Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shooting has been transformed. Players now have the intelligence to adjust their stride and approach angle to find the best position for hitting the back of the net. Well-hit balls feel satisfying and goals are rewarding. As well as quality strikes, players can now shoot while off balance or rushed. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 on next-gen consoles is a love letter to soccer fans. They get the best of both worlds — incredible game play built on top of amazing visuals that can only be replicated on this new generation of consoles.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    96
    A great demonstration of how to craft a new console launch game, leveraging the machine's strengths with a new engine capable not only of giving the game a renewed look but improved gameplay as well.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    91
    What FIFA 14 on next-gen consoles does right now is add an impressive visual layer to an already brilliant sports game.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    89
    Like FIFA 14 on PS3 and Xbox 360, this next-gen version take some risks with new improvements and new situations that offer more realism in general. Although the game isn't as fluid as its predecessor in some moments. Incredible in presentation and Licenses. Ignite promises many steps forward.
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    88
    Ultimate Team players will want to grab the Xbox One version of the game due to its exclusive Legend cards.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    85
    The base quality is there – just like in the current gen versions. And there are lots of small additions, some of them more useful than others. But overall it is not the significant progress I was hoping for.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    This is the quintessential version of FIFA 14. It brings a level of authenticity never before seen in the genre and sets new standards for player control and stadium atmosphere.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 27 out of 54
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    It is a amazing game. It's the best game ever. I love the Fifa Ultimate Team mode. The version for xbox one is espetacular! Graphics from another world, worth every buck. A real next gen game. I'm really excited with this game. There is just one tiny problem, I can't stop to play it, and there are a lot of good games to play, as well. Collapse
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Fifa 14 on the next gen system is hard to explain, it feels like the same game, yet somehow totally different. What I mean by this is the basic mechanics from the 360 are the same, but everything is more polished, it feels more smooth and less clunky. The graphics are a huge improvement and the menus are no longer slow (was hugely frustrating on 360). Ultimately if you are a fifa fan and own an xbox one, get it. Some people giving it negative reviews because tournament mode is gone, honestly I couldn't care less, i'd take the improved gameplay over that any day. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    At the beginning I felt it like a strange and horrible game, but after playing it in the Xbox One, and getting use to the new improvements I found it so natural, and as always the soundtrack, the graphics and the enviorment are key on this experience that felt so real. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    3
    I've been buying FIFA since '98 and playing with my pals locally. To drop the tournament mode is a clear signal that EA does not care about their fans--many of whom have made this mode a centerpiece of camaraderie and competition with friends. But I'm not surprised...EA is, by most accounts, a terrible company.

    But what is SHOCKING is that my friend an I cannot play COOP seasons locally---even if both of us have copies of the game and Live Gold accounts. No, in order for us to play COOP we need to be in separate locations. So effectively EA has made a game that is impossible for friends to play in the same room with each other--DESPITE THE FACT THAT THIS IS THE PROFOUND STREGTH OF SOCCER VIDEO GAMES (no split-screen needed).

    What makes me laugh (bitterly) is that this is only going to negatively impact sales of the WC game and FIFA 15--I'm looking forward to making the switch next year to Pro-Evo--or maybe some other type of game that allows my friends and I to have fun together.
    Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2014
    2
    Basically, Fifa 14 Ultimate Team is a pay-to-win mode. It's ridiculous when you see someone that worked really hard to buy some good players, playing against someone that spent a lot of money. Today i was playing in fourth division with a guy that had all cards with the price above 2 MILLIONS OF IN-GAME COINS. My rating of the game is two because of the advance in graphics and because of the past Fifa's. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2014
    1
    Fun for the first 5-10 hours, but after a while you notice how the game dictates the game for you. Passing going astray, messing up easy dribbles whilst the opposition is playing like Barcelona. this especially happens around the 45/90 minute and when you only 1 goal ahead. The game wants the other team to get back into the game. Cheaper teams on UT perform better than teams that have expensive and should be good cards which is pathetic. Career mode becomes stale quickly and is not fun to sign players due to their new scouting system which takes forever just to the see the stats of one player. Ultimate Team is a joke, the market where you buy players has been broken since launch and has not fixed yet... ("EA already have your money so which should they fix?" is my opinion). Even players have wrong names which is so poor based on a game around players. Playing online you face the same teams over and over again, and if you yourself don't play with this team then you will probably get frustrated and lose the majority of your games.

    There are just so many broken aspects of this game that EA have not addressed for the 6-7 months that it has been out (considering its an annual release), its frustrating to play online unless you playing over the top through balls/crossing monotonously, and it just doesn't have the fun and excitement that a sports game (or any game) should have. You should be cheering when you score or goal or win a game, but with this game there is no feeling just frustration.

    I have played every FIFA game to date on various platforms but this one on Xbox one is the worst BY FAR. The only reason I still play this game is because I am a football fan and its the only real football game out there with real licenses for teams/players.
    Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2014
    0
    eu acho que os desenvolvedores devem ter se esforçado muito para fazer esse jogo tão ruim. tem certas coisas que acontecem que devem ter sido programadas arduamente para ficaram do jeito que estão. tipo o fato de que todo lançamento em direção a área um deus nos acuda. 70 % das vezes os zagueiros batem cabeça e acaba sobrando para o atacante. cruzamento é meio gol. se for para o benzema, torres ou outro bom cabeceador é 80% gol. eu não sei como pode a EA ter saido de um jogo relativamente bom que era o Fifa 13 e chegado nesta porcaria que se tornou o Fifa 14. Não imagino como isso pode ter sido possível. De todos os jogos que já joguei esse é de longe o que mais me faz passar raiva. Não da para se divertir jogando este jogo, se você joga online vai parar de jogar quando estiver vermelho de raiva. Seu controle e sua tv correm serios riscos, pois por vezes acontecem coisas no game que deixa você com vontade de lançar o controle em cima da TV. Você só não faz isso porque na hora voce lembra de rogar uma praga para o desenvolvedor da EA que fez essa porcaria. Ai fica tudo certo você imaginando o que aqui se faz, aqui se paga, e tem a esperança que a raiva acumulada de todos os jogadores que sofrem esse jogo um dia vai voltar para cada programador que ajudou a conceber esse pedaço de lixo virtual chamado Fifa 14. Eu não vejo a hora do pessoal da konami fazer um PES decente (sendo que daquele lado só tem saído lixo também) que um dia volte a ser o melhor jogo de futebol e enterre essa porcaria de Fifa e a EA de vez. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews