Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 475 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    85
    An excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing, but a functioning and familiar game with overwhelming action and remarkable spectacle.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    83
    It may be disappointing to some that Battlefield 4's single player doesn't live up to a hill of beans, but what they did accomplish with the impressive multiplayer mode is something special that cannot be duplicated even by Activision's mighty series.
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    The textures, lighting, and color saturation are all slightly worse than on the PlayStation 4 version, but still much better than Xbox 360/PS3. Secondly, though there occasional connectivity issues with the online multiplayer, the majority of our play time was issue-free and full of the immense, chaotic excitement that makes this game shine.
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Business as usual with a mediocre single-player campaign and one of the best multiplayer experiences in all gaming – and at last one that works just as well on consoles as on PC.
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    79
    The score is given on trust, because at the moment you might not get into an online match even after several attempts, not to mention other bugs and graphic glitches. An upcoming patch should resolve most of the problems, but right now the bugs are still there and the single player is really weak. Multiplayer, instead, is the usual blast and the new modes, new maps and 64 players in Conquest mode are simply great.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 141
  2. Negative: 29 out of 141
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playingI'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playing Battlefield 3 on ultra on PC, I have to say I am absolutely blown away by the Battlefield experience on offer on Xbox One. The controls are silky smooth at 60fps and the graphics are absolutely next-gen. If you have been wondering if Xbox One could handle the full Battlefield experience, look no further, Battlefield 4 on Xbox One is a knockout. Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    I gave this game 10/10 for complete and utter failure. It's the 17th August 2014. It's 10 months since the release of the game. I tried toI gave this game 10/10 for complete and utter failure. It's the 17th August 2014. It's 10 months since the release of the game. I tried to love this BF4 at the beginning. I really did. I was expecting the problems BF3 had but i expected lessons to be learned. They weren't! I usually turn the game on for an hour, once a month maybe, just hoping that they might have finally 'patched' what is basically an unpatchable game and give me some enjoyment for the 100+ euros i forked out for their Premium crap. Don't waste your money. Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    Most of the negative reviews of this game tend to be on account of a) lost saved games; b) issues joining servers; c) the fact that it doesn;tMost of the negative reviews of this game tend to be on account of a) lost saved games; b) issues joining servers; c) the fact that it doesn;t depart much from BF3. Fair enough i guess if this is what youhave experienced.

    From my point of view, i havn;t had any problmes with saved games or the servers;;; and i never played BF3 so this doesn;t matter to me.

    BF4 is a great game; so much more substantial than Titan fall which is too much of a free for all.
    Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2014
    8
    Very glitchy even to this day. But saying game Epic fail is just wrong. Sure it feels rocky but, the destructible enviorments, combat,Very glitchy even to this day. But saying game Epic fail is just wrong. Sure it feels rocky but, the destructible enviorments, combat, storyline and gameplay makes it go farther than COD. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    Good game, but not very.

    The gameplay is ok, but it lacks variety. It would've been nice to have something else besides loads of enemies
    Good game, but not very.

    The gameplay is ok, but it lacks variety. It would've been nice to have something else besides loads of enemies and some tanks here and there. It got boring for me at some point.

    The story doesn't help a lot either. It's not bad, due to the characters, but it lacks a captivating narrative.

    The graphics are good however. With minor glitchy exceptions here and there, the graphics feel next-gen.

    I was not interested in multiplayer so I cannot really comment on that.
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    5
    This game will have reviews that generally fall into two categories. Online and campaign or offline. To be honest if your not interested inThis game will have reviews that generally fall into two categories. Online and campaign or offline. To be honest if your not interested in online. This game is not for you.

    Battlefield 4 is all about the multiplayer online first person shooter match ups. If your into that kind of stuff and that's all your into, this game is for you. It has added vehicles, like jets, boats, and tanks. You can destroy walls and such. You can play different roles as soldiers. Some 32 vs 32 match ups. The high ratings for this game are from fans of it's online experiences.

    If your looking for an offline experience, or a campaign or story mode. Avoid this game at all costs. It's dynamic story consist of what is basically a tutorial, and it's main language is profanity. Some for dramatic emphasis is good. But all the time gets old fast. It's campaign mode is pathetically short and unimaginative.

    So if your buying this game for online multiplayer first person shooter, I'd give it a 9 out of 10.

    If your looking for a great campaign mode shooter, this game is a 3.
    Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2014
    0
    I made this account simply to warn people about this game. It is simply unplayable. The story line is linear and poorly done. Multi-playerI made this account simply to warn people about this game. It is simply unplayable. The story line is linear and poorly done. Multi-player will have you pulling your hair out. The in game glitches i ran into commonly included glitching through solid textures (i.e. floors, walls) and having other players glitch right through me. a couple of times i shot an opponent multiple times only to have him pass through me and stab me from behind. Also when you shoot some one you see their character drop his gun barrel to the ground but they keep firing and kill you. I was shot through 2 concrete walls with an assault rifle. The conquest mode is just tanks and planes, if you don't get in a vehicle good luck. The sniper rifles have almost the same specs as the shotguns except no spread. It can take 2 head shots to kill someone from less that 100 yards away with a sniper rifle. Inexplicably you can hit someone with a sniper rifle from point blank, and they have time to turn and unload half a clip on you before you can get another round in the chamber. If your ok with all of the above then good for you. I got mad almost every time i played it. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews