Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: By learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like toBy learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like to own the world’s most exotic cars in an experience that brings you very close to the history, craftsmanship and potential of every car in the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    Forza 5 isn't a fluke. It's the product of almost a decade of refinement, evolution and an unbelievable amount of experience on Turn 10's part. In essence, this is a game without any real weaknesses.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    The fifth lap in the Forza Motorsport series is a great start for the speed genre in Xbox One, and the first truly must-have for Microsoft's new hardware.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Forza Motorsport 5 is what die hard fans of turn 10 deserve. Stunning visuals and great sim-like handling are the highlights of the game, but we need more tracks and cars.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Technically impressive, but limited on new ideas. Drivatar is the closest to innovation Forza 5 comes, but needs more depth to be worthwhile.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    80
    Forza 5 is as spectacular and solid as ever, but you can't ignore the fact that there's a clear content cutback from the previous game.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    71
    Forza 5 will do as a holdover racing game for now, but for all the bombast that next-gen brings, the game is awfully stagnant, and its lack of competition has never been more apparent.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    60
    Forza Motorsport 5 becomes a game that is outstanding in specific, limited situations, but overall, it's kind of a drag.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Might be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick andMight be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick and the feedback from the controllers make the game even better! I'm even considering buying the wheel and I never buy the wheel! Note there's going to be a lot of PlayStation fam Boyz coming on here to smash the game.. just remember to report them. if you're going to buy any game on xbox one it would be this one! A game that truly deserves for the first time I've ever reviewed anything An actual 10! Buy it! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Highly addictive. Rivals mode sucks you in and makes you race better and find the perfect set up. Career mode is more lively with DrivatarHighly addictive. Rivals mode sucks you in and makes you race better and find the perfect set up. Career mode is more lively with Drivatar A.I. and never feels empty. Gone are the single file A.I. races of the past. Grab your wheel and go!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Forza 5 is an outstanding race simulator, the game shows really what Xbox One cames to do, it runs at a clear 1080p and at some constants 60Forza 5 is an outstanding race simulator, the game shows really what Xbox One cames to do, it runs at a clear 1080p and at some constants 60 FPS, witch immerses you into the experience of racing and tecnology, the carrer mode is great, the drivatars works perfect, a great and beatiful simulator. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2014
    7
    PROS: Great car rental system
    Wonderful graphics
    Great driving physics Good amount of cars Easy to progress career Large amount of racing
    PROS: Great car rental system
    Wonderful graphics
    Great driving physics
    Good amount of cars
    Easy to progress career
    Large amount of racing views
    CONS: Annoying DLC and micro transactions
    Disappointing split screen
    Sometimes slow multiplayer
    No weather effects
    Limited space for replays
    Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    4
    This game is a rip off. It costs more than Forza 4 did at launch but has half the content. Cars and tracks have been removed and there are noThis game is a rip off. It costs more than Forza 4 did at launch but has half the content. Cars and tracks have been removed and there are no weather effects. Its doesn't even have the Nurburgring! The missing cars and tracks will no doubt be purchasable later, making the game even more expensive. Very disappointing for a supposed system seller title. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    2
    I am ranked as a Legendary Driver in FM4, so please don't think that I'm a hater of the series, quite the opposite. Nevertheless, I'll getI am ranked as a Legendary Driver in FM4, so please don't think that I'm a hater of the series, quite the opposite. Nevertheless, I'll get started. The game has an amazing physics engine that surpasses all forza games. You can sense the rubber of the tires gripping at the track. However, the physics are really the only thing good about the game. The game directors have slashed almost all of the features from fm4, reducing the car count from 500+ to 200 or so. TWELVE tracks have also been removed, including Infineon, Sedona, Hockenheimring, and the all-holy-to-car-lovers Nurburgring. That's right. There is no Nurburgring Nordschleife or GP circuit in Forza motorsport 5. On another topic, Turn 10 has decided that you should not be able to free-drive any car. Free drive mode has been neutered so that you can only test drive 20 or so cars the game, and no, you cannot unlock more cars to free drive unless you buy them in career mode. I have no clue as to why they would commit such a blunder. On the subject of the intolerable lack of cars, which Turn 10 arrogantly labels as "quality over quantity," is not quality, it is a LACK of content. But that's not to say that you can't blow your bank account on overpriced day-one DLC. So if you buy Forza 5, keep in mind that you are not paying for the full game. If you want the full game, you are going to have to spend around double the retail price to get the "DLC" that should have been in the game in the first place. Now, career mode. Career mode is a shell of what it was in Forza 4. The only type of play is season play, and the storefront and auction house are gone. Sorry to the dedicated car design artists, but I guess you'll just have to keep playing the now-outdated Forza 4. The reason that the auction house is no longer in the game is because Turn 10 wants you to run out of car credits so you have to purchase "car tokens" in order to buy or upgrade cars. This game is a shameless cash-grab, and despite the lovely physics, this game is shallow, unfinished, unrefined, lacking in content,and absolutely not worth buying. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2014
    0
    I bought this game used, THANK GOD. From the get go, had nothing but problems. Took almost 24 hours for the game to completely installI bought this game used, THANK GOD. From the get go, had nothing but problems. Took almost 24 hours for the game to completely install (Including 14GB patch). Micro-transactions out the wazoo and GLITCHES galore! The road kept disappearing!!! REALLY! STAY AWAY FROM THIS, you will be sorry you bought it. Turn 10 took a big step BACKWARDS with this game! Expand

See all 264 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.
  2. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.