Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    84
    It's another dose of Konami arcade goodness, with up to six players taking part in the over-the-top comic book action.
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    81
    If you're 30 years old or older and played this game at the arcades, I don't see why you would overlook this. In fact, I implore you not to.
  3. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    It's fun and full of side-scrolling charm. [Mar 2011, p.94]
  4. 80
    If you can demonstrate a bit of self-control, though, or better yet actually risk failure by limiting the number of continues you get in the menus, this is definitely one of the better sidescrollers around.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    80
    I'll definitely be playing it again in the months to come. I definitely recommend this one for all you out there that enjoy a good old-fashioned brawler.
  6. Jan 1, 2011
    80
    The core gameplay is fast-paced and it controls like a dream. There isn't a lot to it, but what's here is a blast.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    You know this game is repetitive. You know this game has the most simplistic gameplay. You know this game has a terrible plotline, graphics, and audio qualities. You know spamming attacks is an incredibly cheap tactic that throws off the balance of the game. But with all the negative aspects going against it, X-Men Arcade is still absurdly entertaining - a quality very few games possess.
  8. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    If you did frequent arcades in the early '90s and remember just how fun X-men Arcade was, though, this is a must-purchase.
  9. Dec 16, 2010
    75
    It's ludicrously mindless, and yet button-mashing through hordes of robots and cheesy villains is simply a good time.
  10. 72
    X-Men Arcade does make for a fun online experience, and if you are willing to forgive some of its technical flaws in the name of retro glory, what you'll find is a worthwhile, if ultimately too brief, experience.
  11. Apr 4, 2011
    70
    Half of the appeal of X-Men: The Arcade Game is nostalgia, but the other half is still a genuinely fun experience. No, it's not as flashy or deep as any current-generation game, but there's still something to be said for taking control of Wolverine in his bright yellow spandex and mindlessly ripping through hordes of evil robot minions. If you're a solo player, you might want to pass, but if you regularly play with a group, especially a local one, then it's worth checking out.
  12. Feb 25, 2011
    70
    The game is a faithful port of the arcade game, but the appeal to purchase it is really only for fans of the original seeking a dose of nostalgia.
  13. Feb 12, 2011
    70
    No challenge. [Issue#68, p.103]
  14. Dec 27, 2010
    70
    X-Men Arcade doesn't innovate on its original design very much. While Konami could have just given us just the North American release they did instead included the Japanese version for hard core players or those looking to change things around.
  15. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    Without a death penalty, X-Men Arcade is a very different game than it was when originally released. That said, it's also very true to its roots, maintaining, perhaps with fault, the look and feel of the original.
  16. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    So while the replay value is limited to a few playthroughs and easy-to-earn achievements, X-Men Arcade is an excellent recommendation for a weekend diversion with friends.
  17. Jan 3, 2011
    67
    So yeah, X-Men is a game with limited appeal to very particular niche, but it's something I'm personally extremely happy to have, and it's nearly identical to what I played in the Arcade.
  18. Feb 8, 2011
    65
    It's the same title many of you have played coin op style. Six players online Live sessions could really make this worth the while for the fans.
  19. 65
    Numbers aside, though, the game's old-style simplicity is both charming and, well, kinda boring. Some barely smoothed visuals are the only real upgrade here, so what you get is pretty much the original arcade game.
  20. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    This is old school side-scrolling beat-em-up. As such, it's a bit of an anachronism. If you can get into the spirit of it, it's fun, but it's not as compelling as it was in the arcades.
  21. Jan 5, 2011
    60
    X-Men Arcade is a game most enjoyed by people that remember wasting endless amounts of quarters on the arcade classic.
  22. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    If you're willing to look past the game's numerous flaws and use it as a nostalgia engine for a good time with a pack of friends, it's absolutely worth the money. But if you want a skillful, fun beat-em-up to play seriously for high scores and brag-worthy single credit completion, then you'll want to look elsewhere.
  23. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    It's clearly just junk food gaming but there's still an art to these arcade brawlers and X-Men remains one of the most social examples of the breed.
  24. Feb 16, 2011
    42
    Beat-em-up, side-scrolling brawlers like this worked great when there was a fear of losing all the tokens you'd work so hard to buy with your allowance, but once that imminent threat is removed there's nothing but mindless button mashing and endless continues in your future.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    2
    Loved this game in the arcades as a kid, but this XBLA release is an awful, cheap cash-in. A bloated 800 MS Points ($10) asking price for aLoved this game in the arcades as a kid, but this XBLA release is an awful, cheap cash-in. A bloated 800 MS Points ($10) asking price for a 17-year old arcade port that offers nothing new in the way of additional levels, characters, graphical overhauls or bonus features. By comparison the TMNT Arcade Game, Gunstar Heroes, Contra, Golden Axe and other direct, unaltered ports on XBLA are only 400 MS Points ($5). Pricing issues aside, the game itself does provide nostalgic charm and gives you some difficulty settings, but ultimately you're likely to get only 1 or 2 hours worth of play before the charm evaporates and boredom settles in. If you're in the mood for a side scrolling beat-em-up I'd recommend the more expensive, but far more extensive Castle Crashers or the appropriately priced TMNT Arcade Game. Full Review »
  2. Jan 6, 2011
    5
    How much would you pay for nostalgia? That's the question you need to ask yourself before shelling out 10 bucks for this game. I have fondHow much would you pay for nostalgia? That's the question you need to ask yourself before shelling out 10 bucks for this game. I have fond memories of huddling around the double-screen cabinet at my local, dark, dirty arcade waiting for my chance to jump in and play this game. Once out of tokens, I would stay and watch other people play - that was how far my childhood love of the X-Men and video games went. Combining the two was like peanut butter & chocolate for a 10 year old like me. I was thrilled when I heard this game was being ported to XBLA. Unfortunately, after dropping my 800 Microsoft points and then promptly beating it with a friend in less than two hours, I felt robbed. The graphics were not given a major HD overhaul, the gameplay is exactly the same, but without consequences for death (i.e. another quarter for a poor kid like myself back in the day) the thrill and mystique was gone. Sure, my friend and I enjoyed poking fun at Wolverine shooting lasers, Colossus with his classic yell that symbolizes his force field special (???) and the mere existence of Dazzler, but not 10 bucks worth of fun. I cannot imagine what it would be like if I went in to this game without my fond memories! If you did not play this game in the arcade and love it, don't buy it. If you did, wait until the week the Microsoft cuts the price to 5 bucks (which we all know will be coming) and pick it up then. The release is simply not worth 10 bucks, and that makes this former arcade nerd sad to admit. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    7
    I have great memories of playing this game as a little kid with my cousin and my sister. We spent many hours working that machine. When II have great memories of playing this game as a little kid with my cousin and my sister. We spent many hours working that machine. When I first picked up the 360 and started trying out the demo games, my first thought was "Where is the X-Men Arcade game?". When I first saw the game in the arcade I was very excited! The game is exactly the same as the old arcade version and that is exactly what I was hoping for.

    The game is a side scrolling adventure game but the fun comes in the fact that you can play with so many friends. 6 players at once??!?!?! AWESOME! Anyone who played this game as a kid will enjoy playing it now. This is a very good but not great release only because there is nothing really NEW.
    Full Review »