User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    I don't think it's as bad as the other review are saying. It's no means the greatest game ever. The music is good. The tracking is alright. You can trick the game into thinking you are doing better then you are but you can do that with any Kinect game. Overall not bad. Can tell it gave me a real good work out while having fun and that is the whole point of the game.
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    Absolutely awful user interface and fails to recognize your moves/movements. Completely unable to even properly teach you the Zumba moves. Waste of $50. Get Dance Central instead - it's a workout and is done properly. If I could give this negative 10, I would.
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    5
    The User Interface is buggy and awkward, and can be very frustrating and hard on your arm. The tutorials are not helpful because once you do the move correctly once (even by accident), the tutorial moves on to the next move without letting you practice. Sometimes the game would lose track of your or sign in another Guest instead of detecting your profile. Finally, the graphics are nothing special.

    Once you are in the game, the tracking is fine (especially on lower difficulty) and the selection of music is excellent. The best part of the game is to just get in and play -- skip the tutorials and just exercise. My wife was able to use the game to do her Zumba workout by herself when the roads were too icy to make it to her regular class.

    If Pipeworks were to fix the UI (just let the player swipe and point like other games) and fix the bugs in a Title Update, I'd bump this up to a 6.5 or 7. It's never going to be a AAA title, but it would be worth purchasing by people who love Zumba is it were just more accessible and forgiving.
    Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2010
    0
    I would rate this lower if the scale would allow it. This game does not, I repeat does not recognize your movements. Avoid this game like the plague. I also have Fighters Uncaged and it is 100% better than this title. I am very very disappointed in this title and I can't believe they actually released it in this buggy state. The game repeatedly locked up, and then would sign you out during moves that it instructed you to do. This game did not recognize body movements, and the menu system was incredibly hard to navigate. I took this game back after only having it for 1 hour. For all the game studios - Please create other Zumba games because we want them! Fellow consumers, trust me, this game is terrible. Please save your money as it doesn't work. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    As the other reviewers claim. This game has got to be the biggest piece of crap. the only way this game recognizes the moves you do is you flop around your arms like an idiot and claims your performing the dance steps correctly. very very buggy. do yourself a favor and dont even consider even renting this garbage. I cant believe Microsoft even allowed this title to be apart of the launching of Kinect hardware. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Nice game that I bought for my wife. She is now using the 360 for the first time. I'm not much into her Zumba Dancing but she really likes it. She now spends time with her friends during the day doing Zumba with her friends at the house before going to her class. Don't know what game those other reviewers were playing but she hasn't had any problems with it. I actually like the music and she has gotten me to do a couple of the songs with her, but I'm more of a shooter fan myself. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    7
    Due to its flaws (lame menu control, shallow presentation), Zumba Fitness fails to deilver an AAA experience, like the dancing games of the upper league, but it is definitetly fun, seriously appealing for female audience, and it successfully combines the party-factor with the fitness routine. I don't get the point of previous movement registration flaw complaints, while the scoring clearly and satisfyingly reflects the more agile players' advantage. Expand
  8. Jan 11, 2011
    8
    After having fun with Dance Central, my wife asked what workout games were available for Kinect.
    "They have Zumba!? I've been wanting to try that for months!!!" she said. So I got it, set it up, and was greeted by the worst interface I've used in a Kinect game. Then, I started the Beginner's dance routine to try it out and was watching a breakneck speed of new dance moves I could barely
    comprehend, while my body was doing something I recognized even less.

    I don't know if it's my ineptitude or the poor tutorial, and horrible menu interface, but I gave up on this game within the first 20 minutes.

    Then my wife told me she wanted to know how to start the game while I was at work (she is a devout NON-gamer) and I showed her, thinking her patience would be shorter than mine was. Aside from hating the interface, her experience couldn't be more different. She LOVES the workout routines and music; and feels like she got a great workout from it with more fun than the treadmill she's used to.

    It may be that my wife used to be a professional dancer and dance instructor once upon 15 years and three kids ago, but the routines came easily for her and very gratifying. So, if you or your special someone can move your body to rhythm of the beat, and can put up with a glitchy menu system, this may be worth your purchase. But if you're like me, fearful of the Macarena, chicken dance and Hokey Pokey at parties, you're better off sticking with a game-focused dance activity like Dance Central. They're both sexy for watching your lady, if that's a factor for you.
    Collapse
  9. Jan 20, 2011
    0
    I wanted to buy this game for my xbox 360 with Kinect so bad! Got it home and it didn't play on my console AT ALL! Customer support with 5 different people and over 7 hours between phone calls and driving back to Walmart to exchange it and still no working game. They wanted me to PAY to send this game to them so they couldn't "take a look". They offered no fix at all! This game was the reason I wanted an xbox with Kinect. I'm so sad. Expand
  10. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    I think this game is awesome! I was going to Zumba classes, just started and with my hubby's schedule and having my 4 yo it was hard to make it to the scheduled classes on their times. as for others complaining that the game does not let you learn the moves first, if you been to a zumba class it is fast paced and they don't teach you the moves first, you just have to watch and move and sooner or later you will get better, practice makes perfect :) Expand
  11. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Just bought Xbox 360 with kinect. I purchased Zumba fitness Join the Party and am having a hard time getting started. Can anyone out there help me? Do i need to be an xbox live customer? cuz i don't want to be at this time, not till i figure this out anyway
  12. Jan 11, 2011
    0
    After having fun with Dance Central, my wife asked what workout games were available for Kinect.
    "They have Zumba!? I've been wanting to try that for months!!!" she said. So I got it, set it up, and was greeted by the worst interface I've used in a Kinect game. Then, I started the Beginner's dance routine to try it out and was watching a breakneck speed of new dance moves I could barely
    comprehend, while my body was doing something I recognized even less.

    I don't know if it's my ineptitude or the poor tutorial, and horrible menu interface, but I gave up on this game within the first 20 minutes.

    Then my wife told me she wanted to know how to start the game while I was at work (she is a devout NON-gamer) and I showed her, thinking her patience would be shorter than mine was. Aside from hating the interface, her experience couldn't be more different. She LOVES the workout routines and music; and feels like she got a great workout from it with more fun than the treadmill she's used to.

    It may be that my wife used to be a professional dancer and dance instructor once upon 15 years and three kids ago, but the routines came easily for her and very gratifying. So, if you or your special someone can move your body to rhythm of the beat, and can put up with a glitchy menu system, this may be worth your purchase. But if you're like me, fearful of the Macarena, chicken dance and Hokey Pokey at parties, you're better off sticking with a game-focused dance activity like Dance Central. They're both sexy for watching your lady, if that's a factor for you.
    Collapse
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 7 out of 10
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    40
    Flaky detection and awkward menus seriously hamper this dance fitness game.
  2. Jul 12, 2011
    40
    It may be fun and it may make you sweat, but as an interactive fitness companion it's a feeble, infuriating effort that lacks the stamina to compete.
  3. Feb 6, 2011
    30
    She likened the game to the various dance routine videos she owns, which I feel is a fitting comparison for Zumba Fitness for Kinect; a non-interactive set of dance routines where you try to replicate the on screen trainer, with little to no feedback or interaction. Then again, if you wanted a non-interactive dance routine video, you could buy something like Carmen Electra Strip Aerobics and follow that instead of Zumba Fitness's rainbow rhythms disco sensation.