Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE '13 features the franchise's Creation Suite, enabling players to develop and customize Superstars, entrances, arenas, finishing moves, storylines, highlight reels and more, as well as share and download creations with others from around the world. Furthermore, they compete with an array of WWE Superstars and Attitude Era luminaries from a large roster, including cover Superstar CM Punk, Stone Cold Steve Austin, Sheamus, Undertaker, Mankind, Chris Jericho, Big Show and Mark Henry. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    92
    WWE '13 is awesome and that's the bottom line cause the editor said so. Even if Yukes still didn't managed to create handsome faces, the positive sides definitely outweigh the negative sides of the World Wrestling Entertainment. All in all, there is more content, more wrestlers and especially a brilliant history lesson regarding the "Attitude Era" instead of a lame Road to Wrestlemania.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    87
    The past and present collide in the undisputed champion of current gen wrestling games. [Christmas 2012, p.2]
  3. 85
    Although not quite perfect, WWE '13 is probably the best in the franchise that I have played to date and I can't wait to see what lies in store for future iterations.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    WWE '13 remembers when wrestling, and by proxy, wrestling video games were great. It remembers the pageantry, the silliness, and the death-defying stunts that made wrestling such a hot commodity a decade ago.
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Subtle refinements and a great campaign boost WWE '13.
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    75
    While WWE '13 has a lot of problems, I think it's a far better overall game than WWE '12, but still lacks the polish that SvR '11 and past series entries have had.
  7. 60
    The best WWE game of the generation… but only because it successfully pulls upon your nostalgia strings, helping you forgot how mediocre the gameplay is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Great game. Long live the Attitude Era, awesome to relive some of the greatest matches in the history of wrestling. Significant improvements over last year in many areas. The Rock rules! Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is amazing, only true wrestling fans will love it cause those that aren't will just be nit picking everything. anyone that gets this game, will have a great time. especially with the amazing gameplay. WWE'13 is WAY better than last years terrible WWE'12 game. WWE'13 is the game THQ should be making more of instead of the BS that was WWE'12. THQ is finally heading in the right direction. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    It's not perfect, but I gave it a 10 because it's easily the best wrestling game EVER created. Attitude Error is genius. The game control are the best yet for a wrestling game. The creation portion of the game is incredible. The only thing this game is missing is a little more control on creating your own leagues, but there is enough there to have fun with that. If THQ builds upon WWE 13, I can't wait to see whats in store for WWE 14. Collapse
  4. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    By far the most entertaining wrestling game since No Mercy for N64. The Attitude Era mode is an excellent nostalgia trip, the create-a-character is beyond in-depth, and the ability to download other player's creations is wonderful. I have yet to delve into the Universe mode but that alone seems worth the price of admission. My biggest complaint would be the lack of any real online story mode. It would be fun to at least set up a PPV for my friends and I to play through via Xbox Live. The fighting in the game can add real drama with all of the counters but I can see where the challenge is either too frustrating for some, or too easy for others. With THQ gone, I wonder what the future will bring for the wrestling games? Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    Thoroughly fun to play, even if a seasoned player is going to find they don't lose very many matches. The creation suite is quite impressive indeed. The attitude era is a really cool tribute to the matches I watched growing up.

    Unfortunately, the "Universe" mode handles storylines a little bit strangely; you won't want to go through this game skipping matches because you will miss everything. Instead, you have to revamp and tweak your universe into something you want to play and see where the game takes it.

    Still, as a wrestling simulation there really isn't much competition. If you want a game that simulates all variety of matches and even tries to create some storylines for you on the fly, then this game is pretty damn good.
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    i was going to give it a 6 because its pretty much the same as wwe 12 but they removed the road to wrestlemania which is my favorite part of the game but ill give it a extra point for having cm punk well deserving on the cover. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    3
    After playing WWE 13, it made me thought about how far apart this game is to Smackdown's Shut Your Mouth and Here Comes the Pain.. Glitchy animations and clunky movement from wrestlers plagued the gameplay for me.. Yeah, it's great there are 100 wrestlers in the game.. It's great that THQ showing some love to the Attitude Era.. But whats the point if you dont have great gameplay to support it.. Presentation is decent at best..Some player models like Booket T look awful.. Unacceptable!... Overall, WWE 13 is a huge disappointment for me.. It's time for THQ to go back to the Smackdown HCTP gameplay roots.. Faster arcade style gameplay.. Stop trying to make the game realistic to the crappy WWE wrestling of today. Oh wait, they might be out of business anyway.. Good riddance.. Let EA have the license... Expand

See all 38 User Reviews