User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 485 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2017
    2
    Les Battletrons se suivent et se ressemblent, à croire que la photocopieuse est restée bloquée en mode rafale. Sauf qu'au lancement, le multi n'était pas avare en bugs multiples, la faute on s'en doute à une sortie précipitée d'un jeu pas fini dont l'éditeur Electronic Arts a le secret et la fâcheuse habitude dans son catalogue de jeux à kévins, plus occupé sur les DLC que sur la finition.Les Battletrons se suivent et se ressemblent, à croire que la photocopieuse est restée bloquée en mode rafale. Sauf qu'au lancement, le multi n'était pas avare en bugs multiples, la faute on s'en doute à une sortie précipitée d'un jeu pas fini dont l'éditeur Electronic Arts a le secret et la fâcheuse habitude dans son catalogue de jeux à kévins, plus occupé sur les DLC que sur la finition.

    Le multi-joueurs donc, corrigé plus ou moins depuis à force de patchs nombreux, reste fidèle à lui-même, à savoir un nid de campeurs et de tricheurs, une prise en main des véhicules erratique et une confusion ambiante permanente, bref, de la merde.

    Le solo copie ce que l'on fait chez Activitron mais en plus beau, ce qui ne le rend pas moins ennuyeux ni moins crétin, bien au contraire. Si les environnements sont parfois assez grands, il ne s'agit pas d'un monde ouvert mais d'un couloir scripté justement calibré pour en mettre plein les mirettes ; les graphismes splendides et l'environnement sonore travaillé nous font regretter que cette maîtrise technique ne soit pas mise au service d'un jeu digne de ce nom. Mais qui sait, un jour peut-être.
    Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2017
    9
    Since the beta from this game i highly recommend players to play this game because firstly, the graphics of the game is truly phenomenal and it literally looks like your in the game, because of this you can access a wide range of weapons and gadgets to help you and your fellow players when on multiplayer and in the campaign when you're up against the Chinese military.
  3. Aug 25, 2016
    5
    This game killed whatever little interest I have left for PvP FPS games. Gameplay is a drudge - utterly repetitive and horridly unbalanced in gamemodes like Rush. It's relatively fun when playing with friends but an absolute bore to play solo, especially with such a rampant lack of teamwork in quick matches.

    I'd honestly rather turn on my PC and go back to Battlefield 2 and play Co-op
    This game killed whatever little interest I have left for PvP FPS games. Gameplay is a drudge - utterly repetitive and horridly unbalanced in gamemodes like Rush. It's relatively fun when playing with friends but an absolute bore to play solo, especially with such a rampant lack of teamwork in quick matches.

    I'd honestly rather turn on my PC and go back to Battlefield 2 and play Co-op or Instant Action than go through any more of the endless run-your-head-into-a-brick-wall style gameplay of Battlefield 4. This game is as exciting as a cardboard box.
    Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2016
    10
    i gave this a negative on the 360, but on the Xone it is simply the greatest FPS ever. So much free content DLC has been released. huge maps epic multi arm warfare. Just amazing. All the issues upon release fixed and BF4 is now just the top of its game!
  5. Jul 19, 2016
    8
    Battlefield 4 turned into a really good game. In the game's first months there were many problems but Dice and EA did loads of things to improve the game and the experiences. It's also very kind that there is a dlc for free every month.
  6. Jun 28, 2016
    8
    "Battlefield 4" plays more like "Battlefield 3.5" than a full blown sequel. Plagued by major launch problems in Oct. 2013, the game has since been fixed through numerous updates/patches and is still very popular online on the XBOX ONE almost three years later. BF 4's biggest introduction to the series is the Commander Mode in which one player on each team sends attack commands/battle"Battlefield 4" plays more like "Battlefield 3.5" than a full blown sequel. Plagued by major launch problems in Oct. 2013, the game has since been fixed through numerous updates/patches and is still very popular online on the XBOX ONE almost three years later. BF 4's biggest introduction to the series is the Commander Mode in which one player on each team sends attack commands/battle updates across to other players in the field. While there are no cooperative modes in BF4, the game further refines the combat of BF3 with more customization options, in-game challenges, performance boosters and medals/badges. Multi-colored briefcases (which can be purchased or earned) carry weapon attachments, boosters and weapon/vehicle camo paints. I played BF4 initially on the PS3 which was good, but limited to 12 vs 12 matches. The XB1 version supports 64 player matches on Conquest. That player limit is what distinguishes BF from the "Call of Duty" franchise. In any given time during a match, there are several battles going in the field which gives the game an epic feel. And while I still feel "Battlefield: Bad Company 2" is the best in the series, "Battlefield 4" is still pretty good. It may not be very innovative (it sticks to close to the BF3 formula), but this is a better game than its competitor "Call of Duty: Ghosts". 8.5 out of 10 Expand
  7. May 9, 2016
    0
    garbage, plain and simple the worst battlefield I've ever played. Ive played battlefield since bad company 1 and this is the death of the series, they have completely ruined this game, sniping is ruined, the maps are **** garbage, the ONLY way to do well is to have premium, pay to win pay to win pay to win. It's just another piece of rushed EA garbage, and if your like me and only reallygarbage, plain and simple the worst battlefield I've ever played. Ive played battlefield since bad company 1 and this is the death of the series, they have completely ruined this game, sniping is ruined, the maps are **** garbage, the ONLY way to do well is to have premium, pay to win pay to win pay to win. It's just another piece of rushed EA garbage, and if your like me and only really enjoyed battlefield because it was the best sniping fps for a long time, prepare to be disappointed, all the maps are garbage for sniping, the snipers are weak unless you pay, oh and an ak47 can kill you from farther away, and faster than a sniper rifle now, thanks EA. I don't care how cheap this game is IT IS NOT WORTH IT, if your going to play an old game play modern 1 or bad company 2, not this piece of **** **** EA, and **** this rushed, pay to win, money grubbing, sniper ruining POS game. spend your money on ANYTHING else and you'll be much much happier, Im as sad as you are that this series has been ruined, but it started going downhill in battlefield 3 when there was a 60 dollar dlc that should've just been included int he game, I realized it was all going to be downhill. And honestly can you think of a series that EA hasn't ruined? Fifa-ruined, nhl-ruined, madden-ruined, all the EA big games-gone, pvz-ruined, battlefield-ruined, battlefront-ruined, ufc-was never all that great but they still somehow made it worse, need for speed-ruined. the only games they have left to ruin are peggle, dead space, titanfall, and dragon age (which had in game purchases in the last one so thats probably going downhill in to the ea money pit). I guess in summary, DONT BUY THIS GAME, its the worst shooter I have played in the last few years, it's pretty obvious they put about 30 minutes of effort into this game, I guess if you enjoy, pay to win, sniper free spawn camping wars (since the maps were designed by 4 year olds) you will love this game Expand
  8. May 5, 2016
    7
    Well, I have tried this game like part of the EA Access with included all Premium extensions and content. I have played just multiplayer par of the game. The game is better then I have expected - I am no such big fan of the online FPS. Large maps, space fo some tactical gameplay, many guns and equipment. But the game have serious problems with matchmaking - it is normal, that is createdWell, I have tried this game like part of the EA Access with included all Premium extensions and content. I have played just multiplayer par of the game. The game is better then I have expected - I am no such big fan of the online FPS. Large maps, space fo some tactical gameplay, many guns and equipment. But the game have serious problems with matchmaking - it is normal, that is created new game on empty map, where is only one player. There is no way how to check, witch mods or servers has half-filled games and have a chance to join existing game or mod. My second problem is with speed of now content unlocking. Sorry, but after 10 hours of gameplay I have unlocked just about 3 - 4 new weapons?! Too slow. And also micro-transactions and I think it is a bit like pay-to-win, because it is possible to find there new and better weapon equipment. Expand
  9. Mar 31, 2016
    0
    i think this game is the most anoyying thing i have ever watched my boyfriend play, The sound of people shouting at ech other over the mic is just not entertaning its full of ****
  10. Mar 1, 2016
    6
    to much walking it breaks the hole game and when you finally get there you die it is good to have big maps but not that big with lots of **** and limited vehicles
  11. Feb 21, 2016
    8
    Story - 8
    Gameplay - 9
    Graphics - 9
    Sound - 10
    Controls - 10

    Battlefield 4 is what we can call a good and impressive game, good graphics, good story, good sound, good gameplay, good controls.
  12. Feb 3, 2016
    9
    Ok, I'm seeing that 90% of the negative reviews were because of how badly the game worked at release. But believe me, this game is absolutely awesome now that it is all patched. The maps are freaking huge, and if you get the Premium edition, which seems to be on sale for only $30 every other month, you get like 25 new maps, not to mention there have been two free DLC maps! You also get newOk, I'm seeing that 90% of the negative reviews were because of how badly the game worked at release. But believe me, this game is absolutely awesome now that it is all patched. The maps are freaking huge, and if you get the Premium edition, which seems to be on sale for only $30 every other month, you get like 25 new maps, not to mention there have been two free DLC maps! You also get new vehicles, and some incredibly intricate Easter eggs (for example, the one in the free DLC Dragon Valley) which will keep you busy for a long time by themselves. I like COD. I am not biased toward either game as I play both, but I can tell you this game has sooo much more lasting value than BO3. Not to mention it actually works. The graphics are also very impressive for how huge the maps are. Some people complained about them, but when maps are THIS detailed, we barely have the technology to run graphics better than this. Get this game, and don't go into it with bias. Think of it as BATTLEFIELD, not some other game, and you will greatly appreciate how unique and large scale (64 people per match) it is. Expand
  13. Feb 3, 2016
    0
    Prepare to play a game base on luck. The maps are too big, you never encounter someone in the first 3 minutes of your life. You always get shot in the back. 0/10
  14. Jan 27, 2016
    8
    Coming from the Xbox 360 version to the Xbox One version. The game is much better on the Xbox One. The maps were meant for Next Gen.

