Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 276 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shooting has been transformed. Players now have the intelligence to adjust their stride and approach angle to find the best position for hitting the back of the net. Well-hit balls feel satisfying and goals are rewarding. As well as quality strikes, players can now shoot while off balance or rushed. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 on next-gen consoles is a love letter to soccer fans. They get the best of both worlds — incredible game play built on top of amazing visuals that can only be replicated on this new generation of consoles.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    96
    A great demonstration of how to craft a new console launch game, leveraging the machine's strengths with a new engine capable not only of giving the game a renewed look but improved gameplay as well.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    91
    What FIFA 14 on next-gen consoles does right now is add an impressive visual layer to an already brilliant sports game.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    89
    Like FIFA 14 on PS3 and Xbox 360, this next-gen version take some risks with new improvements and new situations that offer more realism in general. Although the game isn't as fluid as its predecessor in some moments. Incredible in presentation and Licenses. Ignite promises many steps forward.
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    88
    Ultimate Team players will want to grab the Xbox One version of the game due to its exclusive Legend cards.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    85
    The base quality is there – just like in the current gen versions. And there are lots of small additions, some of them more useful than others. But overall it is not the significant progress I was hoping for.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    This is the quintessential version of FIFA 14. It brings a level of authenticity never before seen in the genre and sets new standards for player control and stadium atmosphere.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 51
  2. Negative: 26 out of 51
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    It is a amazing game. It's the best game ever. I love the Fifa Ultimate Team mode. The version for xbox one is espetacular! Graphics from another world, worth every buck. A real next gen game. I'm really excited with this game. There is just one tiny problem, I can't stop to play it, and there are a lot of good games to play, as well. Collapse
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    At the beginning I felt it like a strange and horrible game, but after playing it in the Xbox One, and getting use to the new improvements I found it so natural, and as always the soundtrack, the graphics and the enviorment are key on this experience that felt so real. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    I have never played a FIFA game in my life until FIFA 14 on the Xbox One. The game came with my console so I thought I would give it a try. Initially I noticed how polished the presentation of the game was and upon browsing the menu's I found it quite intimidating.

    I decided just to jump straight in to a quick match just get the feeling for the game. I was blown away by the accuracy and flow of the commentary and the overall realism and straight from the get go I was passing the ball around the field like a pro. This initial taster got me hooked so I started the season/league mode and didnt look back. I am thoroughly enjoying FIFA 14 and I am not even what you would call a football fan.

    Playing the game online is also great fun, the opponent matching seems to work very well and all of the matches I have played have been lag free and very close battles.

    The game is very deep and I look forward to digging in to it even deeper, thoroughly recommended.
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    3
    I'm a huge FIFA fan and I always thought I would always buy FIFA games but after FIFA 14, I'm not so sure. The 2 points I have gave this game are for the graphics and the fact that the fans look and sound incredible. It gives the atmosphere of a real football match. But, it plays nothing like a real football game. EVERY goal I concede is a flipping header. Why aren't headers like they were in older games. The FIFA games honestly get worse every year. Another thing, isn't pace supposed to not matter in this game? That is real rubbish, try playing with a 30 pace player and you'll know what I mean.

    The menus are very well presented but could be very confusing for new players who don't know all the game modes and options. The new career mode is a good idea but poorly executed. Why can't we know the overall of a player after we scout them for nearly a month?

    Overall I gave this game a 3, only because of graphics and some small signs of innovation. But I'm looking forward to get Pro-Evo 15 and maybe getting FIFA 16 again and seeing if they have fixed it. But at the rate FIFA is declining, it doesn't seem likely.
    Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    1
    Fifa 14 is a horrible game online and its mainly why i buy the game. I've never seen so many bad players beat good players before!

    Every
    game has lag, like why is Fifa 1 being one of biggest games in the world, still using player hosting? EA Fifa 14 needs dedicated servers. If it had them, the game might be somewhat more playable online.

    The people who reviewed this game are a joke if they think it ranks higher than a 70
    Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    0
    This game is bad in every way possible. The amount of bugs I've seen on the Xbox One version is extraordinary. Some of these bugs are even game breaking bugs! Like, for instance, sometimes when a player from the opposing team tackles one of my players, he skids to the other half of the pitch! Since this game has been out for 3 months + you'd expect that these bugs would be fixed. But then again the game is made by EA who don't care about their games, they only care about money.
    Come on EA, maybe you can get the 'Worst company in America award' for the 3rd year running! I know I'll be voting for you!
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    EA continue to make terrible FIFA games, with 14 being the worst. There is nothing good about this game. Yet again EA refused to listen to what fans wanted and put out another piece of crap Expand

See all 51 User Reviews