Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 75
    Onslaught is by no means the definitive must own CoD DLC but it’s solid and gives Ghosts some more legs. So really what more could you ask for?
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    75
    I was pleasantly surprised by Onslaught, especially considering the fact that Ghosts was so underwhelming. Although it won't do too much to change your mind if you're an adamant Call of Duty hater, the new Extinction episode is promising, and there are three solid maps here for the taking.
  3. 70
    It's one of the brighter spots in this somewhat patchy DLC set, but serious online players needn't shrug off a welcome injection of variety. [April 2014, p.73]
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Onslaught is a decent package with some nice maps – 'Bayview' being a new personal favorite – and a good start when it comes to the badly needed fresh content for the games' 'Extinction' mode.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    Although its overall price is excessive, Onslaught is still a good offering for Call of Duty: Ghosts fans.
  6. Jan 29, 2014
    70
    There are just two good things in the Call of Duty: Ghosts – Onslaught DLC: the multiplayer map named Fog and the Nightfall episode of the Extinction mode. Not enough to consider Onslaught a must-buy.
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    62
    With four new maps, a couple of weapons and an extra episode for the Extinction mode, the classic DLC formula of Onslaught is too expensive for what it offers, while the horror cameo by Michael Myers feels a bit cheap and tacky. Zombies, aliens and now serial killers: what’s next, CoD?
  8. Feb 4, 2014
    60
    With only one really interesting map (4 are new in this DLC) and a satisfying new episode of the Extinction Mode, Onslaught is a mixed addition to the CoD Ghosts universe. Acceptable but not a must have.
  9. Jan 31, 2014
    60
    Same old story again. Three new maps, one remake and a new totally overpowered weapon for fifteen euros. Infinity Ward is doing terribly wrong with cod and this DLC did not fix any of the problems from the original game. Luckily Extinction saved it from a bad failure.
  10. Jan 30, 2014
    60
    For the first DLC in Call of Duty’s yearly Season Pass, Onslaught feels like an expansive, if mixed, package.
  11. Jan 28, 2014
    60
    Not one of the best map packs Call Of Duty has ever seen, and yet for some reason one of the most expensive. Being Michael Myers is fun though.
  12. Jan 28, 2014
    60
    On balance, the new Extinction map is probably the best thing here: cohesive and rewarding, it's everything the main game isn't these days.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    5
    onslaught aint the best cod dlc but it aint the worst
    this dlc got me off the seris a little bit because of its very little of usage of time
    onslaught aint the best cod dlc but it aint the worst
    this dlc got me off the seris a little bit because of its very little of usage of time through a three month periord were we could of got a bigger extinction expireance and a better larger map scale.
    plus it wasnt the best time to come out especilly with titanfall just around the corner
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    Onslaught is what you can typically expect from a Call of Duty map pack. Three new maps with a 'reimagined' COD favourite, a new ExtinctionOnslaught is what you can typically expect from a Call of Duty map pack. Three new maps with a 'reimagined' COD favourite, a new Extinction map and two (TWO YOU SAY!) new guns. 'Bayview' is a nice little addition and is particularly fun when playing Search & Rescue. Here the mobile tram acts as a fantastic mode of mobile cover where the bomb carrier can hide and easily get behind any unsuspecting enemies.

    'Containment' is a scenario we have seen countless times in COD. The map is split into two sections with a bridge and two, less discrete, paths of getting to the other end of the map. The special feature of the map only really comes into play when you get a mortar strike in a field order care package and even then this fairly uneventful.

    'Ignition' is a reimagining of 'Scrapyard' from MW2 with a new paint job and some interactivity in the form of some falling debris.

    'Fog' is by far the best map of the bunch and the one that pushes this score from a 6 to a 7. The map is great for most game modes and the special 'Mike Myers' field order reward is by far the best idea that I have seen in a Call of Duty game in a long time. The sheer excitement and terror when someone on the enemy team gets this makes you forget all the misgivings about COD's repetitive gameplay.

    At the time of the review I have only played the new Extinction map, 'Nightfall', once but it appears to be much the same as 'Point of Contact'. The same sequence of events occurs with you and your team mates drilling through a number of hives before attacking a 'barrier' that opens up the next section of the map. This time however the barrier is slightly different, but I will let you experience that for yourselves ;)
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    7
    Now, let me preface this review by saying that I am a Call of Duty fanboy, but, for me at least, Ghosts feels like a massive step down fromNow, let me preface this review by saying that I am a Call of Duty fanboy, but, for me at least, Ghosts feels like a massive step down from Treyarch's fantastic addition to the franchise; Black Ops II.

    Moving on to Onslaught, this map pack comes with three new MP maps, a remake, 2 new MP weapons, and another addition to the Extinction saga. Let's start with MP. For me, the on disc maps in Ghosts are among the worst in COD history. They're just too big for the tiny player cap. These DLC maps seek to fix this. The maps are small to medium sized and actually play surprisingly well. They're fast, frenetic, and actually fun, with the campy horror film inspired map, Fog, being among one of my favorites in all of COD DLC. The only blemish is the map Containment which feels like a map that was supposed to originally ship with the game. It's slow, there's too many spots to camp, and is just kinda boring to play. The new weapons; The Maverick and The Maverick A2, are lackluster. A slow and clunky assault rifle, and an unbalanced sniper variant make for a disappointing weapon DLC.

    Now we move on to the shining light in an overall average pack... Nightfall. Nightfall is a massive improvement over Point of Contact. However, newer players beware! This map is incredibly difficult compared to its rather tame predecessor, and actually took me quite some time to master. The story of Nightfall is actually really solid and is surprisingly well fleshed out through the collectible intel scattered around the map. These intel logs feature something that the main campaign mode lacked... capable voice actors and characters with some motivation and reason. The new boss cryptid; the breeder, is sadly, very under utilized. It's nothing more than a very generic boss fight that borders on unfair at times. Despite this, the ending cutscene of the map is very interesting, and really makes me excited to see where the story will go in "Mayday".

    Overall, Onslaught is an average DLC, but the new Extinction experience really is something special. Fans of Ghosts will be left feeling like they got their moneys worth, but those who weren't a fan of Ghosts should probably steer clear.
    Full Review »