Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    82
    Short bite-sized chunk of Zombie killing!
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    65
    The additional content is more than worth it to those who loved it, but for those lukewarm to the game, I’d wait a bit and see whether the next episode is compelling and then consider looking at getting this episode in the $30 four-episode season pass instead.
  3. 65
    It’s over far too fast (we explored a bit and finished in roughly 90 minutes) and it’s missing two major Dead Rising staples by omitting co-op play and "psycho" battles. While the single-player focus applies to all Untold Stories, we’re left hoping the other three heroes of Los Perdidos have longer, crazier adventures in store.
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    62
    All in all, this eagle has landed on some seriously shaky ground. Short, boring, and reeking of “been there, done that,” this first episode in the series feels like a poor value as a one-off $9.99 purchase or as part of $29.99 season pass.
  5. 60
    It delivers one of Dead Rising's most intense shootouts to date. [Apr 2014, p.93]
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    60
    Operation Broken Eagle does not propose any new development on the gameplay if not for the fact that the main character can count on a vast arsenal of firearms. Plot is fairly linear and flat, and the first DLC for Dead Rising 3 adds too little to the original game. And the longevity is quite low, with only 3-4 hours to complete the campaign.
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    60
    Operation Broken Eagle is another classic DLC that expands the original experience, but doesn't improve it. Simple main story, new side quests and some cool weapons. However, this is not enough.
  8. Mar 12, 2014
    55
    Dead Rising 3: Operation Broken Eagle is sort of just there. The story doesn't offer anything interesting to shed a different light on the main story.
  9. 50
    If you need an excuse to return to Dead Rising 3 then this first DLC pack might just be it, don't expect to be blown away though. [Issue#108, p.94]
  10. Feb 12, 2014
    50
    Like the combination weapons it proudly (and rightly) brandishes, Operation Broken Eagle seems hastily constructed but not half as entertaining.
  11. Jan 30, 2014
    50
    Unfortunately there is just too little content and not enough character or story development to recommend Operation Broken Eagle wholeheartedly.
  12. Jan 26, 2014
    50
    As it stands, there is literally no reason to get Broken Eagle. It's criminally short, you can't enjoy it with a friend, there are no real benefits if your character is maxed out from already playing the core game, and it doesn't add to the overarching lore in any meaningful way.
  13. Jan 22, 2014
    50
    A mixed bag, then. The new weapons and vehicles are cool, but no co-op and a uninvolving, short main campaign hampers enjoyment. Let's hope for better in episode 2.
  14. Jan 22, 2014
    40
    Extremely short, extremely dull, and extremely expensive for what it is. Dead Rising 3 may not be the greatest launch game ever but it deserves better than this.
  15. Jan 22, 2014
    35
    Incredibly short, forgettably bland, and wholly unnecessary, Operation Broken Eagle does almost nothing to meaningfully expand or enhance the core experience offered by Dead Rising 3.
  16. Jan 29, 2014
    20
    10 euros/dollars for two hours of boring missions, one vehicle, five weapons and an uncharismatic character... Are you kidding me Capcom?
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    6
    This is a short...did I say short. This is one of the shortest pieces of downloadable content I ever purchased. I didn't expect a big over arching story with multiple chapters, but my god was this short. What really annoyed me was that just as I was starting to get into the character, doing the odd little side mission and then it was over. I did this in less than 2 hours with breaks inbetween. Capcom Vancouver...you can do better. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    4
    I payed 10 bucks for this? Broken Eagle offers nothing new to the typical Dead Rising experience. We have been totally screwed over. With under 2 hours of gameplay, no co-op, no bosses, only one new combo weapon and no new combo vehicles, Broken Eagle is terrible. Full Review »
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    It's not that it's horrible, because it's a continuation of the plot from the main game and it's just as polished and playable as that one was. It's just too short and too easy. There are no bosses and nothing is difficult to locate in the slightest. They needed to add a new section of the city to make this a good value. For my $30 season pass, I'm a little disappointed if all I'm going to get is 4 episodes like this. I hope they put a little bit more into the next 3 chapters, but I doubt it. At least the new weapons and vehicle are pretty good, and you CAN use this as a sandbox mode since time does not pass, and it uses the same progress as the main game. Full Review »