is a game one can only play online. This I believe is called false advertising and fraud and is punishable by either jail time and/or a hefty fine. Absolutely shameless. I thought I would never give a game a zero review, but I cannot give a game that is so tweaked into taking money from the player anything else. And Microsoft is culpable here. Penance here should be for all parties involved to be put in jail and the only way out is for them to have to play this game without money sources of any kind and 'grind' their way out by leveling all their mechanizations to the highest tier. That should equate to around 5 years. Free to play? I spent approx. $3.00 just finding out about it. Who got the money? Microsoft? The game makers themselves? It is really pay to play! It is pay to win! Make no mistake about it. The advertisements are a lie about this game as they are about all others of this ilk and type. Expand
  25. Mar 21, 2015
    2
    Well... After hours of confusing instructions to just find my self asleep on the couch when the gameplay started this is what I think of world of tanks!

    PROS
    -Realistic Gameplay

    CONS
    -Weak story
    -Boring
    -Confusing
    -Buggy
    -Poor Graphics
  26. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    The game rocks! New maps, nice locations. User-friendly interface is ideal for beginners! I used to play on PC being a rookie and it was much more difficult for me from start! I’m eager to test all the modules but I think it would be possible in full version. 360 will definitely attract many people, the game is splendid! Good luck with your further development.
  27. Oct 21, 2014
    0
    Ok. Fun game at first but beware of the scam. The issue is in latter game in the match making. one game you win, the next three you do three times the damage as the next highest player and you lose. They need to increase platoon size for regular match making. The only way to counter act the idiots. My issue is that wot makes matchmaking into **** by ranking high performers over time withOk. Fun game at first but beware of the scam. The issue is in latter game in the match making. one game you win, the next three you do three times the damage as the next highest player and you lose. They need to increase platoon size for regular match making. The only way to counter act the idiots. My issue is that wot makes matchmaking into **** by ranking high performers over time with low performers causing the game not to be fun for competitive people. I get it. They are trying to extract the maximum money from the most people by creating pain points solved by spending money. But from someone for whom money is no object i say fool me once shame on you... twice ..you get it. Deleted Wot when I was willing to spend what ever i needed to because is saw through the economic scam. Of course they are Russian. Way to continue the stereo type Expand
  28. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    NOTHING ELSE LIKE IT ON CONSOLE. My LIVE friends and I have played nothing but this for weeks since it came out and we are having a blast rolling out together in armored columns to take that next hill. It might not be quite as polished as many of the FPS competitive shooters, but it is at least a somewhat realistic tank simulator with a refreshingly slower pace. It is a thinking man'sNOTHING ELSE LIKE IT ON CONSOLE. My LIVE friends and I have played nothing but this for weeks since it came out and we are having a blast rolling out together in armored columns to take that next hill. It might not be quite as polished as many of the FPS competitive shooters, but it is at least a somewhat realistic tank simulator with a refreshingly slower pace. It is a thinking man's game as opposed to the rest of the run an gun shooters. Although other games may have fancy light shows and bells and whistles, I am scoring this based on how much fun and longevity it is giving me (without having spent a dime mind you). A solid 9 and one that I will be picking up with friends from time to time even after our initial frenzy. Expand
  29. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    Let me just start by saying that some of these reviews are way off base. Having played the PC version, this is an AMAZING port to console. The Gameplay and UI are fluid and the overall strategy is maintained. The controls are very well implemented. The game is marketed as free-to-play because that's what it is. Yes, the game requires Xbox live Gold account, but it is a MULTIPLAYERLet me just start by saying that some of these reviews are way off base. Having played the PC version, this is an AMAZING port to console. The Gameplay and UI are fluid and the overall strategy is maintained. The controls are very well implemented. The game is marketed as free-to-play because that's what it is. Yes, the game requires Xbox live Gold account, but it is a MULTIPLAYER ONLY game. This is not too difficult to figure out.

