Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 770 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available only on Xbox One, Dead Rising 3 is set ten years following the events of Fortune City in Dead Rising 2. Players are introduced to Nick Ramos, a young mechanic with a bizarre tattoo and an mysterious past, who has to find a way to escape a city full of zombies before a comingAvailable only on Xbox One, Dead Rising 3 is set ten years following the events of Fortune City in Dead Rising 2. Players are introduced to Nick Ramos, a young mechanic with a bizarre tattoo and an mysterious past, who has to find a way to escape a city full of zombies before a coming military strike wipes the city of Los Perdidos, California, and everyone in it, off the face of the Earth. Nick cannot do it on his own – he must hook up with other survivors to stay alive. They've got to fight their way out before it’s too late. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. If it’s a true “next-generation” game you’re after, look no further than Dead Rising 3. Capcom Vancouver’s gory, over-the-top zombie thriller is a technological masterpiece that amply showcases the power of Microsoft’s new Xbox One console. But more importantly, it’s also immensely and outrageously enjoyable.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    86
    Bigger and better than ever, Dead Rising remains true to its conception, and becomes one of the most entertaining games of the Xbox One. It is not the most shocking game in the visual field, but it's very, very fun, and that's what matters.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Dead Rising 3 is a solid free roaming, with a lot of wicked weapons and many cool things to entertain the player. Unfortunately, the graphics are not something we can define as "next-gen".
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Like a shuffling zombie with its eye on a hunk of meat, Capcom has stayed the path, offering a juiced-up Dead Rising experience that benefits from the next-gen hardware's added horsepower.
  5. 80
    The third installment turned out quite good and throws the series killing spree into an open world setting. It could use a little bit of tuning here and there but in overall, it’s so much fun! [Issue#238]
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    74
    It’s fun. It’s as fun, if not more, than any of the previous games. It’s not going to change the world ten times over, but for a launch title, this is where we should be.
  7. Jul 2, 2014
    40
    Get ready for a new generation of zombie-slaying thrills where there's only minimal gameplay to get in the way of the thrills!

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 184
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Huge open world, and a lot of zombies on your screen! The gameplay is the same as the previous Dead Rising games, but that was expected. TheHuge open world, and a lot of zombies on your screen! The gameplay is the same as the previous Dead Rising games, but that was expected. The map is a bit smaller than I thought. There is an enormous variety of weapon you can build to slaughter the zombies... Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Just finished the game, and loved it. Funny, addictive, and steamrolling 1000's of zombies just doesn't get old. Very few games I start aJust finished the game, and loved it. Funny, addictive, and steamrolling 1000's of zombies just doesn't get old. Very few games I start a second play through, but have done with this right away to try and complete things I missed. Few games also make me laugh out loud quite like this too. Brilliant game and a great start to the new gen.
    A f£&k all the idiots damaging the score of a game people spent years of their life working on because of some bizarre affinity for one corporate entity over another.
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I am around 50% done with the game, and I have to sat holy cow what a blast. The game is top notch when it come down to just finding fun waysI am around 50% done with the game, and I have to sat holy cow what a blast. The game is top notch when it come down to just finding fun ways to kill zombies. Don't listen to haters that complain about frame rate drops, it hasn't happened to me and more than likely they are just trolls looking to sabotage a games review score that they don't own. The only reservation I have about the game is that the zombies look really similar to each other. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    The best Dead Rising in the series. The map is large, and the zombie killing is just crazy. There are a huge number of combo weapons andThe best Dead Rising in the series. The map is large, and the zombie killing is just crazy. There are a huge number of combo weapons and vehicles, the number of zombies on screen is amazing, and the amount of fun to be had is staggering...
    For a little more than a week.
    I am not saying it gets old, it is just easy to max out the main character, and if you do not have a friend to bash zombies with, it begins to feel almost lonely.
    The plus side is the addition of challenges. There are a large amount of challenges that tell you to kill zombies in certain ways or to complete certain tasks, as well as collectables that will keep competitions busy for a while.
    If you enjoy mindless fun, DR3 is hard to go wrong with.
    If you need something a little more sophisticated, you can always go outside.
    Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Whoa... this is a game everyone should play or at least anyone who loves gory zombie games! DR3 Won't make you regret buying it... aWhoa... this is a game everyone should play or at least anyone who loves gory zombie games! DR3 Won't make you regret buying it... a must-play! With fantastic graphics and nail-biting horror, you're not going to be disappointed. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2014
    7
    Dead Rising 3 is a great and fun gaming experience the graphics is gorgeous and the story is superb. I thoroughly enjoyed killing tons ofDead Rising 3 is a great and fun gaming experience the graphics is gorgeous and the story is superb. I thoroughly enjoyed killing tons of zombies and using a huge array of things to kill the zombies with. and the addition of driving cars makes it even more enjoyable Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Killing zombies is fun, as always.
    + There are A LOT of different weapons.
    - DR3 doesn't feel next-gen, because graphics don't look cool
    Killing zombies is fun, as always.
    + There are A LOT of different weapons.

    - DR3 doesn't feel next-gen, because graphics don't look cool and the game runs at 30fps.
    - Frame rate drops (the game went down to 14fps once)
    - After a few hours you will get bored, killing zombies randomly without a reason is not fun
    Expand

See all 184 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.