WWE '13 Xbox 360

WWE '13 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE '13 features the franchise's Creation Suite, enabling players to develop and customize Superstars, entrances, arenas, finishing moves, storylines, highlight reels and more, as well as share and download creations with others from around the world. Furthermore, they compete with an arrayWWE '13 features the franchise's Creation Suite, enabling players to develop and customize Superstars, entrances, arenas, finishing moves, storylines, highlight reels and more, as well as share and download creations with others from around the world. Furthermore, they compete with an array of WWE Superstars and Attitude Era luminaries from a large roster, including cover Superstar CM Punk, Stone Cold Steve Austin, Sheamus, Undertaker, Mankind, Chris Jericho, Big Show and Mark Henry. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    92
    WWE '13 is awesome and that's the bottom line cause the editor said so. Even if Yukes still didn't managed to create handsome faces, the positive sides definitely outweigh the negative sides of the World Wrestling Entertainment. All in all, there is more content, more wrestlers and especially a brilliant history lesson regarding the "Attitude Era" instead of a lame Road to Wrestlemania.
  2. Games Master UK
    Nov 25, 2012
    87
    The past and present collide in the undisputed champion of current gen wrestling games. [Christmas 2012, p.2]
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    85
    Although not quite perfect, WWE '13 is probably the best in the franchise that I have played to date and I can't wait to see what lies in store for future iterations.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    WWE '13 remembers when wrestling, and by proxy, wrestling video games were great. It remembers the pageantry, the silliness, and the death-defying stunts that made wrestling such a hot commodity a decade ago.
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Subtle refinements and a great campaign boost WWE '13.
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    75
    While WWE '13 has a lot of problems, I think it's a far better overall game than WWE '12, but still lacks the polish that SvR '11 and past series entries have had.
  7. 60
    The best WWE game of the generation… but only because it successfully pulls upon your nostalgia strings, helping you forgot how mediocre the gameplay is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Great game. Long live the Attitude Era, awesome to relive some of the greatest matches in the history of wrestling. Significant improvementsGreat game. Long live the Attitude Era, awesome to relive some of the greatest matches in the history of wrestling. Significant improvements over last year in many areas. The Rock rules! Collapse
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Contrary to others beliefs, I believe the game play is the best there is and the best there was, and certainly not the best there ever willContrary to others beliefs, I believe the game play is the best there is and the best there was, and certainly not the best there ever will be. Modes are great, vast improvements to WWE Universe for extra customization, unbelievable Attitude Era mode, graphics are fantastic and the Creative Suite is a haven for WWE fans. Although features are as dull as Tensai's gimmick, the better features keep them shadowed so hopefully they can be improved for WWE '14. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    I've been a fan of wrestling since I was 18 months old, my eldest brother put a pair of shades on me and I did my best Macho Man impression.I've been a fan of wrestling since I was 18 months old, my eldest brother put a pair of shades on me and I did my best Macho Man impression. So naturally growing up with wrestling I also played all the video games. I played the No Mercy 2000 on the N64 and that game was at the time the best game I've ever played, and was still the best wrestling game I've ever played. That was untill this game came out. Wrestlers are as close to the real thing as you can get, great customization and attitude era was amazing. Everythng about this game was a success... Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    I'm mid way through the Attitude Era and I've been pretty shocked by how well the game plays overall. I skipped WWE'12 and was shocked when II'm mid way through the Attitude Era and I've been pretty shocked by how well the game plays overall. I skipped WWE'12 and was shocked when I found how much better the computer has become overall. On occasions it may be buggy, but the computer actually reverses and I've struggled to win some matches. The OMG moments are nice, but 3 finishers for s superplex outside the ring compared to 1 to take someone through the barricade is kind of dumb. The limb targeting system is great and finally means you don't need to memorize how to target an arm or a leg. The camera is never at a terrible angle when I'm trying to do something important and Weight Detection moves are a great addition

    The list of fan made content is incredible. Superstars from across the ages look incredible as though THQ had them in the game. Other are really bad though. Create an Arena could be better, and as someone who just was playing 2008 a few months back I can't forgive the terrible create a championship feature. Entrance Video creation is pretty bad, and Create a Move could use more positions and moves.

    Create a Superstar is great. While not everything from way back when is still there, the return and advancement of the announcer title and setting up stats is perfect. Linking height and weight though is kinda stupid. There are a lot of tall skinny guys out there as well as short fat ones.

