Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 15, 2013
    92
    I've played all of the major titles released with the Xbox One, and the one that I've had the most fun with, the one that I keep going back to, is Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag. If you get only one game with your shiny new Xbox One console, make it this one.
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    90
    Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is the best Assassin's Creed experience in terms of scale, freedom and gameplay. Between land and sea, the journey of Edward Kenway is really captivating.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    Beyond the underwhelming main campaign, Black Flag delivers a world brimming with gorgeous places to go, amazing secrets to discover, and nefarious pirates to stab.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    As a person who didn't like Assassin's Creed 3 I nearly gave up on the series after that.But after playing Black Flag I am happy to say that it vastly improves over it's predecessor and improves the Ship battles so now they have more and are a vital part of the core game mechanics then a easily ignored side quest.The combat is better and it now flows naturally instead of feeling clunky and uninspired. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    I enjoyed AC1 because of the great middle-eastern setting and fresh ideas. I tried to enjoy AC2, but found Ezio to be an unlikeable turd. Along came AC3 and away went another $60 I will never get back. Garbage, a real crap-fest. So, like a sucker for punishment I picked up AC4 for my xbox one. And I was pleasantly surprised. AC4 is a fantastic game. For me it has been the best in the series, by far, and an improvement in nearly every way. Don't hesitate to pick this one up. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    I own all of the X1 launch titles worth owning and can safely say this is the best of them all. Runs perfectly, looks great and offers so much to do. Haven't spent this much time exploring and doing side quests since Fallout: NV. Gotta say after a terrible and hateful experience with AC3, I am truly impressed and happy that I bought Black Flag, and that I waited for the next-gen version. Easily a 10/10 experience.
    If I were to nitpick, I didn't enjoy being pulled out of the game for the Animus sequences (even though they themselves were good) or the dated character models, but they very, VERY barely affected my enjoyment of a game I spent a good 70+ hours on.
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2014
    9
    General Impression: Assassin's Creed has found a rebound in IV: Black Flag. III, which I love for the setting alone (big revolutionary war period buff) but was let down by the changes and lack thereof in that game, found perhaps my second favorite setting (love pirates too!) to not disappoint at all! The controls are a bit "floaty" and cause Edward to do things I don't intend, but that is overcome by the return of fun tactical game play mix of stealth and action. The addition of sea combat is MUCH improved and is fun addition instead of the dull addition as it was in III. Overall its a fun game with a good story, great combat and fun action sequences. Graphics are very well done and makes good use of the XBO's power and really adds to the immersion.

    Character Development: 10 - the development of Edward and the characters of the story are superb.

    Story: 9.5 - Well written dialog and very period appropriate. The story flows well and makes you care about what happens. I found myself immersed and often having a hard time putting down the controller. The story is also long enough with tons of side activities to keep you busy for HOURS on end. The mix of urban and open area works well in this game unlike in 3 where it really struggled with open areas.

    Voice Acting: 10 - Fantastic cast that really delivers solid performances with convincing inflections, personality and excellent animation on the deliveries.

    Combat: 10 - Combat shines as usual with many ways to complete missions and stylistic choices that flow easily.

    Game play systems: 9.5 - There is not a lot of innovation here but that is not a bad thing. The addition of pistols is interesting and adds another level of tactical game play. Black Flag continues to deliver that original solid game play with not extensive but well done additions (sea ship to ship battles and pistols). The pacing of the game is spot on with frenetic and tense action that can be calmed by escaping in order to bring down the tempo and return to more stealth based play. The only issue here is the "floaty" quality of the controls that are overly imprecise at times and can cause some unintended actions on Edward's part. A better balance needs to be found between responsiveness and control.

    Crafting:Not applicable. Upgrades are all earned or found or purchased.

    Customization: Like all AC games there is no customization available beyond choosing weapons and tools that fit your chosen play style preferences.

    Sound: 10 - As usual sound really matter in AC and this continues in this game with very well developed sound and great distance to volume recognition.

    Soundtrack: 10 - Well developed and very period appropriate. Pirate shanties are well done and the music is well placed and aid the pacing of the game.

    Overall score: 9.5 - A tight and well crafted open world game with TONS of continual play value and replay if you want to live out the captivating story again. My only ding on this and all AC games is the floaty controls that can cause Edward to do unintended actions - but is necessary to make the game responsive. If a better balance could be created for the controller it would be a 10 but as it is its a VERY SOLID 9.5 for an open world stealth/action game and a great launch title for the XBO - by far the best to date available to the XBO.
    Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Amazing open world game. Amazzing graphics, fun gameplay, and being a pirate a lot like jack sparrow is fun. Exploration, battles, ships, beautiful carribean waters, amazing sunsets and whales jumping. Onlines fun too, sneaking around multiplayer. Only missing online ship battles, bow that would be incredible. Expand
  6. May 26, 2014
    8
    I have played all of the games in the series, and I have enjoyed every single one of them.

    This is graphically such a beautiful and
    magnificent game. It might not be as good as the others in terms of story and other things, but exploring the tropical islands on on your ship never gets boring. I was disappointed that Edward only puts his hood up when he enters a restricted area. Also, the missions are repetitive, countless times will you be tailing somebody, and all of the movements such as combat and free running are recycled

    It was a good pirate game, but Edward doesn't feel like an assassin nor does he even become one properly. Apart from holding two swords and four guns, there is not really anything new besides the map.
    Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2013
    1
    A warning for those who are looking at this forum prior to purchasing this game. If you or any of your friends are considering buying this for the Xbox One, I would recommend against it. Here was my experience:

    I was thoroughly enjoying it as I had with the previous Assassin's Creed games. This game on the Xbox one however is horrifically broken due to the inexplicable nature of randomly losing save progress and in my case, completely losing my save game (after untold hours of play). Unfortunately Microsoft does not provide a way for an individual to view or even backup save game data like you could with previous consoles or by finding the appropriate save game directory on the PC.

    In my situation my game was overwritten on my profile with my son's data from his profile. We had been playing separately for several weeks as intended with no Issues. One day I logged in and his saved game was on my profile. There is no way to purposefully do this on this console due to the inability for an end-user to see or interact with save game data. The support at Microsoft was very friendly and helpful but unfortunately there was nothing they could do. It turns out that most likely the culprit is the Ubisoft UPlay functionality built inherently into the game that caused the issue. If you google "Assassin's Creed black flag save game" you find countless others who have had similar issues.

    When I contacted Ubisoft support about the issue, they were short, rude and were uninformed on how the xbox one actually works (They asked if I had backed up my game). Not helpful at all. I have since cancelled my preorder for Watchdogs and got a refund from Microsoft for the DLC. It's a shame since I have played to completion all of the previous games in the series. I even have all achievements on AC2.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews