Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 657 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available only on Xbox One, Dead Rising 3 is set ten years following the events of Fortune City in Dead Rising 2. Players are introduced to Nick Ramos, a young mechanic with a bizarre tattoo and an mysterious past, who has to find a way to escape a city full of zombies before a coming military strike wipes the city of Los Perdidos, California, and everyone in it, off the face of the Earth. Nick cannot do it on his own – he must hook up with other survivors to stay alive. They've got to fight their way out before it’s too late. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. If it’s a true “next-generation” game you’re after, look no further than Dead Rising 3. Capcom Vancouver’s gory, over-the-top zombie thriller is a technological masterpiece that amply showcases the power of Microsoft’s new Xbox One console. But more importantly, it’s also immensely and outrageously enjoyable.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    85
    The online co-op mayhem is a blast, and I heartily recommend this to any new Xbox One owner looking for an M-rated way to kill time (and reams of the undead).
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Dead Rising 3 is a solid free roaming, with a lot of wicked weapons and many cool things to entertain the player. Unfortunately, the graphics are not something we can define as "next-gen".
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Like a shuffling zombie with its eye on a hunk of meat, Capcom has stayed the path, offering a juiced-up Dead Rising experience that benefits from the next-gen hardware's added horsepower.
  5. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    As a package, Dead Rising 3 is probably the most fully-fledged first-party title for the Xbox One.
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    74
    It’s fun. It’s as fun, if not more, than any of the previous games. It’s not going to change the world ten times over, but for a launch title, this is where we should be.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    Capcom Vancouver shot for a much larger world and, in the end, that idea wound up taking away from the overall experience. In the case of Dead Rising 3, I feel like less would have been more.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 160
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    This is the best launch title since Halo Combat Evolved.
    The Dead Rising series just keeps getting better. The story is similar to the
    precious titles; Discover why this happened and try to escape, but nobody really plays these games for the story. The graphics although not going to take your breath away are still a noticeable step up from the previous generation console. The game has had over a thousand zombies on screen at once, while gas canisters explode around me, setting zombies on fire, and raining blood all around my player, all while driving in a combo vehicle and maintaining 30 fps. The characters also show more noticeable emotion in their facial expressions.
    Everything I disliked about the previous titles is gone! You can save on the fly, The time restraints are much more relaxed, you can make combo weapons and vehicles anywhere, and you have access to multiple safe houses where you can resupply on any item you have ever picked up, or garages where you can reclaim any vehicle you've ever driven. I understand that this does decrease the difficulty of the game a bit, but the added fun factor massively out ways the negatives.
    The game is gory vulgar and everything else you should expect from a AAA zombie massacre game. Over the top violence and humor that goes well beyond being suggestive is the bread and butter of this game. The coop feature works very well also. There are few things more fun than teaming up with a buddy and plowing through hordes of zombies. I would give the game a 9.5 were that an option. The only reason being the not quite outstanding graphics, but since it is not an option I round up to 10. Buy this game it is reason enough to purchase an Xbox One!
    Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    I've played all dead rising's, each game has been a step forward into greatness, perfection, trying to achieve THAT zombie game that Capcom has been trying to make in the past years and my God they have finally done it, done it so well. The look and feel...is no match to the other DR's, playing the game itself is just smooth as hell experience, the game looks really great, NOT bad all as dumbasses claim, the open world and its environment is believable..(I'll stop my review here, it..)

    Its Sad to see all these Negative comments by unintelligent 12 year old's, Children that have never even touched an Xbox one, that haven't even seen a single trailer for DR3, then make some rant talking out of their ass, stating facts that will never happen in your experience with this game, they don't know what the their talking about, they're just a few little kiddies that have nothing better to do or they're some little fanboy, most likely some Sony kiddie, grow the up.....If you an Xbox one and don't know what to get, get this game you WON"T be disappointed.
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    True next gen game with huge open world thousands of zombies great graphics and no loading screens screw u ps and pc fanboys ur all tools this game is verry funny. Collapse
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    There is no denying you can have a ton of fun in this game killing zombies in almost any way you can think off. The graphics are solid with huge number of zombies on your screen. It has a few glitches here and there but if you love killing zombies this is the game for you Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    While its definitely apparent this was originally intended for Xbox 360 it still looks pretty good on the Xbox One. Pros- Thousands of zombies on screen, more variety of zombies, more lenient time scale, tons of hilarious weapons, vehicles, and costumes, nice lighting and particle effects, single and co-op play tons of fun. Cons- Occasional glitches, graphics look like a slightly beefed up version of a 360 title. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    I'm not a big zombie game fan, but there's a lot of fun to be had in the game. It looks good, and plays good. Just wandering around finding blueprints and making crazy weapons to beat up zombies is an absolute blast. A few nods to Capcoms Street Fighter franchise exist in the weapons, and I'm sure there are others to find too.

    Great launch game.
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Killing zombies is fun, as always.
    + There are A LOT of different weapons.

    - DR3 doesn't feel next-gen, because graphics don't look cool
    and the game runs at 30fps.
    - Frame rate drops (the game went down to 14fps once)
    - After a few hours you will get bored, killing zombies randomly without a reason is not fun
    Expand

See all 160 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.