Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world is your battlefield. While every World of Tanks player dreams of becoming an ace tanker that single-handedly saves the day, it's only through teamwork that you and your allies will prevail. Up to 30 tanks at a time, split into two teams, will be vying for supremacy on over 10 highly-detailed maps. Hold up your end of the bargain and your allies will work with you to coordinate an unstoppable assault against your enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    94
    Ultimately, it's the combination of accessible gameplay with riveting depth that makes World of Tanks so engrossing.
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    83
    Wargaming took a chance with World of Tanks for Xbox 360 and at this point, they should consider the venture a success. The game is fun and fast-paced, perfect for when you only have a few free minutes for gaming. It's intuitive to learn, offers a wide range of good-looking tanks, multiple maps, and a free-to-play setup that skillfully levels the playing field whether players have more time or more money. Best of all, (and despite a few interface issues) with World of Tanks 360, Wargaming's created the kind of all-inclusive game that appeals to competitive gamers regardless of platform.
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    The maps are bare and play is inherently repetitive... but this is gripping and impeccably crafted entertainment. If you’ve recently bought a new console, don’t let the basic visuals put you off. You’ll be generously rewarded if you stick with it.
  4. Apr 9, 2014
    80
    An excellent combination of detailed combat mechanics, gripping progression, and well thought out pay-to-play options. [May 2014, p.72]
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    75
    World of Tanks: 360 Edition is a good conversion from PC game, with an arcade and fun gameplay in addictive 15vs15 battles. Limited in options, but rich in potential.
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    75
    Console version of World of Tanks is a limited, less impressive but still very solid relative of the PC giant. [04/2014, p.66]
  7. Mar 30, 2014
    60
    A solid multiplayer free-to-play shooter that, despite suffering from a lack of variety, is distinct enough to warrant giving it a try. [Issue#109, p.70]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 9 out of 32
  1. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I laughed when I read the review starting "Well I'm going to be completely honest" then a rating of 1 out of 10.
    One word. .PC fanboy, or a
    Sony fanboy pretending to be a PC fanboy in order to down-rate an Xboxe 360 game.
    Is this game the best looking game on the 360?. . .No!

    Does it look pretty good? for a large area battlefield. . yes it actually does look pretty good for a machine with 512megs of ram. Lets see what the PC snobs machine can do with 512 megs of ram.
    The game looks fine, and has a pretty impressive draw distance for a console game. The texture actually look ok, when all things are considered.
    The game handling can take a minute or two to get into but it is intuitive, and about as easy, as it could be to have tank steering, without using up all the triggers and shoulder buttons for something that can be accomplished on the left analogue. There is the oddl moment of frustration as you spin about helplessly while trying to beat a hasty retreat (i use the word "hasty" in context here, as it's more of a leisurely walking pace if your reversing, but these moments are rare, and don't ruin the game at all, even if someone else does occasionally get an easy kill, as you pirouette helplessly in front of them doing your best to try and get a luck shot off at them.
    I found the game to be addictive, and fun. Team-play was surprisingly good, and i only game across a couple of players who were not really playing as part of a team. though I did switch off my mic & headset a couple of times, so as not to have to listen to an overly vocal child or someones background music, but you get these "People" in any game.
    I'd highly recommend this to anyone, especially if you like shooters, but like me, are just to slow for COD and the other fast paced FPS games out there. If your playing with some buddies it's fantastic.
    This game also has the potential to be added to in a big way, new maps, new tanks, new weapons and perks. I see a rosie future for it improving all the time, in the same way mine-craft has been transformed.

