Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1007 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: By learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like toBy learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like to own the world’s most exotic cars in an experience that brings you very close to the history, craftsmanship and potential of every car in the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    Forza 5 isn't a fluke. It's the product of almost a decade of refinement, evolution and an unbelievable amount of experience on Turn 10's part. In essence, this is a game without any real weaknesses.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    The fifth lap in the Forza Motorsport series is a great start for the speed genre in Xbox One, and the first truly must-have for Microsoft's new hardware.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Forza Motorsport 5 is what die hard fans of turn 10 deserve. Stunning visuals and great sim-like handling are the highlights of the game, but we need more tracks and cars.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Technically impressive, but limited on new ideas. Drivatar is the closest to innovation Forza 5 comes, but needs more depth to be worthwhile.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    80
    Forza 5 is as spectacular and solid as ever, but you can't ignore the fact that there's a clear content cutback from the previous game.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    71
    Forza 5 will do as a holdover racing game for now, but for all the bombast that next-gen brings, the game is awfully stagnant, and its lack of competition has never been more apparent.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    60
    Forza Motorsport 5 becomes a game that is outstanding in specific, limited situations, but overall, it's kind of a drag.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Might be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick andMight be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick and the feedback from the controllers make the game even better! I'm even considering buying the wheel and I never buy the wheel! Note there's going to be a lot of PlayStation fam Boyz coming on here to smash the game.. just remember to report them. if you're going to buy any game on xbox one it would be this one! A game that truly deserves for the first time I've ever reviewed anything An actual 10! Buy it! Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    I have noticed a lot of these reviews are low because of crashing issues. The problems isn't within the game. It's the Xbox One. IF anyoneI have noticed a lot of these reviews are low because of crashing issues. The problems isn't within the game. It's the Xbox One. IF anyone thought they would get an absolutely perfect gaming experience for a launch game is crazy. Even though I have had a few crashes myself, i still love and adore this game.

    Yeah this game contains less cars and less tracks, but that doesn't make it a bad game. From what it has it uses its content effectively. Also some people I've noticed complained about how expensive(in game cash) the cars are. Yeah sure they are expensive(in game cash) but whats the point of having all the cars at a low price. Myself would love to grind and earn my car library.

    Forza 5 is a very smooth and entertaining game and the cars looks great! Love the Top Gear add-on they did.
    Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    To be honest this is my first racing game, so I'm not that experienced. Everyone is fussing about the micro transactions for no reason. itTo be honest this is my first racing game, so I'm not that experienced. Everyone is fussing about the micro transactions for no reason. it only took me 2 series (1-2 hours) to get a Chevy Camaro and an extra 1 hour to get a Mclearn or a really nice Farrari. To get a Farrari or mclearn you are probably looking at 200,000-300,000CD which is not really much because you get around 5,000CD a race but there are a ton of bonus' that add maybe 10-20% of the reward you get for completing a race. you also get 35,000CD overtime you get to the next driver level which happens around twice a series (1 Hour) plus there is a bonus for completing the series witch is 20,000+CD so you probably be 100,000+CD richer after the Series so the money adds up pretty fast and you can by a really nice car in no time. The only cons to this game are i think the shadows and drifting/sliding are a bit exaggerated. F.Y.I. don't buy the game at the store or from Microsoft because you can find it new on the internet like Amazon or ebay for half the price. IT IS NOT A RIPOFF, PEOPLE ARE JUST EXAGGERATING! By the way, Graphics are fantastic! Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2015
    7
    As the first forza motorsport on the Xbox one its good but a little repetitive at times there are a few bugs but they don't pop up that often,As the first forza motorsport on the Xbox one its good but a little repetitive at times there are a few bugs but they don't pop up that often, a audio glitch that popped up after idling for a hour or more and a audio glitch that popped up after playing for a long amount of time Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2014
    5
    The game itself is great, however it has very strange glitches and odd bugs. For example, if you mix certain upgrades you do nothing but spinThe game itself is great, however it has very strange glitches and odd bugs. For example, if you mix certain upgrades you do nothing but spin out. Overall, it's OK. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    2
    I am new to the Forza franchise as a casual gamer and was looking forward to being wowed by a new gen game and console. After playing ForzaI am new to the Forza franchise as a casual gamer and was looking forward to being wowed by a new gen game and console. After playing Forza for about 5 hours I have to say I don't get it. The cars are pretty much all the same in the compact race class. The game is super easy (I finished first in all races on my first try), and the tracks seem unimaginative and repetitive. The kind voice over announcing that "we will once again return to track xyz" doesn't help with the monotony. The same three shots of the post-race car from the exact same angle make me wonder if the devs on this ran out of ideas.

    I kept hoping that something new and big would be right around the corner, but after 5 hours of game play the cars all feel the same, the tracks repeat themselves endlessly, and there is just no challenge in the game. Boring. Skip.
    Expand
  7. May 4, 2015
    0
    Motorsport 5 realy sucks.
    400 less cars than forza 4 and 23 less tracks and no more drag, drift or game modes. FORZA FANS DONT BUY THIS GAME.
    Motorsport 5 realy sucks.
    400 less cars than forza 4 and 23 less tracks and no more drag, drift or game modes. FORZA FANS DONT BUY THIS GAME. This game is a micro-transaction disaster, because to buy a car it costs more than $100 of real money. The game seems stripped of everything (amount of cars, tracks, races, upgrades, drag racing and drifting all gone.)
    Expand

See all 272 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.
  2. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.