Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 630 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power haveThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    When comparing the PS4 and Xbox One versions side-by-side, there’s little to no variation in textures and effects, but there is a discernible difference in resolution. While both are displayed at 1080p, the Xbox One version upscales the game from 720p resolution. In contrast, the PS4 version runs natively at 1080p, which makes character models, weapons, and environments look noticeably sharper and more detailed. The difference is especially apparent on larger-sized TVs, where pixel density weighs more heavily in picture quality.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Ghosts had potential to be more than it is. As the first series entry on new consoles and the first of what will assuredly be a new brand, I was disappointed to see it resemble its predecessors even more than the franchise typically does. Even without its own significant hook or sense of identity, however, Ghosts is still fun thanks to Call of Duty’s polished and reliable backbone that’s been established for years.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Call Of Duty: Ghosts is a familiar experience, but it’s been fine tuned to almost perfection. The multiplayer is the best it’s been in a long time.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    78
    Brave in places, safe in others, Ghosts will delight fans but won't sway anyone with doubts. [Jan 2014, p.74]
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    Infinity Ward has lost capacity, it's out of ideas. Call of Duty: Ghosts is the same blast of scripts in single-player and the conventional formula in multiplayer. That's all. Fun and addictive as always, this game is silent in your Call of Duty collection, it leaves no trace.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    69
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a mess of a game. That’s not to say that it’s nonfunctional or bad to play, rather, it loses sight of its core principles and eschews an amazing opportunity with the advent of our transition to next-gen, as well as being the first true IW CoD sans Zampella and West, through poorly constructed (and utilised) tech, half-assed delivery of modes and a single-player campaign that sets the series back more than a few years.
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    Quite simply, it’s hard to tell much difference between this and the 360 version. Textures are muddy, lines are jagged and it lacks the smooth anti-aliasing of the PS4 edition. It’s hard to tell exactly what this version provides that justifies labeling it as a next generation game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 141
  2. Negative: 63 out of 141
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    People need to stop giving it such bad scores, it's a good game... 7.5-8 in reality. So much trollin' going on about graphics too, I bet youPeople need to stop giving it such bad scores, it's a good game... 7.5-8 in reality. So much trollin' going on about graphics too, I bet you won't tell when playing PS4 vs. Xbox One. I have both and not sure which to get yet, mainly based on what friends get it for. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Best cod since mw2 hands down. It has amazing extinction mode, amazing campaign, and even a pretty good mp.it brings a whole new change toBest cod since mw2 hands down. It has amazing extinction mode, amazing campaign, and even a pretty good mp.it brings a whole new change to cod. The DLCs are always good, and it's worth the money Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    I purchased this knowing full well what a CoD game is like, I have played them since it was just Call of Duty. That being said the last one II purchased this knowing full well what a CoD game is like, I have played them since it was just Call of Duty. That being said the last one I actually bought was Modern Warfare 1, I only played a little bit of the others at friend's houses.

    With that in mind the game seemed fine to me. I wanted a game I could play with others at my house and this is it. A good shoot em up game that I can just mess around with friend's on the same couch. It looked great on my 1080p TV (46 inches so I would easily be able to tell if it didn't). Even split screen works fine.

    If you are looking to get something new and original out of the CoD franchise, you should take a step back and look at your life :D . But not having bought the last 4 games, this one is fine by me.

    A game review shouldn't be affected by the previous games being released, or it being like the previous ones. This is a separate game, and if it were the only Call of Duty out it would be considered a good game. Nothing smashing or out of the ordinary but a good 7/8 out of 10.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    5
    Fine game, but it lacks depth and its hard not to compare to the better pc version. my first game on the NeXT gen console, and i ok about it,Fine game, but it lacks depth and its hard not to compare to the better pc version. my first game on the NeXT gen console, and i ok about it, but was hoping for much more, wasnt blot away to say the least Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    4
    Infinity Ward continues to disappoint me with their releases of the cod franchise. Though slightly better than mw 3, which is their worst inInfinity Ward continues to disappoint me with their releases of the cod franchise. Though slightly better than mw 3, which is their worst in my opinion, I was still left with a bad taste in my mouth. The campaign was uninteresting, the multiplayer felt fairly flat and the maps were way too big, I would spend some matches with long periods of time trying to find someone with no luck. The lone bright spot to me was squads mode, which did add something new, but really it could've been more. Overall I'm not going to get another iw cod again, sledgehammer games is up in the air for me, but at least I still can trust Treyarch to bring out solid instalments. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    2
    Ugh, where to start. If you've played a CoD game recently, this will not amaze you, and likely won't even hold your attention. It's exactlyUgh, where to start. If you've played a CoD game recently, this will not amaze you, and likely won't even hold your attention. It's exactly like the last 2 IW CoDs, but somehow the story is even worse. I've experienced a couple of slowdowns as well, particularly in the fake Petco Park in San Diego.

    Multiplayer is the same old CoD. I'm so very tired of being forced to use guns I don't know the name of because a good old "M4" is played out. There's a reason every game has the AK, M4, and MP5. Because they're the best. It'd be like a racing game leaving out an M3, Porsche 911, and Ferrari 458, because they're in every other racing game.

    Add to that inexplicably sped up multiplayer genres like Cranked and Blitz, and all I can think is...who the hell plays a CoD game and says, "man, if Multiplayer was just a little bit faster?!?"

    This game was made for the lowest common denominator, and I find it to not even be worth the $30 I paid for it used.
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.
    The history mode, look better, but, its not a nextgen representative.
    My note is 0, this game isnt valid for rent.
    Expand

See all 141 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.