Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 518 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    When comparing the PS4 and Xbox One versions side-by-side, there’s little to no variation in textures and effects, but there is a discernible difference in resolution. While both are displayed at 1080p, the Xbox One version upscales the game from 720p resolution. In contrast, the PS4 version runs natively at 1080p, which makes character models, weapons, and environments look noticeably sharper and more detailed. The difference is especially apparent on larger-sized TVs, where pixel density weighs more heavily in picture quality.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Ghosts had potential to be more than it is. As the first series entry on new consoles and the first of what will assuredly be a new brand, I was disappointed to see it resemble its predecessors even more than the franchise typically does. Even without its own significant hook or sense of identity, however, Ghosts is still fun thanks to Call of Duty’s polished and reliable backbone that’s been established for years.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Call Of Duty: Ghosts is a familiar experience, but it’s been fine tuned to almost perfection. The multiplayer is the best it’s been in a long time.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    78
    Brave in places, safe in others, Ghosts will delight fans but won't sway anyone with doubts. [Jan 2014, p.74]
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    Infinity Ward has lost capacity, it's out of ideas. Call of Duty: Ghosts is the same blast of scripts in single-player and the conventional formula in multiplayer. That's all. Fun and addictive as always, this game is silent in your Call of Duty collection, it leaves no trace.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    69
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a mess of a game. That’s not to say that it’s nonfunctional or bad to play, rather, it loses sight of its core principles and eschews an amazing opportunity with the advent of our transition to next-gen, as well as being the first true IW CoD sans Zampella and West, through poorly constructed (and utilised) tech, half-assed delivery of modes and a single-player campaign that sets the series back more than a few years.
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    Quite simply, it’s hard to tell much difference between this and the 360 version. Textures are muddy, lines are jagged and it lacks the smooth anti-aliasing of the PS4 edition. It’s hard to tell exactly what this version provides that justifies labeling it as a next generation game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 111
  2. Negative: 49 out of 111
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Giving it a 10 because 2 trolls who havent even played the Xbox One version have already troll reviewed the xbox one version... its a cod game that plays like cod..if you like cod then this is cod.. a fun arcade casual shooter Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    One of the best COD's ever! I was pretty upset when the 360 version was first released due to the cheesy sound, character visuals and missing fan favorite game modes, but have a much better opinion of the Xbox One version.

    The graphics are sick, sounds are great, dedicated servers (never get dumped from a multiplayer game) and plenty of weapon and character customization options. If you like the COD series, this is a must own and I must say, I'm a pretty tough critic!

    Only reason why I didn't give them a 10 is due to the fact that Demolition and Headquarters wasn't included in the multiplayer game modes- shame on Infinity Ward/Activision for that critical mistake.
    Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    COD Ghosts. Well, I gotta start off with that the mechanics are good and I actually liked the campaign too. The all new game mode is fun, but not as good as zombies. However, Multiplayer sucks. Guns are overpowered, spawn campers and those pesky hackers. But that doesn't stop me from playing the other parts of the game. Overall, COD Ghosts is a good game when you aren't on multiplayer. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    6
    I am a big fan of the Call of Duty Series and have owned every single Call of Duty game to date. I just wanted to make that clear before writing my thoughts on Call of Duty Ghosts. I do feel that the series is starting to feel a little stagnant, a few new weapons and some new maps do not warrant a new game, these could be added to one of the previous games as DLC. Instead of just rehashing the same game every year please just expand the previous versions with new content. Alternatively bring us something new, how about a Call of Duty game based on the Vietnam War, or even the First World War? How about updating the game engine so that environments can be damaged after taking fire? Why not add some more interesting long term multiplayer game types instead of the novelty modes added in Ghosts.

    I understand the story element of the Call of Duty games is important to some people but the story line in Ghosts feels rushed and tacked on. It can easily be completed on the hardest difficulty setting in one day so doest really add much to the package. The story lines in the older Call of Duty games had some substance, it seems now the developers simply do not put in the time when it comes to the single player campaign.

    I do however like the new co-op mode which is similar to the Zombies mode in Black Ops. Extinction put you and your team in the middle of an Alien invasion where your goal is to survive as long as you can. This mode can be be great fun and offers a little variety in what is ultimately quite a dull package.

    If you are a fan of Call of Duty then you will enjoy Ghosts for a while but you will find yourself getting bored very quickly.There is simply not enough that is different from the previous games. It feels like the series has turned from one of the best series of games available in to a stagnant but guaranteed yearly income for the developers.

    If you own any other COD game then you simply will not get anything new out of Ghosts.
    Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    4
    Infinity Ward continues to disappoint me with their releases of the cod franchise. Though slightly better than mw 3, which is their worst in my opinion, I was still left with a bad taste in my mouth. The campaign was uninteresting, the multiplayer felt fairly flat and the maps were way too big, I would spend some matches with long periods of time trying to find someone with no luck. The lone bright spot to me was squads mode, which did add something new, but really it could've been more. Overall I'm not going to get another iw cod again, sledgehammer games is up in the air for me, but at least I still can trust Treyarch to bring out solid instalments. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    1
    Game is terrible. I expected so much more from it. Its getting a 1 because I sonewhat enjoyed the story, but the multiplayer is the worst I have ever playin a COD game. Its completely broken and they don't seem to care to fix it. Such a waste of money... Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.
    The history mode, look better, but, its not a nextgen representative.
    My note is 0, this game isnt valid for rent.
    Expand

See all 111 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.