Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2014
    95
    One of the best games for new consoles. Maybe even the best one. [Nov 2014, p.58]
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    95
    Diablo 3: Ultimate Evil Edition is a great translation of the core RPG dungeon crawler experience for consoles. While, of course, the PC edition reigns supreme, the PS4 and Xbox One versions aren't that far behind, especially when playing with friends cooperatively, either locally or online.
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    92
    Now, with the Ultimate Evil Edition on PS4 and Xbox One, Diablo 3 takes on its highest form, melding the successes of two years of patching with the positive side-effects of porting to current-gen consoles.
  4. Oct 21, 2014
    90
    The structure of the new adventure mode, overly easy leveling and accessibility of overpowered weapons have removed some of the sense of wonder and exploration from the game, but the Ultimate Evil edition is undoubtedly an improvement on Diablo III and earns a well deserved bump in score. Highly recommended.
  5. Sep 15, 2014
    90
    An incredibly stuffed version of the hack and slash action game with RPG elements presents itself in the best light for the new generation of consoles. Tons of content, well-made controls and superb co-op.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 5, 2014
    90
    With all the smart adjustments to the controls and inventory, Diablo III translates extremely well to the consoles. There's a lot to like about the expansive Ultimate Evil Edition and it easily ranks as one of the best titles available for Xbox One. Great work, Blizzard. [Sept 2014]
  7. 90
    With enough content to keep you occupied until doomsday and beyond, this truly is a must have. Throw a bunch of co-op friends into the mix and you even have a true masterpiece.
  8. Aug 25, 2014
    90
    There really is no other choice on current generation consoles that allows oneself to waste hours away on your own or with friends smashing enemies and powering up through shiny, sparkling loot and coming away after a session feeling so good about it.
  9. Aug 18, 2014
    90
    Diablo III: Ultimate Evil Edition comes with two years of improvements, the expansion Reaper of Souls and the promise of timely updates. Enough to justify a next-gen edition.
  10. Aug 18, 2014
    90
    It's just a shame that some newcomers won't appreciate what the early adopters went through to make the fantastic game it is today.
  11. Aug 12, 2014
    88
    Ultimate Evil Edition is the most complete version in stores. It brings all the improvements of last year console edition to PS4 and Xbox One, with the expansion Reaper of Souls and local multiplayer, and more.
  12. Aug 22, 2014
    85
    The simple concept together with its motivating hunt for the bigger and better loot is a perfect fit for consoles – especially since there seems to be a drought in terms of classic hack-&-slay like Dark Alliance.
  13. Aug 20, 2014
    85
    Blizzard's new game represents everything a hack'n'slash lover could desire: Diablo III's involving story, a charismatic villain like Malthael and lots of additions to the original game. If you never played Diablo III, you can't miss this.
  14. Aug 27, 2014
    82
    Long time players will easily get sucked back in to grinding for legendary loot, but the rest may well be mystified by the obsession. Still this is undoubtedly the version to get if you haven’t been sucked in before now and all the bells and whistles add to the overall appeal.
  15. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 13, 2014
    80
    Everything you'd hoped for from a collection like this. The console edition is just as addictive as the PC original and boasts a fun local co-op to boot. [Issue#245]
  16. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Oct 11, 2014
    80
    Upgraded graphics, improved gameplay and all-new content to see. [Issue#116, p.72]
  17. 80
    Technically superior in every way to plain Diablo III and still as ruinous to your everyday life as ever before. The hearty challenge remains beyond the credits, making it definitely worth your time.
  18. Aug 27, 2014
    60
    The gameplay itself represents the peak of the isometric "Dungeon Crawl" genre, with an amazing variety of settings, masses of loot to collect and trade for, and smart RPG elements seamlessly crafted into the adventuring.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite way to play Diablo. I think this game just plays so natural with a gamepad. The inventory system is not perfect, but I'mThis is my favorite way to play Diablo. I think this game just plays so natural with a gamepad. The inventory system is not perfect, but I'm not sure what else they could do to improve it. The changes that came with the Ultimate Evil Edition just make the game more enjoyable. Each player gets their own loot. The apprentice mode, which allow you to play with your friends even if they are a different level. The ability to import your previous console save is a great surprise. I do wish you had the option of importing your PC version as well. And there are a lot more great changes that I'm not going to bother listing here. Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    The xbox one version of Diablo 3 is the game I was hoping for 2 years ago. I currently own 3 copies of Diablo 3; PC, Xbox 360 and now for theThe xbox one version of Diablo 3 is the game I was hoping for 2 years ago. I currently own 3 copies of Diablo 3; PC, Xbox 360 and now for the xbox one. To be honest I don't know why i bought all three should have just been a bit patient and waited and got it for the xbox one. Diablo 3 is a moderately enjoyable RPG on PC and 360 but with only an evening of playing it I'm enjoying it way more on the xbox one. Loot is more balanced, controls feel good and intuitive and visuals are pretty nice. Overall the game is just more fun than my experience on the previous versions though loot 2.0 did improve the PC version. Only frustration for me was still having to pay full price when i owned 2 copies already.
    If you've been holding out till now and you you loved Diablo 2 then this is finally a decent sequel that you'll enjoy.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Diablo 3 looks amazing and crisp. The Xbox one controller feels great to use and is responsive with commands and controls. The story is lameDiablo 3 looks amazing and crisp. The Xbox one controller feels great to use and is responsive with commands and controls. The story is lame and dialogue boring but the voice acting is well done with each class/gender getting a unique voice. Overall a very fun and addicting game that should definitely be checked out if your feeling a lack of entertainment on the new-generation. At least until Destiny;)

    P.S. I gave it a 10 because I don't understand how this game could get anything under a 7, but I say my real score is a 8.8
    Full Review »