Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 433 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a first-person shooter that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    85
    An excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing, but a functioning and familiar game with overwhelming action and remarkable spectacle.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    83
    It may be disappointing to some that Battlefield 4's single player doesn't live up to a hill of beans, but what they did accomplish with the impressive multiplayer mode is something special that cannot be duplicated even by Activision's mighty series.
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    The textures, lighting, and color saturation are all slightly worse than on the PlayStation 4 version, but still much better than Xbox 360/PS3. Secondly, though there occasional connectivity issues with the online multiplayer, the majority of our play time was issue-free and full of the immense, chaotic excitement that makes this game shine.
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Business as usual with a mediocre single-player campaign and one of the best multiplayer experiences in all gaming – and at last one that works just as well on consoles as on PC.
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    79
    The score is given on trust, because at the moment you might not get into an online match even after several attempts, not to mention other bugs and graphic glitches. An upcoming patch should resolve most of the problems, but right now the bugs are still there and the single player is really weak. Multiplayer, instead, is the usual blast and the new modes, new maps and 64 players in Conquest mode are simply great.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 131
  2. Negative: 27 out of 131
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playingI'll keep this short a simple. Having put a good amount of time in with the Xbox 360 version of Battlefield 4, and many hours playing Battlefield 3 on ultra on PC, I have to say I am absolutely blown away by the Battlefield experience on offer on Xbox One. The controls are silky smooth at 60fps and the graphics are absolutely next-gen. If you have been wondering if Xbox One could handle the full Battlefield experience, look no further, Battlefield 4 on Xbox One is a knockout. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    Amazing Experience overall in terms of multiplayer. I would say its more of a hardcore game rather then a casual game like COD. So it takes aAmazing Experience overall in terms of multiplayer. I would say its more of a hardcore game rather then a casual game like COD. So it takes a bit of getting used to but the gameplay and gun mechanics make this game interesting ever time you play. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    The graphics are better than XB360 versions, but not a huge leap (except for framerate, which is a very nice and noticeable difference).The graphics are better than XB360 versions, but not a huge leap (except for framerate, which is a very nice and noticeable difference).

    New game modes are fun and come closer to some of the competitive game modes I like in CoD. Conquest game mode is still the standby favorite.

    Single player campaign is predictably badly written and acted, although graphically very pretty in parts. A throwaway several hours when your friends aren't online, but one really shouldn't rate the game on this.

    Multiplayer is the same great that the usual BF games are, and 64 player maps make for a huge fantastic addition. Equipment progression is slowed somewhat, but I'm ok with that, as it was comically fast in past releases. I welcome the return of commander slots, although in hardcore games the contribution is limited. An evolutionary change from BF3 (other than the huge change of 64 player maps), but mostly good changes.

    All in all, this is probably a 8/10 game, but 9/10 for being the best game at Xbox One release, and probably the only one worth playing until March 2014.
    Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2014
    8
    Very glitchy even to this day. But saying game Epic fail is just wrong. Sure it feels rocky but, the destructible enviorments, combat,Very glitchy even to this day. But saying game Epic fail is just wrong. Sure it feels rocky but, the destructible enviorments, combat, storyline and gameplay makes it go farther than COD. Expand
  5. May 5, 2014
    7
    Same old Battlefield, just a different year. People complain about COD never changing year after year; but Battlefield takes time betweenSame old Battlefield, just a different year. People complain about COD never changing year after year; but Battlefield takes time between releases and it's still the same boring, campy, pixelated, overabundance of useless weapon shooter. It's no more fun than Peggle 2. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    I wish i could give this more, as from what I've played is outstanding, but the online is still shocking, from not being able to join games orI wish i could give this more, as from what I've played is outstanding, but the online is still shocking, from not being able to join games or randomly crashing back to xbox home, game randomly dropping sound. i've come to expect problems with battlefield launches unfortunately but they are normally resolved with in a week or two. Dice really do need to do something to apologise i weekend of double xp doesn't really cut it... Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2014
    0
    I made this account simply to warn people about this game. It is simply unplayable. The story line is linear and poorly done. Multi-playerI made this account simply to warn people about this game. It is simply unplayable. The story line is linear and poorly done. Multi-player will have you pulling your hair out. The in game glitches i ran into commonly included glitching through solid textures (i.e. floors, walls) and having other players glitch right through me. a couple of times i shot an opponent multiple times only to have him pass through me and stab me from behind. Also when you shoot some one you see their character drop his gun barrel to the ground but they keep firing and kill you. I was shot through 2 concrete walls with an assault rifle. The conquest mode is just tanks and planes, if you don't get in a vehicle good luck. The sniper rifles have almost the same specs as the shotguns except no spread. It can take 2 head shots to kill someone from less that 100 yards away with a sniper rifle. Inexplicably you can hit someone with a sniper rifle from point blank, and they have time to turn and unload half a clip on you before you can get another round in the chamber. If your ok with all of the above then good for you. I got mad almost every time i played it. Expand

See all 131 User Reviews