User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    This game is precisely what I had hoped they would deliver - simple, fun game play with mass appeal. It may not be overwhelmingly deep, but rather than feel "lacking", it seems as though they executed on a single idea: a polished fighter, based on wrestlers.

    I hope this is the direction that games in this genre start to migrate. It's over the top, hilarious, exciting. There are certainly
    things I'd like to see in the next game, but this is a beyond solid first effort. See you in the squared circle. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    This game is like a medicine it needs to be taken in small amounts. Otherwise if you did what I did (sat there and played for 5 hours) It will be boring as hell afterward. There are 2 modes there is story mode where they all lead you to wrestlemania. You can play 3 different story's, the undertaker story (and in all of these you have to pick a wrestler to go against that person in the story) the DX story and the Randy Ortan story and when you done with that you can do a mode where you can play matches in 2 different generation picking which generation character to go against the other generation (confusing I know) But this dose complete its goal of being over the top crazy but it has limited replay value. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    After beating some of the modes and seeing that it's not going to be very different from here on out, the only gripe with this game is that there is no real difference in the game modes. They really do feel like a bunch of exhibition matches piled into different modes. That being said, i don't remember games like Super Mario Bros being reviewed and said it's all the same, just jumping and running through the entire game, and that being a bad thing. It's something that worked for that game., and if we try not to compare one game to another, you will see that games like WWE All Stars are fantastic. Games should be fun to play, regardless of any other aspect. WWE All Stars is a blast to play. You can pick up and start hammering away on the controls, or, you CAN take your time to notice intricate combinations that will amaze you in how detailed they got each wrestlers move set. I've been playing non-stop and have been fortunate to have been having lots of fun. If you are worried that you aren't getting a ton of modes and not a lot of content, you may be right; but this definitely isn't a game you can play and say it's not fun. This probably is for wrestling fans, but if you do like action/fighting games that keeps the pace and never really stops for breath, than this is well worth the money! Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    WWE ALL STARS is a must own for anyone looking to get back to the glory days of WWF wrestling games. So here we are on March 29th, I know this has been one of my highly anticipated titles in recent memory. Theres quite a bit to cover for this review so lets get the ball *match* rolling.

    WWE ALL STARS is a pick em up, fighter/wrestling/arcade/ noob fail...you get the point. This game by
    no means can be classified as one particular genre. As a whole WWE ALL STARS comes into the ring with a great amount of talent, though its still green in terms of its success in the wrestling world, you will find that this game can give you something SVR cant, enjoyment. The days have passed where men like Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Andre the Giant, and many more, have been inside the square circle *hogan dont count in TNA :)* ALL STARS brings these men along with many of great first time roster additions. Though the 30 man roster can seem like a very shallow amount, the amount of dlc (more on that later) is staggering. Many have claimed that the roster is to shallow, but I feel like there are people out there whom have forgot the days of only pickn between 8-15 men at the tops. 30 might seem small to SVR standards but lets set the record straight, by no means is this SVR, actually its something more. Though ALL STARS never gives you that realistic atmosphere, you loose yourself in the world of it. Yes thats right, its like being 6 years old again watching Hogan vs Warrior or Savage vs Steamboat. And if that wasnt enough throw in the 15 great superstars of today and you have yourself a great roster to throw around. Though DLC will upset some, Ive listend to countless people cry about THQ not giving out DLC so for me this is more a laugh in the face that they are actually doing this because of what people wanted.
    The biggest complaint that I can make against ALLSTARS is the fact that it does have some problems with modes. This is not a deal breaker by any means, though were not treated with the 345535 modes in SVR we do get a few that stand out. Elimination matches and Cage take the cake in the diversity department even if it is a few tweaks here and there, others like extreme rules and regular 1v1 dont have much to bring to the table, though they are fun theres just somthing more interesting throwing more people in and a cage to boot. That being said, path of champions is your standard fighting game tier. *not reviewing that part as a wrestling mode* you pick three paths take on DX, Orton, or Old School Undertaker and let me tell you the old taker scenes are such a nice trip down memory lane. The one true testament to Sal Davita and THQ is the Fantasy Warfare matchups. 15 matchups have been dreamed up for you to lay smack down on and they truly do not dissapoint. Though there are a few like snuka vs kane, and orton vs jake the snake that are kinda thrown together, you have some real gems with the buildups like hogan vs cena, austin vs punk. For any wrestling fan young and old this is truly going to be the games cup of tea. An if you love wrestling youll loose yourself in this mode.
