Call of Duty: Ghosts Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 690 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power haveThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    When comparing the PS4 and Xbox One versions side-by-side, there’s little to no variation in textures and effects, but there is a discernible difference in resolution. While both are displayed at 1080p, the Xbox One version upscales the game from 720p resolution. In contrast, the PS4 version runs natively at 1080p, which makes character models, weapons, and environments look noticeably sharper and more detailed. The difference is especially apparent on larger-sized TVs, where pixel density weighs more heavily in picture quality.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Ghosts had potential to be more than it is. As the first series entry on new consoles and the first of what will assuredly be a new brand, I was disappointed to see it resemble its predecessors even more than the franchise typically does. Even without its own significant hook or sense of identity, however, Ghosts is still fun thanks to Call of Duty’s polished and reliable backbone that’s been established for years.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Call Of Duty: Ghosts is a familiar experience, but it’s been fine tuned to almost perfection. The multiplayer is the best it’s been in a long time.
  4. Games Master UK
    Dec 19, 2013
    78
    Brave in places, safe in others, Ghosts will delight fans but won't sway anyone with doubts. [Jan 2014, p.74]
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    Infinity Ward has lost capacity, it's out of ideas. Call of Duty: Ghosts is the same blast of scripts in single-player and the conventional formula in multiplayer. That's all. Fun and addictive as always, this game is silent in your Call of Duty collection, it leaves no trace.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    69
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a mess of a game. That’s not to say that it’s nonfunctional or bad to play, rather, it loses sight of its core principles and eschews an amazing opportunity with the advent of our transition to next-gen, as well as being the first true IW CoD sans Zampella and West, through poorly constructed (and utilised) tech, half-assed delivery of modes and a single-player campaign that sets the series back more than a few years.
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    Quite simply, it’s hard to tell much difference between this and the 360 version. Textures are muddy, lines are jagged and it lacks the smooth anti-aliasing of the PS4 edition. It’s hard to tell exactly what this version provides that justifies labeling it as a next generation game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 147
  2. Negative: 65 out of 147
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    People need to stop giving it such bad scores, it's a good game... 7.5-8 in reality. So much trollin' going on about graphics too, I bet youPeople need to stop giving it such bad scores, it's a good game... 7.5-8 in reality. So much trollin' going on about graphics too, I bet you won't tell when playing PS4 vs. Xbox One. I have both and not sure which to get yet, mainly based on what friends get it for. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    call of duty continuous to do what it does best with Ghosts and that is to release a Blockbuster thriller of a single player, a fun crazycall of duty continuous to do what it does best with Ghosts and that is to release a Blockbuster thriller of a single player, a fun crazy co-op mode and a ridiculous arena styled multiplayer. All of these elements this year to me were very top notch. i loved the single player and i cannot wait for Ghosts 2, the multiplayer to me felt kinda fresh this time around i cant put my finger on it because the only noticeable difference to me is that its become even easier to die. and the New extinction mode is a great new idea to replace the worn out zombie mode. So many people complain about call of duty's graphics compared to battlefield 4. well heres the thing i was delightfully surprised by COD's graphics and disappointed by battlefields. Not saying COD had better but i was expecting less from COD and the world from battlefield and when battlefield couldn't meet the task it was disappointing and when you are in space on call of duty its absolutely beautiful. Because call of duty is such a well rounded game this year I'm giving it a 9/10 no its not perfect but i enjoyed all parts of it where in battlefield the multiplayer wasn't perfect and the single player was far far from it. Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2015
    8
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is actually a pretty decent game. I don't understand the hate. I'm one of those who actually HATES Advanced Warfare.Call of Duty: Ghosts is actually a pretty decent game. I don't understand the hate. I'm one of those who actually HATES Advanced Warfare. Ghosts multiplayer is actually REALLY solid and the story is pretty good too. Not great, but good. I do not like the co-op mode. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    5
    Meh, nothing new from the xbox 360 version. Pretty pointless buy for your xbox one. Not a bad game, but you know what you're getting with COD.Meh, nothing new from the xbox 360 version. Pretty pointless buy for your xbox one. Not a bad game, but you know what you're getting with COD. I doubt these reviews even matter for 90% of COD players. If it was a life or death decision between this and BF4 on the xbox one, I would take BF4 ten times out of ten. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    4
    Infinity Ward continues to disappoint me with their releases of the cod franchise. Though slightly better than mw 3, which is their worst inInfinity Ward continues to disappoint me with their releases of the cod franchise. Though slightly better than mw 3, which is their worst in my opinion, I was still left with a bad taste in my mouth. The campaign was uninteresting, the multiplayer felt fairly flat and the maps were way too big, I would spend some matches with long periods of time trying to find someone with no luck. The lone bright spot to me was squads mode, which did add something new, but really it could've been more. Overall I'm not going to get another iw cod again, sledgehammer games is up in the air for me, but at least I still can trust Treyarch to bring out solid instalments. Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the worst Call of Duty's ever made! Single player has the most stupid, generic, and predictable story line ever. For example, in the end you shoot Rorke with a 44 magnum in the chest and flood a train that fell in the water. You and your brother (whoever their names are, these characters are so unmemorable) swim to the shore and everything seems fine; then out of the blue Rorke comes out, breaks your arm, and locks you in a cage in the end cut scene (hinting at a sequel). A step backwards from the innovation of Black Ops 2. The multiplayer is not much better than the single player. **** maps that are larger than in any other Call of Duty. Super fast killing weapons that encourage camping along with the most **** annoying lethal called the IED. The action is extremely boring on most maps except Strike Zone and Free Fall. They completely ruined Scrapyard (called Ignition in this game) when they launched DLC, because of all the campers and other problems this game has compared with MW2. Extinction was a good idea, but fell short after DLC came out. Point of Contact was a bit fun, but could become repetitive. DLC was extremely disappointing. Nightfall was so damn difficult that it was unplayable. The only thing Infinity Ward did right was perk balance. That was it! Scorestreaks are so weak that it is ridiculous, except for the guard dog and the juggernaut maniac. I would have preferred survival from MW3 versus squads in this game. I barely play it. I got bored of this game in less than 2 months. This entire game is a complete pile of **** and can't believe I wasted $120 on this. If you have not bought this game already, do yourself a favor and get a better game like Titanfall instead. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.
    The history mode, look better, but, its not a nextgen representative.
    My note is 0, this game isnt valid for rent.
    Expand

See all 147 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.