    The Good- Amazing multiplayer, great multiplayer levels. Frostbite 3 engine is awesome. The bad- Campaign sucks compared to Battlefield 3, Graphics are just okay for Next Gen. Overall I really like this game. The biggest downfall to the game is
    Coming from the Xbox 360 version to the Xbox One version. The game is much better on the Xbox One. The maps were meant for Next Gen.

    The Good- Amazing multiplayer, great multiplayer levels. Frostbite 3 engine is awesome.

    The bad- Campaign sucks compared to Battlefield 3, Graphics are just okay for Next Gen.

    Overall I really like this game. The biggest downfall to the game is the campaign.
    Expand
  15. Jan 7, 2016
    6
    A game with many pretensions , a very short and lacking in charisma campaign mode, but that if a good playable management and a comprehensive online, recommended if you like more complete shooter
  16. Dec 28, 2015
    10
    Multiplayer BF4 is incredible. First of all, it's real 21st century weaponry and warfare so it's not silly like CoD with all the "hyper-jumping," etc. There are always hundreds if not thousands of people playing 24/7 whereas in other games there are often just crickets - no game - so lame. And BF4 requires brains, strategy, and skill. No other game comes close. And the creators andMultiplayer BF4 is incredible. First of all, it's real 21st century weaponry and warfare so it's not silly like CoD with all the "hyper-jumping," etc. There are always hundreds if not thousands of people playing 24/7 whereas in other games there are often just crickets - no game - so lame. And BF4 requires brains, strategy, and skill. No other game comes close. And the creators and community both take the game seriously and also have fun in so doing. They are always adding new maps and refining the game to make it better. It's and adrenaline rush and it's awesome. Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2015
    10
    If you liked bf3. Then you will love this. Definitely feels next gen. Feels very fluid and looks stunning, multiplayer graphics just as good as singleplayer. Really happy really impressed. Ive been reading a lot about problems but i honestly haven't had many, my singleplayer save got deleted and i have to start again, but this happens on all platforms, even PC. But muliplayer is why imIf you liked bf3. Then you will love this. Definitely feels next gen. Feels very fluid and looks stunning, multiplayer graphics just as good as singleplayer. Really happy really impressed. Ive been reading a lot about problems but i honestly haven't had many, my singleplayer save got deleted and i have to start again, but this happens on all platforms, even PC. But muliplayer is why im here and multiplayer works perfect for me played over a 100 games. Definite 1st buy for any xbox one imo Expand
  18. Dec 13, 2015
    8
    This game's solid - probably more like an 8.4. There's not too much that can be said - it's another Battlefield game. It differs little from BF3. I haven't experienced any bugs. The graphics are adequate.
  19. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    I didn't like it..... I loved it loved it loved it. The multiplayer is fun and keeps me wanting to get every single unlock there is in the game. The story sucks monkey balls
  20. Nov 8, 2015
    7
    Campaign
    - DUMB AI
    - IMPRESSIVE GRAPHICS
    - NOT SO MUCH OF A STORY
    - A FEW BREATHTAKING MOMENTS BUT NOTHING WORTH PAYING FOR
    - PLEASE DO NOT PLAY ON EASY, IT'LL RUIN THE EXPERIENCE

    Multiplayer:
    - AWESOME GRAPHICS
    - 64 PLAYER MATCHES
    - AWESOME MAPS
    - LEVOLUTION'S COOL, THOUGH NOT PERFECT.
    - COULD'VE USED MORE DISTRUCTION INSTEAD OF SOMETIMES BANAL LEVOLUTION
  21. Nov 2, 2015
    6
    Battlefield 4 looks good at sight, however it can be very boring.

    PROS
    -Nice gunplay
    -Great graphics

    CONS
    -boring story
    -Slow repetitive gameplay from time to time
  22. Aug 28, 2015
    0
    oh my geesus worst gaym i eva plaid in my fkin life this gaym sux so bad, not enuf like cod UGHHHHHHHHHHHHH FOR GOD SAKE IT'S SOOOOOOOO BADDDDDDDDDDD F*CK THIS F*CKING GAME TO F*CKING HELL!!! IT'S SO BAD OH MY GODDDDDDDD UGH UGH YES YES OH YEAH MMMMM FEELS SO GOOD- this game sucks dont buy it,buy cod
  23. Jun 28, 2015
    6
    this is just not a good battlefield game to begin with. the battle packs ruin the game as you have to get them to get the attachments and cameos you want in the game but its at random you don't get to choose what you want. other than that the maps are kind of boring including the dlc ones as well the guns in the game. the menus are kind of unorganized and the 64 player conquest multiplayerthis is just not a good battlefield game to begin with. the battle packs ruin the game as you have to get them to get the attachments and cameos you want in the game but its at random you don't get to choose what you want. other than that the maps are kind of boring including the dlc ones as well the guns in the game. the menus are kind of unorganized and the 64 player conquest multiplayer can get boring after a while. it feels like this game was made just for that game mode which makes the other game modes less fun. i think i will go back to bf3 on the Xbox 360 and i actually find that game more fun than this game. Expand
  24. Jun 22, 2015
    9
    Although accompanying many bugs and balancing issues, this is still one of my favorite FPS games so far. The game has been so popular that there are still updates, patches, and DLC coming out. For anyone reading this that is still using the older Gen console, i highly recommend switching to the current gen. Not only will this double your frames per second, the graphics will appear to beAlthough accompanying many bugs and balancing issues, this is still one of my favorite FPS games so far. The game has been so popular that there are still updates, patches, and DLC coming out. For anyone reading this that is still using the older Gen console, i highly recommend switching to the current gen. Not only will this double your frames per second, the graphics will appear to be drastically more detailed. Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2015
    7
    The graphics and animations are perfect plus it is a very addictive game to play. There is not enough variety of good guns, everyone uses the same which is why I have 10 Service Stars on the M416 Assault Rifle.
  26. Jun 9, 2015
    7
    The actual game play and muliplayer works pretty well. IT DID NOT work well at launch.

    That being said, I have had my campaign progress erased TWICE for reasons UNKNOWN.

    This was really disheartening, and I never got a straight answer from EA. I was REALLY mad about that.
  27. Jun 2, 2015
    6
    The game is great huge map if you want to play conquest but xbox version is riddled with a bunch of call of duty fans who go in guns blazing and not thinking tactically. I also don't like how some guns shoot as far as snipers.... The game is real fun if you want to play for fun you can do that too it is an all round great game but of course the story is bad....
  28. May 25, 2015
    10
    While it's true that Battlefield 3 was a little better, that doesn't mean this one isn't great. I loved every minute of it, with over 200 hours of gameplay.
  29. May 1, 2015
    5
    Basically Battlefield 3 with different maps, Battlefield's multiplayer mode isn't improved on any level, the campaign is not compelling at all and visually it is not on a next-gen level, really not.
  30. Apr 27, 2015
    8
    Reason why this game is an 8 and not a 10 is simple. Terrible launch and it took a year to get the game running right that is why I waited to write a review. Game is immersive and fun to play. Single player lacks while multiplayer continues to thrive.

    Graphcs-8
    Sound-9
    Replay-10
    Single Player-6
    Multiplayer-10
  31. Mar 20, 2015
    6
    This game is decent. But I feel like that they've just done Battlefield 3 all over again and put the odd gun in and just different maps. It's too putative. But that is just what I think.
  32. Feb 25, 2015
    8
    This game did not have the best start but now its a very good multiplayer game and i really enjoy it,
    I would rate this 8.5 but the campaign is rubbish and i have found my progress is erased
  33. Jan 26, 2015
    9
    Graphics:10/10
    Single Player Campaign:7/10
    Multiplayer: 9/10

    Amazing graphics combined with addictive multiplayer and a nice single player. If you played and liked bf3, you'll feel some differences but nothing radical.
  34. Jan 12, 2015
    5
    Keeping this short, the strong point and most favorable part of this game is Multiplayer.

    The campaign is fun, but very glitchy and after completing it on the hardest difficulty and collecting all dog tags and weapons, was mysteriously deleted and when I went back to campaign, everything was reset. The multiplayer was initially buggy, but now BF4's mulitplayer is still looking
    Keeping this short, the strong point and most favorable part of this game is Multiplayer.

    The campaign is fun, but very glitchy and after completing it on the hardest difficulty and collecting all dog tags and weapons, was mysteriously deleted and when I went back to campaign, everything was reset.

    The multiplayer was initially buggy, but now BF4's mulitplayer is still looking beautiful and is still having me go back to play more and more.

    But unfortunately, back when I purchased this game in 2013, this was easily the buggiest mess I've ever seen, and I can not forget the troubles I had with this game.

    I give BF4 a 5.9/10, because the multiplayer is the only thing that held this game up. Without MP, this game would of been a disaster.
    Expand
  35. Jan 5, 2015
    8
    This game is really good on the multiplayer aspect. Large maps, Range of balanced guns and Beautiful graphics, I do have a problem however with the helicopters being very complicated to fly. This game is obviously better on PC but is still fairly good on consoles. The other problem is this game's story. It's all about visuals aspect in the campaign even though there were some goodThis game is really good on the multiplayer aspect. Large maps, Range of balanced guns and Beautiful graphics, I do have a problem however with the helicopters being very complicated to fly. This game is obviously better on PC but is still fairly good on consoles. The other problem is this game's story. It's all about visuals aspect in the campaign even though there were some good gameplay parts in it. I would give this game an 8.2 overall. Expand
  36. Jan 3, 2015
    4
    This game really could have been good, but DICE decided to screw it all up. From constant glitching and loss of save data during the campaign, to shoddy net code that causes cheap deaths online, this game is a total disaster.

    Let's start with the campaign. I wanted to enjoy the campaign so badly, seeing as other Battlefield campaigns were extremely boring and too easy. So I chose hard
    This game really could have been good, but DICE decided to screw it all up. From constant glitching and loss of save data during the campaign, to shoddy net code that causes cheap deaths online, this game is a total disaster.

    Let's start with the campaign. I wanted to enjoy the campaign so badly, seeing as other Battlefield campaigns were extremely boring and too easy. So I chose hard mode and started it up. Literally nothing has changed from the past Battlefield games. Obviously awful A.I. that has pinpoint accuracy when in cover but runs into your gunfire like a bunch of lemmings. The glitches have also returned, causing my equipment, guns, and teammates to merge with the floor and disappear. In this one mission, this A.I. Chinese pedestrian was crossing the road and our car hit him, but we didn't hit him, he just morphed through the car with no collision whatsoever. Really DICE? And to top this all off, I turned my Xbox One off to go see my family and when I came back, my save data was gone. Yep, it just vanished into thin air. Wow. Thanks a lot DICE.

    I don't even want to talk about how broken the multiplayer is in Battlefield 4. There's way too many problems to even note without going over the word limit, so I'll summarize. Battlefield 4's multiplayer only works when it wants to. I experience massive lag and rubber-banding online. Sometimes I'll shoot someone with a full clip of ammo, only to appear like five feet in front of him shooting a wall and he guns me down. Another thing, some vehicle setups are extremely overpowered and unstoppable unless you have like ten guys shooting rockets at it all at once. The pure stupidity of some players online baffles me. They'd rather try to run up to a tank, clearly shooting at them, rather than take it out with a rocket. Countless times I've lost rush matches because people refuse to take out tanks on the hill that keep slamming the objectives and killing everyone. Wow...

    To sum it up, Battlefield 4 is a complete failure of a game. DICE, you can go shove it up your asses. Peace
    Expand
  37. Dec 28, 2014
    8
    Simply put, this game is AWESOME. Totally blows COD out of the water. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because they are still having some issue with tracking stats. Small problems like things disappearing that you've done. The Campaign blows but I don't hold that against them because I didn't get it to play the campaign anyway. But other than that, the lack of a good campaign andSimply put, this game is AWESOME. Totally blows COD out of the water. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because they are still having some issue with tracking stats. Small problems like things disappearing that you've done. The Campaign blows but I don't hold that against them because I didn't get it to play the campaign anyway. But other than that, the lack of a good campaign and losing stats occasionally, the game is perfect. I didn't play this when it launched but I hear it was horrible, since the fall patch there have been zero issues and it's easily the best Mult-player game on X-box one. Expand
  38. Dec 15, 2014
    8
    Very glitchy even to this day. But saying game Epic fail is just wrong. Sure it feels rocky but, the destructible enviorments, combat, storyline and gameplay makes it go farther than COD.
  39. Dec 11, 2014
    5
    This game rightfully deserves its bad reviews due to how long it took EA and Dice to fix the piles of glitches it had upon release (about 8 months before it was all fixed). The DLC was lackluster, and didn't really feel worth the $40 for premium.

    However, they really stepped it up recently, even though there was very little incentive for EA and Dice to try so hard so late after release
    This game rightfully deserves its bad reviews due to how long it took EA and Dice to fix the piles of glitches it had upon release (about 8 months before it was all fixed). The DLC was lackluster, and didn't really feel worth the $40 for premium.

    However, they really stepped it up recently, even though there was very little incentive for EA and Dice to try so hard so late after release once the game had been reviewed so badly. This game is definitely worth the money, especially at this point. Vehicular gameplay is the best I've ever seen, and 64 player multiplayer is always exciting.

    I was once unsatisfied, but they've officially redeemed themselves, sort of. I will be buying Hardline, and Battlefield 5.

    5.5/10
    Expand
  40. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    Amazing Experience overall in terms of multiplayer. I would say its more of a hardcore game rather then a casual game like COD. So it takes a bit of getting used to but the gameplay and gun mechanics make this game interesting ever time you play.
  41. Nov 30, 2014
    7
    I was never a fan of the Battlefield series, but even 360, Battlefield 3 is very pleased. However, the fourth just brought something new to the series. The multiplayer battles very spectacular, but nothing worthwhile novelty. However, the campaign was the same crap as before.
  42. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    I just got this game about a week ago. I got a good deal on it too. I barely played single player, just while I was waiting for the game to install. Multiplayer is pretty fun. I enjoy playing with a friend. I havent had any major issues. I let people beta test this game for a year before purchasing. The engineer starter gun is terrible. I had to do some domination games to unlock the nextI just got this game about a week ago. I got a good deal on it too. I barely played single player, just while I was waiting for the game to install. Multiplayer is pretty fun. I enjoy playing with a friend. I havent had any major issues. I let people beta test this game for a year before purchasing. The engineer starter gun is terrible. I had to do some domination games to unlock the next gun, which was much better. The other beginner guns are not too bad. I don't feel like I have to purchase any unlock shortcut kits. My friend wants me to buy Premium but I'm on the fence about it. Expand
  43. Nov 15, 2014
    9
    We've made it out of beta ladies and gentlemen! One year after launch the game is as it should have been when it launched.
    Campaign - Meh. Typical war shooter campaign. Only reason to play is to unlock guns for multiplayer.
    Multiplayer - Really fun now that the servers are stable and most of the bugs are fixed. Might be better than Battlefield 3 at this point.
  44. Nov 12, 2014
    7
    This game had a really rough start. That is why I did not rate this higher.
    It was a good game overall though; the multiplayer and campaign.
    After all of the patches and DLC came out, it made this game better than it was at launch. Still very disappointing that EA decided to not only release this early, but the fact how it took DICE over 6+ months to finally fix most problems
    This game had a really rough start. That is why I did not rate this higher.
    It was a good game overall though; the multiplayer and campaign.

    After all of the patches and DLC came out, it made this game better than it was at launch.

    Still very disappointing that EA decided to not only release this early, but the fact how it took DICE over 6+ months to finally fix most problems associated with this game.
    Expand
  45. Nov 12, 2014
    7
    More fun than COD due to increased variation, and has more interesting and fun gameplay...

    But as usual, problems. Firstly, the unlocking mechanic. Again, some weapons are objectively better. The SAR 21 seems to dominate, for instance. In Arena shooters, this is fine because they are pick ups, but in BF you can spawn in with the SAR 21. This leads to many guns being ignored because
    More fun than COD due to increased variation, and has more interesting and fun gameplay...

    But as usual, problems.

    Firstly, the unlocking mechanic. Again, some weapons are objectively better. The SAR 21 seems to dominate, for instance. In Arena shooters, this is fine because they are pick ups, but in BF you can spawn in with the SAR 21. This leads to many guns being ignored because they are just worthless. Furthermore, do we really need 4 aesthetic variations of the same attachment just so you can pretend you have more content? I usually don't talk about technical or network issues, but considering theys till haven't been fixed after all this time, I feel oblidged too.

    The campaign is shoddy, to say the least, but to make it even worse the game keeps deleting your save file so you have to start again. There are consistent network issues related to poor netcode, as far as I am aware. These are just a few of the bugs.
    Not a bug so much as a mistake, but there are many area's where terrain doesn't appear to be placed right and you can see through it. Again, developers don't rush the games. If you need time, take it.

    Overall, a pretty good game, held back by a poor campaign, shoddy netcode and many problems inherent to the modern military shooter genre
    Expand
  46. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    What BF4 is today and what it was at launch are two very different experiences. At launch, bugs left, right and center populated Battlefield 4, thankfully EA do indeed learn from their mistakes, anyone that says otherwise are just 'EA haters'.

    BF4 is one of the best First Person Shooters that I've ever played online with my friends. The tactical game play online (if you like playing it
    What BF4 is today and what it was at launch are two very different experiences. At launch, bugs left, right and center populated Battlefield 4, thankfully EA do indeed learn from their mistakes, anyone that says otherwise are just 'EA haters'.

    BF4 is one of the best First Person Shooters that I've ever played online with my friends. The tactical game play online (if you like playing it in such a way) is fantastic. Everything smoothly fits in well, from slugging it out in tanks all the way to parachuting from choppers to capture locations in Conquest Large, BF4 does it all. A brilliant thrill for those war-game savvy people.

    A definite buy if you're yet to try Battlefield 4, I still thoroughly enjoy it even after 10 months of play time.
    Expand
  47. Aug 30, 2014
    4
    Fun game until you meet the people with hacks. Seriously, why do you want to cheat in this game? I would have given it a 10 but the hacks ruin it for everybody. It is the same with the pc version as well.
  48. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    As a long time call of duty fan I must say I found the battlefield 3 experience on Xbox 360 very frustrating due to the size of the maps and how under populated they felt.
    So Having taken the next gen leap and deciding to give it another go I am glad to report that 64 player online with fully destructible environments infantry combat and vehicles is AMAZING.
    Having taken the time to
    As a long time call of duty fan I must say I found the battlefield 3 experience on Xbox 360 very frustrating due to the size of the maps and how under populated they felt.
    So Having taken the next gen leap and deciding to give it another go I am glad to report that 64 player online with fully destructible environments infantry combat and vehicles is AMAZING.