    That said, you can't just jump into this game and expect to demolish everyone. This is not CoD, you have to have strategy and there is ample amount of it here. Progression through the tank lines is rewarding and fair. It takes TIME to get to the top tier tanks, as it should. If you could get a tier X (top tier) tank in less than a week then nobody would continue to play. It is rewarding to unlock the higher tier tanks as they typically offer improvement over the previous tanks, as well as a fresh take on aspects of the gameplay. This is NOT a twitch shooter. You don't have to rely on your reaction time to be good at this game as in CoD or other shooters. Map awareness and tank strategy are key.

    Don't judge this game based on your first time out on the battlefield. Tier I matches are nothing like the top tier matches. If you give this game a chance you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  30. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Amazing game. Very addictive. No need to spend real money if you dont want to or cant afford it. It will not make a diffrence if you do. Money only helps you earn more xp and getting higher tier tanks faster but even with out that arn xp pretty fast. You can also buy some extra tanks with real money but they offer NO advantage in the battlefield. They are just new tanks mostly forAmazing game. Very addictive. No need to spend real money if you dont want to or cant afford it. It will not make a diffrence if you do. Money only helps you earn more xp and getting higher tier tanks faster but even with out that arn xp pretty fast. You can also buy some extra tanks with real money but they offer NO advantage in the battlefield. They are just new tanks mostly for collectors and world of tanks addicts. And it keeps getting better cause its being updated constantly Expand
  31. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    I played the PC version loads of times and im really happy with the conversion they did for the consoles, the graphics nearly as nice as the PC version, the tanks look fantastic. The game play is easy enough bar the getting use to the auto drive and minor issues of handling when trying to turn a little to get cover it has a habbit of reversing but as there is three different controlI played the PC version loads of times and im really happy with the conversion they did for the consoles, the graphics nearly as nice as the PC version, the tanks look fantastic. The game play is easy enough bar the getting use to the auto drive and minor issues of handling when trying to turn a little to get cover it has a habbit of reversing but as there is three different control settings im sure once the others are tried people will find the best choice for them. The warfare is as intense as ever, the adrenaline does be flowing when you are on a six tank kill streak and your going full trottle trying to find the other tank before its destroyed.

    There is no music when your in the garage which is odd, think its one of the only games ive played in years that has had no music but as this is a very new game I expect that to be done in a future update. A bit of Apocalypse now music would be perfect.

    On the bugs front ive only had the account locked out issue (had that twice) to deal with, that was annoying but it was resolved quick enough.

    All in all considering this was only launched last month I have to say they did an amazing job getting it out without much problems and the servers when your playing at 98% of the time fantastic with no lag what so ever. Meaning you can go sniping from hundreds of yards away with only your shooting being the difference between a penetration and a "It bounced it".
    Expand
  32. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    Os jogos devem ser feitos para divertir,e claro ser bem feito,este jogo conseguiu ser muito divertido e com ótimo gráfico,é mais uma prova que se pode fazer um grande jogo sem gastar milhões,parabéns.
  33. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNY TAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSs!
  34. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    It is not letting me buy gold i have been trying for days will someone tell me whats going on. It has been acting up like this for days i need to know whats going on.
  35. Aug 26, 2015
    0
    you are going to regret big time. i've never seen a worse in game balance in any other game. everything, just everything built upon the idea to frustrate the gamer more. if anything goes well, it will be screwed in next update, i guarantee it.
  36. Jul 26, 2015
    1
    This game is a total scam. Don't download it and delete it. It is addictive until (and even when) you realize that it's just an arcade version of the original game and developed by Microsoft. What does that mean? Everything the PC version stands for and has earned its reputation is not included. Microsoft has no idea what it takes to make a decent balanced and competitive tanks game, soThis game is a total scam. Don't download it and delete it. It is addictive until (and even when) you realize that it's just an arcade version of the original game and developed by Microsoft. What does that mean? Everything the PC version stands for and has earned its reputation is not included. Microsoft has no idea what it takes to make a decent balanced and competitive tanks game, so they just add and remove stuff and implement new mechanics into the game. Overall very bad adaptation and an insult to all players who think skill should be the decisive factor in a multiplayer game. Enough said! This game is a money grabbing (if you played it you know what I mean (everything considering premium, very long and rather unpleasant grinding times...)) b**** because otherwise it takes even longer to get decent tanks. So spare your time and get real games by the original developers. Expand
  37. Jan 31, 2015
    8
    I remember seeing World of Tanks a few years ago, and the gamer inside of me turned his nose up to the idea of just Tanks vs Tanks, no idea from the looks of things of getting out of the tanks for some frantic FPS game play or third person action, no PvP on the battlefield, no tactics with team mates, just that Tank rolling along to get taken out by another Tank….BORING… My nose was wellI remember seeing World of Tanks a few years ago, and the gamer inside of me turned his nose up to the idea of just Tanks vs Tanks, no idea from the looks of things of getting out of the tanks for some frantic FPS game play or third person action, no PvP on the battlefield, no tactics with team mates, just that Tank rolling along to get taken out by another Tank….BORING… My nose was well and truly up, I loved playing online with and verses friends, with a preference of FPS, but now times have changed, and I’ve personally drifted away from many a FPS, the whole online vs competitive nature of game play just doesn’t do much for me these days, I still enjoy the online co op experience, and an odd match verses mates here and there, but just the whole First Person and generally Shooter aspect has lost my interest. So that’s when a week ago I decided to bring that nose back down to earth, and actually give World of Tanks a go on Xbox 360.

