Child of Light Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Child of Light - Co-Op Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    100
    The world needs more games like this.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Artistically wonderful, depicting a superb story that can take you back to childhood and make you want every sentence you ear or pronounce to rhyme,Child of Light is delightful to play, with great exploration phases and a really good combat system. We definitely need more games like this one.
  3. 90
    Child of Light is a fun adventure well worth exploring by yourself or with a friend.
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light will satiate pretty much everyone but the most hardcore of RPG fans, and even then, they'll find plenty of enjoyment. There are a few minor issues here and there that hold it back from instant-classic status that could be enhanced in a sequel or future work, but regardless, Child of Light is a noble effort from Ubisoft Montreal, and another win to put in the studio's diverse portfolio.
  5. Child of Light has a lot going for it – amazing visuals, serene soundtrack, cute dialogue, clever puzzles, a relatively large world to explore and challenging battles, all put together into a package that has an unmistakable indie-art game feel. While its inspiration as a Japanese role-playing game is unmistakable, Ubisoft’s effort is a real stride forward in a genre that hasn’t changed much to reflect modern sensibilities.
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Ubisoft Montreal has conjured a fairy tale world that you'll enjoy spending time in, a text-based RPG adventure with its own line in rhyming. Child of Light is a glorious game, short and yet sweet, memorable, gorgeous; an incredible feat. And for the small price you'll be paying, Child of Light is definitely more than worth playing.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    A beautiful and often clever game that doesn’t seem to be aiming as high as it could be. It seems content to simply be pretty and mechanically solid, but it’s not a game one can easily get super invested in. There are the makings of a better game in here, and the combat is reliably entertaining throughout, but Child of Light never quite rises as high as its untethered protagonist.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics areThis is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics are breath-taking, and it's quality as an RPG is hard to match. Overall just a really great game. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    Superb game! Got it free with xbox gold but wish I had bought it when it came out. My daughter loved watching me play it, then when weSuperb game! Got it free with xbox gold but wish I had bought it when it came out. My daughter loved watching me play it, then when we realized she could play the firefly on the other controller it made it that much better! She got to learn a LOT about old school RPG and basic mechanics and terms. The music to this game is incredible. The graphics just FIT the game's whole theme and story, very amazing, it is like a true artist put all of this together rather than just some big company trying to cash in on novel concepts and cramming some campy new styles together and hoping it works, you can see that someone really saw the big picture and selected each aspect for a real reason. Only thing that could have been improved on is maybe a more coherent reason for her coming back again (both times) and some additional scenes of what happens to the characters during the ending credits. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2015
    10
    A beautiful game. Simplely beautiful, it can be very difficult at times but the way the game works is breath taking, i had never really playedA beautiful game. Simplely beautiful, it can be very difficult at times but the way the game works is breath taking, i had never really played an indie game before this, but this game is just, i cant say it enough, beautiful. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    I was really surprised at how much I liked this game. The animation was wonderful, and the music was beautiful. In fact, I purchased the soundI was really surprised at how much I liked this game. The animation was wonderful, and the music was beautiful. In fact, I purchased the sound track. I was transported to another world in this game and, unlike with so many other games, am perfectly happy with the purchase price. You get a lot for $15. The combat is simple, yet if you master it, rewarding. The downsides are the last level or so seem to drag on, and the crafting is confusing at first. Other then that, I would recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2015
    9
    A very charmig and well designed little game with pretty graphics and fantastic music. Gameplay and combat feels smooth. I never felt bored, IA very charmig and well designed little game with pretty graphics and fantastic music. Gameplay and combat feels smooth. I never felt bored, I enjoyed every second. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    8
    May contain early game spoilers but that's it. That is why I did not tag this review for spoilers:

    Alright so I've only played Child of
    May contain early game spoilers but that's it. That is why I did not tag this review for spoilers:

    Alright so I've only played Child of Light for just over an hour and a half, so take this with a pinch of salt... Here's whats good, meh, and bad about the game. =]

    [ [ The Good ] ]
    - Fighting is actually rather challenging, but in a good way and certainly makes turn based combat (which usually is a turn off for me) really engaging because there's actually a timer for how long until the next move, and with "Firefly", a light, you can actually have the advantage and slow enemies' attacks, thus allowing you to attack before your opponent.
    - Art style is actually beautiful and it really won't matter what platform you get it on; even on Xbox One, it still looks fantastic and I don't think it would matter on any platform.
    - The entire environment craves to be explored and there's some nice secrets to be discovered too =]

    [ [ The Meh ] ]
    - Your inventory will fill up quite a bit so for a while you'll be waiting for a reason to use potions.
    - Not entirely sure where they are going with the story but from what I gather, it might be going down a "Sleeping Beauty" route. After all, the main character's name is "Aurora".
    - Controlling Firefly can be a little hard but you'll get used to it... sort of...

    [ [ The Bad ] ]
    - The dialogue is a little... off. I mean characters try to rhyme with each other and other times it just feels like they're over thinking the dialogue; there are rhymes which just sound cheap.

    Overall, still a great experience =]
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2017
    1
    Ubisoft recycle son moteur 2D Rainman comme un gros crevard. Ici, une petite princesse de CE2 remplace l'autiste : elle aussi, elle saute etUbisoft recycle son moteur 2D Rainman comme un gros crevard. Ici, une petite princesse de CE2 remplace l'autiste : elle aussi, elle saute et même qu'elle donne des coups d'épée ! à ce copié-collé, Ubisoft a rajouté une couche de japoniaiserie bien niaise avec notamment un système de combat tout droit sorti de Final fientasy !

    ça peut plaire éventuellement à quelques chiards qui comptent les cartes mais pas davantage ! le tout est en 1080pet @60 im/s, ce qui me rassure sur les capacités de la Xbox One : c'est de la puissance et des performances... (!)
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of April 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of April 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: April 30, 2014
    Our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month features the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during April.