Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: X-Men: Destiny has you playing a new recruit amongst comic's motley mutant band, and promises a branching storyline that features a deep element of choice.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 51
  2. Negative: 25 out of 51
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    78
    Silicon Knights may not be treading into its Eternal Darkness territory here, but at least it's steering clear of its Too Human regime. This Destiny's got some weight behind it.
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    60
    X-Men: Destiny feels like a demo for a bigger game that never was. Little of the excitement that could have followed in the booted footsteps of X-Men Legends or Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is buried within its too-short campaign and thin smattering of gameplay. It's Dynasty Warriors for mutants; it can be fun at the outset, even with all the button-mashing, but the boxed-in world is not enough to distract from the hollow feeling of this particular destiny.
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    55
    Even for an action brawler, this one is as mindless as they come.
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    50
    Some boss battles are absolutely thrilling, and the plot, while somewhat convoluted, definitely feels like a proper X-Men story, but the dull, monotonous battles and lack of polish hamstring the game.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    40
    This game's destiny? The bargain bin. [Issue#78, p.84]
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    40
    In X-Men: Destiny, mindless combat and meaningless choices combine to create a new mutation of boredom.
  7. Even for the notoriously shabby ghetto of licensed-games, X-Men Destiny represents a new low. Activision have sent this one out to die. [Christmas 2011, p.102]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    If you like kicking a lot of ass 110% of the time...this one is for you. It was a lot of fun, and I usually don't even like beat'em ups. I had to force myself to go to bed! The real focus of this game is the brawler style combat, and evolving your mutant to kick even more ass as you go. The combat is simple and easy to pick up. As you unlock abilities you'll find yourself immediately satisfied that you're now a tank who can wreck 100 guys at once. The story is on par for any comic book (that is to say, fairly ridiculous), and the graphics are not the best (with a few glaring errors). I have to be honest though, I actually enjoyed playing it. It was cool to dig into the back stories of the other Xmen/Brotherhood characters, and fighting alongside different ones via the 'Destiny Choices' was a nice touch. The combat itself is gorgeous, and as you evolve it just gets better. I'd recommend it to anyone new to the brawler genre. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    pretty solid game. story was decent but the morality/ choice of team thing made up for that. fighting does get repetitive but its still hard to put the game down. its not as good as i had expected but that doesnt mean it aint worth $60. get it. Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    Yes the controls and moves are a tad mid-00's game like for a 2011 game, but X-Men: Destiny might be my favorite marvel game. Easy controls, but what's important is the story line. It should have been expanded but they make up for it by allowing to play through multiple times. By far, this is the best X-Men game yet. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    I am huge comicbook nerd. A huge fan of the X-men. So this game was enjoyable for me in that I was able to pick my powers and be part of the X-men. However, if you're not a massively loyal X-men fan: do not buy this game. The power choice was fun, the voice acting was okay, and for a comicbook plot it was almost par. But the graphics are sub-par, the combat is limited, and the "choices" are... well it's as linear as a "choosing one of two factions" game can get. It's also really easy... Even on the highest difficulty. There are a lot of problems with this game. But it was fun being an X-man. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    4
    After seeing some late-stage videos of this game before release, I figured it would be a huge letdown. Lo and behold, its even worse than I expected. It looks, plays, and is presented like an average PS2 game at best. The character models are horrendous, the game can be beaten with using all basic attacks, for the most part. Little customization is present, and the customization that is there is overly simple. It's as if Silicon Knights took Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 and somehow made it worse. Maybe someday we'll get a decent X-Men game.....? Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    4
    This game is pretty much a substandard ps2/xbox game. The graphics are pretty terrible (and not just because it is a comic game). I completed the game in about 6 hours and while it does have the appeal of trying again with a different character the facts that: a) you've got to watch every single video and dialogue again and b) you only keep your powers earned if you restart with the same character, takes the appeal right back out of playing again.

    Also you will find yourself constantly just pressing xxy xxy xxy xxy xxy with the occasional b. I must admit I love comic games but I felt really disappointed with this one and just had to sell it on.

    Basically its what you would expect if going back in time to play at the arcades. (like the old turtles game)
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Cette revue contient des spoilers, cliquez sur l'expansion de vue. De loin le pire des X-Men jeu jamais réalisé. Il est triste que cette dernière jamais obtenu un concept de design. Les doublages est terrible, les graphismes sont au début X360, au mieux, même les sous-titres ne correspondent pas au dialogue vocal. Par ailleurs, les concepteurs avaient peu ou pas de fond sur les X-Men autres que les personnages NPC. Silicon Knights n'a pas fait de devoirs. Ils ont à peine faire un effort dans ce pour un bon match. Avez-vous de choisir X-Men/Brotherhood? Oui. Est-ce que d'autres choix font la différence? Non, c'est tout simplement un dialogue muet. Apparemment costumes accorder des pouvoirs dans ce jeu aussi. Qu'est-ce? Si vous êtes vraiment un fan X-Men/Marvel/Comic, je dirais que louer cette au mieux. Assez pour voir juste comment ils ont ruiné certains personnages préférés et les concepts (comme Nightcrawler. Permet donner dreadlocks et Kurt certains anneaux hippie sur sa queue). N'importe qui d'autre, c'est votre argent, et vous pouvez faire comme vous voulez avec elle. Mais ce n'est pas n'importe où près d'un neuf, ou même d'un 5 à cela. C'est glitchy et même lent à certains moments Expand

See all 25 User Reviews