Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Feb 13, 2011
    100
    Jellyvision's developers haven't just lived up to the legacy of the greatest quiz-show game ever made, they've extended it.
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    95
    Regardless though, with this game you've got a fun solo and party game that is more than worth the asking price. I mean, if you're a party pooper then you probably won't enjoy it as much when you're losing.
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    90
    What makes it so easy to sink an entire evening into YDKJ is the strength of its material, regardless of the series' lengthy absence.
  4. Feb 9, 2011
    90
    This is a formula that just works.
  5. Feb 8, 2011
    90
    If you are not familiar with this series then you are in for a treat. It is a game that you can play solo if you want to unlock those ever important achievements, however, the game is the most fun when you are playing with a group of people.
  6. Feb 17, 2011
    88
    So since 1995 we've been getting to know Jack. Somehow the game has remained fresh and funny, giving us 16 years of solid laughs. This title is no exception with 73 well-polished episodes on the disc.
  7. Feb 10, 2011
    87
    The "irreverent trivia party game" is back and hopefully, will stay for a long time. The funny faux-commercials at the end of each episode, the hilarious pop-culture references while you play courtesy of Cookie Masterson...You Don't Know Jack is a must buy and certainly the best party game on the market.
  8. Feb 25, 2011
    85
    YDKJ marries difficult trivia with excellent presentation, biting humor, and an unpredictability that will make you look forward to every episode.
  9. Feb 10, 2011
    85
    This reinvention of You Don't Know Jack is one of the best the series has had to offer, given all of the new features for this current generation.
  10. Feb 9, 2011
    85
    Brings back memories of the classic series with witty writing and some truly challenging and off-the-wall questions. There is just enough diversity to keep things fresh and rounds move by so quickly that it never feels like it is dragging. Presentation and writing are king here.
  11. Feb 8, 2011
    85
    The presentation isn't anything to write home about, but the base game is great and worthy of some couch time at your next party.
  12. Feb 16, 2011
    84
    The essence of You Don't Know Jack is playing with friends, having fun, and getting a good laugh. The little changes of gameplay in comparison to other entries, especially the ability to allow everyone to answer a question, make for a better experience.
  13. Mar 1, 2011
    83
    Playing by your lonesome isn't that rewarding, and online play can be frustrating with all those cheap answer grinders out there.
  14. Feb 8, 2011
    83
    The gameplay itself is engaging and fun, and online play works pretty good, though there were times we ran into some lag, particularly during Jack Attack rounds.
  15. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    It would be hard to not recommend this title to anyone who enjoys trivia, unless of course you have a sensitive ego which needs to be coddled when you get a question wrong.
  16. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    This game represents a terrific value, not just in terms of sheer volume, but the level of craft that is so often notably absent from trivia video games.
  17. Feb 8, 2011
    80
    The brash trivia franchise returns to the screen for a very successful new outing.
  18. Feb 8, 2011
    80
    You Don't Know Jack is proof that games don't need to be excessively complex in order to be fun.
  19. 80
    Forty bucks for a dozen-plus hours of brainy hijinks? We'll take it. [Feb 2011, p.82]
  20. Feb 10, 2011
    75
    The questions are as bizarre as ever, and it reminds me of the good ol' days of trying to wrap my head around questions that all make some sort of twisted sense.
  21. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    All told, this is a game that meets expectations and does absolutely nothing to surpass them.
  22. Mar 14, 2011
    67
    Even with 73 episodes and online play, the $30 price tag still seems a little steep especially with how the game is structured and the relative lack of customization or options. Fans may want to check it out though.
  23. Aug 5, 2011
    60
    There's enough content and variety here that it serves the purpose of party-oriented multiplayer well. The truth is – in the right setting – YDKJ can be light fun, but it never goes any further than that.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    You Don't Know Jack is an excellent game! It is fun and challenging. I had never played this game in its earlier years and don't know howYou Don't Know Jack is an excellent game! It is fun and challenging. I had never played this game in its earlier years and don't know how much is the same, but I loved the dis or dat type questions, and looking for the wrong answer of the game. I played round after round and was impressed with the wittiness of the game, the unique questions, and the unique game elements unlike most trivia games. Totally enjoyed playing this game with my fiancee! He's more the gamer than I am, but I love that he suggested this game! So fun! Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    YDKJ returns with flying colors. If you haven't ever heard of You Don't Know Jack, you're in for a real treat. The game combines witty humorYDKJ returns with flying colors. If you haven't ever heard of You Don't Know Jack, you're in for a real treat. The game combines witty humor combining general and pop-culture knowledge into something challenging yet hilarious. The writing really shines here and the host/cast really work the content. I often found myself laughing so hard I couldn't read the question. Great for lonely gamers and party-ers alike. And best of all, it's only 30 smackers. You won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    If you're already a fan of You Don't Know Jack, well, you'll love this game. It's back as you remember, with all the great humor of the PCIf you're already a fan of You Don't Know Jack, well, you'll love this game. It's back as you remember, with all the great humor of the PC series. If you've never played the game, the series may or may not be your cup of tea. The crude humor may turn some people off. However, if you're like me, and that appeals to you, you will love this game. Each time you play, you receive an "episode" that contains the same questions every time. This helps in preventing repeat questions, as you'll always know if you've played the episode or not. With 73 episodes that play at about 10 minutes each, you have plenty to enjoy for the paltry $30 that the game costs new. They've also already got DLC up, so you can buy 10 more episodes for $5 (400 MS points) per pack. The only detraction for this game is that it's certainly best played with all four players that it supports. Less than that, and the game truly becomes all about the final round of each episode. I don't remember this being the case in past iterations of the game, but then, it's been some time since I've played the older versions.

    If you like trivia, and you like humor, you won't be disappointed with You Don't Know Jack.
    Full Review »