    Boy was I glad solider…

    World of Tanks is a massive hit on PC, with close to 80 million registered users, and a fair bulk of them actually playing the game at points as well, and with World of Tanks on Xbox 360 as a free downloadable game, with everything available to work towards with no cost to the player apart from the Gold Live Membership (yet you can purchase various items to help speed this along with real money if you prefer), then Microsoft will certainly be looking to tap into the millions of Xbox Live Gold Members on the console side of the market.

    As I said previously, I was hesitant in playing World of Tanks a few years ago on PC, and it was no different here on Xbox 360. World of Tanks came out close to a year ago in February 2014, and I’ve only downloaded this as of 3rd January 2015, but i have been playing it for the last 7 days, with a kind of addiction, where I have these massive fully fledged AAA titles purchased over the Christmas period, but every time I turn the Xbox 360 on, I decide, lets have a little bash of World of Tanks, and that’s the reason why there is so much good in this game, the nature of the game play, and how the game works just brings the player to have that one more go or that quick match before work, before you head out, before you need to get to the real life things, this is a fantastic little time killer, but more on that soon.

    As the title suggests, World of Tanks, is basically war type scenarios fought only with Tanks, no Battlefield 3 running and gunning with you holding the gun, no Call of Duty continuous camp and spawn kills with you holding that stupid sniper, and no Counterstrike fast paced action with continuous lives or respawns…..wait actually, World of Tanks is actually a bit of all those above in its own very niche way

    In World of Tanks you are the runner, you are the sniper, you are the gunner, you are a bit of everything. Like camping and sniping, it’s here, like running and gunning, yup right here, like team work and flanking, all here too. It really is a twist of any FPS shooter, but in a massive mother of a machine! World of Tanks is brutal from the offset, you play on various maps, with around 17 available (even though with the way the matchmaking works on Xbox 360, certain level tank for certain maps, I’d say I’ve only come across around 12 so far). Maps vary in size, design, terrain, location, weather and land levelling. Each map offers different tactics with different tanks and in the nature of brutality, it can be one shot and its over. There are no respawns, there are no health pick-ups, there is no regeneration, no shield to reload, just your crew in the tank, with your armour, but even then with you sitting in this might of a machine, you can still killed within the first 30 seconds!

    Just to go back, when I say no health no shield no regeneration, that’s a slight twist on a lie, before you set out for battle, you can select up to 3 consumables products and or, 3 pieces of equipment to help you along in the battle (that’s if you have enough gold or silver to spend on the items). You can select the likes of 10% boost on engine power, a small or large health kit, a repair service is someone shoots out your tracks, then get that repaired quick or even the likes of a manual or automatic fire extinguisher to put out any fire on the tank, which is one of the must have items on your arsenal. You can also select the likes of camo to help stay sneaky, speed of hull to help turn around to see someone attacking your weak points, or better sight to zoom in and snipe someone from the other side of the map (all elements of a normal FPS then), but these pieces of equipment can start to get costly.