    As far as the controls go, there are your standard strong and weak grapples and strikes, you have you standard run moves and such. Each superstar is packed with 4 signatures (rock has 5) and 1 finisher to go along with there movesets. Though some of the rosters moves such as warrior doing a roundhouse kick and stone cold missing the gut kick before the stunner, are in question it truly dosnt break you away from how much fun this game is. The controls are simple to start, you can look at the menu screen scan the list and pretty much jump right in, the beauty of this system is all the underneath combos, juggles, and twists and turns that make the system user friendly yet very complex addictive that rivals some fighting games.

    ALL STARS does not come without its fare share of issues, there are bugs, Andres foot goes through bodys, small clipping issues, staggaring load times. As far as the cosmetic side, I would recommend anyone to install this game on your system to help with the loads times and graphic issues, this game packs quite a boot to the face in terms of power, so it might be best advised to try that method. It wont make it perfect but the issue can get some minor tolerance added. Create a Wrestler is completely barren and wether you truyl care to make your own guys ( I do not because all of my favorites are in the game) you might be very dissapointed. Its simple make a guy pick a movest it gives u pre entrances, cant use your own music yada yada. So i know that its probably the biggest thing they could improve on. Online mode is a tad slower then normal but it plays a 100% better then any SVR online in recent memory, I can actually get through a match without watching my guys blink across the ring. Its not perfect but it does what it needs for the small community.

    In the end ALL STARS lays the smackdown on the WWE Universe!
    Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    i was playing with my sister and i beat her down.I was randy orton.she was loser john Cena.i beat her down in the first round.the second round i got killed.
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    This game is simple, but it has amazing graphics, visuals, and enough moves for you to customize your character in the Moveset editor. If you are looking for something 50% fancy and 50% real, this game is perfect for you, specially if you like wrestling games. The only thing I dislike about this game is that most of the mods are the same and unlocking new characters is the same as playing exhibition mode. Collapse
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    I used to be a huge wraslin' fan, but the athletes of today don't really have, in my opinion, what the legends, or even the guys from a decade ago had. So when I heard someone was making a game where the legends could take on the new guys I was stoked. When i got my first look at it, I was even more excited. The game reminded me of the old N64 WCW wrestling games, the look, how it played, all updated for this generation. Did the developers get it right. Oh yeah! The characters look like living action figures and their moves are so over the top and exaggerated, but that's what I find cool about it. I didn't really like the Smackdown vs. Raw series, sure they were loaded with all sorts of modes (which I found a little overwhelming), but I didn't find them all that fun. Here the action is fast-paced and aggressive, as apposed to the sluggish controls of the other series. This is more like a fighting game, you can literally bounce people off the mat and juggle them in the air, which kind of reminded me of the WWF In Your House games. There's even brightly colored streams that come of your wrestler as they perform signature moves. There are a lot of modes, however most feel similar. The stand out is the cage match complete with mini-games when you climb to the top. Another great feature pits a pre-determined legend against a pre-determined wrestler from the current roster based on their particular style, these matches are also cool. Matches like Sheamus vs. the Ultimate Warrior and Eddie Guerrerro vs. Rey Mysterio are examples. There are 30 combatants in all with more on the way via DLC, but you can't help but notice some odd omissions like Ric Flair or Chris Jericho, but this may be fixed later on with the DLC. Each looks as they currently do (in the case of the fresh talent) or as they did in their prime (for the legends), and they each use their signature moves and their awesome entrance music. The game mechanics are easy to pick up but hard to master, there is an awful lot of hidden depth in this arcade brawler. Reversals can be difficult until you get the timing right, as a prompt appears at the top of the screen telling you what button to push, but only briefly, so you really have to pay attention to the other fighter and judge what you need to do ahead of time. There are plenty of unlockables with everything from arenas and wrestlers to stuff to use in the create a wrestler mode. This is the weakest part of the game as it comes no where near the depth of the other series, but you can't still come up with some fun characters of your own. All in all this is great game for wrestling fans old and new with a lot of depth for those that want it and pick up and play acessibility for those that don't. Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    this is like the 2nd best game i ever played.
  9. ICU
    Apr 2, 2011
    8
    The reviews for this game are way too low. Yes it's short on match types and the create a wrestler mode is limited (move set and custom entrance wise) but it's over the top, colourful fun with a deep fighting system.