    Having taken the time to adjust to the battle field experience I gotta say I'm hooked.

    The bullet physics are amazing sniping feels like a skill because you have to factor in bullet travel time and bullet drop due to distance.
    After engaging in a long range sniper battle from the side of a building because I spotted an enemy snipers lens flare from his scope from nearly a mile away in the ruins of a collapsed sky scraper (which was awesome) I am happy to report that on next gen at least this is 100% a COD beater.
    The experience is frantic if you want it to be or measured and slow paced if you prefer, every play style is catered for and you can contribute to your teams performance in so many more ways then just racking up kills.

    Every time you load this game up something memorable or unique or exciting happens, BTW my sniper battle was cut short by an attack helicopter blowing a hole in the building.

    THIS IS TRULY THE BEST WAR GAME EVER.

    I'm sorry COD you have nothing left to offer me.

    A SECOND LOOK AT BF4

    After having spent a bit more time (several months) with Bf4 I feel compelled to revisit my earlier review.

    I have to say after some extensive play the shine for me has started to wear off.

    Admittedly the game is still as beautiful as ever and the bullet physics and explosive carnage are still as visceral as any game I have ever played. However the overall experience for me doesn’t quite sustain itself.

    I have begun to find matches to long, punctuated by long stints of not a lot happening and then being sniped from halfway across the map.
    Granted there is a lot to love here and this is certainly a more realistic representation of warfare but I do feel that sometimes the epic scale of the game and its focus on realism detract from the fun.

    Yes the weapons handle more realistically but the side affect of this is that getting kills is a lot more difficult then in say Call of Duty. It requires planning, thought ,skill and the ability to adjust your shooting to factor in distance muzzle velocity and other factors.

    As a result this game doesn't play so well as Cod when your talking about up close and personal gunfights.

    To be honest realism and games have always had a shaky relationship, just because something is more realistic that doesn’t automatically make it more fun.

    Having had the time to rally soak it up, I can see all the positives for BF4 and also personal negatives for myself.

    I can play BF4 and I can play it well but after extensive play I have to say I don’t find the style of play on offer more fun then COD.

    It is always going to be personal preference and I will still keep playing BF4 when I want a more measured experience but a lot of the time what I want is the immediate gratification that COD provides.

    And don’t get me wrong just because Cod is not so realistic and is more immediate doesn’t mean it takes any less skill to be good at it. In fact the level of player skill is getting so high that you could argue it takes more skill to be great at COD. However they are different skills, different play styles, chalk and cheese some would say.

    For me it took me a few months of downtime since Black ops2 to realise that I miss the bombastic fast paced chaos Of COD.

    Thank you battle field for reminding me who my one true love really is. I am glad to know if I ever want a fling BF4 will be waiting.

    So to summarize BF4 Is a great game but it is very different to cod and how much you like it is going to depend on your Priority's and your overall play style.

    To paraphrase the bible "Know thyself and what you like from an FPS and you will have a blast"
    Expand
  49. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    This review applies to multiplayer only:

    I have put a decent amount of time in playing the multiplayer, probably on the order of 7 days worth of playing time. The multiplayer maps are good, the game is in-depth and the gameplay is smooth most of the time, however, there are some issues that are somewhat embarrassing that keep this game from a higher score. Pros - Very good
    This review applies to multiplayer only:

    I have put a decent amount of time in playing the multiplayer, probably on the order of 7 days worth of playing time. The multiplayer maps are good, the game is in-depth and the gameplay is smooth most of the time, however, there are some issues that are somewhat embarrassing that keep this game from a higher score.

    Pros

    - Very good graphics
    - Realistic weapon/vehicle behavior and physics
    - Destructible environments
    - Smooth controls, weapons and vehicles control smoothly.
    - A lot of content and in depth, there is enough to keep you busy for a year, trying to get all the unlocks.
    - Great stat tracking and the skill calculator is also useful.
    - Vehicles are balanced, for every good person with a tank or helicopter, there are people on foot that can always take them out. Although people with a lot of skill in a particular vehicle can sometimes control the game but that is deserved.

    Cons

    - When a building collapses, it should not freeze up the entire match for everyone playing, this is just unacceptable, it causes players to crash vehicles and disrupts the game flow

    - You should be able to edit your player and vehicle loadouts at ANY time. Why do you have to be in the game wasting precious time figuring out and debating your loadouts? That is completely idiotic.

    - All weapons in the game should at least be somewhat functional, there are a lot of weapons in the game that are not even worth touching.

    - The special weapons on the map should not be so mystical to pick up. They should be allowed to be picked up instantly, instead of trying to figure out EXACTLY how long to hold the button to acquire the weapon. WTF IS THE PURPOSE OF THIS?

    - Instead of a building instantly killing ALL people inside when it has enough damage to collapse, before it actually collapses, give players a chance (~5 seconds) to try and get out or jump off. Very unrealistic. This is especially annoying on Siege of Shanghai when teams are on top of "C". Everyone on top of the building instantaneously dies as soon as the trigger point for the collapse is reached with no chance given to escape.

    Improvement Ideas

    -Create a qualification for being able to fly helicopters/jets. A basic training simulator section in the game for flying vehicles, with tasks the player must complete before being able to actually fly vehicles in the game would prevent a lot of unnecessary deaths. When I am having a bad day, all my pilots seem to be 10 year olds who don't make it out of the spawn.

    Conclusion

    Overall Battlefield 4 is a quality game on the Xbox One, however, it doesn't get a VERY high score with me because of some annoying flaws that could be fixed with a little more proactivity from the developer.
    Expand
  50. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    I gave this game 10/10 for complete and utter failure. It's the 17th August 2014. It's 10 months since the release of the game. I tried to love this BF4 at the beginning. I really did. I was expecting the problems BF3 had but i expected lessons to be learned. They weren't! I usually turn the game on for an hour, once a month maybe, just hoping that they might have finally 'patched' what isI gave this game 10/10 for complete and utter failure. It's the 17th August 2014. It's 10 months since the release of the game. I tried to love this BF4 at the beginning. I really did. I was expecting the problems BF3 had but i expected lessons to be learned. They weren't! I usually turn the game on for an hour, once a month maybe, just hoping that they might have finally 'patched' what is basically an unpatchable game and give me some enjoyment for the 100+ euros i forked out for their Premium crap. Don't waste your money. Expand
  51. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    I did enjoy the campaign but multiplayer really is not this games strong point graphics are amazing and they really do stand out overall its not bad but not amazing.
  52. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    Definitely the absolute worst game i have ever played!

    After watching all of the trailers and all of the hype up to the release date of battlefield 4 i finally got my copy of the game and put it into my Xbox one. The first thing i noticed is that the graphics are pure **** Every texture has this brownish tint to it, the view distance is awful and gives me a headache, and the lens flares
    Definitely the absolute worst game i have ever played!

    After watching all of the trailers and all of the hype up to the release date of battlefield 4 i finally got my copy of the game and put it into my Xbox one. The first thing i noticed is that the graphics are pure **** Every texture has this brownish tint to it, the view distance is awful and gives me a headache, and the lens flares are ugly and get in your face. Then i noticed how sloppy the game play is... it doesn't feel satisfying to get kills in the game because you get no feedback out of your hits and the vehicles are insanely sloppy yet overpowered as **** The tanks kill players across the map and you get killed as soon as you take off in a jet or helicopter. The glitches ruin the game and everything looks and feels unfinished. its pure overrated **** i prefer cod over this crap.
    Expand
  53. May 17, 2014
    10
    Battlefield 4 is an amazing game. The campain is a bil improvment over the campain of Battlefield 3, but it is still not an excelent campain, and the multiplayer is still as awsome as it has been since Battlefield 1942. It is much better then Call Of Duty Ghosts. While it has had big launch issues because of EA wanting to beat Call Of Duty in sales, I have not had one single issue with theBattlefield 4 is an amazing game. The campain is a bil improvment over the campain of Battlefield 3, but it is still not an excelent campain, and the multiplayer is still as awsome as it has been since Battlefield 1942. It is much better then Call Of Duty Ghosts. While it has had big launch issues because of EA wanting to beat Call Of Duty in sales, I have not had one single issue with the game on my Xbox One. Expand
  54. May 5, 2014
    7
    Same old Battlefield, just a different year. People complain about COD never changing year after year; but Battlefield takes time between releases and it's still the same boring, campy, pixelated, overabundance of useless weapon shooter. It's no more fun than Peggle 2.
  55. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    Good game, but not very.

    The gameplay is ok, but it lacks variety. It would've been nice to have something else besides loads of enemies and some tanks here and there. It got boring for me at some point. The story doesn't help a lot either. It's not bad, due to the characters, but it lacks a captivating narrative. The graphics are good however. With minor glitchy exceptions here
    Good game, but not very.

    The gameplay is ok, but it lacks variety. It would've been nice to have something else besides loads of enemies and some tanks here and there. It got boring for me at some point.

    The story doesn't help a lot either. It's not bad, due to the characters, but it lacks a captivating narrative.

    The graphics are good however. With minor glitchy exceptions here and there, the graphics feel next-gen.

    I was not interested in multiplayer so I cannot really comment on that.
    Expand
  56. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    As a fps ''veteran'', i think i can say that because i play battlefield(and cod) since the first game, and i can say i really loved battlefield 4. As a premium member in battlefield 3 i received the beta for bf4, and to tell the truth, i really felt like it was a battlefield 3.5. But when the game came i out i got it for xbox one and i can say its not battlefield 3.5, The graphics areAs a fps ''veteran'', i think i can say that because i play battlefield(and cod) since the first game, and i can say i really loved battlefield 4. As a premium member in battlefield 3 i received the beta for bf4, and to tell the truth, i really felt like it was a battlefield 3.5. But when the game came i out i got it for xbox one and i can say its not battlefield 3.5, The graphics are indeed better, the lightining is beautiful and overral it has much more details, gameplay was improved too, levolution feels awesome. Despite the people crying calling the game ''bugfield 4'' i did not had many problems with bugs on the xbox one, once i got a very wreid bug that a creppy black stuff appeared on my screen and i couldnt see **** and i got under the map too, thats it only got bugs 2 times, and i have played 110hours. The only problem i have experienced in bf4 on the xbox one was the sever browser, sometimes is hard to enter a sever, it says it 60/64, but when i enter, i need to wait on the line because there are 2 players ahead of me, AND the campaing, the campaign SUCKS HARD.
    RESUMING: Graphics are good, gameplay is good, MULTIPLAYER IS AWESOME, campaing sucks, maps looks awesome, levolution is awesome, and it runs on 60 FPS, xbox one can deliver the full battlefield 4 experience, anyone who says otherwise is either a cod fanboy of a Playstation fanboy...
    Expand
  57. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    Most of the negative reviews of this game tend to be on account of a) lost saved games; b) issues joining servers; c) the fact that it doesn;t depart much from BF3. Fair enough i guess if this is what youhave experienced.

    From my point of view, i havn;t had any problmes with saved games or the servers;;; and i never played BF3 so this doesn;t matter to me. BF4 is a great game; so
    Most of the negative reviews of this game tend to be on account of a) lost saved games; b) issues joining servers; c) the fact that it doesn;t depart much from BF3. Fair enough i guess if this is what youhave experienced.

    From my point of view, i havn;t had any problmes with saved games or the servers;;; and i never played BF3 so this doesn;t matter to me.

    BF4 is a great game; so much more substantial than Titan fall which is too much of a free for all.
    Expand
  58. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    It does just enough to keep the game fresh with its new modes and additions but it also keeps the core gameplay that the battlefield name is known for.

    As with most first-person shooter games the single player is irrelevant and puts together a decent effort to make you want to finish it, but aside from the achievements and dog tag unlocks there is little reason to replay it. The
    It does just enough to keep the game fresh with its new modes and additions but it also keeps the core gameplay that the battlefield name is known for.

    As with most first-person shooter games the single player is irrelevant and puts together a decent effort to make you want to finish it, but aside from the achievements and dog tag unlocks there is little reason to replay it.

    The multiplayer is where battlefield has and always will shine. Despite the consistent issues during online play (which Dice has been hard at work to fix and rectify with its user base) Battlefield 4 is an enjoyable entry into the "next gen" of gaming.

    Developer Dice has also done a good job of consistent balancing and tweaks to ensure the game keeps a sense of equality. If they find a vehicle or weapon has too much of an advantage, you can be sure it will be balanced out at some point.

    All in all, despite the issues that still to this day plaque this game (most to my knowledge have been taken care of) Battlefield 4 is everything it has been hyped to be. The new 'Levelution' feature is spot on, Obliteration mode is a blast and 64 vs 64 is awesome.

    If you have played past Battlefield games, this is one that you should not pass up despite its flaws.
    Expand
  59. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    By far the worst Battlefileld in the series. The game lives up to none of the hype, using horrible physics, tons of rubber banding, and so many "wtf" moments that you'll probably throw the controller at the screen. Even worse, nothing in this game makes sense. The single player is a head scratching affair, the multiplayer continues to misregister hits (from bullets to tank shells), andBy far the worst Battlefileld in the series. The game lives up to none of the hype, using horrible physics, tons of rubber banding, and so many "wtf" moments that you'll probably throw the controller at the screen. Even worse, nothing in this game makes sense. The single player is a head scratching affair, the multiplayer continues to misregister hits (from bullets to tank shells), and even the kill cam consistently shifts to the wrong people. Even with all of the patches, the game is atrocious. 1/10. Expand
  60. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    I'm here to tell you how unbelievably bad Battlefield 4 is. I used to love it it was one of my favorite games and it was awesome flying planes and stuff but that's when i encountered the bugs non stop server issues, it freezes, crashes to home and it almost broke my disk drive or even system on Xbox one. A little note to EA get your games right and give everybody a refund!
  61. Mar 25, 2014
    1
    When this game works, it is fun to play and the graphics are amazing. However, more often than not the game does not load correctly, DLC is delayed, servers crash, etc. The game is the equivalent to an amazing sports car that sits in the garage because the keys are lost or the engine is missing parts. EA and DICE should be sued by consumers and investigated by the BBB.
  62. Mar 21, 2014
    4
    My single player campaign progress disappeared twice for no reason. The battle log system is terribly glitchy. Multiplayer is fun, but if you're not experienced with multiplayer first person shooters, you might want to avoid buying this game. The graphics are good.
  63. Mar 19, 2014
    7
    EA servers= doodoo. That's really all that can be said. The game had a myriad of bugs at launch that have been fixed but lag still persists. And let's not forget one of the worst server browsers in history: "Oh sweet this game has only 46 people in it. Wait...why am I in a damned queue then?!"
  64. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    BF4 is amazing loved the campaign even though the irish character was annoying as hell but i loved how huge the levels are and the diverse ways you can approach the conflict
  65. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    Battlefield 4 is the best game, hands-down, on the Xbox One. I didn't purchase it at launch so much of those problems were avoided and I have had really smooth experience. Playing CTF or Rush is exhilarating for me. It's just awesome how sheer epic this game can be at times with the awesome teammates, audio, and PC-esque visuals. I also played the singeplayer and found it surprisinglyBattlefield 4 is the best game, hands-down, on the Xbox One. I didn't purchase it at launch so much of those problems were avoided and I have had really smooth experience. Playing CTF or Rush is exhilarating for me. It's just awesome how sheer epic this game can be at times with the awesome teammates, audio, and PC-esque visuals. I also played the singeplayer and found it surprisingly enjoyable. But you buy BF4 for the multiplayer and it really comes through with seemingly hundreds of hours to unlock and experience everything. But it's balanced well, you never feel like you're at a disadvantage when at a lower level.

    One thing I don't like is Battlepacks. They feel a bit tacky, but not too bad either. All-in-all this game is a great entry in a powerful franchise.
    Expand
  66. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Battlefield 4 represents the best parts of the previous entries in the series put together. It has the great vehicular combat and overall gameplay of the original, the great Commander mode of Battlefield 2, the destructibility of Bad Company 2 and the scale of Battlefield 3. A must have for Battlefield fans.
  67. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    i love battlefield 4! here are some reasons to buy it:
    1: graphics are AMAZING!!!!
    2:amazing, intense gameplay
    3: unlike Call of Duty, you get to drive vehicles!
    4:great customization
    5:huge maps in which you can destroy the enviroment

    those are only a few reasons why battlefield 4 is worth buying. i rate it 20 out of 10!!!!

    herbertlives
  68. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This is a very deep game that takes hundreds of hours to fully experience. The learning curve is high if you've never played BF before (I haven't) but when you invest the time to learn, it really becomes a full experience that's unlike any game I've ever played. The customization options are nearly limitless as are the things you can do inside a battle.

    The destructive levels add an
    This is a very deep game that takes hundreds of hours to fully experience. The learning curve is high if you've never played BF before (I haven't) but when you invest the time to learn, it really becomes a full experience that's unlike any game I've ever played. The customization options are nearly limitless as are the things you can do inside a battle.

    The destructive levels add an extra element of gameplay: if an enemy is hiding in a building you can actually shoot down the walls with a tank. The sheer scope of the game is insane: flying helicopters, planes, driving tanks, boats, etc. I really like this game and I feel the early reviews of poor performance are out of date now (as of March 2014). Gameplay has been mostly smooth for me. If you like shooters this is a great one.
    Expand
  69. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    Battlefield 4 is an amazing game, I have to say it really shows off the potential of the consoles and the PC. The graphics make the scenery and guns look beautiful, the battling with explosions make it look like a playable movie. Also with the falling buildings and vehicles, it really tops the game off, the reason I give it an 8 is well, it has some bugs that can get annoying at points,Battlefield 4 is an amazing game, I have to say it really shows off the potential of the consoles and the PC. The graphics make the scenery and guns look beautiful, the battling with explosions make it look like a playable movie. Also with the falling buildings and vehicles, it really tops the game off, the reason I give it an 8 is well, it has some bugs that can get annoying at points, but i'm sure EA/DICE will fix this, I highly reccomend this game for gamers with the type of taste of a beautiful campaign, amazing in game warfare. The multi-player of this game is great. Tons of guns, vehicles, and different levels where you never know what could happen. I especially love the fact that the level can be collapsible, it really adds that feeling of a movie to this game. DICE and EA have really have done it again. But they still have some small bugs to fix, I cant wait to see what they add next in this amazing game. The graphics are amazing, textures are so HD you can barely tell its a game. The colors and lighting really pull it off as well. Expand
  70. Mar 8, 2014
    5
    This game will have reviews that generally fall into two categories. Online and campaign or offline. To be honest if your not interested in online. This game is not for you.

    Battlefield 4 is all about the multiplayer online first person shooter match ups. If your into that kind of stuff and that's all your into, this game is for you. It has added vehicles, like jets, boats, and tanks.
    This game will have reviews that generally fall into two categories. Online and campaign or offline. To be honest if your not interested in online. This game is not for you.

