Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 648 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power haveThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    When comparing the PS4 and Xbox One versions side-by-side, there’s little to no variation in textures and effects, but there is a discernible difference in resolution. While both are displayed at 1080p, the Xbox One version upscales the game from 720p resolution. In contrast, the PS4 version runs natively at 1080p, which makes character models, weapons, and environments look noticeably sharper and more detailed. The difference is especially apparent on larger-sized TVs, where pixel density weighs more heavily in picture quality.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Ghosts had potential to be more than it is. As the first series entry on new consoles and the first of what will assuredly be a new brand, I was disappointed to see it resemble its predecessors even more than the franchise typically does. Even without its own significant hook or sense of identity, however, Ghosts is still fun thanks to Call of Duty’s polished and reliable backbone that’s been established for years.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Call Of Duty: Ghosts is a familiar experience, but it’s been fine tuned to almost perfection. The multiplayer is the best it’s been in a long time.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    78
    Brave in places, safe in others, Ghosts will delight fans but won't sway anyone with doubts. [Jan 2014, p.74]
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    Infinity Ward has lost capacity, it's out of ideas. Call of Duty: Ghosts is the same blast of scripts in single-player and the conventional formula in multiplayer. That's all. Fun and addictive as always, this game is silent in your Call of Duty collection, it leaves no trace.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    69
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a mess of a game. That’s not to say that it’s nonfunctional or bad to play, rather, it loses sight of its core principles and eschews an amazing opportunity with the advent of our transition to next-gen, as well as being the first true IW CoD sans Zampella and West, through poorly constructed (and utilised) tech, half-assed delivery of modes and a single-player campaign that sets the series back more than a few years.
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    Quite simply, it’s hard to tell much difference between this and the 360 version. Textures are muddy, lines are jagged and it lacks the smooth anti-aliasing of the PS4 edition. It’s hard to tell exactly what this version provides that justifies labeling it as a next generation game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 146
  2. Negative: 65 out of 146
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    People need to stop giving it such bad scores, it's a good game... 7.5-8 in reality. So much trollin' going on about graphics too, I bet youPeople need to stop giving it such bad scores, it's a good game... 7.5-8 in reality. So much trollin' going on about graphics too, I bet you won't tell when playing PS4 vs. Xbox One. I have both and not sure which to get yet, mainly based on what friends get it for. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    call of duty continuous to do what it does best with Ghosts and that is to release a Blockbuster thriller of a single player, a fun crazycall of duty continuous to do what it does best with Ghosts and that is to release a Blockbuster thriller of a single player, a fun crazy co-op mode and a ridiculous arena styled multiplayer. All of these elements this year to me were very top notch. i loved the single player and i cannot wait for Ghosts 2, the multiplayer to me felt kinda fresh this time around i cant put my finger on it because the only noticeable difference to me is that its become even easier to die. and the New extinction mode is a great new idea to replace the worn out zombie mode. So many people complain about call of duty's graphics compared to battlefield 4. well heres the thing i was delightfully surprised by COD's graphics and disappointed by battlefields. Not saying COD had better but i was expecting less from COD and the world from battlefield and when battlefield couldn't meet the task it was disappointing and when you are in space on call of duty its absolutely beautiful. Because call of duty is such a well rounded game this year I'm giving it a 9/10 no its not perfect but i enjoyed all parts of it where in battlefield the multiplayer wasn't perfect and the single player was far far from it. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    It certainly was one of the worst Call of Duty I played the campaign is good but short, the Extinction mode is cool but requires the DLCsIt certainly was one of the worst Call of Duty I played the campaign is good but short, the Extinction mode is cool but requires the DLCs (summary: it's an incomplete game as all Activision). My grade 5, thanks to these two modes, because the Multiplayer mode is tenobroso so bad, do not know how they made a bad deal !!! full of campers, maps ridiculous and not to mention that the game was poorly ported over to Xbox One, a disgrace with 2007 graphic running at 720p with frame drops is to kill ... Second worst Call of Duty, Black Ops 2 only it could be worse Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    5
    Fine game, but it lacks depth and its hard not to compare to the better pc version. my first game on the NeXT gen console, and i ok about it,Fine game, but it lacks depth and its hard not to compare to the better pc version. my first game on the NeXT gen console, and i ok about it, but was hoping for much more, wasnt blot away to say the least Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm sad to say that COD has completely run it's course. This iteration is so poorly done on so many levels. The campaign is laughable and unimaginative. The multiplayer is the same warmed over, regurgitated garbage Activision has been selling for years.
    Mechanically, the game is next to broken. The lag is enough to make you throw your controller and the map design is awful.
    It disappoints graphically as well. This game certainly doesn't have a next-gen look or feel.

    In my opinion, you should save your $60 unless you simply can't live one year without your call of duty fix.
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    2
    Ugh, where to start. If you've played a CoD game recently, this will not amaze you, and likely won't even hold your attention. It's exactlyUgh, where to start. If you've played a CoD game recently, this will not amaze you, and likely won't even hold your attention. It's exactly like the last 2 IW CoDs, but somehow the story is even worse. I've experienced a couple of slowdowns as well, particularly in the fake Petco Park in San Diego.

    Multiplayer is the same old CoD. I'm so very tired of being forced to use guns I don't know the name of because a good old "M4" is played out. There's a reason every game has the AK, M4, and MP5. Because they're the best. It'd be like a racing game leaving out an M3, Porsche 911, and Ferrari 458, because they're in every other racing game.

    Add to that inexplicably sped up multiplayer genres like Cranked and Blitz, and all I can think is...who the hell plays a CoD game and says, "man, if Multiplayer was just a little bit faster?!?"

    This game was made for the lowest common denominator, and I find it to not even be worth the $30 I paid for it used.
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.
    The history mode, look better, but, its not a nextgen representative.
    My note is 0, this game isnt valid for rent.
    Expand

See all 146 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.