XCOM: Enemy Unknown Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 364 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the makers of the Civilization series comes a game about humanity’s final stand. Threatened by an unknown foe, the Earth’s governments come together to form a stealth paramilitary organization known as XCOM to combat this extraterrestrial assault. At the helm of XCOM, you command theFrom the makers of the Civilization series comes a game about humanity’s final stand. Threatened by an unknown foe, the Earth’s governments come together to form a stealth paramilitary organization known as XCOM to combat this extraterrestrial assault. At the helm of XCOM, you command the global defense team in battle against a frightening alien invasion. Determine the destiny of the human race by building and co-coordinating a fully operational base, researching alien tech, formulating combat missions, and choreographing soldier movement in battle. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    100
    By virtue of how it stokes more parts of my brain than any game of the past decade, I’m inclined to consider XCOM: Enemy Unknown one of the most important titles of this generation. This game will test your disaster-management skills, levy you with suffocatingly difficult choices on how to spend your resources and cause you to grow so fond of your chess pieces that each skirmish takes on the flavour of a Whedonesque drama.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    100
    The cleverest part of XCOM: Enemy Unknown is how it bundles up all of its complexities and interdependencies and presents them in a package that, while not easy, is at least easily digested. It's often overwhelming, but in the best way possible.
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    95
    Both of XCOM's layers present life-or-death conundrums to which there is no right answer. No matter what you pick, something or someone is going to suffer for it. This kind of tension and terror rarely occurs within mainstream gaming, and almost never with this level of skill in the execution. Don't let the "turn-based strategy" moniker scare you off; XCOM is a singular achievement that every gamer deserves to experience.
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    At the end of the day I just get this sense that XCOM: Enemy Unknown is one of those sleeper hits in the latter half of 2012. The smooth interface, sharp looking visuals, and surprisingly tense tactical turn-based gameplay are simply a blast.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    An alien invasion is coming. We are in charge of XCOM, a military organization that will put end to this extraterrestrial assault. XCOM: Enemy Unknown offers a full package tactical turn-based strategy game, with tons of options for single-player which uses a mind-blowing squad customization system, and interesting modes in multiplayer. Old school meets new age.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    85
    Enemy Unknown is more than a worthy successor, and will definitely appease fans of the genre while roping in a few newcomers for sure. If you enjoy this type of game, I cannot recommend it enough. It takes the series, and genre to new levels, and sets an entirely new bar for quality.
  7. Oct 23, 2012
    70
    While I still call myself an XCOM fan and was thrilled to see the property return after so many years, I couldn't commit to XCOM: Enemy Unknown wholeheartedly. Although I appreciate the update for modern audiences, the game comes off as a bit undercooked and stumbles on things which should be airtight. On the other hand, it's still a very welcome addition to a genre that's gone a bit stale-just be prepared for a little probing when dealing with these creatures from another world.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 98
  2. Negative: 7 out of 98
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Firaxis has definitely delivered with XCOM: Enemy Unknown, as it's as polished as you could ever want it to be across all three platforms.Firaxis has definitely delivered with XCOM: Enemy Unknown, as it's as polished as you could ever want it to be across all three platforms.

    New players to the game will soon find themselves becoming indulged in the decision making process of the game. Should I invest in better armor? Should I help China or USA? Each decision comes with it's own rewards, which greatly benefit your fight against the alien menace.

    The control scheme on all systems is excellent, even though the original XCOM was a PC game, they fit on both consoles too.

    The story of XCOM is long and rewarding, and the loss of teammates only spurs you on to fight harder.

    Overall, a superb game, I have yet to find anything bad about it.
    Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a fantastic twist off of the old UFO defense. Almost every change made for the new game was for the better: graphics,XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a fantastic twist off of the old UFO defense. Almost every change made for the new game was for the better: graphics, less units to control, more customization etc... but yes, nobody is perfect and there are some flaws. Maps repeat once you play the game all the way through and you can no longer create multiple bases which lowers the replay value. But none of this has effected me as I absolutely love this game and can look past a few minor blemishes as I am sure is necessary to accept anything in life as 10/10. Except maybe Mila Kunis Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    X-Com is back! After the dissapointment of hearing it will be rebooted as an FPS they made the right call and had Fireaxis the creators ofX-Com is back! After the dissapointment of hearing it will be rebooted as an FPS they made the right call and had Fireaxis the creators of Civilization make a strategy game. It's as fun and addicting as the original was. The graphics are very nice it runs great and the story is very interesting. The multiplayer is really fun as well just needs some more maps. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    I loved and grew up with the original XCOM games and as a consequence I was skeptical of a modern remake. This new XCOM game has all theI loved and grew up with the original XCOM games and as a consequence I was skeptical of a modern remake. This new XCOM game has all the strategic appeal of a turn based game but unlike many before it makes you actually feel a lot more in control of the individual characters. Rather than waiting endlessly for the computer to finish the time between turns is minimal. Intelligent cover adds another great strategic element to the game and the playing field environments are detailed and varied. One of my favorite aspects are the highly rendered cut scene videos, unlike many video snippets that sit within a game these don't feel intrusive and are complementary rather than tiresome and annoying. These dynamically built cut scenes give another level of engagement and cause this game to really stand out in the field of turn based games! Great work 2K Games! Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2016
    9
    Virtually a remake, albeit an updated one, of an almost twenty year old turn-based strategy game X-Com: Enemy Unknown is one of the mostVirtually a remake, albeit an updated one, of an almost twenty year old turn-based strategy game X-Com: Enemy Unknown is one of the most nerve-wracking games you’ll ever play. Cast as the commander of an underground base of soldiers designed to fight against a mysterious alien invasion the game really comes in two parts.

    The first part involves the actual day-to day running of the base, ensuring sufficient weapons and resources are made available and making sure you can rely on each of the worlds governments for funding are just two examples of the many tasks that you will face. Within just a few hours some very difficult decisions have to be made as losing the support of a country can severely diminish the chances of success. Refreshingly X: Com resists holding the players hand and is quite happy to let you make a mistake early on that makes eventual success extremely difficult.
    The second part is a turn based squad tactical simulation that is more exciting than it sounds. Using an isometric view with a fully rotatable camera each soldier can perform two actions per turn from a set list, this usually means either moving or firing but each particular unit often has additional moves such as laying down covering fire that can also be selected. Real tension is added by the fact that should a unit be killed there is no to bringing them back, this is particularly painful when it happens to an experienced member of your squad that you’ve taken the trouble to level up, customise and even nickname.

    If ever a game proved that you don’t traditional endless cut scenes to provide an exciting, ongoing narrative then this is the game and even those usually adverse to the strategy genre may find X:Com an entertaining prospect.
    Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    Firaxis has delivered quite an excellent game that is mostly faithful to the spirit of the franchise. As a turn-based strategy game, theFiraxis has delivered quite an excellent game that is mostly faithful to the spirit of the franchise. As a turn-based strategy game, the choices available for current consumers is often limited, notably due their lack of popularity it seems. This game unfortunately dumbs down many of the elements of previous games of the series, which some may have found tedious. The stream-lining of this series makes the game feel more down to chance rather than active decisions made by the player. It is the tedium of the old games that often made them feel more rewarding. This game suffers from many bugs and glitches that can be quite game-breaking if you are potentially playing an ironman campaign. These bugs notably include teleporting enemies, unclear lines of sight, inability to move some soldiers, etc. These bugs do not hinder the enjoyment that can be found in this game, however, as patches are implemented many bugs will be fixed. This game is refreshing take of the old series and offers a rarity in gaming today: a challenging turn-based strategy game. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    Worst game I have ever played. I'm glad this was $25 on black friday and I was able to sell it for $22 on glyde. Game was boring, repetitiveWorst game I have ever played. I'm glad this was $25 on black friday and I was able to sell it for $22 on glyde. Game was boring, repetitive and mind numbing. I'm not sure why anyone would give this a 10, or anything about a 5. If you were desperate to play a game because all you do is play games 24 hours a day, then i could see maybe giving it a 5, but you would still probably be better off replaying almost any other game than starting this one. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.