Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Dec 16, 2015
    100
    The game's music is perfectly set for the different situations you find yourself in. It's suitably dramatic in the big fight scenes and similarly soft when you get to a more emotional part. Whilst not at the forefront of your attention, the music is always there and sometimes you won't even notice it until it goes silent. Your heart might be in your mouth as you hack a computer or lockpick a door with enemies nearby, and the music will do a great job to reflect exactly how you are feeling.
  2. Dec 3, 2015
    100
    Fallout 4 is my game of the year for 2015 and I know for a fact I won’t be finished this side of the New Year. I don’t want it to be, I love being in the world, I love discovering new things and all in all I just love this game.
  3. Nov 9, 2015
    100
    I have spent more than 60 hours in the Xbox One version of the game and don’t feel anywhere close to having tackled most of the content. Fallout 4 could be the only game you buy for the next six months, and you might never get bored. It’s everything that Fallout fans were hoping for. When it comes to game releases in 2015, the best was truly saved for last.
  4. Nov 9, 2015
    100
    The biggest and most important thing to discuss is the combat. Fallout 3’s combat was lackluster and not without its share of headaches. I’m happy to report that the combat has been refined and even inspired by games like Destiny. You still have the ability to change between FPS and Third Person view on the fly. I prefer the FPS mode and you can tell Bethesda really poured their heart into making it right.
  5. Nov 9, 2015
    100
    Fallout 4 is a game that will spark conversation and a huge amount of love, and there’s no reason it shouldn’t follow in the footsteps of Skyrim as something of a cultural phenomenon. The game’s only real issue is in the dated visuals, but the engine serves a purpose beyond eye-candy, and hey, we’re mostly walking through irradiated trash anyway, right...Fallout 4 is impossible not to recommend.
  6. Nov 9, 2015
    100
    The gaming mechanics are almost flawless which gives the player a sturdy control system in this action RPG that successfully teleports you into this post-apocalyptic world as you search for your son and “save” the world. Sure, the story does take a back seat but this is because you create your own character and make your own story and what a story it is. Imagine being the star of I am Legend or Mad Max as you control your destiny in this nuclear devastated world.
  7. Nov 9, 2015
    98
    Fallout 4 captures you in its world without ever letting you go: it still shows the series' well known soul of a collapsed world frozen in time by a nuclear blast, but this time everything is more fluid and streamlined, from objects management to dialogues to the combat system, with an added management layer and an incredibly dense and detailed world. This is the game to have for RPG lovers this autumn.
  8. Dec 7, 2015
    95
    Bethesda's open-world strengths have always differed from its contemporaries in that focus on world-building and a sense of place above all else. Fallout 4 has all the ambiance and history that made its predecessors such wonderful places to get lost for hours at a time, with a much more coherent set of stories within it. That Bethesda has integrated a major building and crafting tool while finally building a great-playing game almost feels like a bonus.
  9. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 11, 2015
    95
    You’ll have to deal with people who grew up with no understanding of morality and civility, gain their respect (by force, if necessary) and build bright post-nuclear future with them. Wasteland domination is just a step away. [Issue#203, p.46]
  10. Nov 9, 2015
    95
    Fallout 4 is the most complete game Bethesda Game Studios has ever created. The studios lifted exploring a nuclear wasteland to yet another level.
  11. Nov 9, 2015
    95
    The magnitude of the world is awe-inspiring, and even with the lukewarm additions of crafting and building, Fallout 4 manages to be as enthralling an experience as any open-world adventure to date.
  12. Nov 9, 2015
    95
    Even the technical shakiness that crops up here and there can’t even begin to slow down its momentum.
  13. Nov 9, 2015
    93
    I’ve spent around 50 hours playing between the console and PC versions, and I don’t feel like I’m anywhere near quitting...And that’s what we want from Fallout, right? A world we can dive into completely and spend days exploring. Well, if that’s what you come to Bethesda products for, you’re going to get it here.
  14. Nov 9, 2015
    92
    Masterful design, excellent art direction and fresh gameplay elements turn Fallout 4 into a delightful, never-ending experience. It may not be perfect, but you won't want to miss it.
  15. Jan 8, 2016
    90
    Fallout 4 is truly a remarkable experience and you need to play it.
  16. Games Master UK
    Jan 3, 2016
    90
    Sometimes beautiful, a bit broken, and really quite brilliant in many places, forgiving fans will adore Fallout 4. [Christmas 2015, p.60]
  17. More Fallout 3.9 than 4, but still absolutely essential. Skyrim 2 has a hard act to follow. [Jan 2016, p.67]
  18. Dec 5, 2015
    90
    Fallout 4 isn't perfect by any means, but the sheer scope of the game as a whole and the incredibly well-structured world means that should you dare to take the plunge, you'll be swimming around in these waters for dozens, if not hundreds of hours. The bugs may threaten to spoil the show, but every time one rears its head and makes you want to stop playing, you'll feel the pangs within the hour to go back and give things another go.
  19. Nov 18, 2015
    90
    It’s massive and compelling and at times boneheaded, but usually brilliant. Stylish, deep, story-driven, tactical, action-packed: Few if any games manage to be so many things at once, and despite some hiccups, Fallout 4 turns the end of the world into a real blast.
  20. Nov 13, 2015
    90
    Fallout 4 is the epitome of what an open world RPG should be.
  21. Nov 9, 2015
    90
    The insane amount, and variety, of content available in this game is going to make it an experience that players don’t want to walk away from for at least the next year. The graphics may hold it back from being the game that defines this console generation, but the unforgettable narrative and open-world experience are more than enough to make up for the slightly dated aesthetic.
  22. 90
    In creating Fallout 4, Bethesda has built upon one of the greatest games of all-time and released a very impressive and immersive sequel. It's not perfect, or the exact sequel that I was hoping for, but it's a rich and detailed experience that fans of the series will surely appreciate.
  23. Nov 9, 2015
    90
    A (mega)ton of adventure awaits those who have the hours to fully experience Fallout 4’s beautifully devastated wasteland. Best of all, players will be able to experience it however they wish thanks to near infinite gameplay options.
  24. Nov 9, 2015
    90
    Fallout 4 didn’t blow me away like the previous iteration did, but it did keep me thoroughly entertained and fully vested in journeying across the wasteland.
  25. Nov 9, 2015
    90
    Bethesda have done it again, refining the formula for open-world RPGs and delivering a vast, deep and involving experience.
  26. 90
    Fallout 4 might not be as technically advanced as, say The Witcher 3, but it’s a game full of charm and substance, which makes up for an aging Creation Engine. Fallout 4 boasts an incredible world full of intrigue, mystery and suspense, backed by a whole host of weird and wonderful characters. It’s a world you’re going to want to go back to, time and time again.
  27. Nov 9, 2015
    90
    Fallout 4 is hugely ambitious and without a doubt one of the best games this year. It’s not without its flaws, but very few games made me care more about what I was picking up, how to use it, what choices I made, and even the communities I’d founded. By streamlining some mechanics, Bethesda has made room for other more complex ideas. If you can forgive a few technical imperfections, of which there aren’t as many as prior instalments, Fallout 4 exceeds all expectations.
  28. Nov 9, 2015
    90
    The fact that your decisions stick with you after walking away from the game is a testament to the great storytelling on hand. Fallout 4 is an argument for substance over style, and an excellent addition to the revered open-world series.
  29. Nov 9, 2015
    90
    It’s a gigantic game, with a gargantuan number of story-lines and missions, a crafting system that’s out of this world, and better gameplay when compared with its predecessor. The sheer quantity and quality of it all almost made us forget the bugs. Almost. After all, the number of glitches and hiccups we found in the game is pretty high too, and while this doesn’t really ruin the experience, it makes it imperfect. Basically, Fallout 4 is what we expected: a bigger, better, and smarter Fallout 3, and that is more than enough to make it great, even if it’s not the absolute masterpiece some were expecting.
  30. Fallout 4 has a huge and detailed game world. In terms of atmosphere, the game totally nails it. However all the bugs and glitches are annoying and affect the game experience from time to time.
  31. Nov 9, 2015
    89
    The biggest letdown of Fallout 4 is that by now the engine is almost as retro as the style of the game, because this iteration has the same technical limitations Bethesda-RPG’s have had since 2006. Thankfully the story is more vivid, the customization system that handily cooperates with the building of settlements and the Power Armor is ridiculously expansive, and slightly faster gameplay makes it feel fresh enough. Bethesda-lovers will be engrossed, totally, but this is no revolution.
  32. Nov 18, 2015
    85
    In the end, Fallout 4 is essentially Fallout 3 with a few more features and tweaks. That isn't a dig at the game, but that's what most fans of the series will think.
  33. Dec 1, 2015
    80
    Fallout 4 feels more like a Fallout 3.5: an improvement on Bethesda’s last game but a compromised one that loses some of the core appeal of the series.
  34. Nov 20, 2015
    80
    The war on videogames is ever changing, however, and Fallout will need to bring more toys to the battle next time or risk rotting in the wasteland.
  35. Nov 13, 2015
    80
    Fallout 4 is a genuine achievement, an awesome wasteland survival simulator that suffers from familiar Bethesda problems. Clear your schedule, Fallout 4 will demand all of your spare time.
  36. 80
    If you're willing to put up with some technical issues, Fallout 4 is Bethesda's most ambitious RPG to date.
  37. Fallout 4 is not the bar-raising, generation-defining post-apocalyptic RPG for which players like me might have hoped. But – and this is a great testament to Bethesda Softworks’ ability to transport us to fantastical worlds in which we become utterly engrossed – it is nonetheless a great piece of end of the world entertainment that’s managed to keep my hands firmly on my controller and my eyes glued to the screen and for dozens of enjoyable hours over the last week...Just don’t expect to be blown away with how it looks.
  38. Nov 9, 2015
    75
    After spending roughly 40 hours with the game, I can safely place it somewhere in the middle of Fallout 3 and New Vegas in terms of quality. A lot of the franchise's signature problems have carried over directly into Fallout 4, but all of its charms have come along for the ride as well. It manages to do a whole lot right, but the story drags at times, and glitches...glitches never change.
  39. Nov 10, 2015
    60
    At some point, I just want the games to work reliably. Fallout 4 follows in the footsteps of its predecessors, which is to say that it's a large, sprawling world filled with so many different quests and locations that most players will miss entire subplots as they scavenge their way from one side of the world to the other. That's also to say that it's occasionally kind of broken, from performance issues specific to the console versions to scripting glitches that might just prevent you from progressing to the same sort of "physics gone wild" moments that make for killer animated gifs and such.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 8, 2015
    In large doses, all that fighting can be tiresome, but the best thing about Fallout 4 is that it wants you to have something to fight for—more than just a vendetta, or some life-saving MacGuffin, or the player’s own bloodthirsty whims.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1842 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2015
    4
    No "Hardcore mode", no weapon/armor degradation, no reputation system, no "traits", and the plot and characters are flat.
    But you can build
    No "Hardcore mode", no weapon/armor degradation, no reputation system, no "traits", and the plot and characters are flat.
    But you can build weapons, houses and interact with the "real" pip-boy, so who cares?

    If you enjoyed New Vegas, DON'T BUY IT.
    It's FarCry with Skirym features.

    Thanks Bethesda for ruining the Fallout series.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2015
    5
    The main story in Fallout 4 is painfully unimaginative. Characters are extremely one dimensional. Dialogue is basically pointless unless youThe main story in Fallout 4 is painfully unimaginative. Characters are extremely one dimensional. Dialogue is basically pointless unless you just need it to carry on to the next part of the mission. As a whole, game feels like it has fallen into the same trap that a lot of the current gen over-hyped games are doing. It lacks creativity.

    Compared to previous Fallout games (including New Vegas) there is nothing that hooks you in and makes you want to play for hours on end. I have already run into glitches that are very similar to previous Bethesda games so that only takes off maybe one point for me. The bad rating comes from the fact that there is really nothing that is motivating me to progress through the actual story. I feel like wandering around and hope I find something that will temporarily spikes my interest.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2015
    0
    This is not an RPG and therefore this is not Fallout. What's worse is reviewers are too afraid of ticking off Bethesda to give them the scoresThis is not an RPG and therefore this is not Fallout. What's worse is reviewers are too afraid of ticking off Bethesda to give them the scores they really deserve. Bethesda need to be made aware of the shortcomings so that the next iteration is the Fallout game we, they, and this series deserve.

    To begin, not only have Bethesda not improved enough from Fallout 3, but they even regressed in several critical areas. The dialogue is beyond simplified and therefore the core of RPG lore and world-building has been eradicated almost entirely. The dialogue "options" aren't informative at all and on top of that, the game's writing is putrid. The player character's voice is even predetermined for you and nothing you do actually alters the direction of the game's narrative. This doesn't deliver the masterful narrative potential Fallout has and initially strove to achieve.

    There is no choice and consequence, no reputation changes from your actions, and no feedback to anything you do. "Freedom" means nothing in an RPG when none of your available actions mean anything. I find this particularly disheartening since it saps me of any motivation to do anything when the narrative provided for those actions is not only weak, but nothing I do matters. What's truly astounding is that Bethesda actually regressed in this area since the days of Morrowind or even Oblivion where at least a basic reputation system existed and guards hailed me as the Champion of the Arena or something.

    The gunplay and actual gameplay beyond dialogue and decision-branching don’t fare much better. This game is too simplified in every way right down to leveling-up and the lack of a proper RPG difficulty curve (ie. start weak, play a lot, progressively get better). The game's internal logic is highly inconsistent and the world is most certainly not immersive as a result.

    Furthermore, the game is utter garbage from a technical standpoint. Remember Crysis from 2007? Heck, forget Crysis. Remember Oblivion from 2006? The game was very technically ambitious for an early 2006 title and its beauty and immersiveness benefited greatly as a result. Morrowind was the same way. However, now that Bethesda are more financially successful than ever, they've become content with recycling an ancient engine and associated assets. The result is this inconsistent Franktenstein-esque monstrosity with poor poly-counts, crap textures, archaic hardware usage, and severely lacking lighting and general effects. Bethesda from 2002 would be ashamed of this stagnant nonsense. No matter the resolution, no matter the hardware, this game is muddy and technically conservative. And yet it still performs like trash with countless bugs and glitches. Bethesda haven't advanced their animations despite all these years, either. There is no excuse for this. Bethesda have the cash, they just don't have the demand from their fans.

    I used to think Bethesda's games had the potential to be legitimate art back in the Morrowind days, but now I wonder. Despite their explosive financial success, Bethesda have only managed to stagnate at best and significantly regress at worst in their delivery of masterful RPGs. It's to the point where Fallout 4 simply isn't an RPG by any knowledgeable definition. Morrowind's setting and RPG mechanics once captivated my soul and mind and led me to dream great things about the future of Bethesda RPGs. Oblivion still wasn't half-bad, particularly with the Shivering Isles expansion. Bethesda's first Fallout game (Fallout 3) had its shortcomings but was a strong seminal effort. However, Fallout 4 has crushed my decade+ old hopes and failed to even deliver an RPG let alone any semblance of the creativity and ambition that once permeated throughout Bethesda's games or Fallout in general.

    I dream no more.
    Full Review »