    Battlefield 4 is all about the multiplayer online first person shooter match ups. If your into that kind of stuff and that's all your into, this game is for you. It has added vehicles, like jets, boats, and tanks. You can destroy walls and such. You can play different roles as soldiers. Some 32 vs 32 match ups. The high ratings for this game are from fans of it's online experiences.

    If your looking for an offline experience, or a campaign or story mode. Avoid this game at all costs. It's dynamic story consist of what is basically a tutorial, and it's main language is profanity. Some for dramatic emphasis is good. But all the time gets old fast. It's campaign mode is pathetically short and unimaginative.

    So if your buying this game for online multiplayer first person shooter, I'd give it a 9 out of 10.

    If your looking for a great campaign mode shooter, this game is a 3.
    Expand
  71. Mar 6, 2014
    0
    I made this account simply to warn people about this game. It is simply unplayable. The story line is linear and poorly done. Multi-player will have you pulling your hair out. The in game glitches i ran into commonly included glitching through solid textures (i.e. floors, walls) and having other players glitch right through me. a couple of times i shot an opponent multiple times only toI made this account simply to warn people about this game. It is simply unplayable. The story line is linear and poorly done. Multi-player will have you pulling your hair out. The in game glitches i ran into commonly included glitching through solid textures (i.e. floors, walls) and having other players glitch right through me. a couple of times i shot an opponent multiple times only to have him pass through me and stab me from behind. Also when you shoot some one you see their character drop his gun barrel to the ground but they keep firing and kill you. I was shot through 2 concrete walls with an assault rifle. The conquest mode is just tanks and planes, if you don't get in a vehicle good luck. The sniper rifles have almost the same specs as the shotguns except no spread. It can take 2 head shots to kill someone from less that 100 yards away with a sniper rifle. Inexplicably you can hit someone with a sniper rifle from point blank, and they have time to turn and unload half a clip on you before you can get another round in the chamber. If your ok with all of the above then good for you. I got mad almost every time i played it. Expand
  72. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    Single Player- 7.5/10. quite a bit better than bf3's, but still lackluster in my opinion. very linear in most parts, and very few chances to drive vehicles.
    Multiplayer- 8/10. when it works, very fun. sadly, that is not a common occurence. lag, rubberbanding, disconnecting, one hit deaths, and frame drops are just some of the problems currently in the game.
    Graphics-9/10. vastly superior
    Single Player- 7.5/10. quite a bit better than bf3's, but still lackluster in my opinion. very linear in most parts, and very few chances to drive vehicles.
    Multiplayer- 8/10. when it works, very fun. sadly, that is not a common occurence. lag, rubberbanding, disconnecting, one hit deaths, and frame drops are just some of the problems currently in the game.
    Graphics-9/10. vastly superior to xbox 360 overall, and at 64 players and 60 FPS (even though it frequently drops below that, usually during levolution)
    Sound- 8.5/10. very good sound quality overall, but i feel it is a step down from BF3, especially the gun sound effects (DMR's, i am looking at you).
    Fun Factor- 8/10. this game can be very fun at times, but the problems seriously detract from that fun.
    Score: 7/10
    Expand
  73. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Battlefield 4 is essentially battlefield 3's graphics and BFBC2 destruction with improvements to both. The storyline is incredibly short and not that amazing even though there are some great moments. and the multiplayer is well the same battlefield multiplayer it has always been. The only thing i feel like this game can do to improve is just to work on a better story and think of somethingBattlefield 4 is essentially battlefield 3's graphics and BFBC2 destruction with improvements to both. The storyline is incredibly short and not that amazing even though there are some great moments. and the multiplayer is well the same battlefield multiplayer it has always been. The only thing i feel like this game can do to improve is just to work on a better story and think of something new for the multiplayer because even though there is so much to do in battlefield if it isn't changed up enough it will get stagnant after awhile Expand
  74. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    Although a very promising game, battlefield 4 tries to ride the wave of success that bf3 had by not changing much, which is very irritating. Next gen consoles provide excellent graphics. The campaign is your typical battlefield campaign, kinda boring, and overall not that great. The multiplayer, although looking and playing very good, has many bugs, glitches, and lag issues. This would beAlthough a very promising game, battlefield 4 tries to ride the wave of success that bf3 had by not changing much, which is very irritating. Next gen consoles provide excellent graphics. The campaign is your typical battlefield campaign, kinda boring, and overall not that great. The multiplayer, although looking and playing very good, has many bugs, glitches, and lag issues. This would be a minor issue if the game hadn't had an open beta, which it did. With each of the fixes DICE puts out for the game, a new problem seems to appear. The rest of the game is basically what you would expect on next gen battlefield.

    Overall, while it is a good standalone game, bf4, even on next gen, is a bit of a downgrade compared to the revolutionary bf3. Not bad by any means, but a bit of a weak next gen jump IMO.

    At least it isn't Ghosts...
    Expand
  75. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    +Great graphics, amazing multiplayer. Good server connection most of the time. Maps and weapons balanced well, great overall game.

    /Decent campaign.

    -Bad connection some of the time, netcode still fairly dodgy.
  76. Feb 20, 2014
    1
    IT stinks, stinks, stinks and I am putting this mildly. I own 2 xbox 360s and also purchased a xbox one and have loved battlefield in the past but battlefield 4 should offer everyone refunds on their games!!!! connection issues to download problem.....even not earning points and getting unlocks.....I have played for hours and at the end of the match no points or unlocks....NADA!!! I haveIT stinks, stinks, stinks and I am putting this mildly. I own 2 xbox 360s and also purchased a xbox one and have loved battlefield in the past but battlefield 4 should offer everyone refunds on their games!!!! connection issues to download problem.....even not earning points and getting unlocks.....I have played for hours and at the end of the match no points or unlocks....NADA!!! I have tried contacting EA and of coarse its a circle of BS red tape to try and reach anyone and when I did get to file a complaint they never replied or contacted me back .....EA has poor customer service!!!! fix your freakin game EA!!!! Expand
  77. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    My actual score is 9/10 but I'm placing a 10 to counter the trolls voting negative because the game is "unfinished". (neilsmif1980 and Cylian1) You can't score the game negatively because it has connectivity problems regarding the servers. Yes, EA is at fault for forcing DICE to release the game early even though they were not ready, but when reviewing a game, you have to look at theMy actual score is 9/10 but I'm placing a 10 to counter the trolls voting negative because the game is "unfinished". (neilsmif1980 and Cylian1) You can't score the game negatively because it has connectivity problems regarding the servers. Yes, EA is at fault for forcing DICE to release the game early even though they were not ready, but when reviewing a game, you have to look at the finished product. Now that DICE has implemented some fixes for stability, performance and various bugs and glitches, we can look at core assets of the game to judge for review.

    I personally think this is the best game on next-gen consoles right now. If you like realistic shooters and a new and innovative experience with intense graphics, sound and gameplay, Battlefield 4 has it all!! The game seems a little bit overwhelming at first with all the content, the size of the maps combined with the amount of players, and all the vehicles. It really feels like you're in all out war!!!

    Go play one round of Conquest and regardless of how many times you die, if you don't think Battlefield 4 is an amazing experience, you're out of your mind. When it comes to competitive game play, this game both doesn't and does have it. Conquest can't really be played competitively because of its size. The squads can't communicate with each other and a lot of players barely have their mics in anyways. Deathmatch and smaller game types like Domination are better for competitive game play.

    I don't wanna break the game down too much. I just wanted to get my opinion out there. 9/10 for me
    Expand
  78. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Well made game, until the last few week before it's release. Though the horrible net code and tremendous amounts of server failures. This game contains...a well made and good graphical campaign, a structured weapons system, wonderful UI (User Interface). DICE has made BF4 a wonderful game but are put down by the lack of its publisher EA. If you are trying to get a game for your next orWell made game, until the last few week before it's release. Though the horrible net code and tremendous amounts of server failures. This game contains...a well made and good graphical campaign, a structured weapons system, wonderful UI (User Interface). DICE has made BF4 a wonderful game but are put down by the lack of its publisher EA. If you are trying to get a game for your next or last gen consoles this would be amazing for you. Although their is still some net code issues, the servers and crashes have been fixed. Expand
  79. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Multiplayer is chaos, in a great way. Now they are fixing bug issues and continually working on updates. Graphics aren't as good as the PS4 but barely noticeable. It's harder and more dynamic than COD: Ghosts and that's why I think some people don't like it. There is a lot more going on than COD. All in all a great multiplayer experience where anything can happen and the landscape isMultiplayer is chaos, in a great way. Now they are fixing bug issues and continually working on updates. Graphics aren't as good as the PS4 but barely noticeable. It's harder and more dynamic than COD: Ghosts and that's why I think some people don't like it. There is a lot more going on than COD. All in all a great multiplayer experience where anything can happen and the landscape is always changing throughout the round due too the destructible environment. 10/10 for sure Expand
  80. Feb 12, 2014
    6
    Its multiplier is fun but the single player is horrible the characters are the most annoying and they give you a false seance of secrty when running in to combat you cant be stealthy you have to run to the battle you cant snipe its just easier to run in now multiplier its okay but you play some maps but like two maps always get picked no voting you can look for the server but theirs soIts multiplier is fun but the single player is horrible the characters are the most annoying and they give you a false seance of secrty when running in to combat you cant be stealthy you have to run to the battle you cant snipe its just easier to run in now multiplier its okay but you play some maps but like two maps always get picked no voting you can look for the server but theirs so many so quick match is your only option its okay but it seems that people like camping its like its intentional DON'T TOUCH SINGLE PLAYER THE KNIVES ARE NOT WORTH IT play some good multilayer battle packs are a good idea no micro transactions so ea didn't mess up this time as much its better then cod ghosts multiplier more chaos more fun Expand
  81. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    A Game that is broken. Sound cuts out, game glitches sometimes. Each fix that is released from DICE introduces new problems. Instead of concentrating on DLC and balancing the game DICE should fix it first, that is however not their priority. Almost 4 months after release and still broken, welcome to Beta culture, where you pay to test a game. Having said this the game can be fun if youA Game that is broken. Sound cuts out, game glitches sometimes. Each fix that is released from DICE introduces new problems. Instead of concentrating on DLC and balancing the game DICE should fix it first, that is however not their priority. Almost 4 months after release and still broken, welcome to Beta culture, where you pay to test a game. Having said this the game can be fun if you find a good squad, the issues that plague it though make it very frustrating to play. Expand
  82. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    Eh.

    The story is extremely buggy - my saves have been wiped - twice. It really isn't all that fun anyways, and it is extremely short. Thankfully there is some diversity in between this linear game. Story: 6. It picks up with the multiplayer, but it still doesn't provide memories like the times I had in BF3. Plus, even on Xbox One, the next-gen console, it still crashes. A lot.
    Eh.

    The story is extremely buggy - my saves have been wiped - twice. It really isn't all that fun anyways, and it is extremely short. Thankfully there is some diversity in between this linear game. Story: 6.

    It picks up with the multiplayer, but it still doesn't provide memories like the times I had in BF3. Plus, even on Xbox One, the next-gen console, it still crashes. A lot. Multiplayer: 6.

    Other stuff? Despite the game's flaws, Frostbite 3 and the graphics are astounding; completely amazing. Constant crahes are lowering my review by at least a point. Overall: 7

    DICE, next time, if you don't release a game that's still in beta, you might have better reviews. Overall: 6
    Expand
  83. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    I give Battlefield 4 a 10 out of a 10. The game is getting better with more updates, battlelog in game makes you more interactive with your friends with missions, and with the next gen technology its one of the most beautiful first person shooter games on the market.
  84. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    I bought on launch and had high hopes. But EA and DIcE have had problems before with there servers a level caps. The 360 does not do it justice. You've got to play it on PC or next gen. Graphics a re good but I love the game play. It is a most get.
  85. Jan 27, 2014
    2
    This game is a piece of trash. Honestly the worst FPS I've ever played. This was the first game I played from the Battlefield series and it will be my last. Campaign mode is brutal. The AI enemies have some form of super intelligence that allow every single one of them to know your exact location and precisely where to aim at all times. And if AI super powers hasn't excited you perhapsThis game is a piece of trash. Honestly the worst FPS I've ever played. This was the first game I played from the Battlefield series and it will be my last. Campaign mode is brutal. The AI enemies have some form of super intelligence that allow every single one of them to know your exact location and precisely where to aim at all times. And if AI super powers hasn't excited you perhaps you'll be turned on by their ability to take 3 head shots from your sniper rifle. There is no CO-OP? Online is more of the same... If you're looking for a trip to the mental health clinic Battlefield 4 is for you! @#$! I hate %$#@ sucking Russians. To me this game has always tried to be 5 years ahead of its time and just never delivered. They try to provide us with these huge destructible maps but crap out on the fundamentals of a good shooter. I hated this game from beginning to end. Expand
  86. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (Entry 3)
    The Battlefield franchise is EA/Dice's bread and butter and i think it should stay that way. Battlefield is the most fun I have ever had with a game it's next gen graphics are stunning and seamless and the game play is almost flawless minis the bugs and glitches that happen every now and then but beside all that the game runs smooth and at 60 FPS almost all the time. its net code isn't the best but it is better then most games that I've played and the guns could use an upgrade on the sound but from what I see Dice is working real hard to get the game working like it should and I'm predicting that in the close future Dice will of fixed all the bugs and glitches and battlefield will be the best game of the year in my opinion.

    p.s. call of duty ghost sucks.
    Expand
  87. Jan 20, 2014
    4
    The game is beautiful and so amazingly fun to play... when it works. At this point they have had months to fix this title but so far have only caused more issues. A large percentage of people still experience save file corruption. On the MP side, there are graphical glitches aplenty, server issues, crashing issues, and a very strange glitch where if you use Quickmatch to join any game typeThe game is beautiful and so amazingly fun to play... when it works. At this point they have had months to fix this title but so far have only caused more issues. A large percentage of people still experience save file corruption. On the MP side, there are graphical glitches aplenty, server issues, crashing issues, and a very strange glitch where if you use Quickmatch to join any game type you are always put into Team Deathmatch.

    Not only are there these issues, but key people at Dice have been disrespectful on Twitter about the state of their game. they also had a VERY long Christmas break where no work was done at all. When you release something so broken you do not deserve weeks off. You are being terrible to the people that have spent their hard-earned cash with you.

    I REALLY hope they put their big-boy pants on and get this rectified. When this game works, its wonderful.
    Expand
  88. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    I highly recommend BF4 for anyone who loves shooters, it is a great team game with alot of strategy involved. It is very fun game, with huge maps that can change whilst in a match, some buggy issues have occurred but it is only in 1 out of 10 games that something like that happens. Campaign I thought was quite good, decent storyline, great missions and a fair bit of detail. A great diverseI highly recommend BF4 for anyone who loves shooters, it is a great team game with alot of strategy involved. It is very fun game, with huge maps that can change whilst in a match, some buggy issues have occurred but it is only in 1 out of 10 games that something like that happens. Campaign I thought was quite good, decent storyline, great missions and a fair bit of detail. A great diverse game that everyone should give a go. Expand
  89. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    This is my first time playing a battlefield game after playing COD in the past. There's no comparison, this game is COD on steroids. Playing COD is underwhelming and boring now compared to BF4. The amount of detail put into this game is amazing and it really pays off in multiplayer.
  90. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    Love the multiplayer, there are new vehicles, guns, attachments, commander, frostbite 3 levolution and great graphics that suit the great multiplayer.... BUT the campaign sucks and is boring and dont even save sometimes and gets rid of my dat on there and i never find a match because of dice's horrible servers. Besides that ... BOSS
  91. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    I hate to do this but I'm giving this game a 6. I've been a long standing Battlefield fan and owned every game since BF1942. However, this game isn't only disappointing it is insulting. I own two versions of BF 4 one for the PC and the other for X1. The PC version is everything that BF is meant to be. The X1 version is everything it shouldn't be. These problems stem from a rushedI hate to do this but I'm giving this game a 6. I've been a long standing Battlefield fan and owned every game since BF1942. However, this game isn't only disappointing it is insulting. I own two versions of BF 4 one for the PC and the other for X1. The PC version is everything that BF is meant to be. The X1 version is everything it shouldn't be. These problems stem from a rushed production and it is completely EA's fault (no wonder they are facing massive lawsuits). The typical player can expect to experience issues ranging from lag to client failures. this game crashes constantly and majority of all bugs have a 50 - 100% repeatability, which means they will occur at least half of the time. Minor issues are abundant and show stoppers or critical errors are just as numerous.

    If you are planing on purchasing this game for X1, I recommend that you either wait until major issues are addressed or you buy it for the PC. As I mentioned previously, the PC version is polished and has fewer issues.
    Expand
  92. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    If you liked the last battlefield you will more than likely enjoy this one. It is what it is…which is wonderful chaos! Are there flaws with the gunplay and the hit boxes? Definitely but I feel like that always been in battlefield. I play it for creating crazy scenarios or raising hell with a mere jeep and an anti tank rocket launcher.

    I bought the game January 7th and have played quite
    If you liked the last battlefield you will more than likely enjoy this one. It is what it is…which is wonderful chaos! Are there flaws with the gunplay and the hit boxes? Definitely but I feel like that always been in battlefield. I play it for creating crazy scenarios or raising hell with a mere jeep and an anti tank rocket launcher.

    I bought the game January 7th and have played quite a bit and have not had a single server issue for the record. I waited to buy because I've been reading how much DICE has been working to correct many of their issues.

    Let me just say the first time I was playing a level (in a Chinese city I believe) and this team was holding a 30 story building controlling the top floor by covering the elevators. After being killed a couple times going up the elevators, I'm finally approaching on my jet ski and the whole damn building comes down along with half of the other team…it was effin' amazing. My teams tanks and artillery had been working away at it. The sound, the dust in the air, and then the flag of course was easy to take…that's why I play battlefield: to blow shtuff up.
    Expand
  93. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    BF4 isn't remarkably different from its predecessor, but is still a winning formula. There are some truly epic moments to be had in BF4, far more so than in BF3. For example, the moment you realise that the building you are sniping from is about to collapse or when you notice a storm working its way in onto an archipelago before an enormous battleship hits the island. Many criticise theseBF4 isn't remarkably different from its predecessor, but is still a winning formula. There are some truly epic moments to be had in BF4, far more so than in BF3. For example, the moment you realise that the building you are sniping from is about to collapse or when you notice a storm working its way in onto an archipelago before an enormous battleship hits the island. Many criticise these events as being scripted and pointless, but I have to disagree. Whilst not only being epic to watch, they change the play style of the map (or at least partly).

    The map design is some of the best I've seen in the BF series with maps like Golmud Railway, Paracel Storm and Seige of Shanghai offering to suit a good variety of play styles and encouraging strategic thinking. The Frostbite engine is ever better, with many buildings being fully destructible, but without making you end up playing on a flat map without any features. If you loved BF3, you will love BF4.

    The classes have been better balanced, with recon now having access to C4 and zeroing of rifles now being a possibility. Assault now feels less confined to infantry only maps whilst Support and Engineers remain vital to any squad.

