User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 62
  2. Negative: 10 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    7
    XCom: EW offers many new maps for players to enjoy. It adds a lot more tactical thought (if that makes sense), however I have found on bug that partly ruined my gameplay. Once I got to a certain point, I was unable to receive any medals. This is one of the reasons I bought the expansion, so I got mad when I realized I couldn't get medals.
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    9
    Had this been the ORIGINAL release to XCOM, this literally would have been a nearly flawless reboot the the XCOM saga.

    HOWEVER - Because this xpac really changes absolutely nothing... but adds a few details and a couple classes.. this should have been a simple DLC pack to the original game, *not* it's own seperate game. (Steam REALLY sticks it to you by making you buy *both* the
    original game AND this one in order to play it.. proving it's just a DLC pack gone wild.)

    Still, everything that was great about the original is still great here! Plus, you get even MORE great stuff!

    It's a must buy, and a must play. But only if you havent played the original.. if you have, wait for a steam sale/price drop before buying this.
    Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Enemy Within takes a great game and makes it even better by adding new challenges and variety, including some very memorable scripted missions. My kids and I loved the first one and played hours and hours. Buying Enemy Within started the XCOM craze all over again at our house.
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    This is an amazing upgrade on Enemy Unkown; Game play has not changed, but your additional buildings and unit options elevate the game to a even more diverse experience. The new maps and missions are more challenging and diverse than the already great originals. The story line has changed not in terms of outcome, but what happens in between. Combined with the customizable game options, the experience feels intense and never unfair. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very unique game to say the least. So much customisation, so many different items. So many missions, so much things to do and such little time. I found the mission where the XCOM hq is attacked VERY sudden, because I was just starting on abolishing EXALT from the world. This game is also kind of glitchy. I have had several instances where aliens were right in front of me. My soldier would then fire, but would point in completely the wrong direction and somehow hit the target. The game has also frozen twice for me. A frozen image with music looping. And it also freezes at the end of the enemy turn for a bit. But these are minor flaws. Overall a great game. Also what pisses me off is that all the people on multiplayer who kick your ass say "lol get rekt son". Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Definitely a worthwhile play if you liked Enemy Unknown. Took a lot of the ideas I would have liked in the game and added them. Still a few things I'd wish for, such as a standard melee attack, but what game doesn't leave you wishing it had just a little more?
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    XCom Enemy Within is a great expansion for Enemy Unknown. It provides tens of new maps to battle the alien threat, many new weapons and grenades, Mech suits and Genetic enhancements along with other cool new features that every fan should enjoy. You must play the game and get into it to discover the new features. IT you have a short attention span then don't bother playing this game. This expansion improves enough to make me want to start a new campaign and eliminate the alien threat. AWESOME! Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    XCOM Enemy Unknown was my favorite game of 2012 right after Borderlands 2. This isn't a full sequel to Unknown, rather it is an expansion. But half the times it feels like an expansion, the other half a sequel.

    Whats new: Their is a new enemy faction of humans called the EXALT and they are stronger than the normal alien and a bit smarter, such as actually attempting to sneak up right
    behind you in the middle of a firefight.
    There is a new material called Meld that can change how you play the game. You can mod your squad into mechs or into having traits similar to the aliens.

    Even if you bought Unknown, you should definitely give this game a try.
    Expand
  9. Nov 30, 2013
    4
    So far I've only played a week with Enemy Within but the only thing I've seen different is getting medals and a few new things to research. This is NOT what I paid $40 for!! I feel ripped off and that this should have been a DLC, not a $40 game! I've rarely written a negative review but I think xcom owes me some money back. I've got hundreds of games and I was excited about the new xcom enemy within. 2k makes a lot of games I like. I give this a low score because I feel deceived and robbed. But maybe there is something (really new) that I haven't gotten to yet with this game. Collapse
  10. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Honestly I enjoyed this expansion, even though its a console port, which is a rare thing for me as a PC Gamer. Some of this stuff should've been in the core came itself, but Firaxis probably had to milk us a little more and make the original Enemy Unknown fit for consoles. There's a few options added that can randomize your playthrough. The new maps are a welcomed addition, but unless your playing on the harder difficulties, by mid to late game you should have troops that steamroll anything, meaning that your most intense moments will come early on in your game. I'll rate this a 7, with an automatic deduction for being a console port. Expand
  11. Nov 18, 2013
    5
    I loved EU but I still cant believe how expensive this is and people are actually willing to pay for this :(