    Certain ‘Perks’ to a lesser term can only be used once per level (like the health pack) but also some are purchased to be continuously on throughout the map (like engine or turret speed). As said previously these all cost either silver coin or gold, and vary in prices. Full Review @ItsMuchMore
    Expand
  38. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    I think a lot of people expected the wrong things from WoT on 360. People complaining about paying for an Xbox Live subscription to play it online? What game online on Xbox 360 doesn't require a Gold sub whether the game itself is F2P or not? Anyway, ignoring the ignorant.

    The game itself is a good bit of fun. It's no deep number cruncher and the way you unlock tanks and parts has been
    I think a lot of people expected the wrong things from WoT on 360. People complaining about paying for an Xbox Live subscription to play it online? What game online on Xbox 360 doesn't require a Gold sub whether the game itself is F2P or not? Anyway, ignoring the ignorant.

    The game itself is a good bit of fun. It's no deep number cruncher and the way you unlock tanks and parts has been streamlined to allow newer players more easy of access. Personally I don't think this as necessary but it works well regardless. You still end up with what I will call, for the sake of this review, 'loadouts' that are based on popular fits from the PC version.

    It's a good looking game overall. Not the best but by no means the worst. The maps are well populated with debris, bushes, tress, buildings and other bits and bobs meaning they never feel too empty. The tanks are well detailed and look good, as do explosions and other particle effects.

    The gameplay is the real meat of the game though and while some might not find much merit in a game that revolves solely around 15 v 15 multiplayer they've obviously not noticed that this sort of game is popular. It's what works. There's no real depth to the game modes on offer in their own right, the depth comes from the tactics and strategy used. It's arguably better to go into a match with a friend or two so you can perform some co-ordinated attacks but there's a contextual radial menu which allows you to communicate with your team on a basic level. As far as the gameplay goes it seems to fit really well with my idea of a good online game. I can sit and play it for hours and enjoy every minute but at the same time I can sit down with a spare 10 or 15 minutes, have a quick go then leave and not feel like I'm being hard done on by life.

    My one and possibly only real complaint is the (current) lack of tanks. Once they've released the Russian, Chinese, Japanese and French tanks, not to mention filled out the existing trees with their missing tanks (every single British SPG is missing for example) then I'm sure it'll be much better. It just seems a bit sparse in comparison to the PC version as the selection stands currently but they're working on that. In the meantime there's a good number of tanks to get into and duke it out in.
    Expand
  39. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    I am loving this game. I have been playing it for 3 months now and I am not even close to getting tired of it. It is free to play and if you are patient, you don't have to spend anything, but you will probably want to buy some additional garage slots (I'm up to 20+) and some premium days. Just hang in there,some games you may get killed very quick, but some games you will feel like a god.I am loving this game. I have been playing it for 3 months now and I am not even close to getting tired of it. It is free to play and if you are patient, you don't have to spend anything, but you will probably want to buy some additional garage slots (I'm up to 20+) and some premium days. Just hang in there,some games you may get killed very quick, but some games you will feel like a god. A lot will depend on the matchmaking, which can be spotty.

    I want address a few of the negative reviews. Matchmaking: yes, it sucks sometimes, but other times it works great for you, so just hang in there. The really good matches more than make up for the bad matches.
    Having to pay for Xbox Live: If you are going to play any multiplayer or enjoy the many features it offers, you are going to have it anyway, so from that standpoint, it is free.
    Expand
  40. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    I have played a lot PC version of WoT, but i cant say that X360 version sucks or rule, i just want to say, that it made right that how it should be. Amazing graphics (for 8-years console its grate), and magical thing about this game, that its just says to you PLAAAY,PLAAAAAY!! amazing replayability...
  41. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World of Tanks e un ottimo gioco strategico dove si usano carri armati della prima e della seconda guerra mondiale il gameplay non e velocissimo in fatti e un gico in qui si deve attendere il momento giusto per attaccare il gioco e suddiviso in due squadre dove all'interno di una scuadra ci sono vari tipi di carri la versione xbox 360 col tempo si sta sempre piu avvicinando a quella pc dove e nato questo gioco esso per me puo regalare molte ore di divertimento !!! Expand
  42. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    I think what a lot of people are forgetting is that this is a free to play game. Thats right "free". Even though I might be overstepping here I have to say this is the best free game I have ever played. Not only that but one of the few games I even play anymore. War games gives updates every month or so adding new maps, tanks, etc. It is extremely addicting and you could play this game forI think what a lot of people are forgetting is that this is a free to play game. Thats right "free". Even though I might be overstepping here I have to say this is the best free game I have ever played. Not only that but one of the few games I even play anymore. War games gives updates every month or so adding new maps, tanks, etc. It is extremely addicting and you could play this game for months and you wouldn't be done with it. What makes this game great is there are so many different playing styles and learning about different tanks is very entertaining. With many people speculating that this will likely come out on the Xbox One as well, I can definitely see it being a great success. I hope we get to transfer or accounts over to xbox one so we can keep our tanks haha. Expand
  43. Feb 23, 2015
    5
    i have a love hate relationship with this game and that why i gave it a 5. the is a lot of fun and it is time consuming when you are trying to get to a tire 10 tank which i like and the game play is good some times and that where i dislike the game when you get your good games you will have good time especially when are the top tire tank but the server can be a huge d**k sometimes and puti have a love hate relationship with this game and that why i gave it a 5. the is a lot of fun and it is time consuming when you are trying to get to a tire 10 tank which i like and the game play is good some times and that where i dislike the game when you get your good games you will have good time especially when are the top tire tank but the server can be a huge d**k sometimes and put you in a game with a bad team and you wood thank the next game you get into you will win but no you wont and you will lose not just 1 time but i have lost about 9 game in a row before. Expand
  44. Jun 14, 2015
    7
    The only problems I have with the game is the upgrading system and connection issues. The upgrading system is terrible because Wargaming decided to make players use packages instead of the singular part upgrading. The connecting issues are bad, large multiplayer battles are fun but when I'm lagging half the time it completely ruins the experience.
  45. Jun 28, 2015
    8
    Prior to playing my first 146 matches in World of Tanks: Xbox 360 Edition, I have to admit that it is an okay game compared to the PC. While the PC version of World of Tanks is considerably enhanced compared to it's Xbox counterpart, taking part in blowing up armored vehicles can be very enjoyable on a console. Here is a list of the pros and cons that I have noticed in the Xbox 360 versionPrior to playing my first 146 matches in World of Tanks: Xbox 360 Edition, I have to admit that it is an okay game compared to the PC. While the PC version of World of Tanks is considerably enhanced compared to it's Xbox counterpart, taking part in blowing up armored vehicles can be very enjoyable on a console. Here is a list of the pros and cons that I have noticed in the Xbox 360 version of the game:

    Pros:
    - Includes an exclusive map, which the PC version doesn't include.
    - Players have the ability to form platoons with up to five members.
    - Matchmaking is better balanced compared to what it was in previous game versions. (As of patch 1.10.0)
    - Game is regularly updated by Wargaming with content ranging from various events, patches, and sometimes new content.
    - Game includes micro-transactions, although they do not significantly enhance the player's advantages on the battlefield when it comes to buying Premium Tanks.

    Cons:
    - The Xbox 360 version lacks certain tanks by which the PC version currently has implemented.
    - Lack of game modes compared to the PC version. There is currently no Domination mode, Clan wars/battles, or Team Company battles. (May be subject to change with future patch releases)
    - You cannot create your own Team Training lobbies without a Premium Account. Premium accounts are required to form Team Training lobbies.
    - Lack of setting options in the main menu. Some include having no aiming reticle customization settings and limited audio options.

    With those listed and out of the way, it would be a great idea to share my common experiences in the game. During my time of playing on the console platform, I have noticed that some components, whether they be major or small, have been altered. For example, the graphics of the game are very much different compared to it's PC counterpart. Like mainly all Xbox 360 games, the ability to change graphics such as the quality of textures, foliage, lights, shadows, water, etc. are not granted. This may be a good thing because it ensures that all players have a better chance of getting the most performance out of their game

    Their is also an in-game store for convenience in the main main menu, which any player can easily navigate to with the 'LB' and 'RB' buttons. Virtual items such as Premium Account time, Gold currency, and Bundles that contain certain Premium tanks, can be purchased. Sales and specials often occur within the store tab as well. Please keep in mind that no one is forced to spend anything in order to have a good time playing this game, or win an online match, for that matter.

