Killer Instinct Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 625 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The iconic fighting game franchise is back with upgraded visuals, over-the-top action, a wild cast of combatants, rocking reactive music, and C-C-C-Combo Breakers. Choose from a diverse set of characters, each with fluid animations, unique combat tactics, and flashy special attacks. UtilizeThe iconic fighting game franchise is back with upgraded visuals, over-the-top action, a wild cast of combatants, rocking reactive music, and C-C-C-Combo Breakers. Choose from a diverse set of characters, each with fluid animations, unique combat tactics, and flashy special attacks. Utilize an open-ended combo system to rack up massive combos as your opponent looks for openings to break your flow and turn the tides of battle. Go online and test yourself against players from all over the world, or bone up on your combat skills in detailed tutorials. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Killer Instinct Season 2 - Riptor Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    91
    As strictly a fighting game, the long wait was worth it. Killer Instinct is everything I’d hoped for and more.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It plays smoother, looks better than anything out there, and has a kick-ass soundtrack with a goofball announcer to boot. If you absolutely must recreate your childhood, then pick up the $40 pack, but most will be satisfied spending half that.
  3. Oct 9, 2014
    80
    Flashy, brutal and deeper than you'd expect. Killer Instinct is back baby.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    At launch, Killer Instinct serves as a solid foundation for what could eventually become a good fighting game. More characters and stages are coming down the line, but at launch, the game's limited single and multiplayer modes are glaring and will grow stale quickly.
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    Even though the demo is pretty disappointing, the full Killer Instinct proves to be a really nice addiction to the fighting genre. Most of the characters come directly from the first Killer Instinct-game, but this time they look really gorgeous on the new Xbox One. The fighting system of Killer Instinct is a very layered one, which will keep you busy for loads of hours although a campaign mode is definitely missed.
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    70
    One of the most brutal fighting game is finally back on Xbox One. Killer Instinct is here with its latest installment, next gen visuals and the well-known ultra combo addicting style.
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    50
    Killer Instinct possesses the fundamentals to be a crowd-pleasing title, and certainly does a decent job of inviting less experienced players into the genre, but its limited modes and insistence on milking your funds KOs a game with potential.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 94
  2. Negative: 17 out of 94
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Best game ever, you start with only one character and I love microtransactions, gets me off, makes me feel all hot and gooey....Nowadays itsBest game ever, you start with only one character and I love microtransactions, gets me off, makes me feel all hot and gooey....Nowadays its rare that rarely puts out good games anymore, but this game is great at manipulating people into microtransation... MMM my favorite with a side of bacon... I wanna put killer instinct as the hall of fame game Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    A 6.1 user score is laughable, this is the best and most fun Ive had with a fighting game in...well ever. KI IS BACK AND BETTER THAN EVER.A 6.1 user score is laughable, this is the best and most fun Ive had with a fighting game in...well ever. KI IS BACK AND BETTER THAN EVER. Graphics, Gameplay, Presentation and Price are all amazing. Cant wait for the Classic Costumes in the Ultra Pack! Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I'm digging the combat not too scrub friendly, but not too hard at entry level.Good connections (heard it uses rollback gg),nothing gameI'm digging the combat not too scrub friendly, but not too hard at entry level.Good connections (heard it uses rollback gg),nothing game breaking at launch,small roster right now. One thing i noticed dynamic music (really cranks up when you're in danger,between rounds),rounds similar to Injustice or rather Injustice has one similar to this game.I'd pick it up from the MS store. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2016
    9
    Good game, but you have to buy characters, btw, the game is excelent, you have must fun alone or with your friends! I'd like so much! A goodGood game, but you have to buy characters, btw, the game is excelent, you have must fun alone or with your friends! I'd like so much! A good title to the library on XONE! Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2013
    8
    This game is possibly one of the best fighters I've played in a long time. Even though the characters were limited I managed to put in wellThis game is possibly one of the best fighters I've played in a long time. Even though the characters were limited I managed to put in well over 30+ hours fighting against friends and learning combos in the dojo mode without wanting to stop playing.
    Its fast pace and non-stop action will keep you playing for hours without you knowing you've been playing for hours.
    Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    6
    Pros

    + Fun button masher for local play with friends + Sound and music are excellent + Flexible pricing (though the most expensive
    Pros

    + Fun button masher for local play with friends
    + Sound and music are excellent
    + Flexible pricing (though the most expensive version is not good value IMO)

    Cons

    - Lack of modes.
    - Graphically not much better than other games on 360 and PS3
    - 6 characters is absolutely laughable for a fighting game in this day and age.

    Other notes:

    The fighting system seems very convoluted to me, once I played through the dojo and figured it out I was actually a bit underwhelmed, but it's good to see it at least distinguish itself from the likes of Street Fighter and MK, it's just not for me.
    Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2017
    0
    Quelle est cette odeur nauséabonde ? c'est l'odeur du combo free to pay-pay to win, autrment dit du jeu gratuit à péage multi-directionnelQuelle est cette odeur nauséabonde ? c'est l'odeur du combo free to pay-pay to win, autrment dit du jeu gratuit à péage multi-directionnel optionnel très fortement recommandé : en effet enchaîner les combats avec toujours le même personnage devient lassant, aussi profitez de notre pack à xx euros, c'est une promo ! et laissez-vous tentez par quelques micro-transactions par la même occasion !

    D'un autre côté, on ne voit vraiment pas pourquoi on s'infligerait ça puisqu'il s'agit du pire jeu de baston de tous les temps. Graphiquement à peine correct et affublé d'une direction artistique qui n'a rien d'artistique, ses animations font penser à un vieux jeu 2D du fond du troisième tiroir en bas dans la cave, c'est-à-dire deux frames d'animation maximum. Il en résulte une impression de saccade déplorable, ce qui, combiné à la vitesse délirante des coups, rend le jeu totalement illisible et grotesque.

    La musique provient certainement d'une poubelle tant elle écorche les oreilles et en ce qui concerne le multi-joueurs qu'il soit local ou sur le réseau, c'est toujours celui qui appuie le plus vite qui gagne. Très fatigant pour le pouce et la manette tout cela.

    Il est clair que n'importe quel jeu japonais met ce Killer machin à l'amende sans forcer, car s'ils font la course aux micro-paiements également, ils s'avèrent au moins jolis à regarder et d'une prise en main correcte. Tout le contraire de cette catastrophe digitale d'un mauvais goût flagrant.
    Expand

See all 94 User Reviews