  10. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    WWE All Stars did exactly what it set out to do, bring the over the top action back into the wwe games. It has a colourful and vibrant visual style and awesome over-the-top action every wrestling game should have. It may not be the best wwe game out there, but it is still worth your time and money.
  11. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    Of all of the wrestling games I have played, this is by far the best. It's over the top fun that you can play with your children and friends. It's not complex and easy to pick up and learn. The different modes give it some life and replayability. Well done.
  12. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    WWE All Stars is one of my favorite games so far this year. It brings together the old and the new when it comes to wrestling, and offers a great variety for players of all ages and skill levels. Best of all, it doesnâ
  13. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    WWE All Stars is a great game, its good to look at and plays great, the controls are simple and combos are easy to do.
    I would highly reccomend to any fighting game fan or wrestling fan.
  14. May 4, 2011
    8
    This game reminds me of what happened when you were a kid and had those wrestler action figures, throwing them up what would be for them 20 feet into the air, slamming and smacking each-other around. Realism thrown out of the window entirely! This isn't a bad thing in the least bit! The controls are easy to manage and the only real complexity is remembering how to execute the 4 or 5 two button special moves. This reminds me of those old wrestling games that you'd see in an arcade, simple smacking fun. It's kind of shallow but it is what it is. The Dream match videos are a nice touch and it isn't that hard to unlock all the characters. The free Honkey Tonk Man DLC was nice too, didn't feel thrown together [he has his song, intro, and they refer to him by name as does the crowd]. Hopefully they build on this concept for the sequel. Expand
  15. May 27, 2011
    9
    great game! just beautiful graphics and display. The sound is a bit off but that is manageable. This is a game for people who like wrestling NOT fighting games if you like fighting games but don't like wrestling DO NOT BUT IT!!!!!
  16. May 12, 2012
    8
    WWE All-Stars is one of those games that really catches your eye, A different direction from the main series that comes out every year. All Stars takes 15 superstars and 15 legends and puts them into a cartoonish superhero world where the word "rulebook" has been Piledrived out the door. the controls are simplistic which makes it easier for WWE newcomers but a tad difficult for those who are used to playing the main series. The graphics are pretty good considering it's cartoonish look based on real people. The roster isn't that big considering we've been treated to about 70+ superstars in normal games. Also lack of match types is slightly dissapointing. The highlight though is the Fantasy Warfare mode where it'll put a superstar and a legend with something in common (e.g. Kofi Kingston and Ricky Steamboat) together and see who wins. Overall WWE All Stars is a must own game if your a Hardcore WWE fan or just a seasoned fighting fan. Expand
  17. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    "WWE ALL STARS is a must own for anyone looking to get back to the glory days of WWF wrestling games" just as Ultkalina said, I remember being a little kid and watching Macho Man and the Ultimate warrior. It's rally cool to match up current past and classic wrestlers against one another. you can take this game seriously or just screw around and have fun. Definate must have for WWF er I mean WWE fans past and present. Expand
  18. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    this game is awesome fun great graphics and over the top action makes it a fresh take on a great company buy this worth every penny great roster. suitable for bothe beginners and veterans
  19. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    I got the game on realease day and was forgiving the first night I played the game.The wrestling isn't that fun,the controls are bad and main stories are boring.
  20. Dec 15, 2012
    0
    This game is simple, but it has amazing graphics, visuals, and enough moves for you to customize your character in the Moveset editor. If you are looking for something 50% fancy and 50% real, this game is perfect for you, specially if you like wrestling games. The only thing I dislike about this game is that most of the mods are the same and unlocking new characters is the same as playing exhibition mode. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    Digitized world of wrestling gets even closer of the beat'em'up genre. Simplified mechanics and exaggerated graphics highlight this transition from Smackdown series. Wrestling is fun with a friend, solo wrestling is only for Monty Python. [May 2011]
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    78
    Even with its easily addressable faults, WWE All-Stars manages to brightly shine because it got the basics absolutely right.
  3. May 16, 2011
    75
    Still, the game is a load of fun and arguably the best professional wrestling game to come out in many years. I know that wrestling purists would say that the arcade style slam-and-jam nature of All Stars is not an accurate representation of their beloved sport - but put the controller in their hands for ten minutes, and even the hardest of the diehards will be won over.