    Vehicles feel a little outbalanced. Firing a tank shell in someones face rarely results in an instant kill, attack helicopters feel flimsy and the AH-60's feel overpowered. However, these issues annoy rather than upset the balance of the game.

    The graphics are awe inspiring with some maps really showing off the remarkable engine (Paracel Storm in particular). Whilst I've not played this game on any other platform other than the 360, I can safely say you will not be disappointed with the visuals.

    Personally I enjoyed the SP campaign, although the story is weak, the missions are well varied and fun to play.

    In summary, the game is evolutionary, rather than revolutionary, and feels like BF3.5. But the thing that stops this game getting a higher score, is the frustration of the bugs, crashes, DICE's appalling servers and the fact that you're paying about £100 if you want to include Premium. It is frustrating that such games are released unfinished at this price tag when more stable pre-alphas are available at a quarter of the price (Day Z anyone?), and until this game becomes more stable, I cannot justify rating it higher. If you can tolerate the frustration of all this, buy it, otherwise hold off until EA / DICE fix the game properly.
    Expand
  94. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    Awesome game, the campaign is great and the multiplayer is awesome. Amazing graphics (particularly the destruction and water effects). The low score on this game is likely a result of the network / server problems which have been frustrating, but I expect new system rollouts to have some initial issues and should hopefully be mostly resolved in the next month or so. Also, COD enthusiastsAwesome game, the campaign is great and the multiplayer is awesome. Amazing graphics (particularly the destruction and water effects). The low score on this game is likely a result of the network / server problems which have been frustrating, but I expect new system rollouts to have some initial issues and should hopefully be mostly resolved in the next month or so. Also, COD enthusiasts seem to be rating this low because it's not COD, it's not COD it's Battlefield, if you wanted COD I would suggest you just buy COD. Expand
  95. Jan 4, 2014
    5
    i'll keep this short and to the point Battlefield 4 is a good game not great and not bad but just good the campaign is noticably better than Battlefield 3s but the massive number of bugs and glitchs and crashes in both campaign and multiplayer prevent me from giving this a very high score which is really unfortunate because i was going to give this a 10/10 but i can't do that because ii'll keep this short and to the point Battlefield 4 is a good game not great and not bad but just good the campaign is noticably better than Battlefield 3s but the massive number of bugs and glitchs and crashes in both campaign and multiplayer prevent me from giving this a very high score which is really unfortunate because i was going to give this a 10/10 but i can't do that because i would be lieing like all the other idiots who give this a 10/10 this game isn't finished fix this now DICE and EA NOW!!! until they fix this stay clear of this game for now after a few patches it will be fixed but for now do not buy Expand
  96. Jan 3, 2014
    3
    I held off on writing a review until a few updates were available for this game.

    The game is very nice looking especially when it is running on 60FPS for consoles but I sadly it is a broken unfinished product. Some of the issues I had are just enough to ruin the experience for me and makes me no longer want to play the game -Rubber banding on every server and map. I know it is not my
    I held off on writing a review until a few updates were available for this game.

    The game is very nice looking especially when it is running on 60FPS for consoles but I sadly it is a broken unfinished product. Some of the issues I had are just enough to ruin the experience for me and makes me no longer want to play the game

    -Rubber banding on every server and map. I know it is not my connection because I can play every other game fine

    -Terrible netcoding and hit detection. Seriously, What guns am I firing? Airsoft guns?! They seem to do sweet eff all damage

    -Game crashing and sending me back to the home screen

    -Game breaking bugs such as the "one hit kill" bug

    -Campaign progress being wiped automatically

    Seriously, Don't support a company like EA for releasing unfinished products just because they want to keep up with the Call of Duty market. Speak with your wallets and don't buy an EA product, Don't pre-order an EA product and certainly don't trust any reviews that gave this buggy mess a score higher than 6
    Expand
  97. Jan 2, 2014
    1
    Have you ever heard the saying if it aint broke don't fix it... well this needs fixing because it is broke broke broke. This is a shame being as this is a really good game infact in everyway better than call of duty ghosts... except reliability.

    I say this after having the game from the day one. I have played through the Campaign 4 times... without ever reaching the end. This is not
    Have you ever heard the saying if it aint broke don't fix it... well this needs fixing because it is broke broke broke. This is a shame being as this is a really good game infact in everyway better than call of duty ghosts... except reliability.

    I say this after having the game from the day one. I have played through the Campaign 4 times... without ever reaching the end. This is not because I am incapable of beating the game but I am not likely to want to play through the entire game in one go. The save game mechanism does not work which effectively breaks the game. I either get back in and the entire save is gone or I have been put back a few missions.

    Do not be fooled that the latest patch fixes the bugs... it does not.
    Expand
  98. Jan 1, 2014
    4
    Looks great, but lacks in single player content & game longevity. The price tag is far to high for what you actually get out of this game. Im not to fond of the multiplayer side of the game either at the moment, there are way to many problems with servers and glitches. It is near to impossible to play this game with friends as joining each others game is very difficult, not very user friendly.
  99. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Want bugs, you name it, this game has them.
    -Failure to find servers
    -Lockups -Kicks you out of the game, randomly -Glitches (like in Halo) -Poor game physics -Server full errors -Won't let you in games -Quick match Conquest is regularly broken. -and its latest trick, you lose all experience and weapon unlocks. -In game chat does not work properly Not to mention most of the
    Want bugs, you name it, this game has them.
    -Failure to find servers
    -Lockups
    -Kicks you out of the game, randomly
    -Glitches (like in Halo)
    -Poor game physics
    -Server full errors
    -Won't let you in games
    -Quick match Conquest is regularly broken.
    -and its latest trick, you lose all experience and weapon unlocks.
    -In game chat does not work properly

    Not to mention most of the greatest content costs extra to download and unlock. Now let's talk specifics.

    Campaign:
    Is broken. My progress was never saved. I played it the first day for almost 2 hours and then had to leave it. The next time I played it had lost all of my progress and I had to sit through the terrible underwater jeep/truck sequence. Again I played it for an hour and shut the game off. The next time I came back it had lost all my progress again.

    Multiplayer:
    Plenty of issues here. If and when the game works (about 25% of the time) it is fun to play and can be a great game. However, the errors greatly overshadow the fun in this game. You shouldn't have to wonder if the game will load every time that you turn on your Xbox One to play. They have help on the HUD that constantly pops up with the same messages and there is no way to get them to leave and not come back. I played through and gritted my teeth until I reached level 22. I had told myself that I would just deal with the issues because I had already been suckered into buying the game and trying every new patch in the hopes that they would fix it. But then it lost my experience. Put me back at 0 rank and lost all of my weapon unlocks. That is when I decided I have had enough. Multiplayer includes all of the issues I listed above and more. The destruction level is again very weak. DICE again lied to us (as in BF3) about the level of destruction in the game. I am a firearm collector and the weapon ballistics are way off. Some of the .223/5.56 caliber guns seem to hit harder than the 7.62X51 and 7.62X54 guns. Sorry DICE, it doesn't work that way in real life. The game constantly locks up, and boots you randomly out. This means that you lose any progress you made during that game. If you buy this game, and again I am returning my copy, I would wait at least 6 months for them to fix this garbage. I even waited over a month and downloaded multiple patches but the game still has severe problems. I personally won't buy another BF title. They have killed any of my trust that I had for them and their games.

    Commander
    Seems to work alright. Pretty boring though.
    Expand
  100. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    This is a fantastic game that has some major drawbacks. The first one is the unreliability i had a really hard time finding lobbies and the game crashed quite a bit, plus my campaign progress was deleted while I was on the 4th mission,. It wasn't a big deal but still a major annoyance. The second drawback is the campaign it does give you some pretty cool things to do, but everything isThis is a fantastic game that has some major drawbacks. The first one is the unreliability i had a really hard time finding lobbies and the game crashed quite a bit, plus my campaign progress was deleted while I was on the 4th mission,. It wasn't a big deal but still a major annoyance. The second drawback is the campaign it does give you some pretty cool things to do, but everything is about getting points. Its hard to feel for the characters because they're not really unique. Theres the big hearted guy, the leader, the rook, and the guy thats on your team but you still hate. Don’t just pick this game up for the campaign.

    Now onto the good things. Let’s start out with, 62 player lobbies, beautiful visuals, vehicles, and the destructibility. With 62 players in the lobbies This results in massive battles, that won’t get old quick. Thankfully the maps are big enough to accommodate this massive player count. The maps are also very interesting. Secondly the graphics on this game are really freakin good, Running on frostbite 3 this game looks as good as all the other next gen launch titles. The vehicular warfare is also really fun. Nothing really matches that holy sh#t moment when a tank comes at you and all you have is a rifle. The deportability is insane. I was on top of the skyscraper in siege of shanghai and then i parachuted off. I look back at it and the whole thing was falling down epic.The verdict is if you want great multiplayer shooter battlefield 4 does not disappoint. If you're looking for a great campaign call of duty is better for you.
    Score
    8.6/10
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    83
    It may be disappointing to some that Battlefield 4's single player doesn't live up to a hill of beans, but what they did accomplish with the impressive multiplayer mode is something special that cannot be duplicated even by Activision's mighty series.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Business as usual with a mediocre single-player campaign and one of the best multiplayer experiences in all gaming – and at last one that works just as well on consoles as on PC.
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    79
    The score is given on trust, because at the moment you might not get into an online match even after several attempts, not to mention other bugs and graphic glitches. An upcoming patch should resolve most of the problems, but right now the bugs are still there and the single player is really weak. Multiplayer, instead, is the usual blast and the new modes, new maps and 64 players in Conquest mode are simply great.