Child of Light Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    100
    The world needs more games like this.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Artistically wonderful, depicting a superb story that can take you back to childhood and make you want every sentence you ear or pronounce to rhyme,Child of Light is delightful to play, with great exploration phases and a really good combat system. We definitely need more games like this one.
  3. 90
    Child of Light is a fun adventure well worth exploring by yourself or with a friend.
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light will satiate pretty much everyone but the most hardcore of RPG fans, and even then, they'll find plenty of enjoyment. There are a few minor issues here and there that hold it back from instant-classic status that could be enhanced in a sequel or future work, but regardless, Child of Light is a noble effort from Ubisoft Montreal, and another win to put in the studio's diverse portfolio.
  5. Child of Light has a lot going for it – amazing visuals, serene soundtrack, cute dialogue, clever puzzles, a relatively large world to explore and challenging battles, all put together into a package that has an unmistakable indie-art game feel. While its inspiration as a Japanese role-playing game is unmistakable, Ubisoft’s effort is a real stride forward in a genre that hasn’t changed much to reflect modern sensibilities.
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Ubisoft Montreal has conjured a fairy tale world that you'll enjoy spending time in, a text-based RPG adventure with its own line in rhyming. Child of Light is a glorious game, short and yet sweet, memorable, gorgeous; an incredible feat. And for the small price you'll be paying, Child of Light is definitely more than worth playing.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    A beautiful and often clever game that doesn’t seem to be aiming as high as it could be. It seems content to simply be pretty and mechanically solid, but it’s not a game one can easily get super invested in. There are the makings of a better game in here, and the combat is reliably entertaining throughout, but Child of Light never quite rises as high as its untethered protagonist.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics areThis is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics are breath-taking, and it's quality as an RPG is hard to match. Overall just a really great game. Collapse
  2. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    Superb game! Got it free with xbox gold but wish I had bought it when it came out. My daughter loved watching me play it, then when weSuperb game! Got it free with xbox gold but wish I had bought it when it came out. My daughter loved watching me play it, then when we realized she could play the firefly on the other controller it made it that much better! She got to learn a LOT about old school RPG and basic mechanics and terms. The music to this game is incredible. The graphics just FIT the game's whole theme and story, very amazing, it is like a true artist put all of this together rather than just some big company trying to cash in on novel concepts and cramming some campy new styles together and hoping it works, you can see that someone really saw the big picture and selected each aspect for a real reason. Only thing that could have been improved on is maybe a more coherent reason for her coming back again (both times) and some additional scenes of what happens to the characters during the ending credits. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2015
    10
    A beautiful game. Simplely beautiful, it can be very difficult at times but the way the game works is breath taking, i had never really playedA beautiful game. Simplely beautiful, it can be very difficult at times but the way the game works is breath taking, i had never really played an indie game before this, but this game is just, i cant say it enough, beautiful. Expand
  4. May 2, 2014
    9
    This game is truly a gem on Xbox One. The music is haunting and captivating, the graphics/art design/story transport me back to my childhood,This game is truly a gem on Xbox One. The music is haunting and captivating, the graphics/art design/story transport me back to my childhood, and the gameplay is outstanding. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is that although I do like the rhyming that the characters use, I don't really think they needed it for every piece of dialogue. If you like RPGS, or if you just like a great story that will stick with you, I highly recommend you download right now! Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2015
    9
    The game is beautiful. I have to say I really enjoyed the game. Its not just the gameplay thats enjoyable. It was the whole experience andThe game is beautiful. I have to say I really enjoyed the game. Its not just the gameplay thats enjoyable. It was the whole experience and atmosphere. My only con on this game is that it ended to short. Rigth when you get powerful its basically end game.. Yeah its indie...wish there would be some DLC or a sequel Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    This wonderful RPG counts with simple graphics and animations, short poetry, light music and a timeline-based battle system drags you into aThis wonderful RPG counts with simple graphics and animations, short poetry, light music and a timeline-based battle system drags you into a beautiful, clean and innocent-ish scenario and are guaranteed to deliver a deep, pleasant experience. Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2017
    1
    Ubisoft recycle son moteur 2D Rainman comme un gros crevard. Ici, une petite princesse de CE2 remplace l'autiste : elle aussi, elle saute etUbisoft recycle son moteur 2D Rainman comme un gros crevard. Ici, une petite princesse de CE2 remplace l'autiste : elle aussi, elle saute et même qu'elle donne des coups d'épée ! à ce copié-collé, Ubisoft a rajouté une couche de japoniaiserie bien niaise avec notamment un système de combat tout droit sorti de Final fientasy !

    ça peut plaire éventuellement à quelques chiards qui comptent les cartes mais pas davantage ! le tout est en 1080pet @60 im/s, ce qui me rassure sur les capacités de la Xbox One : c'est de la puissance et des performances... (!)
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of April 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of April 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: April 30, 2014
    Our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month features the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during April.