Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world is your battlefield. While every World of Tanks player dreams of becoming an ace tanker that single-handedly saves the day, it's only through teamwork that you and your allies will prevail. Up to 30 tanks at a time, split into two teams, will be vying for supremacy on over 10The world is your battlefield. While every World of Tanks player dreams of becoming an ace tanker that single-handedly saves the day, it's only through teamwork that you and your allies will prevail. Up to 30 tanks at a time, split into two teams, will be vying for supremacy on over 10 highly-detailed maps. Hold up your end of the bargain and your allies will work with you to coordinate an unstoppable assault against your enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    94
    Ultimately, it's the combination of accessible gameplay with riveting depth that makes World of Tanks so engrossing.
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    83
    Wargaming took a chance with World of Tanks for Xbox 360 and at this point, they should consider the venture a success. The game is fun and fast-paced, perfect for when you only have a few free minutes for gaming. It's intuitive to learn, offers a wide range of good-looking tanks, multiple maps, and a free-to-play setup that skillfully levels the playing field whether players have more time or more money. Best of all, (and despite a few interface issues) with World of Tanks 360, Wargaming's created the kind of all-inclusive game that appeals to competitive gamers regardless of platform.
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    The maps are bare and play is inherently repetitive... but this is gripping and impeccably crafted entertainment. If you’ve recently bought a new console, don’t let the basic visuals put you off. You’ll be generously rewarded if you stick with it.
  4. Apr 9, 2014
    80
    An excellent combination of detailed combat mechanics, gripping progression, and well thought out pay-to-play options. [May 2014, p.72]
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    75
    World of Tanks: 360 Edition is a good conversion from PC game, with an arcade and fun gameplay in addictive 15vs15 battles. Limited in options, but rich in potential.
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    75
    Console version of World of Tanks is a limited, less impressive but still very solid relative of the PC giant. [04/2014, p.66]
  7. Mar 30, 2014
    60
    A solid multiplayer free-to-play shooter that, despite suffering from a lack of variety, is distinct enough to warrant giving it a try. [Issue#109, p.70]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 14 out of 46
  1. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I laughed when I read the review starting "Well I'm going to be completely honest" then a rating of 1 out of 10.
    One word. .PC fanboy, or a
    I laughed when I read the review starting "Well I'm going to be completely honest" then a rating of 1 out of 10.
    One word. .PC fanboy, or a Sony fanboy pretending to be a PC fanboy in order to down-rate an Xboxe 360 game.
    Is this game the best looking game on the 360?. . .No!

    Does it look pretty good? for a large area battlefield. . yes it actually does look pretty good for a machine with 512megs of ram. Lets see what the PC snobs machine can do with 512 megs of ram.
    The game looks fine, and has a pretty impressive draw distance for a console game. The texture actually look ok, when all things are considered.
    The game handling can take a minute or two to get into but it is intuitive, and about as easy, as it could be to have tank steering, without using up all the triggers and shoulder buttons for something that can be accomplished on the left analogue. There is the oddl moment of frustration as you spin about helplessly while trying to beat a hasty retreat (i use the word "hasty" in context here, as it's more of a leisurely walking pace if your reversing, but these moments are rare, and don't ruin the game at all, even if someone else does occasionally get an easy kill, as you pirouette helplessly in front of them doing your best to try and get a luck shot off at them.
    I found the game to be addictive, and fun. Team-play was surprisingly good, and i only game across a couple of players who were not really playing as part of a team. though I did switch off my mic & headset a couple of times, so as not to have to listen to an overly vocal child or someones background music, but you get these "People" in any game.
    I'd highly recommend this to anyone, especially if you like shooters, but like me, are just to slow for COD and the other fast paced FPS games out there. If your playing with some buddies it's fantastic.
    This game also has the potential to be added to in a big way, new maps, new tanks, new weapons and perks. I see a rosie future for it improving all the time, in the same way mine-craft has been transformed.

    I'd give this an genuine 8 or 9 just because it is so much fun, up to 10 to counter the trolls who rated it 1.
    Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    I am loving this game. I have been playing it for 3 months now and I am not even close to getting tired of it. It is free to play and if youI am loving this game. I have been playing it for 3 months now and I am not even close to getting tired of it. It is free to play and if you are patient, you don't have to spend anything, but you will probably want to buy some additional garage slots (I'm up to 20+) and some premium days. Just hang in there,some games you may get killed very quick, but some games you will feel like a god. A lot will depend on the matchmaking, which can be spotty.

    I want address a few of the negative reviews. Matchmaking: yes, it sucks sometimes, but other times it works great for you, so just hang in there. The really good matches more than make up for the bad matches.
    Having to pay for Xbox Live: If you are going to play any multiplayer or enjoy the many features it offers, you are going to have it anyway, so from that standpoint, it is free.
    Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World of Tanks e un ottimo gioco strategico dove si usano carri armati della prima e della seconda guerra mondiale il gameplay non e velocissimo in fatti e un gico in qui si deve attendere il momento giusto per attaccare il gioco e suddiviso in due squadre dove all'interno di una scuadra ci sono vari tipi di carri la versione xbox 360 col tempo si sta sempre piu avvicinando a quella pc dove e nato questo gioco esso per me puo regalare molte ore di divertimento !!! Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2014
    7
    The game is decently fun. At first I thought the balance was decent. Even with spending real money the advantages didn't seem overpowering.The game is decently fun. At first I thought the balance was decent. Even with spending real money the advantages didn't seem overpowering. But recently I have seen more and more unbalanced matches. When im in my tier 1 and 2 tanks and then thrown in with tier 5 and 6 tanks that's a bad balance. Ive had enemy tanks with a sliver of health left and shot with good penetration indication and nothing happens at all even after 2 to 3 shells, they shoot me once and im at full health boom!!! im destroyed in one shot. Have this happen a few times and the game becomes pretty much more irritating than fun, even for a free game. I'd rather pay for a fun game than play an annoyingly unbalanced free game. Overall the game has redeeming qualities for quick fun here and there, but unless the balance is tweaked more, would be newbies or casual stop in and play for a bit tank commanders will go elsewhere after they run into a Tier VII tank and get one shot killed within each of their first few matches Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2015
    6
    I played WOT for the last year straight - every class, every nation - and I must say that it is a dead end.
    First you start into the game and
    I played WOT for the last year straight - every class, every nation - and I must say that it is a dead end.
    First you start into the game and realize it's something new on the console (big plus). It basically is a MOBA with tanks (reaching from WWII to cold war) where there are ten levels (I-X) to play (every nation, mostly every class).
    Only problem is that they have focused so much on balance that some tanks just feel unimportant and further more not realistic. Meaning, if you want REAL tanks go to war thunder (available for mac, windows and PS4) because WOT implements lots of blueprint and even fictional tanks (FV215b) into the game. Therefore is there no realistic war scenario - f.e. Tiger vs Sherman - where both tanks have equal chances of winning. Mostly due to the Tiger being superior - as it first was in reality - but the result is far more off course because you fight more fictional tanks with made up specs and unrealistic behavior (speed, mobility, penetration, damage...). Make no mistake, this is an arcade version of an already arcade game (PC Version) and there is nothing wrong with that. But after playing about 6000 games and mostly comparing it to the PC version I can't shake the feeling that it's eating my time with nothing in exchange. Where the PC Version gets lots of upgrades, the Xbox version is slow to implement even the balances of the PC Version. Therefore the maps change, the statistics etc. but all takes time. Further - as I said it is an arcade game - is there no reason to invest time into class/ nation lines (trees) which are inferior to others. There are tanks that will - in the hands of as skilled players as you are - most likely destroy you. Period. There are better tanks and this ruins the feeling of real challenge (WT E-100, T110E5, T62A, Bat Chat...).
    But mostly I quit playing because the support is weak. One year into the game and there is a lot missing (crew development, no teamfire, bigger mini map, all maps, all vehicles, normal tech trees (not packages)...) and further more the developer most likely quit putting effort into WOT due to its new project World of Warships (PC). And you realise that - if you invest time - when browsing the forums. There are threads about changes to the game which are more than 2 years old and even confirmed to implement to the game (PC) but nothing has changed and you are on the waiting list. And more so on the Xbox.
    It's just finished if you already have a couple of tier X tanks and most other tanks researched. It misses a lot from the PC version (custom lobby for private matches, clan wars, clan support itself, test servers...) and the development is so slowly i recommend investing your time - before you even start - into other more prosperous games even of that kind (WT PS4 or Armored Warfare (PC)).

    It really is fun to beginn with and to kill time if you have a lot but you soon realize it's the child version of an arcade game for PC which the developers are ignoring due to their new baby. It's as simple as that.
    You get more in return in other games but for the time being it really is fun to play for some time.
    Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    3
    Coming from the PC version, this has to be one of the worst console games I've played in a while. Where do I start? The horrible match makingComing from the PC version, this has to be one of the worst console games I've played in a while. Where do I start? The horrible match making is beyond laughable, sometimes a team will get a larger number of Heavy Tanks, and the other team is completely steam rolled. The controls are absolute garbage, and very buggy. The tanks are very unresponsive, not because of the physical tank itself, but the **** game mechanics. The graphics are rough and ugly, even with a flat screen and an HDMI cable, the game looks bad. The game's random calculator, which determines how much damage you're going to do, and the accuracy of your shot, seems to screw you over every time, it's happened too many times to be a coincidence. The only thing positive I can say about this horribly implemented port, is how satisfying it is to kill an enemy, of course, once you get around the **** random accuracy/damage calculator. And last but not least, your teammates ARE RETARDED. This was the straw that broke the camel's back, it seems as if they all just came from play Call of Duty. Although that's what happens for playing console, not even the teammates on the PC version are this stupid. Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2014
    0
    Ok. Fun game at first but beware of the scam. The issue is in latter game in the match making. one game you win, the next three you do threeOk. Fun game at first but beware of the scam. The issue is in latter game in the match making. one game you win, the next three you do three times the damage as the next highest player and you lose. They need to increase platoon size for regular match making. The only way to counter act the idiots. My issue is that wot makes matchmaking into **** by ranking high performers over time with low performers causing the game not to be fun for competitive people. I get it. They are trying to extract the maximum money from the most people by creating pain points solved by spending money. But from someone for whom money is no object i say fool me once shame on you... twice ..you get it. Deleted Wot when I was willing to spend what ever i needed to because is saw through the economic scam. Of course they are Russian. Way to continue the stereo type Expand

See all 46 User Reviews