    I preordered EU and I feel so raped in the ass right now, its dragons dogma all over again.... The die hard fans pay to finally finish the game and now we gotta pay double for the complete version (its no expansion this was the full game or its just not enough) and the ones who
    are NOT fans and DIDNT support em now get to pick up the complete game for half of what the real fans payed...

    HOW IS THIS NOT WRONG AND INSULTING?!?!!
    Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2013
    7
    As a DLC this would have been perfect. The problem is, it's not. The additional content is very good but adds very little to the existing campaign. If anything the additional content feels tacked on, and really does not give you a feeling of playing something different. All campaign missions play out exactly the same, regardless of the content. Only the EXALT mission do give it a bit of fresh air, but the focus is to little and it's over far too quickly.

    XCOM: Enemy Within is nothing more than a Game of the Year edition, just with exclusive content added. After buying XCOM: Enemy Unknown last year and ALL the DLCs that have come out since, this copy made me feel a little cheated. If I had waited a year, I could have gotten the exact same game, and saved allot of money. This kind of reminds me of Viva Pinata & Viva Pinata: Trouble in Paradise. or Dragon's Dogma & Dark Arisen Same problem, but at least VP:TIP & DD:DA had significant additions that did revolutionize the gameplay. XCOM: Enemy Within, sorry. But no. While I get that it includes new features that affect core gameplay, it still could have been a DLC, or at least given the option

    Again, I reiterate, I still thought XCOM: Enemy Within was very good, but just doesn't offer enough extra content to warrant a re-release.

    Overall:
    I was a bit disappointed as I had expect some more prominent additions to the main campaign. however it looks like Firaxis either was lazy or playing it too safe to change anything that actually needed changing. But at the very least I will say, yet again, I still liked it. If it had been a DLC, I would have scored it a 8.5 out of 10, but since it was released as a package, I have to grade it the way I see it on the whole.

    I would recommend this to anyone who hasn't played the game yet, but if you do, don't bother with XCOM: Enemy Unknown.

    Side note to Firaxis:
    I am a little disappointed in you. I expect this from Capcom, but not you. I hope you are working on Terror from the Deep, but don't do it like this again. GOTY editions are all said and good, but don't make us buy them just to buy new content..
    Expand
  13. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Don't get me wrong. Enemy Unknown is a great game, one of my all-time favorites. At first, I was somewhat skeptical about this expansion. But Enemy Within's expanded content is an improvement in every way, and is well worth the price, even if you own the original. Yes, it is the same campaign, but the combat dynamic has changed with the introduction of Meld, and all of the benefits it provides. The additional battlefields are a welcome change and the inclusion of the last game's DLC really make customizing your troops a lot of fun. Obviously, if you didn't care for Enemy Unknown, this game, probably isn't going to change that. But if you liked it as much as I did, then you'll love Enemy Within. Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    So far I've only played a week with Enemy Within but the only thing I've seen different is getting medals and a few new things to research. This is NOT what I paid $40 for!! I feel ripped off and that this should have been a DLC, not a $40 game! I've rarely written a negative review but I think xcom owes me some money back. I've got hundreds of games and I was excited about the new xcom enemy within. 2k makes a lot of games I like. I give this a low score because I feel deceived and robbed. But maybe there is something (really new) that I haven't gotten to yet with this game. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    The follow-up to one of last year's best games is an enchanted version of the same masterpiece. Battles are more expansive and go way deeper than before. The higher difficulty levels alongside the Iron Man Mode gives the gameplay an incredible nerve and challenge. Xcom Enemy Within might as well also be one of this years best games.
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Plenty of new features make this the perfect excuse to jump back into XCOM. [Jan 2014, p.85]
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    90
    This is the definitive version of XCOM. If you're looking for tons of content, high challenge and old-school, hardcore gameplay, this is the place where you'll find it all.