Forza Motorsport 5 Xbox One

Forza Motorsport 5 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1090 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: By learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like toBy learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like to own the world’s most exotic cars in an experience that brings you very close to the history, craftsmanship and potential of every car in the game. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Forza Motorsport 5 - FilmSpeed
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    Forza 5 isn't a fluke. It's the product of almost a decade of refinement, evolution and an unbelievable amount of experience on Turn 10's part. In essence, this is a game without any real weaknesses.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    The fifth lap in the Forza Motorsport series is a great start for the speed genre in Xbox One, and the first truly must-have for Microsoft's new hardware.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Forza Motorsport 5 is what die hard fans of turn 10 deserve. Stunning visuals and great sim-like handling are the highlights of the game, but we need more tracks and cars.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Technically impressive, but limited on new ideas. Drivatar is the closest to innovation Forza 5 comes, but needs more depth to be worthwhile.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    80
    Forza 5 is as spectacular and solid as ever, but you can't ignore the fact that there's a clear content cutback from the previous game.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    71
    Forza 5 will do as a holdover racing game for now, but for all the bombast that next-gen brings, the game is awfully stagnant, and its lack of competition has never been more apparent.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    60
    Forza Motorsport 5 becomes a game that is outstanding in specific, limited situations, but overall, it's kind of a drag.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 266
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Might be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick andMight be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick and the feedback from the controllers make the game even better! I'm even considering buying the wheel and I never buy the wheel! Note there's going to be a lot of PlayStation fam Boyz coming on here to smash the game.. just remember to report them. if you're going to buy any game on xbox one it would be this one! A game that truly deserves for the first time I've ever reviewed anything An actual 10! Buy it! Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    I have noticed a lot of these reviews are low because of crashing issues. The problems isn't within the game. It's the Xbox One. IF anyoneI have noticed a lot of these reviews are low because of crashing issues. The problems isn't within the game. It's the Xbox One. IF anyone thought they would get an absolutely perfect gaming experience for a launch game is crazy. Even though I have had a few crashes myself, i still love and adore this game.

    Yeah this game contains less cars and less tracks, but that doesn't make it a bad game. From what it has it uses its content effectively. Also some people I've noticed complained about how expensive(in game cash) the cars are. Yeah sure they are expensive(in game cash) but whats the point of having all the cars at a low price. Myself would love to grind and earn my car library.

    Forza 5 is a very smooth and entertaining game and the cars looks great! Love the Top Gear add-on they did.
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    I've been playing racing sims for a long time (pretty much as long as they have existed) and Forza 5 is by far my favorite. The tracks areI've been playing racing sims for a long time (pretty much as long as they have existed) and Forza 5 is by far my favorite. The tracks are gorgeous, the cars (non DLC) are plentiful, and the AI is interesting. I'm definitely a fan of the Drivatars, even though they can be a little impolite at times. I do not view DLC as a problem with this game. There are more than enough cars to satisfy, and when Turn 10 added a new track (Road America), it was free of charge.

    Also, great job on the online gameplay.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2015
    7
    As the first forza motorsport on the Xbox one its good but a little repetitive at times there are a few bugs but they don't pop up that often,As the first forza motorsport on the Xbox one its good but a little repetitive at times there are a few bugs but they don't pop up that often, a audio glitch that popped up after idling for a hour or more and a audio glitch that popped up after playing for a long amount of time Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2015
    5
    Half the content of Forza 4, and pretty much nothing new to offer Mediocre at best, it is probably the weakest Forza so far. There's not muchHalf the content of Forza 4, and pretty much nothing new to offer Mediocre at best, it is probably the weakest Forza so far. There's not much else I can say except that there are definitely much better Forza games. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2016
    3
    I have been disappointed with my experience of Forza Motorsport 5 and can only imagine that such disappointment will continue through theI have been disappointed with my experience of Forza Motorsport 5 and can only imagine that such disappointment will continue through the series. Though I am not an avid follower of the game, I have enjoyed previous installments, but my frustrations surmounted those experiences. While Forza will continue to boast their graphics and availability of cars, to which there can be little argument made, the game play far outweighs any beauty, in a negative manner. The system of difficulty is set such that computers are aggressive towards the player. Those that are behind will only hinder the possibility of progression through the field. This is increasingly frustrating on small tracks with tight turns as the player is placed in the back of the pack only to be blocked by a conglomerate of CPU's, designed to suppress the player, that are unaffected by any beating the player may deal whereas the player is penalized with damages reducing race performance. So, an indestructible force is placed in front of a fragile player. This makes game play very displeasing and frustrating.

    How could this be alleviated? Well, one may suggest that rather than having malicious CPU's, faster ones would be more appropriate. This has been done in the past and only makes the class system of vehicles a terrible hindrance to the player as they are confined to the amount of customization dependent on the race. It seems there is not a great way to produce challenging game play that is not frustrating in the disadvantageous manner that has been presented. Unfortunately, racing games will fall by the wayside for single player use like many other franchises have seen.

    Maybe there is hope for Forza 6, but it does not seem likely as Forza follows similar patterns in game play throughout the years only adding minor aspects here and there, it seems.
    Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2016
    0
    I would like to talk about forza 5,its a great game.know if you have found out that this is a lie,good.FORZA 5 SUCKS!!! I WOULD RATHER DO 15I would like to talk about forza 5,its a great game.know if you have found out that this is a lie,good.FORZA 5 SUCKS!!! I WOULD RATHER DO 15 COLLEGE ESSASY'S!! I thought this game was gonna be cool,forza 4 was nice,but this one,itll make you rage more than sup3r meat boy×1000.every time i try to turn with a newly purchased car,it eather,A:looses countrol to like everything or B: decides that its a beyblade and starts to spin out of no where.this is a waste of your money go buy starwars or something,youll regret buying this,it gets really oring,and they expect you to pay 60 dollars,i would rather use it to wipe my butt with,at least then it wouldnt be wasted that much.So be careful buying certain games. Expand

See all 266 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.
  2. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.