    I'd give this an genuine 8 or 9 just because it is so much fun, up to 10 to counter the trolls who rated it 1.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    NOTHING ELSE LIKE IT ON CONSOLE. My LIVE friends and I have played nothing but this for weeks since it came out and we are having a blast rolling out together in armored columns to take that next hill. It might not be quite as polished as many of the FPS competitive shooters, but it is at least a somewhat realistic tank simulator with a refreshingly slower pace. It is a thinking man's game as opposed to the rest of the run an gun shooters. Although other games may have fancy light shows and bells and whistles, I am scoring this based on how much fun and longevity it is giving me (without having spent a dime mind you). A solid 9 and one that I will be picking up with friends from time to time even after our initial frenzy. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World of Tanks e un ottimo gioco strategico dove si usano carri armati della prima e della seconda guerra mondiale il gameplay non e velocissimo in fatti e un gico in qui si deve attendere il momento giusto per attaccare il gioco e suddiviso in due squadre dove all'interno di una scuadra ci sono vari tipi di carri la versione xbox 360 col tempo si sta sempre piu avvicinando a quella pc dove e nato questo gioco esso per me puo regalare molte ore di divertimento !!! Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    I think a lot of people expected the wrong things from WoT on 360. People complaining about paying for an Xbox Live subscription to play it online? What game online on Xbox 360 doesn't require a Gold sub whether the game itself is F2P or not? Anyway, ignoring the ignorant.

    The game itself is a good bit of fun. It's no deep number cruncher and the way you unlock tanks and parts has been streamlined to allow newer players more easy of access. Personally I don't think this as necessary but it works well regardless. You still end up with what I will call, for the sake of this review, 'loadouts' that are based on popular fits from the PC version.

    It's a good looking game overall. Not the best but by no means the worst. The maps are well populated with debris, bushes, tress, buildings and other bits and bobs meaning they never feel too empty. The tanks are well detailed and look good, as do explosions and other particle effects.

    The gameplay is the real meat of the game though and while some might not find much merit in a game that revolves solely around 15 v 15 multiplayer they've obviously not noticed that this sort of game is popular. It's what works. There's no real depth to the game modes on offer in their own right, the depth comes from the tactics and strategy used. It's arguably better to go into a match with a friend or two so you can perform some co-ordinated attacks but there's a contextual radial menu which allows you to communicate with your team on a basic level. As far as the gameplay goes it seems to fit really well with my idea of a good online game. I can sit and play it for hours and enjoy every minute but at the same time I can sit down with a spare 10 or 15 minutes, have a quick go then leave and not feel like I'm being hard done on by life.

    My one and possibly only real complaint is the (current) lack of tanks. Once they've released the Russian, Chinese, Japanese and French tanks, not to mention filled out the existing trees with their missing tanks (every single British SPG is missing for example) then I'm sure it'll be much better. It just seems a bit sparse in comparison to the PC version as the selection stands currently but they're working on that. In the meantime there's a good number of tanks to get into and duke it out in.
    Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    6
    If I could describe this game in one word... it would be meh. Unfortunately this site requires a small paragraph so I must digress. The graphics are well...ok, the gameplay is well... good, the controls are bad, and the community is not good either. All of that balances this game out to a 5, taking the community out would justify my rating of a 6 (because let's face it, I can't knock the developers for a bad fan base). So yeah, an overall meh! Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    3
    Coming from the PC version, this has to be one of the worst console games I've played in a while. Where do I start? The horrible match making is beyond laughable, sometimes a team will get a larger number of Heavy Tanks, and the other team is completely steam rolled. The controls are absolute garbage, and very buggy. The tanks are very unresponsive, not because of the physical tank itself, but the **** game mechanics. The graphics are rough and ugly, even with a flat screen and an HDMI cable, the game looks bad. The game's random calculator, which determines how much damage you're going to do, and the accuracy of your shot, seems to screw you over every time, it's happened too many times to be a coincidence. The only thing positive I can say about this horribly implemented port, is how satisfying it is to kill an enemy, of course, once you get around the **** random accuracy/damage calculator. And last but not least, your teammates ARE RETARDED. This was the straw that broke the camel's back, it seems as if they all just came from play Call of Duty. Although that's what happens for playing console, not even the teammates on the PC version are this stupid. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2014
    0
    world of tanks sucks . Expand

See all 32 User Reviews