Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 496 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 4: E3 2013 Official Commander Mode Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    85
    An excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing, but a functioning and familiar game with overwhelming action and remarkable spectacle.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    83
    It may be disappointing to some that Battlefield 4's single player doesn't live up to a hill of beans, but what they did accomplish with the impressive multiplayer mode is something special that cannot be duplicated even by Activision's mighty series.
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    The textures, lighting, and color saturation are all slightly worse than on the PlayStation 4 version, but still much better than Xbox 360/PS3. Secondly, though there occasional connectivity issues with the online multiplayer, the majority of our play time was issue-free and full of the immense, chaotic excitement that makes this game shine.
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Business as usual with a mediocre single-player campaign and one of the best multiplayer experiences in all gaming – and at last one that works just as well on consoles as on PC.
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    79
    The score is given on trust, because at the moment you might not get into an online match even after several attempts, not to mention other bugs and graphic glitches. An upcoming patch should resolve most of the problems, but right now the bugs are still there and the single player is really weak. Multiplayer, instead, is the usual blast and the new modes, new maps and 64 players in Conquest mode are simply great.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 144
  2. Negative: 29 out of 144
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playingI'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playing Battlefield 3 on ultra on PC, I have to say I am absolutely blown away by the Battlefield experience on offer on Xbox One. The controls are silky smooth at 60fps and the graphics are absolutely next-gen. If you have been wondering if Xbox One could handle the full Battlefield experience, look no further, Battlefield 4 on Xbox One is a knockout. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    My actual score is 9/10 but I'm placing a 10 to counter the trolls voting negative because the game is "unfinished". (neilsmif1980 andMy actual score is 9/10 but I'm placing a 10 to counter the trolls voting negative because the game is "unfinished". (neilsmif1980 and Cylian1) You can't score the game negatively because it has connectivity problems regarding the servers. Yes, EA is at fault for forcing DICE to release the game early even though they were not ready, but when reviewing a game, you have to look at the finished product. Now that DICE has implemented some fixes for stability, performance and various bugs and glitches, we can look at core assets of the game to judge for review.

    I personally think this is the best game on next-gen consoles right now. If you like realistic shooters and a new and innovative experience with intense graphics, sound and gameplay, Battlefield 4 has it all!! The game seems a little bit overwhelming at first with all the content, the size of the maps combined with the amount of players, and all the vehicles. It really feels like you're in all out war!!!

    Go play one round of Conquest and regardless of how many times you die, if you don't think Battlefield 4 is an amazing experience, you're out of your mind. When it comes to competitive game play, this game both doesn't and does have it. Conquest can't really be played competitively because of its size. The squads can't communicate with each other and a lot of players barely have their mics in anyways. Deathmatch and smaller game types like Domination are better for competitive game play.

    I don't wanna break the game down too much. I just wanted to get my opinion out there. 9/10 for me
    Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This is a very deep game that takes hundreds of hours to fully experience. The learning curve is high if you've never played BF before (IThis is a very deep game that takes hundreds of hours to fully experience. The learning curve is high if you've never played BF before (I haven't) but when you invest the time to learn, it really becomes a full experience that's unlike any game I've ever played. The customization options are nearly limitless as are the things you can do inside a battle.

    The destructive levels add an extra element of gameplay: if an enemy is hiding in a building you can actually shoot down the walls with a tank. The sheer scope of the game is insane: flying helicopters, planes, driving tanks, boats, etc. I really like this game and I feel the early reviews of poor performance are out of date now (as of March 2014). Gameplay has been mostly smooth for me. If you like shooters this is a great one.
    Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    I just got this game about a week ago. I got a good deal on it too. I barely played single player, just while I was waiting for the game toI just got this game about a week ago. I got a good deal on it too. I barely played single player, just while I was waiting for the game to install. Multiplayer is pretty fun. I enjoy playing with a friend. I havent had any major issues. I let people beta test this game for a year before purchasing. The engineer starter gun is terrible. I had to do some domination games to unlock the next gun, which was much better. The other beginner guns are not too bad. I don't feel like I have to purchase any unlock shortcut kits. My friend wants me to buy Premium but I'm on the fence about it. Expand
  5. May 5, 2014
    7
    Same old Battlefield, just a different year. People complain about COD never changing year after year; but Battlefield takes time betweenSame old Battlefield, just a different year. People complain about COD never changing year after year; but Battlefield takes time between releases and it's still the same boring, campy, pixelated, overabundance of useless weapon shooter. It's no more fun than Peggle 2. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    5
    This game will have reviews that generally fall into two categories. Online and campaign or offline. To be honest if your not interested inThis game will have reviews that generally fall into two categories. Online and campaign or offline. To be honest if your not interested in online. This game is not for you.

    Battlefield 4 is all about the multiplayer online first person shooter match ups. If your into that kind of stuff and that's all your into, this game is for you. It has added vehicles, like jets, boats, and tanks. You can destroy walls and such. You can play different roles as soldiers. Some 32 vs 32 match ups. The high ratings for this game are from fans of it's online experiences.

    If your looking for an offline experience, or a campaign or story mode. Avoid this game at all costs. It's dynamic story consist of what is basically a tutorial, and it's main language is profanity. Some for dramatic emphasis is good. But all the time gets old fast. It's campaign mode is pathetically short and unimaginative.

    So if your buying this game for online multiplayer first person shooter, I'd give it a 9 out of 10.

    If your looking for a great campaign mode shooter, this game is a 3.
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    I'm here to tell you how unbelievably bad Battlefield 4 is. I used to love it it was one of my favorite games and it was awesome flying planesI'm here to tell you how unbelievably bad Battlefield 4 is. I used to love it it was one of my favorite games and it was awesome flying planes and stuff but that's when i encountered the bugs non stop server issues, it freezes, crashes to home and it almost broke my disk drive or even system on Xbox one. A little note to EA get your games right and give everybody a refund! Expand

See all 144 User Reviews