Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 776 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available only on Xbox One, Dead Rising 3 is set ten years following the events of Fortune City in Dead Rising 2. Players are introduced to Nick Ramos, a young mechanic with a bizarre tattoo and an mysterious past, who has to find a way to escape a city full of zombies before a comingAvailable only on Xbox One, Dead Rising 3 is set ten years following the events of Fortune City in Dead Rising 2. Players are introduced to Nick Ramos, a young mechanic with a bizarre tattoo and an mysterious past, who has to find a way to escape a city full of zombies before a coming military strike wipes the city of Los Perdidos, California, and everyone in it, off the face of the Earth. Nick cannot do it on his own – he must hook up with other survivors to stay alive. They've got to fight their way out before it’s too late. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. If it’s a true “next-generation” game you’re after, look no further than Dead Rising 3. Capcom Vancouver’s gory, over-the-top zombie thriller is a technological masterpiece that amply showcases the power of Microsoft’s new Xbox One console. But more importantly, it’s also immensely and outrageously enjoyable.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    86
    Bigger and better than ever, Dead Rising remains true to its conception, and becomes one of the most entertaining games of the Xbox One. It is not the most shocking game in the visual field, but it's very, very fun, and that's what matters.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Dead Rising 3 is a solid free roaming, with a lot of wicked weapons and many cool things to entertain the player. Unfortunately, the graphics are not something we can define as "next-gen".
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Like a shuffling zombie with its eye on a hunk of meat, Capcom has stayed the path, offering a juiced-up Dead Rising experience that benefits from the next-gen hardware's added horsepower.
  5. 80
    The third installment turned out quite good and throws the series killing spree into an open world setting. It could use a little bit of tuning here and there but in overall, it’s so much fun! [Issue#238]
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    74
    It’s fun. It’s as fun, if not more, than any of the previous games. It’s not going to change the world ten times over, but for a launch title, this is where we should be.
  7. Jul 2, 2014
    40
    Get ready for a new generation of zombie-slaying thrills where there's only minimal gameplay to get in the way of the thrills!

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 188
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Huge open world, and a lot of zombies on your screen! The gameplay is the same as the previous Dead Rising games, but that was expected. TheHuge open world, and a lot of zombies on your screen! The gameplay is the same as the previous Dead Rising games, but that was expected. The map is a bit smaller than I thought. There is an enormous variety of weapon you can build to slaughter the zombies... Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Just finished the game, and loved it. Funny, addictive, and steamrolling 1000's of zombies just doesn't get old. Very few games I start aJust finished the game, and loved it. Funny, addictive, and steamrolling 1000's of zombies just doesn't get old. Very few games I start a second play through, but have done with this right away to try and complete things I missed. Few games also make me laugh out loud quite like this too. Brilliant game and a great start to the new gen.
    A f£&k all the idiots damaging the score of a game people spent years of their life working on because of some bizarre affinity for one corporate entity over another.
    Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    The best dead rising of all. It's more funny than both previous ones and the save system is better. The countdown is not so stressful. TheThe best dead rising of all. It's more funny than both previous ones and the save system is better. The countdown is not so stressful. The best game in Xbox One in this moment. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Dead Rising 3 is personally to me a breath of fresh in a boring dead franchise. Ever since the very first dead rising iv never really caredDead Rising 3 is personally to me a breath of fresh in a boring dead franchise. Ever since the very first dead rising iv never really cared for them i mean i thought they were ok but i didn't in particularly care for mindlessly killing zombies through a rushed **** storyline. So they never had any interest to me. Even when xbox live was giving away Dead Rising 2 away for free i probably played for 4 hours, got bored and moved on. The games weren't bad, they just weren't my cup of tea. However this is not the case with Dead Rising 3. The storyline is fun and hilarious the weapons are outrageous, even-though the game takes well over 20 hours to be everything for one play through it goes by extremely fast and there are actual benefits for going back in and beating the game on nightmare mode. Also its simply amazing to play with another person in co-op. this game is definitely changed how i look at this franchise and i cant wait to see Dead Rising 4. spoiler alert! Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Great game, much better than the second dead rising, there is no slow down, no loading screens and the amount of zombies on the screen at oneGreat game, much better than the second dead rising, there is no slow down, no loading screens and the amount of zombies on the screen at one time is phenomenal. Its a shame jealous Ps fanboys feel the need to mark down games then give mediocre games such as Knack a 10. laughable Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    I got Dead Rising 3 on the Xbox One for christmas. Since then, I have played it and beat it. Overall, like the other Dead Rising games, it isI got Dead Rising 3 on the Xbox One for christmas. Since then, I have played it and beat it. Overall, like the other Dead Rising games, it is fun. As a zombie fan, I had to have it. The only big problem with me is the frame rate. That, and the game kind of gets repetitive after a while. It is a good game with a good story. 7/10 Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Killing zombies is fun, as always.
    + There are A LOT of different weapons.
    - DR3 doesn't feel next-gen, because graphics don't look cool
    Killing zombies is fun, as always.
    + There are A LOT of different weapons.

    - DR3 doesn't feel next-gen, because graphics don't look cool and the game runs at 30fps.
    - Frame rate drops (the game went down to 14fps once)
    - After a few hours you will get bored, killing zombies randomly without a reason is not fun
    Expand

See all 188 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.