Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    100
    The world needs more games like this.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    94
    If you’ve been impressed by just the visual style, you’ll be glad to know that it’s worth buying for that at first, and then turns into an RPG you won’t be able to turn away from.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    93
    The artwork on display is stunning, and the combat is constantly engaging, and the characters openly defy genre convention. But perhaps the best thing I can say about Child of Light is that I was often unsure as to whether I was headed in the direction I was supposed to, and I never once cared. I just wanted to fly to every corner of the world, take it in, and smile.
  4. May 12, 2014
    90
    If you have a small interest in role-playing games, Child of Light comes highly recommended.
  5. 90
    Child of Light is a fun adventure well worth exploring by yourself or with a friend.
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    A modern classic is born.
  7. 90
    Between its artistic strengths and its addictive gameplay Child of Light is a fairy tale well worth the price of admission that I wish more studios would take notice of.
  8. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Roleplaying games still have a place in the world, and Child of Light is a good reminder that it’s possible to honor what made the genre popular while still adding some modern flare.
  9. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Artistically wonderful, depicting a superb story that can take you back to childhood and make you want every sentence you ear or pronounce to rhyme,Child of Light is delightful to play, with great exploration phases and a really good combat system. We definitely need more games like this one.
  10. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Ubisoft Montreal creates something that we could consider as a interactive poem with a RPG nature. A marvelous trip to the fantasy imagined by artists and brought to reality thanks to the UbiArt Framework. Pure beauty.
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    If you like a fantasy rich turn based RPG you’d be an absolute fool not to buy Child of Light.
  12. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a bright spot in a genre overwhelmed by mediocrity. Beautifully retro, yet modern, and incredibly addicting–Ubisoft Montreal has created a rich world and style that is unlike anything I’ve played before.
  13. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    A fantastic RPG with a creative aesthetic and fairy tale narrative, Child of Light is a memorable experience that's as fun to play as it is artistically pleasing.
  14. Apr 28, 2014
    88
    A fascinating, involving and surprising adventure, with huge artistic values and a fresh, strongly European new take on the classic J-RPG formula.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics areThis is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics are breath-taking, and it's quality as an RPG is hard to match. Overall just a really great game. Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    6
    Child of Light is one of those games that transports you into another world and creates a serene, calm, and tranquil environment through theChild of Light is one of those games that transports you into another world and creates a serene, calm, and tranquil environment through the use of beautiful imagery and a soothing musical score. The game makes you really feel like your in a fairytale-esque dream. Most importantly, the gameplay feels very attuned with the story and atmosphere. Little details like the main character's hair blowing in the wind or the wildlife moving in the background create an experience that feels very real. The protagonist's movement feels very natural and smooth and the controls and response time are perfect. Also, the absence of a HUD, really enhances the world coming to life. The combat is decent along with the gameplay in between the combat. The thing that really makes this game stand out is how well everything seems to flow together. The game just feels very natural and easy to play as if it was a game made out of a dream. Downsides for me was because its combat was turn based, it could get kinda repetitive. Having played many turn based rpgs, I'm a bit tired of them when there is a lot of enemies. Your enjoyment of this game will depend on how much turn based action you can stand. Also, the crafting gems system can be kind of confusing and annoying. I love the atmosphere, but wish the gameplay was more than just collecting gems and potions and generic turn based combat. Give it a try though if you like the atmosphere of the world. Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Wow here is a shining example of a game done right. Everything about this game from the story to the combat is simply a masterpiece. Let meWow here is a shining example of a game done right. Everything about this game from the story to the combat is simply a masterpiece. Let me start of by the saying the whole game has been hand drawn using the rayman engine which to me for a 10 pound game (UK currency) is simply fantastic. The amount of detail and craftsmanship that has been poured into this game is fa-nominal. The story is again scripted and planned out by absolute geniuses. The whole game and story is told with poetry though this may not appeal to everyone it still tells the story beautifully in my opinion. The game play is unique and fresh setting it apart from many other turn based strategy games. Overall the game is a masterpiece and I recommend it to be played by anyone and especially rpg fans. For 10 pounds this is a steal and is well worth the price. For anyone that has any doubts about buying this game please do its one that cant and shouldn't be missed! (My Opinion on the game, other peoples opinions may vary. Full Review »