Destiny Xbox One

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Sep 15, 2014
    88
    Personally I’ve found the experience to be a visceral and engaging one. I’m a huge fan of the mythical sci-fi fusion and have eaten up the planetary environments -- on a visual level -- like they’re going out of fashion (though I can’t really buy cars being on Venus, Bungie).
  2. Sep 15, 2014
    88
    Bungie’s new game is not as gigantic or revolutionary as that hype may have led some to believe. In fact, it has several features that feel like missteps or problems. But that doesn’t change the fact that the more I play it, the more I love it.
  3. Sep 16, 2014
    80
    Destiny is a confident, solid, sometimes stunningly beautiful shooter with RPG mechanics that add longevity and depth, and the beginnings of what could be an incredible online universe. But it feels like the tip of the glacier, and I’m not sure it’s a good thing to be more excited about what a game might one day be, than what it is actually is.
  4. 80
    Not quite the epic journey into the unknown we were hoping for, mostly thanks to poor writing and a reliance on XP farming, but a treasure trove of single and multiplayer adventures nonetheless.
  5. Sep 18, 2014
    78
    The half-baked nature of Destiny's RPG elements are just a symptom of a far larger issue: This is a game that’s straddling the borders between too many kinds of experiences, and in its attempts to have something for everyone, it never fully satisfies on any one front.
  6. Sep 19, 2014
    75
    Destiny stays quite enjoyable as long as it has something new to offer, but this ends rather soon leaving us with a well-crafted repetitive shooter and a disappointing story. The lacklustre competitive multiplayer doesn't help either, so it won't probably be what will keep players attached to the game. Here's hoping Bungie will keep the game relevant by constantly adding new events that won't simply be fighting more of the same enemies in the same environments.
  7. Sep 12, 2014
    75
    It's not quite the epic space-faring journey we were expecting, but for the time being, we'll sit back and enjoy the ride.
  8. Oct 21, 2014
    70
    Destiny feels like the key elements of an FPS and an MMO gently resting shoulder to shoulder, instead of being fused together in a truly creative way. It plays and looks great, and offers many, many hours of entertainment to anyone okay with repeating the same tasks, but it isn’t exactly the game-changing science fiction epic we felt it was aspiring to.
  9. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 16, 2014
    70
    An ambitious if repetitive combination of shooter and loot based ARPG. A boost in loot drop frequency could definitely boost the fun/score. [Issue#254, p.47]
  10. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 8, 2014
    60
    It's a slick, mechanically sound, and lavishly produced shooter that uses beauty to try and mask the potentially great but uninspired gameplay inside. [Issue#117, p.62]
  11. Sep 13, 2014
    60
    A multiplayer shooter that cobbles together elements of massively multiplayer games but overlooks the lessons developers of such games learned many years ago.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1723 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    Incredible game so far, was playing last night with my friends and had an amazing time. Don't listen to the other reviews because to me theyIncredible game so far, was playing last night with my friends and had an amazing time. Don't listen to the other reviews because to me they don't even seem like they've actually played the game or gotten past the first mission. Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    0
    Terrible. Go to X, kill Y, repeat; all the missions are identical. This is the most repetitive game I have ever played. All the guns feel theTerrible. Go to X, kill Y, repeat; all the missions are identical. This is the most repetitive game I have ever played. All the guns feel the same, the maps are bland and you can't talk to anyone else. That is right, no communication whatsoever unless you are in a private chat with your friends. What was Bungie thinking? Lastly, you are forced to play Bungies matchmaking because there are no private games whatsoever. Burn it with fire and stay away. Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2014
    0
    The most disappointed I have ever felt towards a media release in my entire life. Firstly, the game suffers from an identity crisis. ItThe most disappointed I have ever felt towards a media release in my entire life. Firstly, the game suffers from an identity crisis. It results in being mediocre in every category. It's a bland shooter, shallow loot game, and boring pseudo-mmo. The story lacks the emotional depth and compelling nature of Halo and lacks the customization and humor of borderlands. It's the most "meh" game ever. I give it a 0 just for the broken promises and failure to even partially live up to any expectation I have. Full Review »