    I've never been a huge fan of Universe mode, but I'm glad it is now separate from Exhibition mode. Overall it's another solid title with enough steps forward to make up for any steps back.
    Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    Thoroughly fun to play, even if a seasoned player is going to find they don't lose very many matches. The creation suite is quite impressiveThoroughly fun to play, even if a seasoned player is going to find they don't lose very many matches. The creation suite is quite impressive indeed. The attitude era is a really cool tribute to the matches I watched growing up.

    Unfortunately, the "Universe" mode handles storylines a little bit strangely; you won't want to go through this game skipping matches because you will miss everything. Instead, you have to revamp and tweak your universe into something you want to play and see where the game takes it.

    Still, as a wrestling simulation there really isn't much competition. If you want a game that simulates all variety of matches and even tries to create some storylines for you on the fly, then this game is pretty damn good.
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    Trying to keep this positive (should it be this hard..?). I believe wrestling games such as FirePro Returns WWE No Mercy are the best in theTrying to keep this positive (should it be this hard..?). I believe wrestling games such as FirePro Returns WWE No Mercy are the best in the history of the sub-genre. I've played all the "Smackdown" series that evolved up to WWE '13, and it's been a struggle, but WWE 13 isn't "as bad" as the series has been for the past several years. The good... The redeeming quality of this version of the similar games, to me anyway, is the several adjustments you can make to the gameplay.. Example: First match in, on "easy" I was getting pissed, and almost rage-quit, because every other move I would attempt would get reversed. Luckily, I discovered the setting in the confusing mess of a menu system, and learned you could scale-down reversals in several areas of the match, or even turn them off! This way, the game became way more playable. The reversal button is on the right trigger, which is not a fast-press button, and throws my timing off. Turning off reversals is a lame compromise, but at least I can get thru a match without feeling like I have no control. I love the inclusion of so many title belts, and the several slots you get to create new titles. Even though it has limited customization options to the belts themselves, you can make an IWGP or ROH World Title if you wish. They did make it a lot easier to pull off the big finishers and moves using the announcer's table and ladders, which is also a plus. I'm still waiting for them to get up to having at least 8 characters in a match, for a proper Survivor Series match. They do have a 6-man elimination tag, which is my favorite, but why do my characters randomly jump off the apron and walk around on the floor?

    The Bad... CAW is soooo sloooow.... why do you have to wait for the items to render on the character as you are browsing? Why no wait until my selection is made, then apply it to my character? It's still a pain to experiment and there are still several of the same costume items we'll never use. The menus are confusing, and disorganized, and the moves list is confusing (even for a 20 years plus, wrestling fan). Go see how No Mercy organized their moves list. I find myself wanting a specific version of a DDT, and have to browse thru to find the code-name they use. Why not preface these such as "DDT: Impaler DDT" or "Piledriver: Adjustment Piledriver". Why force us to listen to the looping entrance music while browsing the menus or creating a character? You can turn the music volume down in the options, but then of course that also turns down the in-game entrance music. Want the Royal Rumble to not be as cool? Turn off the entrance music, then each competitor comes down in complete silence. Why not have another setting, or better yet, don't play entrance music in the menu and creation menus. Several move animations are almost silly, or look like they aren't done. Again, look at No Mercy. All moves move with a fluid, constant motion, and it looks like the characters are making contact with each other, and the animations look like they are based on real people moving. In WWE '13, you still get missing frames, or movements that look like an animator that's never watched wrestling made in an afternoon. The ugly. Good luck getting online to download a character or play a match. The servers are so bad. I was able to download characters after several tries (even the ones I buy from WWE) are a struggle because (even with a fast ISP) I'm forced to sit and watch the logo spin for several minutes, then either forced back to to the main menu with a message that the "servers are unavailable" or I'll get one or two steps in, THEN get stuck and kicked out. Very frustrating. I have yet to be able to play a match against someone online. All-in, I am enjoying this game for the first time in a long time (for the series), despite it not living up to my dream version of a modern-day FirePro/No Mercy hybrid. It's still not enough to stop me from playing FirePro Returns on the PS2.
    Expand
  7. May 30, 2016
    3
    Played a WWE THQ/Yuke's game played all of them, at the technical level thet advance very slowly and the combat system needs a realPlayed a WWE THQ/Yuke's game played all of them, at the technical level thet advance very slowly and the combat system needs a real correction, additionally I feel that the game refuses to give me freedom I should have. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers