Child of Light Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    100
    The world needs more games like this.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Artistically wonderful, depicting a superb story that can take you back to childhood and make you want every sentence you ear or pronounce to rhyme,Child of Light is delightful to play, with great exploration phases and a really good combat system. We definitely need more games like this one.
  3. 90
    Child of Light is a fun adventure well worth exploring by yourself or with a friend.
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light will satiate pretty much everyone but the most hardcore of RPG fans, and even then, they'll find plenty of enjoyment. There are a few minor issues here and there that hold it back from instant-classic status that could be enhanced in a sequel or future work, but regardless, Child of Light is a noble effort from Ubisoft Montreal, and another win to put in the studio's diverse portfolio.
  5. Child of Light has a lot going for it – amazing visuals, serene soundtrack, cute dialogue, clever puzzles, a relatively large world to explore and challenging battles, all put together into a package that has an unmistakable indie-art game feel. While its inspiration as a Japanese role-playing game is unmistakable, Ubisoft’s effort is a real stride forward in a genre that hasn’t changed much to reflect modern sensibilities.
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Ubisoft Montreal has conjured a fairy tale world that you'll enjoy spending time in, a text-based RPG adventure with its own line in rhyming. Child of Light is a glorious game, short and yet sweet, memorable, gorgeous; an incredible feat. And for the small price you'll be paying, Child of Light is definitely more than worth playing.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    A beautiful and often clever game that doesn’t seem to be aiming as high as it could be. It seems content to simply be pretty and mechanically solid, but it’s not a game one can easily get super invested in. There are the makings of a better game in here, and the combat is reliably entertaining throughout, but Child of Light never quite rises as high as its untethered protagonist.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics areThis is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics are breath-taking, and it's quality as an RPG is hard to match. Overall just a really great game. Expand
  2. May 15, 2015
    10
    A nearly tear-jerking experience, filled with a somber mood and an old-school battle system with a neat little tweak to tried-and-trueA nearly tear-jerking experience, filled with a somber mood and an old-school battle system with a neat little tweak to tried-and-true mechanics. The game is a bit short, but was surprisingly fulfilling for days I spent playing it and finding every little detail that I could. Aside from the story, the main attraction IS the battle system, which brings a unique timing to its function that keeps it from being simply a "turn based" RPG actioner. The game is fun, the rhyming, child-like dialogue is sweet in nature, and the game was just a pleasure to play. Worth the money. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2015
    10
    A beautiful game. Simplely beautiful, it can be very difficult at times but the way the game works is breath taking, i had never really playedA beautiful game. Simplely beautiful, it can be very difficult at times but the way the game works is breath taking, i had never really played an indie game before this, but this game is just, i cant say it enough, beautiful. Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    9
    Child of Light is beautiful. The story is unique and is the complete opposite of what we've come to expect. The art style is beautiful. TheChild of Light is beautiful. The story is unique and is the complete opposite of what we've come to expect. The art style is beautiful. The combat system mixes real time and turn based well. The only annoying part is that every character rhymes. Expand
  5. May 26, 2014
    9
    This JRPG is perfect for a JRPG novice such as myself. As someone who can only really remember playing final fantasy, and eternal sonata inThis JRPG is perfect for a JRPG novice such as myself. As someone who can only really remember playing final fantasy, and eternal sonata in detail, I definitely can only play this genre when the combat system keeps things interesting and the art style keeps they eye from wandering. To me the combat system in CoL is perfect. Its not to complicated, but the variety of ways you can approach each fight is staggering, and the active timeline keeps you engaged during the entire battle. The story is very solid and the iambic pentameter writing style doesn't take away from the impact of the tale being told. In the end this game is one we all can enjoy, I think JRPG fanatics are going to have a blast, and those of us who haven't played one in a while can get a nice refreshing dose of nostalgia. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2014
    9
    Not many good games for the XboxOne, but this is one of them. If you like RPGs, you'll probably like this. Great graphics and music and theNot many good games for the XboxOne, but this is one of them. If you like RPGs, you'll probably like this. Great graphics and music and the gameplay is fun. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2015
    2
    This redefines boring. The game is slow, repetative and uninteresting, only the easy achivements kept me going for a while. Not recommendingThis redefines boring. The game is slow, repetative and uninteresting, only the easy achivements kept me going for a while. Not recommending this to anyone. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of April 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of April 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: April 30, 2014
    Our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month features the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during April.