Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 363 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 15, 2013
    92
    I've played all of the major titles released with the Xbox One, and the one that I've had the most fun with, the one that I keep going back to, is Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag. If you get only one game with your shiny new Xbox One console, make it this one.
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    90
    Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag is the best Assassin's Creed experience in terms of scale, freedom and gameplay. Between land and sea, the journey of Edward Kenway is really captivating.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    Beyond the underwhelming main campaign, Black Flag delivers a world brimming with gorgeous places to go, amazing secrets to discover, and nefarious pirates to stab.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 78
  2. Negative: 4 out of 78
  1. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    This is my favourite AC and overall game so far on X1. I loved every minute of it, great Caribbean atmosphere, naval missions, great storyThis is my favourite AC and overall game so far on X1. I loved every minute of it, great Caribbean atmosphere, naval missions, great story with twisted and dark moments.
    If you like Black Flag I suggest picking up Freedom Cry DLC as this pack won't disappoint you. Blag Flag is 10/10!
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. black flag is MAGNIFICENT! i cant think of a single flaw in this game. the graphics are AMAZING! the gameplay is FUN AND INTENSE! the missions are EXCITING! i cant think of a single time at ALLLL in ANY assassins creed game in which im bored. (!!!SPOILERALERT!!!) probably my favorite moment in ANY game AT ALL is when Edward is haythams father and connor is haythams son! i LOVE the ship customization, as it reminds me of pirates of the carribean! (i love the movie, also!) Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    As a person who didn't like Assassin's Creed 3 I nearly gave up on the series after that.But after playing Black Flag I am happy to say thatAs a person who didn't like Assassin's Creed 3 I nearly gave up on the series after that.But after playing Black Flag I am happy to say that it vastly improves over it's predecessor and improves the Ship battles so now they have more and are a vital part of the core game mechanics then a easily ignored side quest.The combat is better and it now flows naturally instead of feeling clunky and uninspired. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2015
    9
    I have been waiting for a game like this for many years. It has set a new standard for adventure games and I think every RPG, adventure, MMO,I have been waiting for a game like this for many years. It has set a new standard for adventure games and I think every RPG, adventure, MMO, third person designer should learn from this game. The only thing that would have made it perfect for me is the immerse exploration, customization depth, and loot satisfaction from a game like Skyrim. No full campaign co-op is also a deal breaker. AC:Black Flag and Skyrim should meet and have babies. In Skyrim I only dream of being able to sail, board and disembark, capture ships, hire crew and being able to fight and move like you do in AC, hunting, climbing, hiding, doing crazy acrobatic kills. And in turn when I play AC I only dream of building a custom home, creating my own weapons, mix and matching clothes and armor, collecting Sh%^ and putting it on display, purchasing homes, riding horses. Every time I play any of these 2 games I start to day dream, waiting until someone out there creates the perfect game using both games as inspiration. Aside from that, the game is the closest thing to the perfect modern fun adventure RPG. The best pirate game on console and probably PC to date, There is a decent number of outfits/skins but it could have way more and you cant mix and match. The choice of weapon types is limited. The exploration is very satisfying but boring after a while, I would loved to see the crew disembark and accompany the character,. until you start climbing that is, but also most of the islands are deserted and even though that's realistic, there is no real danger when exploring aside from the occasional Jaguar, or sharks. Also they removed horses from AC games now, what gives? Horses are awesome in any game. The graphics look very good and the environment animation such as water and vegetation is among the best I've ever seem but the NPC and some object's fade distance is really really short. The battles have improved a lot from the previous games and it is very satisfying but the kill animations and finishing moves are very repetitive and sometimes long, interrupting the gratifying thrill of this award winning combat system.NOTE: (All RPG games should have this combat style even "skyrim" style games, to some level of degree of course if Damage and Armor rating could be logically fit into the equation. Anyway, The naval combat is really fun and very anticipated but very confusing and difficult to maneuver at first, the controls are a bit awkward and the canons hard to aim, I think the naval combat in AC3 was a bit easier to handle. Ship customization is decent enough but I would like to see the opportunity to purchase different size ships in the future and expand on the fleet idea a bit more. The collectibles and loot system is repetitive but addictive and not very gratifying, in skyrim you open a chest and can see a menu of the items available and players get all exited about finding a rare or powerful weapon, in Black flag opening chests is just dull and there is rarely any weapons or outfits in them. I understand they are considered collectibles like the feathers but that only proves how sucky the looting system is in AC games. Looting corpses is boring and slow and you only get like 3 bucks per corpse, you have to kill at least 40 guards and search them one by one in order to make a decent living as a looter. I want to strip the body and sell their weapons and clothes, or wear them, or give them to my followers/crew members to wear. The shanty feature is pretty cool you collect these songs that your crew can sing while sailing but chasing these songs is a pain in the ass. I also would like to see options to purchase property, houses businesses, vessels, in future games. I would also like to see future games with co-op capability, and not just some missions like the Multiplayer on this game or the 4 player co-op they added in Unity, I'm talking about full campaign co-op where you get to complete all missions and explore all areas with a friend or two, trade items, share a ship or home. In conclusion, Black Flag is a very fun and immerse game which I hope to play the crap out of but it is a little repetitive and after a while exploring and isn't as fun anymore. . Thanks for reading. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2016
    8
    De todos los AssasinĀ“s creed mi favorito,graficos excelentes y una historia buena aunque pudo ser mejor,el multijugador no me gusto esDe todos los AssasinĀ“s creed mi favorito,graficos excelentes y una historia buena aunque pudo ser mejor,el multijugador no me gusto es regular,recomendable para pasar un muy buen momento jugando. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    This is an awesome game, the open world, the ships, the storms. Without the ocean side of things its nothing new, but with the ocean battlesThis is an awesome game, the open world, the ships, the storms. Without the ocean side of things its nothing new, but with the ocean battles it was grand. One of the best games I've played and it could have been a 10 if it wasn't for 3 things.

