Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    85
    An excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing, but a functioning and familiar game with overwhelming action and remarkable spectacle.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    83
    It may be disappointing to some that Battlefield 4's single player doesn't live up to a hill of beans, but what they did accomplish with the impressive multiplayer mode is something special that cannot be duplicated even by Activision's mighty series.
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    The textures, lighting, and color saturation are all slightly worse than on the PlayStation 4 version, but still much better than Xbox 360/PS3. Secondly, though there occasional connectivity issues with the online multiplayer, the majority of our play time was issue-free and full of the immense, chaotic excitement that makes this game shine.
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Business as usual with a mediocre single-player campaign and one of the best multiplayer experiences in all gaming – and at last one that works just as well on consoles as on PC.
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    79
    The score is given on trust, because at the moment you might not get into an online match even after several attempts, not to mention other bugs and graphic glitches. An upcoming patch should resolve most of the problems, but right now the bugs are still there and the single player is really weak. Multiplayer, instead, is the usual blast and the new modes, new maps and 64 players in Conquest mode are simply great.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 112
  2. Negative: 25 out of 112
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playingI'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playing Battlefield 3 on ultra on PC, I have to say I am absolutely blown away by the Battlefield experience on offer on Xbox One. The controls are silky smooth at 60fps and the graphics are absolutely next-gen. If you have been wondering if Xbox One could handle the full Battlefield experience, look no further, Battlefield 4 on Xbox One is a knockout. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    BF4 is amazing loved the campaign even though the irish character was annoying as hell but i loved how huge the levels are and the diverseBF4 is amazing loved the campaign even though the irish character was annoying as hell but i loved how huge the levels are and the diverse ways you can approach the conflict Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    The graphics are better than XB360 versions, but not a huge leap (except for framerate, which is a very nice and noticeable difference).The graphics are better than XB360 versions, but not a huge leap (except for framerate, which is a very nice and noticeable difference).

    New game modes are fun and come closer to some of the competitive game modes I like in CoD. Conquest game mode is still the standby favorite.

    Single player campaign is predictably badly written and acted, although graphically very pretty in parts. A throwaway several hours when your friends aren't online, but one really shouldn't rate the game on this.

    Multiplayer is the same great that the usual BF games are, and 64 player maps make for a huge fantastic addition. Equipment progression is slowed somewhat, but I'm ok with that, as it was comically fast in past releases. I welcome the return of commander slots, although in hardcore games the contribution is limited. An evolutionary change from BF3 (other than the huge change of 64 player maps), but mostly good changes.

    All in all, this is probably a 8/10 game, but 9/10 for being the best game at Xbox One release, and probably the only one worth playing until March 2014.
    Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    As a long time call of duty fan I must say I found the battlefield 3 experience on Xbox 360 very frustrating due to the size of the maps andAs a long time call of duty fan I must say I found the battlefield 3 experience on Xbox 360 very frustrating due to the size of the maps and how under populated they felt.
    So Having taken the next gen leap and deciding to give it another go I am glad to report that 64 player online with fully destructible environments infantry combat and vehicles is AMAZING.

    Having taken the time to adjust to the battle field experience I gotta say I'm hooked.

    The bullet physics are amazing sniping feels like a skill because you have to factor in bullet travel time and bullet drop due to distance.
    After engaging in a long range sniper battle from the side of a building because I spotted an enemy snipers lens flare from his scope from nearly a mile away in the ruins of a collapsed sky scraper (which was awesome) I am happy to report that on next gen at least this is 100% a COD beater.
    The experience is frantic if you want it to be or measured and slow paced if you prefer, every play style is catered for and you can contribute to your teams performance in so many more ways then just racking up kills.

    Every time you load this game up something memorable or unique or exciting happens, BTW my sniper battle was cut short by an attack helicopter blowing a hole in the building.

    THIS IS TRULY THE BEST WAR GAME EVER.

    I'm sorry COD you have nothing left to offer me.

    A SECOND LOOK AT BF4

    After having spent a bit more time (several months) with Bf4 I feel compelled to revisit my earlier review.

