Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 999 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: By learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like toBy learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like to own the world’s most exotic cars in an experience that brings you very close to the history, craftsmanship and potential of every car in the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    Forza 5 isn't a fluke. It's the product of almost a decade of refinement, evolution and an unbelievable amount of experience on Turn 10's part. In essence, this is a game without any real weaknesses.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    The fifth lap in the Forza Motorsport series is a great start for the speed genre in Xbox One, and the first truly must-have for Microsoft's new hardware.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Forza Motorsport 5 is what die hard fans of turn 10 deserve. Stunning visuals and great sim-like handling are the highlights of the game, but we need more tracks and cars.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Technically impressive, but limited on new ideas. Drivatar is the closest to innovation Forza 5 comes, but needs more depth to be worthwhile.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    80
    Forza 5 is as spectacular and solid as ever, but you can't ignore the fact that there's a clear content cutback from the previous game.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    71
    Forza 5 will do as a holdover racing game for now, but for all the bombast that next-gen brings, the game is awfully stagnant, and its lack of competition has never been more apparent.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    60
    Forza Motorsport 5 becomes a game that is outstanding in specific, limited situations, but overall, it's kind of a drag.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Might be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick andMight be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick and the feedback from the controllers make the game even better! I'm even considering buying the wheel and I never buy the wheel! Note there's going to be a lot of PlayStation fam Boyz coming on here to smash the game.. just remember to report them. if you're going to buy any game on xbox one it would be this one! A game that truly deserves for the first time I've ever reviewed anything An actual 10! Buy it! Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    I have noticed a lot of these reviews are low because of crashing issues. The problems isn't within the game. It's the Xbox One. IF anyoneI have noticed a lot of these reviews are low because of crashing issues. The problems isn't within the game. It's the Xbox One. IF anyone thought they would get an absolutely perfect gaming experience for a launch game is crazy. Even though I have had a few crashes myself, i still love and adore this game.

    Yeah this game contains less cars and less tracks, but that doesn't make it a bad game. From what it has it uses its content effectively. Also some people I've noticed complained about how expensive(in game cash) the cars are. Yeah sure they are expensive(in game cash) but whats the point of having all the cars at a low price. Myself would love to grind and earn my car library.

