User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 116
  2. Negative: 4 out of 116

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimmyS
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    I don't know if the lunge feature will ever get old. At this stage in my life I don't want much of a relationship with my XBOX, just some catharsis. This game offers that in spades. I compare this to The Force Unleashed - in both games we (finally) get to just be as bad-a** as we wanna be (and neither require a huge time commitment).
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    Saying that this is one of the best movie-licensed games is kind of tarnishing Xmen Origins with false praise. There is a overwhelming sense that this is just 'God of War Origins: Wolverine', however there is no denying the fun factor that Activision has brought to this game. If movie-licensed games keep this level of quality there may be hope for this sub-genre.
  3. MannixK
    May 1, 2009
    9
    Fast, brutal and easy to pick up. I commend Raven for not bowing down to the age rating boards.
  4. YunosukeCalifornia
    May 4, 2009
    9
    It's repetitive but its button mashing playing is implemented at highly polished level. It is just plain fun. Ignore critics. They don't have a brain to just ask their own instinct then write reviews without trying to be highbrow. They're just like movie critics.
  5. JJ
    May 4, 2009
    9
    I absolutely love this game. Picked it up on Friday and been played it through til Monday evening. Finished it a couple of times and still coming back for more just for the sheer enjoyment of ripping through crowds as fast as I can. I love it. I can't wait for the sequel that's (blatantly) hinted at in the closing sequence.
  6. PacoP
    May 4, 2009
    10
    This is a great game, offers FUN game play and also very cool levels. Visceral, bloody and just over the top action in spades. Also has great replayability, with the achievements actually being worth getting.
  7. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Best game based on a movie this gen.. Ignore the stupid reviews from critics, go watch some gameplays and see for yourself, its an amazing game, one of the best hack N slash games this gen, truly underrated
  8. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    Oh man this game is hella fun. Really great hack and slash action. It's sorta like... Max Payne but instead of guns you've got adamantium claws. Every once in a while you'll pull off a crazy move like slicing a guy's torso in half or whatnot and it'll go into slow mo while the blood splatters everywhere. Never fails to make me laugh. And it's all optimized really well for a PC port. ThisOh man this game is hella fun. Really great hack and slash action. It's sorta like... Max Payne but instead of guns you've got adamantium claws. Every once in a while you'll pull off a crazy move like slicing a guy's torso in half or whatnot and it'll go into slow mo while the blood splatters everywhere. Never fails to make me laugh. And it's all optimized really well for a PC port. This was made by Raven, so that's to be expected, those guys have been working on PC games for ages. It's just so cool seeing yourself heal back up from getting blown up, with skin growing over exposed ribs and muscle.

    The only problem I've noticed so far involves the platforming. It's not really done well, and this one section in particular is super frustrating because you can't quicksave. Games like Assassin's Creed and Prince of Persia really show how bad and outdated this platforming is. But most of the game isn't platforming, it's usually killing soldiers in really brutal ways with your claws. My favorite move is leap, it's a really fast lock-on ability that you can perform from 3 to 40 feet. Just lock on a guy, leap and knock him over, jump up and dive down on him again to kill him, then leap onto the next guy, and rinse and repeat. You can do this to wipe out entire squads at a time. That never gets old.
    Expand
  9. MartinA.
    Jan 31, 2010
    8
    this is a great game and a good history there is not much to say about it because its that good the only thing they didn`t make good was when you are healing.
  10. jared
    May 1, 2009
    9
    This game is way better than it should be. Most movie tie in games suck, but this one is surprisingly good. It's Ninja Gaiden but with Wolverine. The combat system is very fluid and fast, not to mention absolutely brutal! This is one of the few games (only Riddick comes to mind) that the game is better then the movie. If your an action game fan definitely check this one out.
  11. SuleimanM.
    May 18, 2009
    7
    A solid offering from Raven software and it strays away from the on going tradition of less than impressive movie based games. While Origins is definitely an enjoyable experience, it still has it faults that keep this title being worth the price of admission. Repetition and less than impressive graphics prove that Origins would have done well with another 4-6 months in development. A solid offering from Raven software and it strays away from the on going tradition of less than impressive movie based games. While Origins is definitely an enjoyable experience, it still has it faults that keep this title being worth the price of admission. Repetition and less than impressive graphics prove that Origins would have done well with another 4-6 months in development. Nevertheless, Origins manages to be more than a sub-par action title, and a title that is to the very least worth a rental. For long time fans of the character, I can see the purchase being worth while; however, those in for just a fun, enjoyable action game, Origins should do well with a weekend Expand
  12. JasonD
    May 20, 2009
    8
    This game rocks! The combat is very fun and the graphics are pretty good most of the time. The battle scene with the sentinal is an instant classic. It follows the movie but changes the story a little bit to fit the game. It goes deeper into the Africa mission. At times though the story feels rush and a little all over the place. I feel that they should of created a story that leads into This game rocks! The combat is very fun and the graphics are pretty good most of the time. The battle scene with the sentinal is an instant classic. It follows the movie but changes the story a little bit to fit the game. It goes deeper into the Africa mission. At times though the story feels rush and a little all over the place. I feel that they should of created a story that leads into the movie versus following the story of the movie. I think this is one resin why movie game stories are so bad. That aside the gameplay is great and responsive. I would recommend this to anyone who likes hack n slash games. Expand
  13. RicO.
    Dec 16, 2009
    8
    My first impressions of this game were simple. I thought "Wow, why wasn't the film like THAT?!" And I kept thinking the same all the way through. This game captures what Wolverine should always have been about: blood lust and vengeance. The graphics are pretty good, and the character's regeneration looks wonderful. The game isn't too short, and there are a number of My first impressions of this game were simple. I thought "Wow, why wasn't the film like THAT?!" And I kept thinking the same all the way through. This game captures what Wolverine should always have been about: blood lust and vengeance. The graphics are pretty good, and the character's regeneration looks wonderful. The game isn't too short, and there are a number of collectables too. Plus, it is something that most games these days lack: fun. Collapse
  14. RowanF
    Jun 13, 2009
    6
    This game has good cutscenes, thats pretty much all good I can say about it. Ok, lets be fair, for a movie game that's still better than most, but that's still by no means a reason to get it. The gameplay is dull, it boils down to presing x within minutes, which is presumably why the developers have made it like one enormous interactive cutscene. While awsome at times, this does This game has good cutscenes, thats pretty much all good I can say about it. Ok, lets be fair, for a movie game that's still better than most, but that's still by no means a reason to get it. The gameplay is dull, it boils down to presing x within minutes, which is presumably why the developers have made it like one enormous interactive cutscene. While awsome at times, this does give a constant feeling that you're being cheated out of doing what YOU want to do, and it also does a thorough job of removing all soul from the game. Expand
  15. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    I applaud Raven for making a entertaining/licensed game , also making respect for Wolverine. Apart from the teen rated games from the Wii , PSP ( if I don't mistake ) and DS, the PS3 and 360 versions were rated Mature for the huge gory violence to the over the top moments that Origins bring to the gamer. Changing , adding new ideas, enemies is a bold move for a movie/game , not manyI applaud Raven for making a entertaining/licensed game , also making respect for Wolverine. Apart from the teen rated games from the Wii , PSP ( if I don't mistake ) and DS, the PS3 and 360 versions were rated Mature for the huge gory violence to the over the top moments that Origins bring to the gamer. Changing , adding new ideas, enemies is a bold move for a movie/game , not many developers have taken the chance to really start from zero and make something fresh and different from the movie part . Expand
  16. May 23, 2012
    9
    This is a really entertaining,great and violently hack and slash-game for the mature public. The animations and graphics are good, this is the best Wolverine-(maybe even X-Men)game ever and fighting crowds of enemies with his adamantium-claws is so much fun and does not get old. I played trough it in 3 days bevause the gameplay was really addictive. I still put it in from time to timeThis is a really entertaining,great and violently hack and slash-game for the mature public. The animations and graphics are good, this is the best Wolverine-(maybe even X-Men)game ever and fighting crowds of enemies with his adamantium-claws is so much fun and does not get old. I played trough it in 3 days bevause the gameplay was really addictive. I still put it in from time to time because it is still cool after you played trough. Simple, fast, good looking, brutal, awesome game! You can unlock more moves as you go trough the story, if you liked the movie you need to play this. Expand
  17. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    While it does look good and can be pretty fun to play at times, mostly it's just a repetitive button masher. As a license tie in it isn't bad and perhaps one of the better games of it's kind. But, even though it does make a solid effort, it clearly could have done more if the level designers would have made the effort. The highlight of this game for me would have to be the cinematicWhile it does look good and can be pretty fun to play at times, mostly it's just a repetitive button masher. As a license tie in it isn't bad and perhaps one of the better games of it's kind. But, even though it does make a solid effort, it clearly could have done more if the level designers would have made the effort. The highlight of this game for me would have to be the cinematic cut-scenes that were really well done and did more for the narrative than the movie did. Overall: An average game that is by no means bad, but also not good. Worth a go if you've got nothing better to do. Expand
  18. Feb 21, 2016
    7
    This not only is the best wolverine game we can get but it's what the damn movie should of been like which is bloody,gory,funny and action packed,slashing your way through bad guys for about 8 hours as a hairy Canadian has never been better plus Hugh Jackman reprises his role from the movie and voice acts as Wolverine and he does pretty good and doesn't pretend to care. He clearly lovesThis not only is the best wolverine game we can get but it's what the damn movie should of been like which is bloody,gory,funny and action packed,slashing your way through bad guys for about 8 hours as a hairy Canadian has never been better plus Hugh Jackman reprises his role from the movie and voice acts as Wolverine and he does pretty good and doesn't pretend to care. He clearly loves this role as wolverine and much like the makers of Deadpool these developers and cast love the characters and made the best game that they could. My only problems are the length and some of the environments are a little bland but overall if you find this at a second hand store you should defiantly pick it up. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. 69
    If you're not fussy, like your button-mashy beat-em-ups and are addicted to either Wolverine or Hugh Jackman's tank-like physique, you'll get the most out of this. It's God of War with claws and an equally bloodthirsty attitude; flawed, fun and fairly brainless gaming.
  2. Wolverine is a great character, and he's the best there is at what he does even in videogames. This is a game full of action, blood and great visuals, with epic battles and unforgettable situations. It has its flaws, but overall, it's a good game for lovers of action-packed games.
  3. Good news for the Hack and Slash lovers. X-Men Origins: Wolverine is a fantastic brawler. On the graphic and audio side the videogame does nice work, but it's in the gameplay area where the new Raven effort shines above those hundreds of forgettable movie adaptations.