    1. Present day ruined my immersion, I was just feeling like a pirate living the life and i am pulled out and i am someone else, this only ruined the experience, I basically slammed in my face hey your not a pirate its not real, what a horrible mistake.
    2. No horses, I'm pretty sure horses existed before ships. I have to run all over populated islands but no a horse to be found, such an obvious omission says they ran out of time.
    3. Controls, there are buttons on my controller that aren't used, but some buttons have multiple purposes. How many times was I running through streets where I started climbing a building or fence or something else I didn't want too. How hard would it have been to when running hold town top left button and I wont climb on anything, very easy.

    Fix these three things for the unity version and we might have a 10. However if they remove the sea battles it will loose a lot.
    Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2013
    1
    A warning for those who are looking at this forum prior to purchasing this game. If you or any of your friends are considering buying this forA warning for those who are looking at this forum prior to purchasing this game. If you or any of your friends are considering buying this for the Xbox One, I would recommend against it. Here was my experience:

    I was thoroughly enjoying it as I had with the previous Assassin's Creed games. This game on the Xbox one however is horrifically broken due to the inexplicable nature of randomly losing save progress and in my case, completely losing my save game (after untold hours of play). Unfortunately Microsoft does not provide a way for an individual to view or even backup save game data like you could with previous consoles or by finding the appropriate save game directory on the PC.

    In my situation my game was overwritten on my profile with my son's data from his profile. We had been playing separately for several weeks as intended with no Issues. One day I logged in and his saved game was on my profile. There is no way to purposefully do this on this console due to the inability for an end-user to see or interact with save game data. The support at Microsoft was very friendly and helpful but unfortunately there was nothing they could do. It turns out that most likely the culprit is the Ubisoft UPlay functionality built inherently into the game that caused the issue. If you google "Assassin's Creed black flag save game" you find countless others who have had similar issues.

    When I contacted Ubisoft support about the issue, they were short, rude and were uninformed on how the xbox one actually works (They asked if I had backed up my game). Not helpful at all. I have since cancelled my preorder for Watchdogs and got a refund from Microsoft for the DLC. It's a shame since I have played to completion all of the previous games in the series. I even have all achievements on AC2.
    Expand

See all 78 User Reviews