    I have to say after some extensive play the shine for me has started to wear off.

    Admittedly the game is still as beautiful as ever and the bullet physics and explosive carnage are still as visceral as any game I have ever played. However the overall experience for me doesn’t quite sustain itself.

    I have begun to find matches to long, punctuated by long stints of not a lot happening and then being sniped from halfway across the map.
    Granted there is a lot to love here and this is certainly a more realistic representation of warfare but I do feel that sometimes the epic scale of the game and its focus on realism detract from the fun.

    Yes the weapons handle more realistically but the side affect of this is that getting kills is a lot more difficult then in say Call of Duty. It requires planning, thought ,skill and the ability to adjust your shooting to factor in distance muzzle velocity and other factors.

    As a result this game doesn't play so well as Cod when your talking about up close and personal gunfights.

    To be honest realism and games have always had a shaky relationship, just because something is more realistic that doesn’t automatically make it more fun.

    Having had the time to rally soak it up, I can see all the positives for BF4 and also personal negatives for myself.

    I can play BF4 and I can play it well but after extensive play I have to say I don’t find the style of play on offer more fun then COD.

    It is always going to be personal preference and I will still keep playing BF4 when I want a more measured experience but a lot of the time what I want is the immediate gratification that COD provides.

    And don’t get me wrong just because Cod is not so realistic and is more immediate doesn’t mean it takes any less skill to be good at it. In fact the level of player skill is getting so high that you could argue it takes more skill to be great at COD. However they are different skills, different play styles, chalk and cheese some would say.

    For me it took me a few months of downtime since Black ops2 to realise that I miss the bombastic fast paced chaos Of COD.

    Thank you battle field for reminding me who my one true love really is. I am glad to know if I ever want a fling BF4 will be waiting.

    So to summarize BF4 Is a great game but it is very different to cod and how much you like it is going to depend on your Priority's and your overall play style.

    To paraphrase the bible "Know thyself and what you like from an FPS and you will have a blast"
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    Good game, but not very.

    The gameplay is ok, but it lacks variety. It would've been nice to have something else besides loads of enemies
    Good game, but not very.

    The gameplay is ok, but it lacks variety. It would've been nice to have something else besides loads of enemies and some tanks here and there. It got boring for me at some point.

    The story doesn't help a lot either. It's not bad, due to the characters, but it lacks a captivating narrative.

    The graphics are good however. With minor glitchy exceptions here and there, the graphics feel next-gen.

    I was not interested in multiplayer so I cannot really comment on that.
    Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2015
    5
    Keeping this short, the strong point and most favorable part of this game is Multiplayer.

    The campaign is fun, but very glitchy and after
    Keeping this short, the strong point and most favorable part of this game is Multiplayer.

    The campaign is fun, but very glitchy and after completing it on the hardest difficulty and collecting all dog tags and weapons, was mysteriously deleted and when I went back to campaign, everything was reset.

    The multiplayer was initially buggy, but now BF4's mulitplayer is still looking beautiful and is still having me go back to play more and more.

    But unfortunately, back when I purchased this game in 2013, this was easily the buggiest mess I've ever seen, and I can not forget the troubles I had with this game.

    I give BF4 a 5.9/10, because the multiplayer is the only thing that held this game up. Without MP, this game would of been a disaster.
    Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    this has to be one of the worst games i have ever played. the single player is just utter rubbish but the big problem is the multiplayer.this has to be one of the worst games i have ever played. the single player is just utter rubbish but the big problem is the multiplayer. After investing over 150 hrs of game play i cant walk away saying i had a good time. the game is hopelessly broken even after months to fix it it is still s!@t to play. So i found myself constantly getting one shot from across the map with any sort of weapon is just a joke. if i had the money i would either sue or buy out EA and DICE and destroy their companies and make sure the employees never found a work again. you will find no help or support from EA or DICE s, avoid this pile of crap at all costs. i am now selling my xbox one and this joke of a game as it was just a waste of money Expand

See all 112 User Reviews