Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE 2K14 is 2K Sports'first release in the flagship WWE videogame franchise, WWE 2K14. 2K promises the most electrifying, authentic and comprehensive WWE video game experience to date. Become Immortal.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    All in all, I'm a huge fan of WWE 2K14 and am excited to see what we can look forward to on the next generation consoles. A few more tweaks and a shinier coat of polish and we'll be talking about how the WWE 2K franchise is as much of a must-have for all sports fans.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    84
    Nostalgic WWE enthusiasts will love the enormous roster of modern and classic superstars, and the 30 Years of Wrestlemania mode is the most entertaining single-player campaign the series has seen.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    81
    Wrestlemania makes the day. [Dec 2013]
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    79
    WWE 2K14 is a history lesson for the ages, but the excellence of execution is lacking. 2K Games has a solid franchise to work on though, provided that they manage to get some new blood in to help the franchise regain the ruthless aggression that made it a champion in the first place so many years ago.
  5. 75
    With WWE 2K14’s comprehensive roster and WrestleMania fan service, it’s hard not to find something to dig your teeth into à la George “The Animal” Steele on a turnbuckle. Still, we’ve seen the series tell better stories and work better between the ropes, making it tough not to notice the flaws in what might be the last dedicated current-gen match.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    WWE 2K14 is a safe start for 2K Sports as a publisher for the series, but it lays a fairly strong foundation for future entries and leaves room for growth as the franchise moves into the next-generation.
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    60
    It's a shame the wrestling isn't up to par in WWE 2K14 because the elements surrounding it are so interesting.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I have spent about over 5 hours with this game and I must that I am thoroughly impressed! You will read about all of the new featuresI have spent about over 5 hours with this game and I must that I am thoroughly impressed! You will read about all of the new features elsewhere, so there's no need to elaborate about them here, so let me tell you the biggest selling point of this game IMPROVED AI! I've been playing on Legend Difficulty and it feels like Legend Difficulty. I've only won 25% of my matches. Trust me when I say this is a good thing. In past iterations of this game, I would stop playing after a few months because there was no challenge. WWE2K14 requires you to play to your wrestler's strengths. That fact alone makes this game a must buy for anyone on the fence who may have thought that your older WWE game was good enough. If you want a WWE game to give you the same challenge as any other quality sport game Get WWE 2K14. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    This game is a massive improvement over wwe 13, pace wise, move wise, everything wise. My created wrestler just tag teamed with superman andThis game is a massive improvement over wwe 13, pace wise, move wise, everything wise. My created wrestler just tag teamed with superman and won the butthole belt. Best game ever 10/10 Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Really, after the disappointing WWE 13, 2K picked this one up. The commentary still sucks and the A.I. is still shoddy, but it's an awesomeReally, after the disappointing WWE 13, 2K picked this one up. The commentary still sucks and the A.I. is still shoddy, but it's an awesome experience. Just wish they'd got some other matches for 30 years, but still great. Expand
  4. LTR
    Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This is a really good wrestling game. Even though this feels like all the other wrestling games, the roster is great, the 30 years ofThis is a really good wrestling game. Even though this feels like all the other wrestling games, the roster is great, the 30 years of WrestleMania is good and the gameplay is still fun. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    All WWE game apologists, please leave the room, because, this game, is a step back in the franchise, I've been playing the games since theAll WWE game apologists, please leave the room, because, this game, is a step back in the franchise, I've been playing the games since the original Smackdown vs. Raw, which means I've been playing these games for almost a decade, and This game could have gotten a 9/10 or even a solid 10, if 2K didn't remove features, they also LIED about removing the online pass. The game is still good, but the fact I can't have a custom entrance video is f*cking bullsh*t, and gauntlet matches, are broken, once you reach the 2nd opponent, the game loses it's hit detection.

    30 Years of Wrestlemania Mode, is a loose mess, Attitude Era mode in WWE'13 worked because you got more backstory, than just a vague cutscene, some photos and that's it.

    At least the roster is massive, and DLC increases the roster to bigger than it's ever been, in any fighting game EVER.

    My last point is, if your using custom content for Create-A-Story, it breaks, and freezes.

    The final verdict is, you should wait until the game gets patched before you buy it.
    Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2014
    5
    I know you guys may disagree with me. But I feel that WWE14 is really WWE13.5. Everything feels the same, even in graphics. All they did wasI know you guys may disagree with me. But I feel that WWE14 is really WWE13.5. Everything feels the same, even in graphics. All they did was add new characters, and made it revole around the legends. The WWE universe is the same, the robotics are the same, same everything. I love the gameplay, but I'm not liking what 2k games did this year. They better not do the same thing with WWE15. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    Worst one ever. The in ring gameplay is crap compared to last year. Go ahead and try 30 years of wrestlemania and let me know how you do onWorst one ever. The in ring gameplay is crap compared to last year. Go ahead and try 30 years of wrestlemania and let me know how you do on the third match... The CPU flat out cheats at every corner and it's way too obvious. They improved upon the menus, but who cares, they screwed up the game itself. Don't believe the fan boys, this is the worst one they've ever done. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews