Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    70
    Many of the great franchises of the 90s have burned out or faded away. But now, XCOM is back in a way that plays like a love letter to the original. It may not be stellar, but it has everything to make it feel right with the old fans while at the same time welcoming the newbies with tentacular appendages. That is a rare and wonderful thing.
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    The follow-up to one of last year's best games is an enchanted version of the same masterpiece. Battles are more expansive and go way deeper than before. The higher difficulty levels alongside the Iron Man Mode gives the gameplay an incredible nerve and challenge. Xcom Enemy Within might as well also be one of this years best games.
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Plenty of new features make this the perfect excuse to jump back into XCOM. [Jan 2014, p.85]
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    90
    This is the definitive version of XCOM. If you're looking for tons of content, high challenge and old-school, hardcore gameplay, this is the place where you'll find it all.
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    Still, XCOM: Enemy Within is exactly what Enemy Unknown needed. More maps, more aliens, more equipment... more content.
  6. 90
    While only minor additions to the game, Enemy Within somehow manages to make the greatest console turn-based strategy game even better. [Issue#105, p.88]
  7. 90
    The improvements and additions to one of 2012’s best games make XCOM: Enemy Within’s second quest every bit as alluring as first contact.
  8. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Small annoyances aside, Firaxis have taken a great game and made it brilliant. There’s so much content and so much to see and do in Enemy Within that one playthrough is unlikely to do it.
  9. Nov 13, 2013
    90
    Essential for fans and newcomers alike, XCOM: Enemy Within’s additions meaningfully alter your experience of the game, forcing players to take new approaches to an already loved title. Firaxis has done it again.
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    An excellent expansion to the already superb original, that cleverly weaves in new features that force you to relearn and adapt everything you thought you knew about Enemy Unknown.
  11. Nov 11, 2013
    93
    Enemy Within adds more troop customization options, fearsome enemy units, and new levels to explore. Anyone who loves an intense firefight should test their mettle on Enemy Within.
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    On the whole, Enemy Within plays like someone, somewhere kept a list of every minor thing they imagined, while playing Enemy Unknown, would make that game better — and then made those changes.
  13. Nov 11, 2013
    95
    As far as expansions go, Enemy Within takes a relatively safe approach, opting to flesh out Enemy Unknown with new maps, enemies, and upgrades rather than redefining its core. Thankfully, it works, because the additions are every bit as smart and enjoyable as the main game.
  14. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Fortunately, there's enough new content here to justify it for players looking for another spin in Firaxis' gripping tale of alien invasion.
  15. 80
    Returning base commanders might want to ponder whether new classes, maps and foes are worth a second investment, but those who slept through the original extra-terrestrial invasion should pick Enemy Within up immediately.
  16. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    More than ever, XCOM is a spectacular tactical game full of stories and characters you create for yourself, and is best enjoyed in Iron Man mode on Classic difficulty to enhance the emotional highs and lows of victory and permanent defeat.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    7
    As a DLC this would have been perfect. The problem is, it's not. The additional content is very good but adds very little to the existing campaign. If anything the additional content feels tacked on, and really does not give you a feeling of playing something different. All campaign missions play out exactly the same, regardless of the content. Only the EXALT mission do give it a bit of fresh air, but the focus is to little and it's over far too quickly.

    XCOM: Enemy Within is nothing more than a Game of the Year edition, just with exclusive content added. After buying XCOM: Enemy Unknown last year and ALL the DLCs that have come out since, this copy made me feel a little cheated. If I had waited a year, I could have gotten the exact same game, and saved allot of money. This kind of reminds me of Viva Pinata & Viva Pinata: Trouble in Paradise. or Dragon's Dogma & Dark Arisen Same problem, but at least VP:TIP & DD:DA had significant additions that did revolutionize the gameplay. XCOM: Enemy Within, sorry. But no. While I get that it includes new features that affect core gameplay, it still could have been a DLC, or at least given the option

    Again, I reiterate, I still thought XCOM: Enemy Within was very good, but just doesn't offer enough extra content to warrant a re-release.

    Overall:
    I was a bit disappointed as I had expect some more prominent additions to the main campaign. however it looks like Firaxis either was lazy or playing it too safe to change anything that actually needed changing. But at the very least I will say, yet again, I still liked it. If it had been a DLC, I would have scored it a 8.5 out of 10, but since it was released as a package, I have to grade it the way I see it on the whole.

    I would recommend this to anyone who hasn't played the game yet, but if you do, don't bother with XCOM: Enemy Unknown.

    Side note to Firaxis:
    I am a little disappointed in you. I expect this from Capcom, but not you. I hope you are working on Terror from the Deep, but don't do it like this again. GOTY editions are all said and good, but don't make us buy them just to buy new content..
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    4
    So far I've only played a week with Enemy Within but the only thing I've seen different is getting medals and a few new things to research. This is NOT what I paid $40 for!! I feel ripped off and that this should have been a DLC, not a $40 game! I've rarely written a negative review but I think xcom owes me some money back. I've got hundreds of games and I was excited about the new xcom enemy within. 2k makes a lot of games I like. I give this a low score because I feel deceived and robbed. But maybe there is something (really new) that I haven't gotten to yet with this game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Honestly I enjoyed this expansion, even though its a console port, which is a rare thing for me as a PC Gamer. Some of this stuff should've been in the core came itself, but Firaxis probably had to milk us a little more and make the original Enemy Unknown fit for consoles. There's a few options added that can randomize your playthrough. The new maps are a welcomed addition, but unless your playing on the harder difficulties, by mid to late game you should have troops that steamroll anything, meaning that your most intense moments will come early on in your game. I'll rate this a 7, with an automatic deduction for being a console port. Full Review »