    I must note, however, that the Xbox 360 edition of World of Tanks uses your Xbox Live gamertag, not your Wargaming.net ID which is used to sign into the PC version. In addition, progress between both platforms are not linked, which means your progress on the Xbox 360 will not carry over to PC. However, progress on the Xbox 360 will carry over to the Xbox One version of the game, which is subject to release on July 28, 2015. This includes assets such as battle statistics, tanks, medals and ribbons, and everything else.

    Online matches go by pretty quickly as Standard Battles last exactly 15 minutes. Getting into an actual game with other players may take up anywhere between 0-3.5 minutes on average, which can be a major issue. Many match-made battles are fast paced, and players will often find themselves having to move around constantly at certain times. The broad game mechanics allow for strategies that players can use at their acquisition.

    Overall, the game is fun and enjoyable for me, and I would highly recommend it to any tank or war game enthusiast. It is a good alternative to certain other titles of the action/shooter genre.

    - My concluding rating: 7.5 - 8
    Expand
  46. Nov 19, 2015
    5
    I would like to love this game, I love how there are all these historical armored fighting vehicles in this game, but World of Tanks: Xbox 360 is littered with problems! It's pay to win, I hate that, and there are unbalanced and overpowered tanks and underpowered tanks, stock grinds are painful, and they say this game is free, but you need an Xbox Live gold membership, which costs money!I would like to love this game, I love how there are all these historical armored fighting vehicles in this game, but World of Tanks: Xbox 360 is littered with problems! It's pay to win, I hate that, and there are unbalanced and overpowered tanks and underpowered tanks, stock grinds are painful, and they say this game is free, but you need an Xbox Live gold membership, which costs money! The worst thing about this game is the matchmaker, I lose sometimes 10 games in a row before I am able to win a single battle. Meanwhile I never win more than 3 games in a row. I believe the matchmaker is corrupted. It's basically saying to you, "you can't win any games, too bad for you, I'm just gonna keep making you lose". So, that is the matchmaker, it's corrupted. I just hate this game for all the reasons above, for the pay to win, for the stress level of it, and how it's not completely free, stock grinds, and especially the matchmaker in World of Tanks: Xbox 360. Wargaming, please fix your game... Expand
  47. Jan 2, 2016
    8
    Addictive game as well as the tanks and improvements are expensive which will bring you more hours of game play begins to be rather pay more to win will have great fun with it
  48. Jan 4, 2016
    0
    as my name suggests the 'game' is a complete scam all geared to sucking its users (customers) dry. Only people who buy in-game gold (coins not shells) will have good games and therefore stats willbe higher.
    Warlaming encourage noob-bashing actively on their shrill-ridden forums to embarrass people into buying gold and trying to improve.
    Simply thisL you buy gold regularly your game is
    as my name suggests the 'game' is a complete scam all geared to sucking its users (customers) dry. Only people who buy in-game gold (coins not shells) will have good games and therefore stats willbe higher.
    Warlaming encourage noob-bashing actively on their shrill-ridden forums to embarrass people into buying gold and trying to improve.
    Simply thisL you buy gold regularly your game is easy, you don't buy gold at all, you will have crap games
    AVOID this scam game
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    70
    The transition from the PC to the Xbox 360 left a lot of content behind, but World of Tanks remains a decent and fun online game with a casual approach that anyone can enjoy.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Aug 21, 2014
    80
    It would be wrong to consider World of Tanks Xbox 360 Edition as repetition or a simplified copy of the PC-version. Wargaming West made a little miracle and slipped between Scylla and Charybdis: depth of gameplay is not inferior to the original game, it looks fresh and dynamic to appeal to the habits of console players. [September 2014, p. 76]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 24, 2014
    70
    The exact antithesis of Titanfall. [June 2014, p.84]