    Forza 5 is a very smooth and entertaining game and the cars looks great! Love the Top Gear add-on they did.
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    This game is an amazing launch title for the xbox one with a strong multiplayer community and races always going if you have not played thisThis game is an amazing launch title for the xbox one with a strong multiplayer community and races always going if you have not played this and you own a xbox one you are missing out on a racing game of the year especilly with the visuals.
    My only down side is that the auction house is not avalable at the momment the limit of tracks i hope in dlc we will get these minor problems for one of my best racers of the generation
    Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2014
    7
    Although Forza 5 doesn't differ much from Forza Motorsport 2 in terms of its gameplay, features and content, it's still an excellent racingAlthough Forza 5 doesn't differ much from Forza Motorsport 2 in terms of its gameplay, features and content, it's still an excellent racing game and one that every car fan should play. The car choice isn't extensive, but you won't be seeing lots of the same exact car with different livery being branded as a different one to boost the car count. The options in terms of tuning, upgrades, progression, career, customisation, painting etc. aren't far different. You can use community liveries when buying a car, and a useful feature is the ability to auto-upgrade your car to the top of a specified class (for those that don't enjoy tinkering with individual components). The commentary from Top Gear is an awesome addition; as is the Top Gear track. Forza 5 is all about the cars: you won't find any video game that has got as detailed textures and interior models as Forza 5. Indeed, the Forzavista feature is actually quite pleasant if not novel; allowing you to inspect the car from every angle. The level of detail is beyond anything else you will ever see in a driving game. The graphics overall are pretty descent - running at 1080p 60FPS but the environment detail and lighting are no match for Codemasters' EGO 3 engine. As for the driving, it is more difficult than before. I usually play all my racing games with the fewest assists possible but in Forza 5, I would advise avoiding the Simulation steering setting because the cars spin out randomly. Clearly this was designed for racing wheels instead of the analog sticks on a controller. Other than that, the driving is quite fun, captures the sense of speed (although nowhere near as well as SHIFT 2) and is accessible yet realistic. The cars and tracks available are what you'd expect from Forza - a good mix. What's more, there are some street circuits in the game which is nice to see given that Microsoft discontinued Project Gotham Racing series - perhaps the best racing game ever (in my opinion). Speaking of which, Forza 5 tries to vary the gameplay a bit by adding some different objectives to the usual circuit racing, for example, where you have to overtake as many cars as possible within a time or lap limit. This is great to see, and it would be nice if more of these game modes were implemented to avoid repetition. That said, Forza 5 offers the player much freedom in how they progress. To finish every race in the game would take hundreds of hours, and there's also time trials and rivals modes. The aim of this much content is not to make the game a grind - there are not achievements for finishing everything - but to give the player choice in what cars they use and which tracks to race on. Overall, Forza Motorsport 5 doesn't make nay significant advances for the franchise but as a showcase for "next-gen" visuals and a haven for car lovers, it is one of the best racing games available. Expand
  5. May 4, 2014
    5
    This game is simply one step forward and two, maybe even three steps back. It lacks the amount of content that I've come to expect from theThis game is simply one step forward and two, maybe even three steps back. It lacks the amount of content that I've come to expect from the series, and this is clearly evident when you look at the track selection. Tracks like Nuremberg and Fujimi are nowhere to be found. There is a lack of cars as well that I am finding are coming late as DLC. I find it frustrating to see cars that made it last game coming in so late as PAID DLC instead of new and exciting cars. Community features such as Auction Houses and the storefront are also missing. I would rave about the graphics, but there are many other racing games out there with stunning graphics. The drivatar system is a nice addition, removing the predictable AI from previous games, and the physics overall have seen some nice improvements. Overall though, this games seems like an utter rip-off compared to the previous titles in the series. I can not recommend this game at all. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    2
    I am ranked as a Legendary Driver in FM4, so please don't think that I'm a hater of the series, quite the opposite. Nevertheless, I'll getI am ranked as a Legendary Driver in FM4, so please don't think that I'm a hater of the series, quite the opposite. Nevertheless, I'll get started. The game has an amazing physics engine that surpasses all forza games. You can sense the rubber of the tires gripping at the track. However, the physics are really the only thing good about the game. The game directors have slashed almost all of the features from fm4, reducing the car count from 500+ to 200 or so. TWELVE tracks have also been removed, including Infineon, Sedona, Hockenheimring, and the all-holy-to-car-lovers Nurburgring. That's right. There is no Nurburgring Nordschleife or GP circuit in Forza motorsport 5. On another topic, Turn 10 has decided that you should not be able to free-drive any car. Free drive mode has been neutered so that you can only test drive 20 or so cars the game, and no, you cannot unlock more cars to free drive unless you buy them in career mode. I have no clue as to why they would commit such a blunder. On the subject of the intolerable lack of cars, which Turn 10 arrogantly labels as "quality over quantity," is not quality, it is a LACK of content. But that's not to say that you can't blow your bank account on overpriced day-one DLC. So if you buy Forza 5, keep in mind that you are not paying for the full game. If you want the full game, you are going to have to spend around double the retail price to get the "DLC" that should have been in the game in the first place. Now, career mode. Career mode is a shell of what it was in Forza 4. The only type of play is season play, and the storefront and auction house are gone. Sorry to the dedicated car design artists, but I guess you'll just have to keep playing the now-outdated Forza 4. The reason that the auction house is no longer in the game is because Turn 10 wants you to run out of car credits so you have to purchase "car tokens" in order to buy or upgrade cars. This game is a shameless cash-grab, and despite the lovely physics, this game is shallow, unfinished, unrefined, lacking in content,and absolutely not worth buying. Expand
  7. May 4, 2015
    0
    Motorsport 5 realy sucks.
    400 less cars than forza 4 and 23 less tracks and no more drag, drift or game modes. FORZA FANS DONT BUY THIS GAME.
    Motorsport 5 realy sucks.
    400 less cars than forza 4 and 23 less tracks and no more drag, drift or game modes. FORZA FANS DONT BUY THIS GAME. This game is a micro-transaction disaster, because to buy a car it costs more than $100 of real money. The game seems stripped of everything (amount of cars, tracks, races, upgrades, drag racing and drifting all gone.)
    Expand

See all 268 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.
  2. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.