Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 996 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: By learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like toBy learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like to own the world’s most exotic cars in an experience that brings you very close to the history, craftsmanship and potential of every car in the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    Forza 5 isn't a fluke. It's the product of almost a decade of refinement, evolution and an unbelievable amount of experience on Turn 10's part. In essence, this is a game without any real weaknesses.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    The fifth lap in the Forza Motorsport series is a great start for the speed genre in Xbox One, and the first truly must-have for Microsoft's new hardware.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Forza Motorsport 5 is what die hard fans of turn 10 deserve. Stunning visuals and great sim-like handling are the highlights of the game, but we need more tracks and cars.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Technically impressive, but limited on new ideas. Drivatar is the closest to innovation Forza 5 comes, but needs more depth to be worthwhile.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    80
    Forza 5 is as spectacular and solid as ever, but you can't ignore the fact that there's a clear content cutback from the previous game.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    71
    Forza 5 will do as a holdover racing game for now, but for all the bombast that next-gen brings, the game is awfully stagnant, and its lack of competition has never been more apparent.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    60
    Forza Motorsport 5 becomes a game that is outstanding in specific, limited situations, but overall, it's kind of a drag.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Might be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick andMight be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick and the feedback from the controllers make the game even better! I'm even considering buying the wheel and I never buy the wheel! Note there's going to be a lot of PlayStation fam Boyz coming on here to smash the game.. just remember to report them. if you're going to buy any game on xbox one it would be this one! A game that truly deserves for the first time I've ever reviewed anything An actual 10! Buy it! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Ist an incredible Racing Game, the driving feels due to the rumble in the Triggers so immersive and the graphics are beautiful and stunning. IIst an incredible Racing Game, the driving feels due to the rumble in the Triggers so immersive and the graphics are beautiful and stunning. I love every second of it and the Drivatars are true Innovation. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2015
    9
    Honestly? This game is brilliant if you loved Forza before. Fantastic physics and the handling is amazing, especially with the One'sHonestly? This game is brilliant if you loved Forza before. Fantastic physics and the handling is amazing, especially with the One's controller. This game was completely built from scratch, and had the best offering on new gen of any racers. We've now several free dlc tracks, including the Nordeschleife!

    Overall, don't believe that it is lacking in content. Turn 10 haven't carried over assets like certain other franchises, so the textures on cars is pretty mental. Best racing experience on console, until Project Cars releases!
    Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2015
    7
    Pretty good racing and but could be better this game needs a good storyline and races are pretty good 1st person is great and the graphics arePretty good racing and but could be better this game needs a good storyline and races are pretty good 1st person is great and the graphics are great too but to make this game a 10/10 needs a good storyline Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2014
    5
    I've played all Forza releases and loved the game until release 4. Sorry to say this is a bad release compared to previous versions..I've played all Forza releases and loved the game until release 4. Sorry to say this is a bad release compared to previous versions.. Extremely repetitive with the same tracks and races over and over again. The Forza soul is lost and gameplay is boring. It feels like a over polished and rushed release. It's really sad as I bought Xone just because of Forza 5. I really hope Turn 10 will figure out a way to make the next release worth the Forza title. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    2
    I am new to the Forza franchise as a casual gamer and was looking forward to being wowed by a new gen game and console. After playing ForzaI am new to the Forza franchise as a casual gamer and was looking forward to being wowed by a new gen game and console. After playing Forza for about 5 hours I have to say I don't get it. The cars are pretty much all the same in the compact race class. The game is super easy (I finished first in all races on my first try), and the tracks seem unimaginative and repetitive. The kind voice over announcing that "we will once again return to track xyz" doesn't help with the monotony. The same three shots of the post-race car from the exact same angle make me wonder if the devs on this ran out of ideas.

    I kept hoping that something new and big would be right around the corner, but after 5 hours of game play the cars all feel the same, the tracks repeat themselves endlessly, and there is just no challenge in the game. Boring. Skip.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2014
    0
    I bought this game used, THANK GOD. From the get go, had nothing but problems. Took almost 24 hours for the game to completely installI bought this game used, THANK GOD. From the get go, had nothing but problems. Took almost 24 hours for the game to completely install (Including 14GB patch). Micro-transactions out the wazoo and GLITCHES galore! The road kept disappearing!!! REALLY! STAY AWAY FROM THIS, you will be sorry you bought it. Turn 10 took a big step BACKWARDS with this game! Expand

See all 266 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.
  2. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.